Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

You'll Never Look At Your Pillow Case The Same Again

10 January, 2018 - 10:47pm by - Head Pixie | 17 Comments

By BR Amelia

I am officially washing my pillow case daily. And I'm airing out my home as much as possible.

What's got me all extra with the cleaning?

This article from The Daily Mail.

We're not putting up the images, because, bleurgh. But in a nutshell a woman went to her doctor complaining of having itchy red eyes.

No biggie. Conjunctivitis is a thing. It happens.

EXCEPT on examination it was discovered that the woman had over 100 mites living in her eyelashes. 

It turns out she hadn't changed her pillow in five years. The doctors also said lack of airflow would have contributed to the mites taking up residence in her eyelashes.

That poor woman. I feel for her. But I also had to know more. What are eyelash mites? Since when have they become a thing? And how have we not heard about them until now?

After a little googling I discovered it's not unusual for mites to reside on our faces and mostly we co-exist without issue - and if you want to fall into a geeky mites on faces hole, check out this BBC article (be warned you may feel fascinated and ill all at the same time) - but 100 mites in your eyelashes? No. Thank. You.

So what can we do to keep our lashes mite-free?

According to Consumer Health Digest prevention is key, and we can avoid a mite infestation with some very simple tips.

  1. Firstly, cleanse daily. Let's just say I'll be paying closer attention to my eye area from now on.

  2. Throw away old mascara and makeup (something we harp on about regularly).

  3. And regularly clean and replace bedding and pillows.

 

Three easy steps to ensure you don't wake up one day with swollen, itchy, red mite-invested eyelashes. 

So will you be stepping up your cleaning regime? Will you be buying a new pillow? Is your makeup stash about to get the biggest clean out ever? Get chatting!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Great. The relatives of spiders and ticks appear to make themselves comfortable on our faces waaahhhh; I had no idea I was a host!

Something nasty was bound to happen if you sleep on an unwashed pillowcase for years.

I think I'm quite ok in this area but reading the article/links makes me want to run to the store to grab anti-bacterial stuff haha.

I got the same feeling -Ugh !

11th January, 2018 at 7:09 am

I think not washing the pillow case for 5yrs is extreme and I would suggest it was not the only thing that wasn't clean. Most people wash bed linen every week and enjoy the nice feel of fresh sheets and pillow cases. Good to look at basic hygiene though and be aware makeup and mascara is a risk.

It says hadn't changed her pillow not her pillowcase. Im not sure anyone would go 5 years without changing a pillowcase lol so I am guilty as I've got a couple pillows that are older. Ewwwwww!

The UK article states pillow case - quite a concern right? Ick.

11th January, 2018 at 8:54 am

Yes yuck indeed!!

11th January, 2018 at 9:13 am

I had a couple older pillows on my bed but I think if you regularly air and sun them out then it's less likely you would have problems. Also using latex pillows where dust mites have a harder time living would probably make it difficult for those

12th January, 2018 at 3:41 pm

eyelash mites too. I've had a latex pillow for more than five years but haven't had issues with mites. Also if you sun and air out your pillows regularly they probably won't be really enjoying their time on your pillows.

12th January, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Ewww, that is nasty. I already keep our pillows fresh and clean - this is just extra motivation!

I’m going to be paranoid every time I have an itchy eye!! BTW, I do change my bed linen weekly...

Gross..that freaks me out. Will be re going through my eye makeup collection later on

That BBC article was a fascinating read! I was already aware that they exist and most people have them. I'm scrupulous with cleansing and changing bedding, so as long as I can't see them, it's all good. I do however think about them everytime my eyebrows itch or I'm talking to students with crusty eyelashes lol.

Eek I've watched docos on these mites - urg makes me want to scratch!!!

I have the same reaction when people talk about nits Maree... lol

11th January, 2018 at 8:17 pm

Eeeeeeee me too! I was glad when my kids grew out of getting them!

11th January, 2018 at 9:23 pm

That is gross to read and I am glad I have a good regime in place for all 3 steps above.

I change my pillowcases weekly and iron them too. I love the feeling and smell of clean,fresh, crisp linen Plus, the heat from ironing helps kill anything... ialso air my pillows weekly. I do think this lady needs to practice basic hygiene though....yuk!

Yes I can't imagine how someone could go a whole five years not thinking to wash their pillowcase.

12th January, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Ew gross! I didn’t know that was a thing! I’ve washed my pillows from time to time but I think I’ll be doing it more often now

Ew ew ew eeeeewwwww! It sounds like this woman was an extreme case though.

I use a latex pillow which is more hygenic and a pillow protector with a treatment for dust mites and stuff like that. I don't wash my pillowcase every week because it's silk but I handwash that every two weeks. My eyes have actually gotten more itchy and irritated from spf moisturizers that were reformulated and too strong for my eye area. I switched to and spf eye cream and the redness and irritation was gone.

I wash my bedding once a week so I think I’m ok . I could imagine not washing my pillow cover for that long lol Why is it so hard to let go of mascara lol . I cleanse daily no probs there.

Yes especially with having cats that want to share the bed with me and it being flea season here. My partner likes to keep the same fitted sheet on for ages and I am like ewwww

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I'm not - what's the buzz? Should I bee?

view results

Review of the Day
Wilko
Delicious hair care!
I just loved how you can use this product 3 different ways, a normal conditioner, a leave in treatment… more »