Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Braun July
Braun July

How To Up Your Beauty Sleep Game!

21 August, 2017 - 08:50pm by - Head Pixie | 16 Comments

By BR Amelia

We all know how good beauty sleep is. Heck, there was that study that showed if you didn't get quality sleep people found you less attractive. But you know, great sleep is not always a given. So while we are catching a few - or if we're lucky - many winks, we can at least do everything in our power to ensure the beauty products we use are going to help us wake up looking bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, or at least a little less like death warmed up. So what do we need for our most beautiful sleep ever? Check these out!

First things first, you've got to give your skin a good cleanse before you hit the hay. Get rid of all that grime. Choose a cleanser that rocks your world, and if you want to be sure you've got all the gunk off run a micellar water-soaked pad over your face once afterwards. Then it's time to get into the goodies!

You can't beat a good nightly serum, and there's a myriad to choose from. One that's on our hit list? A'kin's Certified Organic Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C. This beauty can be used day and night, and it leaves your skin looking brighter, more nourished and healthier. Not only highly rated by the BR Crew, but by BR Beauties, who've rated it a fabulous 4.6/5!

It goes without saying that a good nightly moisturiser is a must if you want to wake up looking sprightly. Again it's important to choose a moisturiser that suits your skin type - which is why I'm a huge advocate of taking oneself to a beauty therapist and finding out what your skin type is and what your skin requires to be at it's best. My personal favourite is the Goodness Every Evening Cream. It's thick to the touch, yet sinks in quickly and leaves your skin feeling beautiful and plump. 

The eyes are the windows to your soul, and Lord knows they sure as heck are the ultimate tattle-tales of a late night out or a rough sleep. So before you attempt to go lights-out for the night a little undereye cream can go a long way. Our Queen, BR Merilyn, swears by Dr Lewinn's Private Formula Firming Eye Cream.

Lips lacking moisture? Maybe the weather's got to them or you've been rocking a drying liquid lip. This is like magic in a pottle. BR Kellie swears by it. You slick it on before you hit the pillow and you wake up with plump, fresh looking lips. 

It's not only your skin that can do with some love overnight. A good hair oil can make the difference between a good and bad hair day. BR Nat is a faithful user of Argania Liquid Gold Hair Oil. She loves it because it makes her thick, non straight, non curly, just mushrooming hair super soft and frizz-free. She also uses it on her little person's hair every night and it makes his curls beautiful the next day. Most importantly, it smells like lollies.

So there you have it - simple steps to waking up better than ever. Or waking up knowing that despite lack of sleep you'll at least look better than if you'd done nothing at all. So do tell... what's your bedtime regime like? What steps do you stick to to ensure you're giving it your beauty best? Get chatting!

back

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

19th December, 2017

I am liking the look of the lip mask... I normally just apply lanolin before bed

30th August, 2017

Sephora Sleep Masks are legit the best thing ever to put on your face before you sleep. They're *amazing*

28th August, 2017

I have to wash my face before I go to bed, then tone and moisturise my face

26th August, 2017

I like to use a night cream, serum and hair products, herbal oils and scents

26th August, 2017

I like the look of the eye cream, serum, and hair oil! Will definitely be looking into trying those next

23rd August, 2017

I double cleanse, apply toner, then there's layers of different serums from the Ordinary, followed by an facial oil and a night cream or sleeping mask. Some nights I use masks or peels after cleansing. I don't enjoy a lot of things that are good for me (eating vegetables, exercise, saving money, etc.) but a good skincare routine is one of the few things I truly enjoy.

22nd August, 2017

Omg is that new packaging for the A'kin oil - eek love it so much. I'm on my second bottle of it. I can't thank Beauty Review enough for introducing me to it x

22nd August, 2017

A hair oil that smells like lollies?! I so want that.

First Lady
27th August, 2017

Check out Farmers, I saw it in the clearance for $15 and stocked up!

22nd August, 2017

I've only started using a night moisturiser and eye cream this year but I feel it makes me look better than my day time routine.

22nd August, 2017

That liquid gold hair oil sounds lovely. I need something like the that. My hairs dry.

22nd August, 2017

The hair oil looks lush!! I use the goodness morning cream I really should get it's twin and use that for best results. I think it's time to look at my skin regime and get the right things to help it. At the moment I am experiencing dullness and breakouts. I have never used an eye firming cream so I think that is my next step. I always make sure I cleanse, tone and moisturise though so who knows why my skin is acting out.

22nd August, 2017

When my hair was longer I would coat it in a hair mask, coconut oil or similar, plait it and let it do it's thing while I slept. I really need to improve my night skin care - I already have half of these products!

22nd August, 2017

I've been good recently with my cleansing routine, usually followed by my night cream (depending on the night). I'm about to swap the cream out for Rosehip oil though so we'll see how that goes.

It's a bit hard to figure out what will be best for my skin, sometimes it's based on a nightly decision. Some nights using a cream and eye cream hits the spot, others they leave me oily feeling. Does anyone else have this issue?

21st August, 2017

I am currently using the A'kin oil at night but it seems to be breaking me out. I sometimes sleep with coconut oil in my hair. It leaves it so beautiful and soft when washed out.

JessB
22nd August, 2017

Using hair oils overnight is something I never thought of - I just assumed they'd be used during the day for some reason.

Imoshen
22nd August, 2017

I think Rose Hip Seed Oil breaks me out too so when I remember I shall try to use it every other night to see if that helps things stay calm.

Lisa-Lou
22nd August, 2017

Jess sometimes I leave a hair treatment on overnight too. Just pop a shower cap on. Imoshen rosehip oil doesn't usually break me out so im wondering if it is the vitamin c. Hmmmm.

21st August, 2017

Ooooh the laneige lip mask is package goals! The gradient makes it look so luxurious. Sulwhasoo does really good sleeping packs but it's super expensive. There are also many one use mini sleeping packs that you can buy online.

HAVE YOU SIGNED UP YET?!

We're eliminating Bad Beauty Buys...one review at a time!

It's so easy and fun to join in with NZ's biggest beauty guide!

(1) SIGN UP - (2) Earn Beauty Points for every beauty product you review - (3) Exchange your points for FREE beauty products!

Sign Up Today!