Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

How Many $$$ Are On Your Face?!

15 May, 2018 - 06:19pm by - Head Pixie | 16 Comments

By BR Kellie

What do you put on your face every day before heading out the door? A little BB Cream? A bit of blush? Mascara? Lippy? Is it drug store prices? Department store prices? The kind of price that would have a bank manager going purply-red in the face? A bit of a mix?

The reason this is being pondered? Recently I watched a video where YouTuber Chloe Morelloe slapped over $3500 worth of makeup on her face.

My jaw did drop to the floor. After I picked it up and wired it back in, I started to wonder... Sure, her video wasn't a day-to-day makeup video, it was more to see how expensive she could make her face, BUT it did make me wonder how much money went on my face on an average day. So the next day I did my makeup and set aside the products used. Then I got the calculator out...

Welcome to my daily face: 

  • Primer:  Becca First Light Priming Filter - $72
  • Colour Corrector:  Cover FX Correct Click 'Green' - USD$18/NZD$25.88
  • Foundation:  Nars Sheer Glow in Deauville - $74
  • Concealer:  Maybelline Fit Me Concealer - $22.49
  • Bronzer:  Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Radiant Light - $72
  • Blush:  MAC Sweet Vision Magic Dust Powder - $56
  • Highlighter:  Wet n Wild MegaGlo Highlighting Powder - $12.99
  • Eyeshadow:  ABH x Mario The Master Palette - USD$45/NZD$64.69
  • Mascara:  L'Oreal Paris False Lash Butterfly Wings - $27.99
  • Finishing powder:  Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light - $72
  • Lipstick:  MAC Twig - $40
  • Setting spray:  Skindinavia Makeup Setting Spray - $39.99

The grand total? $580.03.

Giddy aunt. If you'd asked me how much I thought my daily face would cost I would've thought maybe $300, tops. That's not even including the pre-makeup skincare prep, which would come to roughly $120. Taking the full face up to $700.

I mean, really? How crazy is that? Sure, it's not $3,500 worth of crazy, but it's a lot of money to be slapping on one's face. Also, totally worth it. But it got us wondering... what kind of cash are our Beauty Review members flashing on their face? Are beauties in Kaikoura more spendy than those in Napier? Does cool and collected Wellington go for less is more compared to the City of Sails? To know this, our beauties, we need YOUR help!

Take our quick survey and you'll be in the draw to win one of five $100 prize packs. 

Hit the link and tell us what your face is worth! 

back

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

30th May, 2018

Jeepers , ok so I'm like crazy cheap on a work day haha

22nd May, 2018

Aww I thought it was dividing up the cost per use lol how silly am I!!? Maybe I should attempt to take it again, cause feeling super silly lol

17th May, 2018

Scary stuff. I think I said $430 for day face and $580 for night face, I'm a drug store girl. I did watch that Chloe Morello clip and was holy moly!

17th May, 2018

It would depend on which products I reach for as I have multiple options for different parts of the face. The total could change depending on which lippy or eyeshadow palette I use. So I'm going to give you the total of the brow products which I only have one of each and I use every time I do my makeup. 101 bucks.

16th May, 2018

This survey kind of opened up eyes to how much I actually spend on my face!

16th May, 2018

This really is interesting! You underestimate how much everything costs until you add it all together

16th May, 2018

I have never thought to add it up that way, WOW, took the survey and come up with early $300.00's, but there is a mix of both high and lower priced items in there

16th May, 2018

i used to wear make up alot more often i do use serums and skin care everyday though

16th May, 2018

Mine came to about $168, the most expensive thing is the mineral foundation I use.

16th May, 2018

That was fun. I don't think about makeup in terms of how much I'm wearing on my face. My total was $26. My skincare costs more and I'm okay with that.

15th May, 2018

Mine came out at around $400 for both day and night because for night I use the same types of products but add more colour and drama.

At the moment I've got really into putting on lip balm, then lining the lips, putting on a light lipstick then using a gloss to make it shine. But adding it up, makes me realize that it is really expensive for a fairly natural but shiny coloured lip.

15th May, 2018

Mine was $180 for day wear. I only wear light make up, or so I thought!

15th May, 2018

Wow the products can sure add up. Mine is sitting around $750 - I honestly can't believe that's what I'm painting on my face, I thought it'll be less :-(

15th May, 2018

Eeeek scary to think about.... but not as scary as me with no makeup on haha. I definitely feel more pulled together if I'm wearing my daily makeup out and about even though it's just BB cream and mascara. I feel for the price I spend it's not too bad as I'm not second guessing if I look like a ghost or not.

15th May, 2018

I topped at $290.00. It is a bit frightening when you add it all up!

L'OREAL REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We're putting together Trial Teams for several L'Oreal cosmetic products.

There are no catches to our Trial Teams - get selected, and we'll send you the full sized product for free. All you need to do is place a well-written and informative review!

Click the link to find out more - and put your hand up today!

CLICK HERE TO CHECK OUT THE LATEST L'OREAL TRIAL TEAM!