Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

How old are your hair straighteners?

20 October, 2021 - 10:49am by - First Lady | 154 Comments

Poll posted by BR Natalie

When we purchase a piece of technology it's generally an investment right?  We set ourselves a maximum budget and we buy the best product we can afford, and use it until it no longer works.  But here's the thing about technology - it's always moving forward!

What was top of the line 5 years ago (heck, even 1 year ago) is now the equivalent of a Tamagotchi compared to a Nintendo Switch.  Of a Nokia 6310 to an iPhone 13.  And hair technology is no different.

Compare straighteners now to straighteners 5 years ago.  The difference is astounding!  We now know the importance of choosing straighteners with plates that evenly distribute heat.  We know different hair types require different maximum temperatures.  And how many of us have been saved by the handy auto-switch off function?!

And by using old technology straighteners, chances are you're actually damaging your hair - so rather than waiting for them to die the ultimate techno-death, it's time to reassess your current straighteners now!

We're putting together a really exciting trial team which will see 20 reviewers put a brand new straightener to the test.  Here's where it gets interesting.  These aren't hitting retail stores until around the November 1st and we can't publicly talk about them until then.  Neither can the trial team!  We can say they are going to retail for $439.99 and are based on the latest in STEAM straightening technology.  Christmas really will come early for the members of this trial team!

Steam Technology.

  • Steam technology acts as a conditioning mist, infusing hair with moisture while transforming it into long-lasting, poker straight hair that shines and feels soft and satiny.
  • The mystery straighteners offer you the option to use the base station to automatically fill the straightener in seconds, or you can fill the straightener reservoir directly.
  • The plates are titanium plates, max wide and cushioned to provide the ulitimate temperature stability for poker straight hair in one pass.
  • There's a removable detangling comb that allows for 3D straightening, sectioning and detangling hair as you style it!
  • You'll experience super controlled styling with 5 heat settings up to 220°C and integrated sensors to prevent excessive heat.
  • Hair will stay straight for at least 24 hours!

WE KNOW!!  It sounds amazing!!  

So if you'd like to put your hand up to trial this super secret, super amazing product you'll need to take our survey to put your hand up.

CLICK HERE to take our quick hair care survey and put your hand up to join this Trial Team.

Then why not come back here and tell us all about your current straighteners - we'd love to hear how old they are, what technology they utilise and if they need an upgrade!

How old are your hair straighteners?


View results

View previous polls

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

24th October, 2021

I'm interested in the trial. It would be nice to have straighteners that don't dry my hair out.

24th October, 2021

I’ve had a goddess steam straightner for about 6 years or more and I find although it’s good it does not keep results of straightening more than a few hours. I usually have to have keratin straightening to get the results I like. I do t like fliaways or unruly hair. Sleek and shiny is my dream. Very keen to try something that could actually work and save me hundreds of dollars in keratin products and services

24th October, 2021

Ive had a GHD for around 5 years now. Doesnt quite straighten the same. They are so expensive to replace and ive heard steam straighteners are better for your hair would love to review this and blog about it on my blog page charz.link

23rd October, 2021

I've had a hand-me-down Breville x TotalGirl Magazine colab straightener since around 2014 and it smells so nasty whenever I use it. It only has one super high heat setting and absolutely fries my ends and makes my hair super static. Not only that, but it takes more than 40 minutes usually to straighten my hair, which will only stay straight for less that an hour depending on the weather, and this is with already half straight natural hair. I haven't used it in several years because of the severe damage it's done to my hair due to heat and breakage. I didn't actually know that steam straighteners were a thing, so I would be super interested to try one out and see if it can a. actually keep my hair straight for more than an hour and b. straighten my hair without damaging the ends, static buildup etc. I would love to compare the steam technology to existing straighteners and see how it handles!

23rd October, 2021

I have my GHD for over 10 years now. It’s still working but I find it make my hair dry and frizzy afterwards. It only stays straight for like a couple of hours. I would be great to try this steam straightener to see if it would help my damaged hair and how long it keep hair stay in shape. Fingers crossed I can take part in this trial.

23rd October, 2021

I bought a remington straightener 4-5 years ago and they were good for about a year but then they up and died on me! I have to use my daughter's one now, when I get permission! Haha

23rd October, 2021

My straighterners are about 7-8 years old now. I have straightened my hair all my life. I started getting keratin straightening done about 3 years ago and have found my hair is really thinning out. So I am back to blowdrying and using hair straighteners. I desperately need an upgrade to a more modern straightening iron - there has been such an advance in technology in the last few years. I would love to trial this product.

23rd October, 2021

Mine are about 5 years now. My first hair straighteners were the OG Goddess. I’m excited to see what the next gen looks like!

23rd October, 2021

Mine is 9 years old!!

23rd October, 2021

My hair straightener is 7 years old would love to trial something new

22nd October, 2021

My hair straightners are at least 14 years old l would love to try some new ones ,

22nd October, 2021

My hair straighteners are probably the equivalent of some kind of fossil from before the ice age! We’re talking singular heat setting, plates that don’t quite sit perfectly in the surrounding plastic so every time I run them through my hair it catches and tears out a strand or two, not even sure what brand they are because the branding rubbed off looooong ago! They’ve definitely done me well and have been well loved, but I think they are more than overdue for retirement!

22nd October, 2021

Mine were the leading brand, they're in the bin. Stopped working... at all. Although not new, I didn't use them that much as they not only frizzled my hair... they took forever to do it. They were not cheap, in fact I'd say they were top of the range. I love straight hair, unfortunately it looks like a mop now.

22nd October, 2021

I got my straighteners as a wedding gift from hubby, so I guess that makes them 11 years old. I think. Don't tell hubby I don't know how long we've been married. Who can do maths on a Friday?!

22nd October, 2021

I've been using the same hair straightener for more than 5 years! It might be the time to change it up. Steam straightener would be perfect!

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!