Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Glam Magnetic Lashes
Glam Magnetic Lashes

e.l.f Matte Lip Colour Review

e.l.f Matte Lip Colour Review
Overall rating from 58 reviews so far:
4.0/5
Would use it again?
4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would?
3.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend?
4.0/5

e.l.f Matte Lip Colour Review

This convenient jumbo sized lip pencil creates exact color application with twist up ease so you never have to sharpen. The pigment rich color glides on effortlessly and easily to provide long lasting matte color. The enriched Vitamin A, C & E formula moisturizes and hydrates lips for beautiful healthy looking lips.

 

Availability Kmart and online.

Website www.elfcosmetics.com.au



RRP: $7.99

Write a review

Please sign in to write a review.

Not yet registered?

It's super simple and only takes 30 seconds.

Register now

How would you rate this product?

e.l.f Matte Lip Colour Review

e.l.f Matte Lip Colour Review

Reviews

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th August, 2019
0 members found this review useful
Eveyday lip color

I have this in 2 colours, these are really affordable and inexspensive, love the colour pigmentation of both the red and nude colors i own. These come in a matte packaging with a wind up twist system. Love the easy to use packaging, also comes with a lid! Also love the ease of throwing into my make up bag when i need. The prpduct itself has a matte soft and creamy texture, lasts all day on the lips and looks great over a lip liner.Highly reccomend.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th June, 2019
1 members found this review useful
Affordable matte lipstick

I like the e.l.f brand. I think they make quality products at affordable prices. I own 3 of their matte lip colours in the shades Wine, Rich Red and Berry Sorbet. Each lip colour comes in a long, thin, black pen-like case. The case is matte black plastic, with the e.l.f branding in white on the side, and the colour of the lipstick indicated by the shade of plastic on the end. They are 1.4g. Each case has a removable lid.

The lipsticks themselves are long and thin. They wind-up just like regular bullet lipsticks. The long narrow shape makes the lipstick quite easy to apply, as it is easier to achieve a precise, sharp line with the narrow tip. The colour lasts quite a long time. I only have to touch up a little after eating and drinking. The pigment is good too. Lips can be covered well with only a couple of swipes. Like all matte lipsticks, these are a bit drying on the lips. There is also a little bit of transfer. On one of them the bullet has come loose inside, so it wobbles a bit when applied, making application a little trickier.

On the whole these are well-priced, good quality lipsticks. If you are looking for an affordable matte lipstick with decent pigment and staying power, then this is an excellent option.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
29th October, 2018
1 members found this review useful
A cheapie for the handbag

This was a ho-hum lippy for me. I like the idea of the pen type of application which was great, and it applied nicely but the colour didn't really last and my lips felt dry and a little rough after use.

I got quite a Tea Rose which is quite a neutral pink and it looked okay, but it didn't last too long and doesn't withstand a cup of coffee.

That said for the money and for the fact that theres a reasonable selection of shades, its great for having on hand for a quick touch up, in the handbag/car etc.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th August, 2018
0 members found this review useful
I wear this every.single.day <3

It can always be a hit and miss buying things online but i totally lucked out with this gorgeous lippy pencil! The colour is so hot, i usually do one light layer for work and just add more with full lip pencil for when i go out. I have very light blonde hair and it makes me feel like a barbie doll wearing it = love it!

The pencil is the perfect thickness, you can use it as a liner and lipstick together or just as a liner if you wanted to mix up the colours. Its lastest me AGES too, heaps of stick in there so you its amazing value for money.

Tips: i buy all my elf stuff on iherb.com it takes a little longer to arrive but they have a great loyalty programme, heaps of stock and its super cheap!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
Coral Matte

I purchased Coral in the Matte lipstick. I like the application and is creamy, just like a good quality lipstick. They are highly pigmented, however they aren't as hydrating as the name suggests.

But a nice cheap lippie if that's what you're after

Tips: Exfoliate your lips for sure before hand!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th July, 2017
0 members found this review useful
A very nicely priced lipstick

I picked up two of these in Praline and Tea Rose from my local Kmart for around $9 each. The lipsticks are nice an creamy, they do have a matte finish but aren't super matte. The colour pay off is pretty good, the colours are quiet pigmented and the formula is not drying at all. Perfect basic lipstick for work or running errands, they aren't transfer proof and do come off quiet easily, so would definitely recommend re-applying after eating or drinking. There is also a sharpener in the bottom of the tube which is super handy.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th September, 2016
0 members found this review useful
E.l.f matte lip colour - Praline

I brought two of these while in the USA in the colour Praline, which is a nice rich brown/dark red colour and i love them! I always use a lip liner, but they last great and are very true to colour. I have had lots of comments on the colour and they are so cheap! even back here in NZ. I wish they had more of a selection of colours though, as out of the 4 or 5 i think they have only one shade suited me. If they had more colours i'd definately buy more!

