Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

If Own Any of These Six Tools...You're Beauty Obsessed!

17 June, 2018 - 06:55pm by - Head Pixie | 25 Comments

By BR Tabatha

It's one thing to be a beauty fan and another to be beauty obessesed. When we think about someone who's a fan of beauty, we think of someone who takes care of their skin, enjoys discovering skincare that works for them, someone who owns a bit of makeup, and is interested in learning how to apply it well. Someone who keeps abreast of new offerings in the cosmetics world.

When we think of a beauty obsessed person we think of someone who isn't just interested in skincare, but is passionate about it. The kind of person who reads the back of labels and actually knows what all the scientific words means. Someone who lives and breathes new releases from beauty companies. A person who is not afraid to splash some serious money if it means their skin and makeup will look its best.

So what are the tools that separate a beauty fan from the beauty obsessed? What will be hiding in their beauty spaces? Check these out...

It's one thing to use a bit of cleanser and your hands to wash the grime of the day off your face, some may even use a cleansing cloth for extra makeup and dirt-removing properties. Those who are super serious about it invest in the likes of a Clarisonic, which is designed to deeply and gently clean the skin, leaving it smoother and more radiant.

There's a good chance too that they'll have invested in one of the Clarisonic's different heads, like the Sonic Foundation Brush, which is said to blend and buff your way to flawless cream and liquid foundation, cream blush and bronzer.

If the body is a temple than your face is what people see when they come to worship, so there's no way the beauty obsessed is going to let their skin be smooshed into a cotton pillowcase at night. No, for the beauty obsessed it's a silk pillowcase all the way - like the Slipsilk pillowcase, which works to help you avoid those delightful creases that apply on your face when you smush your moosh into a standard pillowcase, all the while keeping your hair tangle-free.

Things heading south? Ah the joys of gravity! For those who want to keep the signs of ageing at bay then the NuFACE Trinity Device is sure to be found on their bedside table. It works to improve the contour and tone of skin, while reducing the look of wrinkles. At $500+ it's not for those on a budget, but is sure is more affordable than seeing a surgeon.

Artis. The word alone sends a shiver of delight down the beauty obsessed spine. It's the word that whispers elegance and quality. And this limited edition set of 24-karat gold-plated Elite Gold brushes take the brand's line to the next level. With a set like this on your duchess you'll never need - or want - another brush again.

Feet a little rough around the edges? Heels seen better days? Being beauty obsessed doesn't mean spending a fortune, it also means buying the best tool for the best result, and those who love their feet are all about the Scholl Velvet Smooth Express Pedi Electronic Foot File. The proof? With a 4.7/5 rating on Beauty Review it's a firm favourite of some of the biggest bunch of beauty obsessed gals we've ever met! 

You know you've gone next level obsessed when you're willing to shell out for a $200 spatula in order to scoop out your creams and gels from their pottles. But who could blame a gal when the Argentum La Spatule D'Argent Cream Applicator is truly a thing of beauty. Made from solid silver, we'd like to think it's a solid investment - as long as you don't misplace it...

So... do tell... are any of these pretties sitting on your shelves? Has your love of beauty reached obsessive levels, or are you firmly in the 'like it, not going crazy over it' camp? Get chatting!

back

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

I only own the school velvet smooth. Would love to own the clarisonic facial cleanser.

I don't have any and I want them all!!!

I have the scholl and love it! Would love a silk pillowslip have looked into them but seriously can't afford it. Would love some of the other items too. Will have to win lotto.

I saw some in Country Road for about $80 (I think, could have been more but was cheaper than $200).

18th June, 2018 at 8:58 am

Never thought of trying country road. Yessss so expensive but would love one.. do wonders for the face and hair.

18th June, 2018 at 9:22 pm

I've been sleeping a on silk pillowcase for over a year and it was one of the best purchases I made that year. So soft and smooth and luxurious and no more freezing cold pillow when I roll over in the winter nights.

19th June, 2018 at 5:15 pm

To be fair though prior to getting a real, genuine silk pillowcase I was sleeping on fake, smooth slippery material and rarely woke up with sleep creases, I rarely do now but silk feels so much better. Downside is you have to hand wash it.

19th June, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Ooooh that's good to know about the cold too I hate rolling over in bed and finding cold spots brrr. Think my head definitely needs a silk pillowcase stat.

20th June, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Envy over silk pillowcases!

Me too !!!

18th June, 2018 at 9:57 am

I've been sleeping a on silk pillowcase for over a year and it was one of the best purchases I made that year. So soft and smooth and luxurious and no more freezing cold pillow when I roll over in the winter nights.

19th June, 2018 at 5:17 pm

To be fair though prior to getting a real, genuine silk pillowcase I was sleeping on fake, smooth slippery material and rarely woke up with sleep creases, I rarely do now but silk feels so much better. Downside is you have to hand wash it.

19th June, 2018 at 5:17 pm

I have the scholl foot pedi but that's all. Would love a silk pillowcase for sure also the clarisonic sounds interesting.

