Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Three Ways To Better Your Beauty Footprint Right NOW

16 August, 2018 - 07:47pm by - Head Pixie | 25 Comments

By BR Tabatha

Finding ways to become more environmentally friendly has been on the Beauty Review Crew's mind lately. We've been remembering to take our reusable bags to the supermarket. There's been some serious decluttering. Everything that can be recycled has been. The phasing out of single-use plastic bags saw us cheer, then quickly figure out how to stop the rubbish bin leaking and stinking. It's a grand time we're living in. We've a chance to stop trashing Mother Nature's work, and we're doing what we can. It may be small steps, but we like to think enough small steps by enough people can lead to big changes. So what can you do to clean up your beauty routine right now? 

Image:  Oh Natural

Choose to Reuse

How many one-use beauty products are you using a year? How many cotton balls or rounds do you toss out after a quick wipe and swipe? If you're wanting to reduce your beauty footprint reusable options are available.

  • Swap cotton rounds for washable cotton rounds.
  • Invest in rewashable makeup remover pads or snap up makeup remover cloths.
  • Try a menstrual cup or washable pads and ditch tampons and/or pads.

Reduce Water

With all the rain we've had this year it sure feels like there's an infinite source of clean water, but there's not, and it's important for us to reduce our water usage wherever we can.

  • Long showers are bliss, but they're unnecessary and can easily be trimmed back.
  • Use a beauty sponge? Rather than running the tap and squeezing and rinsing to get it nice and damp, fill a cup of water and dip it in that to plump it up (then use the remnants to water a pot plant!) .
  • Cleaning teeth and cleansing your face is a must, but do turn off the tap while you're brushing or massaging.

Make Better Buying Decisions

How many products do you have sitting around not being used, destined to end up being thrown out to clutter up a landfill once they're past their use-by date? How many products aren't recyclable? So what can you do right now to ensure you're giving the environment a big loving cuddle?

  • Keep your makeup, skincare and haircare collection simple. Only buy what you need and what you'll use.
  • Buy makeup that multi-tasks eg. a lip and cheek tint, or an eyeshadow that doubles as highlighter.
  • Pass on products you don't use to those who will (shampoos/conditioners/moisturisers/santisable makeup).
  • Use every bit of the product before repurchasing.
  • Check to make sure what you're purchasing is recyclable.
  • Support beauty companies with sustainable policies.

A little change can make a big difference, and we'd love to see this wonderful place we inhabit remain in tip top condition for generations to come.

So do tell... are you a fan of going green with your beauty routine? What changes have you made? What changes will you make? Sharing is caring!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

I absolutely love that a site like this is promoting a greener view to beauty! I use to love buying all the things but have made a conscious effort to buy better quality and minimal packaging products to reduce my eco footprint. Ethique are a great start (bars instead of plastic bottles)! Need to invest in some reusable cotton pads- didn’t know these were an option!

You can also just use an oil cleanser that doesn't sting your eyes to remove makeup. Some of these emulsify when you add water and rinse off really easily. If you follow that up with a gentle gel cleanser you're good to go. I recommend the Palmers

17th August, 2018 at 12:32 pm

cleansing oil. It's natural, gentle, doesn't sting eyes and it's a big bottle is under 20 bucks.

17th August, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Yes I have learnt a lot from this article and it does make you rethink what you are doing

18th August, 2018 at 9:14 am

Reusabl cotton pads are awesome! I have some and they feel just like the disposable ones.

19th August, 2018 at 11:45 am

So no wet wipes sooze? lol

27th August, 2018 at 6:25 pm

I'd like to say I am good at being green but, um, well......I am with other things, but not beauty products....

It's hard, Maree. So many beauty products are over packaged or made of mixed plastics that make them difficult to recycle. I guess we should just buy less lol.

19th August, 2018 at 11:46 am

So very true Soozie. Everything seems to come with a lot of packaging.

19th August, 2018 at 11:48 am

And the more expensive products have the most expensive packaging too!

20th August, 2018 at 8:41 pm

I do like the idea of washable cotton rounds. I use washable bamboo flannels to remove my make up. I do use environmental friendly cleaners and have done for years, plus it's cheaper.

I have washable cotton rounds and they're great! Just like the disposable ones.

19th August, 2018 at 11:47 am

Where do you get them from Soozie?

19th August, 2018 at 7:01 pm

I got mine off Etsy so I had to get them sent from America. Not great have to get them shipped all that way but couldn't find what I was looking for locally.