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
11th June, 2016
0 members found this review useful
A bit of a let down

I brought 2 of these after hearing great reviews about the product and they were so cheap on iherb. First of all, I love the colours I got: coral and tea rose. More pigmented than I thought they would be. I love my matte lippies, so was drawn to these instantly. However, these aren't really matte. More like semi matte. I didn't really mind that though. As for the "hydrating".... Not at all! These are so drying in my lips and show up every line and crack, even after I have exfoliated and lathered on my different oils I use on my lips. I always end up using a gloss on my lips, so I don't look so crusty. Overall, you get what you pay for. I paid less than $10 for both products. Definitely won't be repurchasing and I only use them because I don't want to waste my money lol

Tips: Exfoliate and moisturise your lips before use - I always do this over night (your lips will be nicely hydrated, but this product will still make you look dry and chapped)

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
18th January, 2016
0 members found this review useful
Great Starter Lippy

Along with some other goodies this found its way into my cart when shopping on iherb. The e.l.f. products are so cheap they are hard to look past. I picked this up in Tea Rose which is a dusky pink shade which I love. I really like pencil like lip products as I find them super easy to apply and some of the longer lasting formulas.

The packaging is nice for this. Just a long lube in black with a tightly secured lid. The end is coloured in the shade of the lip colour so great for picking out which shade you want if you had more than one. Once you take the lid of you can screw up the lip pencil. There is actually quite a lot of product there which is nice. I don't like that when you first get this product the pencil sticks above the plastic part, it means when you are putting the lid on it is extremely easy to get a bit on your lid and mess it all up. The absolutely amazing part about this (that I learnt from sharna_slade's review below) is that it has a sharpener in the coloured end so you will always be able to get a nice sharp tip. For a product of this price the packaging is pretty darn awesome.

The product itself wasn't what I was expecting. The lipstick isn't particularly matte it is quite creamy and almost satin in formula. The shade was also a lot darker than I was expecting, but that isn't really a big deal. Because of the creamy nature of the product it was nice and easy to apply and doesn't feel drying on the lips. It does still accentuate the dry points on my lips which I hate. The lasting power of this isn't particularly amazing due to being a bit more creamy than a usual matte but the outer parts do manage to stick around for at least a couple of hours meaning it is easy to reapply when you need to without a mirror.

If you are after some cheaper matte lip colours I would point you in the direction of NYX before e.l.f. but these certainly are great as long as you aren't expecting something super matte.

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
14th November, 2015
0 members found this review useful
Affordable non-matte lip colours

I received this as a free gift from a company for delaying my beauty parcel for 2 months. I was quite excited because matte is my favourite finish and I had hope that the shade Praline would be a great nude on my chocolate skin.

It comes in a black cut-out cardboard box where you have visibility of the product and the colour of the shade on the box which is great however this is not true to pan. It comes in a sleek black retractable pen with the top part showcasing the colour which is great in terms of identifying the shade you need amongst the rest. I find that this is more true to pan than the colour on the cardboard box.

The packaging is lightweight and cheap but I like the effort that has gone into the design because even though we all love great bargains we want packaging that doesn't LOOK cheap. Unfortunately I did crack the lid because I pushed the lid back on a bit too forcibly so be mindful of the pressure and try not be a beast like me.

On the box, the Praline shade is a reddish brown and I thought "ugh" this is really not a "me" colour. However I was so surprised at the gorgeous nude pink brown that graced my lips - who would have thought!! Now for those worried that it's matte - (unfortunately for me) this isn't a true matte and I wouldn't even describe it as semi-matte (double boo for me). It's actually quite smooth, creamy and depending on the shade it has sheen.

The longevity on the lips is good however that's probably because I have an application process in place haha. I love my mattes so I'm willing to go the extra mile besides for a price like that I couldn't resist but add another 7 shades. All mine were bought off of the ELF website during one of their many sales where I picked them up for $NZD3.00 each. My favourite shades have to be the reds/pinks: Cranberry, Rich Red and Fuchsia.

Tips: I wear a lipliner with all the nude ones; I don't bother wearing the nude shades if I haven't exfoliated my lips because they reveal everything.

In general I apply the product; go over it with a small lip brush to really push the product in, blot and repeat as required,

Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Was this review useful to you? Yes No