If you want something that you don't need to replace the brush heads look into the Foreo Luna it costs more but you save money in the long run since it's a one off purchase and I think it's said to be a bit more gentler on your skin. I have one and

19th June, 2018 at 5:19 pm

it was a good investment. I've been sleeping a on silk pillowcase for over a year and it was one of the best purchases I made that year. So soft and smooth and luxurious and no more freezing cold pillow when I roll over in the winter nights.

19th June, 2018 at 5:20 pm

To be fair though prior to getting a real, genuine silk pillowcase I was sleeping on fake, smooth slippery material and rarely woke up with sleep creases, I rarely do now but silk feels so much better. Downside is you have to hand wash it.

19th June, 2018 at 5:20 pm

No I don't have them but I have similar foot thing and I used to have a silky case for pillow... Somewhere... I'd like to try the round make up brushes

Yes I have a Scholl pedi and I love it . I’m on the hunt for a cleansing brush and I’ve been looking for a pillow case for ages now.

If you want something that you don't need to replace the brush heads look into the Foreo Luna it costs more but you save money in the long run since it's a one off purchase and I think it's said to be a bit more gentler on your skin. I have one and

19th June, 2018 at 5:24 pm

it was a good investment. I've been sleeping a on silk pillowcase for over a year and it was one of the best purchases I made that year. So soft and smooth and luxurious and no more freezing cold pillow when I roll over in the winter nights.

19th June, 2018 at 5:25 pm

To be fair though prior to getting a real, genuine silk pillowcase I was sleeping on fake, smooth slippery material and rarely woke up with sleep creases, I rarely do now but silk feels so much better. Downside is you have to hand wash it.

19th June, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Where can I purchase this pillow case?

19th June, 2018 at 6:35 pm

Wow $200 for a spatula -I use a cotton bud to get the last of my foundation out of the glass bottle!

I’ve been meaning to get a satin pillowcase, because my frizzy wild hair gets very messed up when I sleep!

Yes sounds lovely !!

18th June, 2018 at 9:57 am

I have been sleeping on a silk pillowcase for over a year and honestly I haven't seen a huge difference to my hair. I always braid in a loose braid before bed. I don't have exceptionally difficult to manage hair though. I do find the a hair here

19th June, 2018 at 5:28 pm

and there that broke off during the night. However if you want something that feels super soft and luxurious and doesn't feel cold when you switch sides in the middle of the night during winter silk is the way to go. I rarely wake up with sleep

19th June, 2018 at 5:30 pm

creases but I rarely did with my cheap, fake silkish pillowcase that I used to sleep on prior. The downside is though with silk is you have to hand wash it and you can't tumble dry it either.

19th June, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Sounds interesting tannygirl, I might see if I can find a cheap one to give it a go at least!

30th June, 2018 at 9:08 pm

Clarisonic didn't work out for me :(. I've heard good things about Nuface but you have to keep using it and I don't know if I could be that OCD :).

Look into the Foreo Luna for sensitive skin instead I hear it's much more gentler and it's a one off purchase because you don't need to repurchase the brush heads. I have one and it was a good investment plus the battery life on that thing is

19th June, 2018 at 5:34 pm

amazing I only have to charge mine twice a year and I have the first model. There a new improved model that is even better.

19th June, 2018 at 5:36 pm

I picked up a cheap knock off from Aliexpress to try and tbh, I think I will just stick to my using my hands. I will continue to keep looking at them though but that price tag always puts me off.

20th June, 2018 at 8:20 am

I have thought about getting the express pedi. I wouldn't spend $200 on a silver spatula I'd rather get earrings lol. I bet those brushes are nice though.

I have the Scholl Velvet Smooth Express Pedi Electronic Foot File which is really good on my poor neglected feet but would love the other magic tools.

I don't have any of them! I have looked at the Clarisonic in Farmers though!

I’ve gone through 3 clarisonics but now I use a Luna 2. Way better in my opinion! I have a silver spatula too but it was not nearly that expensive. I’ve tried an Artis brush but didn’t see the hype so didn’t purchase either. Never used the other things!

I have the first model it was such a good buy and the battery life on that thing is amazing. Seriously I wish my phone had that battery life.

19th June, 2018 at 5:37 pm

I have the Scholl foot thing but haven't used it in ages. I would like a silk pillow case. Must look in to the cost of them.

I have been sleeping on a silk pillowcase for over a year and honestly I haven't seen a huge difference to my hair. I always braid in a loose braid before bed. I don't have exceptionally difficult to manage hair though. I do find the a hair here

19th June, 2018 at 5:37 pm

and there that broke off during the night. However if you want something that feels super soft and luxurious and doesn't feel cold when you switch sides in the middle of the night during winter silk is the way to go. I rarely wake up with sleep

19th June, 2018 at 5:38 pm

creases but I rarely did with my cheap, fake silkish pillowcase that I used to sleep on prior. The downside is though with silk is you have to hand wash it and you can't tumble dry it either.

19th June, 2018 at 5:38 pm

I don't mind handwashing it as I do the same with lingere. I cut my hair but it is still long and a hassle. My hair is an absolute mess in the mornings, I wonder if the silk case would help. Meh, i'll look into it when I get back from Hawaii!

19th June, 2018 at 8:15 pm

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »