Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - Aug
The Beauty Vault - Aug

Remembering Your First... Unforgettable Beauty Rituals!

12 July, 2018 - 07:11pm by - Head Pixie | 20 Comments

By BR Kellie

There's nothing quite like your first time...

Heads out of the gutters, ladies! I'm talking in the beauty sense! Things took a nostalgic turn in BRHQ recently as we wandered down memory lane, recalling the tentative steps we took in the beauty world. The things we tried that lead us to become our beauty loving... okay, obsessed... selves.

So what were the rituals we dipped our toes in before diving in? Read on...

The first shave. Okay, I now have Rod crooning in my head - 'the first cut is the deepest...' The first time you shave your legs is like a step into adulthood. Shedding the baby fur that kept your leggy-loos warm through your childhood. The first time you swipe your hand over smooth skin is unforgettable. I am woman, hear my furless legged self roar.

I feel like young women today have it good. When it comes to applying their first foundation they have YouTube. They have beauty gurus. We had teen girl mags that didn't really tell us much of anything. We had no knowledge of swatching. We had demarcation lines and pancake application... BUT, we thought we were fab. Which, of course, we were. Until we looked back and realised we were doing it wrong. But at least we all were...

Hands up whose first hair colour was Sun In? That bottle of lightening liquid turned our mops into variable shades of blonde, strawberry blonde, possibly even a touch red. Just spray and sit in the sun, or hit your head up with the hair dryer, and you were on your way to an beautiful, natural *cough* shade of blonde. Bliss. 

The first eyeliner. If it wasn't thick and black and rimming the inner and outer parts of your eyes, you were doing it wrong. As for using eyeshadow to create a smokey line? Well that was just crazy talk.

Oh to look like a golden goddess! Evenly tanned from top to toe. No strap marks or patchy areas to be seen. Self-tanning seemed like the ultimate way to get that sophisticated 'just be on holiday at a fancy tropical resort' look without having to spend the money, or sit out in the sun all day, or bare your bare bum to a complete stranger at a salon. Nobody tells you though about the discoloured ankles and knees. The yellow palms. The streakiness... Once done wrong, never done again. OR, done much more carefully the second time round. 

Which leads us to... The first spray tan. If you're anything like me, you gave up on self-tanning. But, one day, you find yourself off on holiday and you want to step out in your swimsuit with a tan already plastered to your body. So you book in for a spray tan and quickly discover that it is possible to hit new heights of humiliation. Between the paper g-string, the getting your girls out in front of a complete stranger, and doing a slow version of the robot in order to ensure every part of you is getting a good colour on, it's a moment you'll never forget... even if you want to.

'Take your top and your bra off and lie face down.' Not to be mistaken for a line in a really bad romance book, this is how we're so often introduced to our first massage. Chances are, you've never taken your bra and top off in a strange room for a stranger before. Will they see side-boob? Will they judge back pimples? Will they... and then they begin working out the knots in your back and you suddenly stop caring.

Do I talk? Do I not talk? Do I keep my eyes shut? Do I open them? Is taking a nap okay? Ah, the questions posed by the first facial. Once you've found a therapist and worked out your groove though, you go back again and again and again, and sometimes it'll develop into one of the most meaningful relationships of your life.

So there you have it... the firsts we'll never forget. So our beloved beauties... now's the time to tell your stories... what were your first experiences in the beauty world like? Embarassing, awkward, mistake-ridden, dear to heart? You know what they say... sharing is caring!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Oh that first eyeliner and first eyebrows - thick, black, unshapely.

Ermmmm foundation. I'd been using make up since I was young for tap dancing, and was used to using it, but failed on the blending - yeeek, I was mortified when I finally noticed it.

I started a skin care routine at 10. I was all about cleansing, toning and moisturising. Also pimple cream for the rare pimple(I never got the really bad pimple/acne skin just the one off big one). I didn't shave until I was 17, scared of cutting myself. Never did the tan thing. Have not yet had a facial or massage. Mostly from a money aspect but also because I would be thinking what are thinking about me.

My grandmother bought me a whole skin care set at about 9-10 years of age & was very stern when explaining to me the importance of taking care of the one skin you have! Nivea youth or young something was what I used. Hardly ever a pimple also :)

13th July, 2018 at 8:52 am

Ponds and Nivea were the holy grail when I was growing up. I loved Ponds and used it for years.

13th July, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Haha this brings back memories! Shaving my legs for the first time ever before my form 2 social. And sun in!!! I had totally forgotten about that but it was all my mum would let me use on my hair!! Overplucking my eyebrows is something I wish I could go back and change. I wouldn't have been so plucky.

Omg sun in! I have dark hair and I remember it was cool to douse your hair in sun in. Mine was a lovely ginger shade bhahaha. My first massage was a hot rocks one, amazing!

Oh the Sun In, I used it religiously for most of my teenage years and was left with a lovely shade of orange.

First self tan -I plastered all over me and then went to bed - I woke up really early and I was streaky orange all over -What was I thinking !!!

Yes I remember those orange streaks

13th July, 2018 at 9:18 am

Yes I remember spending hours in the bath trying to scrub off

14th July, 2018 at 2:22 pm

I'll never, ever forget the first time my Mum plucked my eyebrows. The torture! The agony. The teary, running eyes with each hair. It took hours I swear it. So then I tried to discover an easier way. Hair removal cream - WOW, it's fast & the pretty lady on the packaging was pretty convincing that it was gentle on skin.... Jokes on me I guess. So there I was, 15 years old, stepping up in the world & shaping my own brows. It was catastrophic! So after only about 1-2 minutes my skin felt like it was next to a direct flame, the burning was intense. Quickly referring back to the packaging - May cause slight burning sensation, if severe, remove product straight away & rinse well. Um... crap, what's severe? Like am I dying or something? I'll just give it another minute or two.... Time to rinse/wipe. I felt as though I was wiping my own skin off, and once I looked in the mirror, I almost wished I had. Bye-bye eyebrows. You see, this was prior to discovering I needed glasses in life. I would've been lucky to maybe have about 10 hairs in random spots on my face where my brows used to be. As if that didn't have me sobbing like a big sook - you almost couldn't see my actual eyes because the skin was so swollen and bright red it had puffed down over my eyelids! Bonus I guess, I was about to be blind & wouldn't have to look at my hideous eyebrows! My mum made me up an ice pack, whilst her & my sisters cackled in fits over my awful grooming fail. All I can say today is, thank god it was winter & I wasn't prepping for swimwear!

You have my sympathy. I used to do other peoples and it always hurt them!

13th July, 2018 at 6:47 pm

I had the burn when I used delipatory cream on the mou my skin came off my lips got burnt too. I had the same problem which certain waxing strips. Now I just tweeze that way I don't have to wait till the mou is really grown in.

13th July, 2018 at 8:18 pm

I wax now - the pain is over with so quickly. My mother traumatized me with tweezers haha

14th July, 2018 at 11:41 am

Yep waxing is definitely the way to go lol

14th July, 2018 at 7:06 pm

The first time I shaved my legs shall I say I borrowed my mother's shaver and proceeded to shave my legs dry and wondered why they were itchy lol well I didn't know to use soap he he he. A friend and I loved colouring our hair with Glints by Clairol, we loved those brighter colours.

Yes! Glints all the way for me too! Never touched Sun-In thank goodness.

13th July, 2018 at 11:08 am

OUCH !!!

15th July, 2018 at 10:47 am

The things we do for beauty lol

15th July, 2018 at 11:11 am

I remember my first eyeliner, because I was still living at home, and I vividly remember my dad looking at me (I did also have one of those spectacular mini tube skirts too!) and he said "...you can go back to your room and take that mess off your eyes, you're not leaving the house looking like that" … to this day he still hates me wearing eyeliner, and not a fan of red lippy either haha.....

Oh Yes -I remember that too

15th July, 2018 at 10:47 am

My first brow shape from my natural bushy ones to fleek thin ones as a teenager. I forgot how much of my face it took

The first time I shaved my legs ... haha, it took 3 disposable razors (with Mom supervising), because the “fluff” was so thick and long that it just kept clogging the razors and making them blunt. No amount of rinsing helped. Never mind the fact that it took around 45 mins. I’ll never forget that memory. Also, the very first time I went swimming after having shaved my legs - the water felt so weird!

I've never had a spray tan. I'm a spray it myself kinda girl. Discovering the tanning mitt was a godsend though.

The first time my sister shaped my brows. It was before bedtime and she decided to shape my good brow and tweeze it thin then she decided she was too tired to do the other one, to make matters worse the next day I had to go take a photo for my ID. I remember the thing in the pic that stands out most is my brows. Yep I took my black eyeliner/brow pencil and colored them in to make them match, the rest of my facial features sink into the rest of my face since I was into the most natural makeup which turned out to be like hardly anything especially in photos.

My first hair color was SO horrible. Hahaha I just came back from the beach and wanted to color my hair with highlights to match my tan and it looked so tacky omg. Horrible!

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Does your foundation last all day?

Does your foundation last all day?

No, I have to touch up at least once during the day!

view results

Review of the Day
dani7331
Gentle Gel
I really like this gel cleanser. I have always been a fan of the Micellar water, so it was exciting to try something… more »