20th August, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Thanks Soozie :-)

22nd August, 2018 at 11:28 am

I'm trying where I can, I don't buy new make up until I finish the ones I already have and give away the ones I don't use. I'm also trying to support beauty companies with sustainable policies, which can be difficult at times, because they aren't always what I think, so I have to do proper research on them. I love the idea of the reusable cotton pads, which I want to invest in at some point.

I'm definitely trying to be better. Some things I don't even realise until it's too late. I'm good with my plastic bags but it's the sneaky other things. Plus some items have waaaaayyyyyy too much packaging I'm happy to receive less packaging if it's better for our planet.

Ive been good the past 6 months, when i started decluttering and using things up. I also gave away a bag full of products last weekend to my mum. However i do usr makeup remover pads everyday!

Yes!! Love this article. Agree with the comment about some things having way too much packaging. So true. I wish the beauty companies would stop using so much packaging too. Always can do better about being less wasteful! Definitely something I’ve been more focused on lately

Yes I am much more conscious now and really like to see articles like this to remind me to keep the focus.

17th August, 2018 at 4:28 pm

I love this concept. Now to put into practice :)

Glad to say I already do a few of the suggested things listed. I do need to get those reuseable cotton rounds. My "No Buy" for this year has been blown completely. I feel a bit overwhelmed by what I have managed to amass so am looking forward to the "spring clean". A chance to go through everything I have and move on whats need.

I find that my no buy only lasts so long before I buy, buy, buy.

17th August, 2018 at 12:29 pm

It was my first attempt, such a fail!

17th August, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Good on you for trying and being aware though

17th August, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Come to think of it... So many make up products lying around that i don’t actively use... maybe it’s time i find a home for these... I find it hard to spot use by dates in many beauty products, especially make up. So i don’t know if i should give it or throw it hahaha.

But to save the amount of cotton pads i use... maybe i should start using the konjac sponges for cleaning make up off my face.

If it is something easily sanitised consider donating it to Women's Refuge or Looking Good (I think that is the one that helps women going through chemo look and feel good about themselves at their worst.

17th August, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Love your idea!!

19th August, 2018 at 8:02 am

Its a great feeling to give to a charity

21st August, 2018 at 8:48 pm

i've been turning the tap off when i brush my teeth/wash my face for years, so that's no issue for me. i think once i run out of cotton pads i'll start using the many flannels i have sitting doing nothing - or perhaps i'll make my own with my new found friend mr sews-a-lot. i think i like that idea better. i even HAVE an idea on what i want them to look like, so that's a big ol bonus. perhaps that will be todays mission. thanks BR you have inspired me!

My parents would tell me I was wasting water if I did that when I was younger so I turn off the tap till time to rinse.

17th August, 2018 at 12:34 pm

A recent change has been opting for cottonbuds with a paper stick in of a plastic one. I've also been using shampoo and conditioner bars for years and my choice of body cleanser is a mild bar of Sabun soap so no plastic shower gel bottles. I would like to solely use a my lady cup for that time of the month but I have a really hard time getting it just right so that it doesn't leak. If I could master every time I would totally ditch pads and tampons. Speaking of pads I use the Organic Initiative brand that is organic and supposedly biodegradable. They even have tampons with cardboard applicators.

are the pads from the supermarket ?

19th August, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Yes you can find them at Countdown, New World and Pak and Save. Iherb sells them but they are a bit more expensive on iherb.

19th August, 2018 at 10:08 pm

I hope they come with wings haha!

21st August, 2018 at 1:22 pm

Both the super and regular have wings though I don't think the panty liners do.

21st August, 2018 at 5:02 pm

I totally agree. I already use all the product I have open prior to purchasing new but will look at rewashable makeup remover pads or snap up makeup remover cloths. I also will be more conscious cleaning my teeth . Good to have a reminder as easy to forget the little things we can all do.

I actually through I've got this recycling thing and that I'm doing my bit Till I read about the wee cotton pad, wowza I use 6 a day sob Cotton washable rounds will be on my list xxxxxx

Do it! My reusable ones feel just like the disposable ones.

19th August, 2018 at 11:50 am

I definitely try to make conscious choices. Plastics do get put in recycling rather than just in the waste bin. I try really hard to use products up before using another product. I use the manicure makeup remover towels - have three of them on rotation. I've never had any success with shampoo/conditioner bars unfortunately and I've tried them all! My biggest change - I changed to a menstrual cup (Hello Cup) about 6 months ago, which I never thought I could do, but after a few months getting used to it, it's amazingly easier and better than tampons etc.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Hot or Not? Are You Here for Mismatched Nails?

Yes! They're a match made in heaven!

view results

Review of the Day
sarahellaoverton
Not so easy to use
I love Tailor products, so I was excited to try this one. However, I was disappointed. I found the product… more »