Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Volum' Express the Colossal Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Maybelline Volum' Express the Colossal Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

MAYBELLINE Volum' Express the ColossalColossal lashes in just one coat!

Creates 9x the volume instantly. Collegen formula plus mega blush plumps lashes.

RRP: $29.95

Availability: Farmers, selected Pharmacies, Supermarkets, The Warehouse, online

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th June, 2018 at 11:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fav Mascara

I have fine short lashes and i love how this mascara makes my lashes look fuller and longer.

I personally would reccomend this if you have short wish they where long lashes.

Just dont apply too much and its perfect.

About people talking about the smell, I havent noticed a weird smell lol all mascaras smell the same to me.

Tips: * Dont over do it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
5th June, 2018 at 7:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
One of the best mascaras in my drawer

I got this in a BBBE, and being a complete mascara addict - it's the one make-up product I truly cannot do without, given my fine, short, blonde lashes - I couldn't wait to try it. My verdict? I'd definitely buy this again. It's easy to apply, with minimal clumping, and it's a good balance of dry-moistness, in that you can build up layers without it glooping all over the place. It also seems to last, even in the rain or heat. It builds volume reasonably well - not the best I've used, but good enough! All up, I'm a fan, especially at this price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
5th June, 2018 at 11:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great definition

I love this mascara. The brush is excellent for lifting your lashes if you're lazy like me and don't curl them first. It's also easy to get right to the base of your lashes.

I found no clumping until I got to the end of a tube. Honestly, it was actually a great reminder to replace the tube,

I've recently replaced it with a different brand and I miss this stuff - I'll certainly be buying it again when I replace my current mascara.

It came off easily with eye make up remover, and there was zero flaking.

I know other reviews have mentioned a smell - personally I didn't smell anything (or at least, it wasn't enough to get my attention).

Tips: Two coats are perfect with this, but definitely let them dry in between coats. I found with more than 2 coats, or if I didn't let the coats dry, I ended up with spider legs instead of lashes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
8th May, 2018 at 11:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Natural looking thickness

This mascara gives a nice and thick look to my lashes and is not clumpy at all. I do not feel as if it gives a super volumising effect or last all day however it does make my lashes look great. It has an interesting chemically smell but it does go away after a while.

Tips: Curl lashes beforehand for the lift to last longer

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
5th February, 2018 at 3:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Quite thick and clumpy

I grabbed this recently and it didnt live up to expectations. The formula is quite thick and its impossible to use on bottom lashes. The brush is HUGE and difficult to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
4th November, 2017 at 11:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Bit Clumpy

I have long but thin lashes, so I like mascaras that can add as much definition and volume as possible without looking clumpy. I thought this would be the perfect mascara to do just that, seeing as it boasts 9x your natural lash volume instantly. To be fair, this mascara does exactly what it says it will; add a huge amount of volume! However, this volume comes at the expense of definition. This is a very thick mascara that made my lashes clump together rather than look thicker and stand out. The result is eyelashes that look very obviously coated in mascara in a way that slightly resembles spider's legs. Although this mascara didn't give me the look I was hoping for, everyone's eyelashes are different so I am sure it would work better for someone with slightly thicker eyelashes than mine so the clumping is less obvious.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th September, 2017 at 11:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Definition for the lashes

I liked this product initially because it gave me lashes lots of definition and length but I used it with another mascara to plump up the volume. I did love how easy it was to apply and the wide wand made getting every lash simple. I found this product to be good for everyday but did tend to run a bit!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
20th August, 2017 at 5:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't work out for me :/

I had such high hopes for this product, but unfortunately it fell flat for me. The first problem I had right off the bat was the smell. It's the strangest smell of chemicals but also...flowers? Luckily, the smell does go away once your apply it. The main problem is that the tube doesn't scrape off enough of the product off the wand, so when you apply, it sticks all your lashes together, making it look like you only have five lashes! For me, this product didn't layer well at all, because it started clumping up even more. So the mascara wasn't very volumising for me because of all the clumping. Its also isn't good at lengthening, but it could hold a decent curl. It's a shame because the traditional wand is really nice and the formula wasn't bad at all (actually quite black).

However, even after all that, somehow it looks amazing on the bottom lashes (I think it has to do with there being less lashes so there's less overall clumping).

Tips: Scrape as much of the extra mascara off into the neck of the bottle and definitely use a lash comb to separate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th August, 2017 at 11:47 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for length, not for thickness

Maybelline mascaras are always good! I got this one to try once and it was really good! Not one of my favourites, but I still loved it! It gives you a good amount of length but the only thing I wasn't sold on was that it gave a much more wispy look. I'm not one for clumps of mascara but I do like when my eyelashes look long and thick (ie, you can tell I have mascara on). I felt with this one, I always had to use another mascara on top to get my eyelashes to look thicker as well. It gave length, but not a lot of thickness which is why I didn't buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd August, 2017 at 9:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
No more clumps!

This mascara is amazing! My lashes look thicker and longer, but without any clumps! It's easy to apply and very useful on the go!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Yes, my skin is sensitive but troubled...

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »