Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.4/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review

Overall rating:
3.5/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara conditions while it thickens lashes with no clumps or globs.

RRP $19.95

Availability:  leading Supermarkets, Pharmacies and Department stores.

Website: www.maybelline.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th June, 2018 at 3:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The reliable mascara

This is a fabulous daytime mascara. It's not dramatic or clumpy, it's just a nice mascara that keeps each lash separated, looking pretty and is incredibly natural looking.

It's not a heavy formula, so I use a different mascara if I'm looking for dramatic lashes, or a night time look. I rarely deviate from this mascara though.

The great thing about this mascara is that it is a light type of application, so you have very little if any mascara 'crumbs' that fall from your lashes during the day to get in your eyes like some of the thicker more dramatic mascaras.

For someone like me with fine but long lashes (thanks LiLash!), this is perfect! I use the waterproof version as I tend to spritz my face during the day and I'm smudge free all day! Removing mascara at the end of the day is a breeze with a little micellar water and a cotton wipe. No dramas there!

I also love that I don't get mascara on the brow bone or under the eye with this mascara - so no panda eyes or crazy eye lids!

I'm a fan. On sale you can grab this at the supermarket for $10 and I think for its performance and the fact that it's just a nice reliable mascara, I think it's a really good buy, and a staple in my collection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th June, 2018 at 4:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
meh

I found that this made any slight curl in my lash drop, this is a very black pigmented mascara but does to and any length or volume to the lash

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
6th June, 2018 at 7:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good drug store mascara

This mascara is good. Not bad but not amazing. Good value for money though. Does last all day without smudging. For drugstore mascara I do prefer L’Oreal lash paradise however

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
30th May, 2018 at 6:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not For Me

My mascara was almost about to run out when I saw this at the supermarket. I used this many years ago and couldn’t quite remember if I liked it. I did remember everyone around me loving it so I got another tube for myself. I don’t know if they changed the formula over the years but I didn’t like it at all! You’re supposed to re-apply the mascara until the desired thickness is achieved (do not let dry). I think I did about 3 to 4 coats and it stopped getting any thicker after the second one. The consistency is not thick and does not have a shiny finish so it looks natural.

What I disliked about it was how it could literally straighten my lashes after just 1 coat. My second time using it, I curled my lashes with a slightly heated curlash and made it extra curled up to compensate. However after the second coat my lashes still straightened and was bent up at a sharp angle. It looked so awkward I was so disappointed. My lashes are naturally straight and I’ve tried other mascaras that are only for volume or thickness (not curling) but they never straightened my lashes this much; I would at least keep a semblance of a curl. For the Great Lash mascara, I’m not sure what’s weighing my lashes down because the consistency is very light and liquid.

I would say it’s more suitable for people who want washable mascara and have fine but naturally curled lashes, or people who are wearing lash extensions, but definitely not for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th April, 2018 at 3:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good, not amazing

I like this mascara, but I haven’t found it amazing. I already have nice long lashes so the mascara helps by making them seem a bit longer and darker, but other than that it doesn’t help much. I like it though since it’s cheap, but I find it doesn’t really thicken my lashes. If anything it makes the lashes on my lower lash line look spidery, so I only put mascara on my top lashes. It also moves around a lot, and I do find that I have not only had mascara on the bottom of my eyes but on the top of my lids which is very annoying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd April, 2018 at 9:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Old faithful

I love this mascara. It is my all time favourite. I try others (usually maybelline or L'Oréal) but always go back to this one. For the price you can't go wrong. If I do stray from this it's usually because I want a different look or colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd January, 2018 at 11:25 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A true classic

Wonderful product I can rely on to give me what I want. This was one of my first mascaras and it was great. Small brush gives you lots of control over curl and coating every lash. Small enough to use on lower lashes.

Tips: Wipe off excess product and work the product gently from the root to tip of lashes. Curl back with wand at the tips and hold for a few seconds for a light curl.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st January, 2018 at 10:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dries fast

Good colour, extends lashes nicely I really like the brush shape it makes it a lot easier to apply great for beginners or someone with an unsteady hand

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th December, 2017 at 11:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Classic!

This has always been a great trustworthy mascara! I remember using this as a teen and absolutely loving it! It defines your lashes well and is easy to apply, what a winner!

Tips: N/A

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
11th December, 2017 at 9:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oh no!

I have seen this mascara in so many friends make up bags over the years and decided to give it a try. Pretty disappointed really. I wanted to like it but found absolutely no redeeming qualities beyond the cheery packaging. The bristle wand is standard but felt a little shorter than the average wand. The mascara went on fairly easily and unfortunately came off just as fast. Twice I had to remove smudges under my eyes during the day which I honestly haven’t needed to do in years. It didn’t offer much in the way of volumising or lengthening and I didn’t continue to use it long enough to see if it started to clump. (Most mascaras don’t clump the first few times you use them, when they are all fresh, and this one didn’t either.) I don’t know why it kept running on me but the second and third time I used it, I found the same thing happened and eventually gave it to my teenage neice. There are so many fantastic mascaras on the market these days and I found this product lacking in comparison and somewhat dated sadly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Do You Need Gentle but EFFECTIVE Skincare?

Yes, my skin is sensitive but troubled...

view results

Review of the Day
caz
Amazing regime
Love these two products!! Hair is hydrated which is something I’ve always struggled with in winter.… more »