Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

How old are your hair straighteners?

20 October, 2021 - 10:49am by - First Lady | 154 Comments

Poll posted by BR Natalie

When we purchase a piece of technology it's generally an investment right?  We set ourselves a maximum budget and we buy the best product we can afford, and use it until it no longer works.  But here's the thing about technology - it's always moving forward!

What was top of the line 5 years ago (heck, even 1 year ago) is now the equivalent of a Tamagotchi compared to a Nintendo Switch.  Of a Nokia 6310 to an iPhone 13.  And hair technology is no different.

Compare straighteners now to straighteners 5 years ago.  The difference is astounding!  We now know the importance of choosing straighteners with plates that evenly distribute heat.  We know different hair types require different maximum temperatures.  And how many of us have been saved by the handy auto-switch off function?!

And by using old technology straighteners, chances are you're actually damaging your hair - so rather than waiting for them to die the ultimate techno-death, it's time to reassess your current straighteners now!

We're putting together a really exciting trial team which will see 20 reviewers put a brand new straightener to the test.  Here's where it gets interesting.  These aren't hitting retail stores until around the November 1st and we can't publicly talk about them until then.  Neither can the trial team!  We can say they are going to retail for $439.99 and are based on the latest in STEAM straightening technology.  Christmas really will come early for the members of this trial team!

Steam Technology.

  • Steam technology acts as a conditioning mist, infusing hair with moisture while transforming it into long-lasting, poker straight hair that shines and feels soft and satiny.
  • The mystery straighteners offer you the option to use the base station to automatically fill the straightener in seconds, or you can fill the straightener reservoir directly.
  • The plates are titanium plates, max wide and cushioned to provide the ulitimate temperature stability for poker straight hair in one pass.
  • There's a removable detangling comb that allows for 3D straightening, sectioning and detangling hair as you style it!
  • You'll experience super controlled styling with 5 heat settings up to 220°C and integrated sensors to prevent excessive heat.
  • Hair will stay straight for at least 24 hours!

WE KNOW!!  It sounds amazing!!  

So if you'd like to put your hand up to trial this super secret, super amazing product you'll need to take our survey to put your hand up.

CLICK HERE to take our quick hair care survey and put your hand up to join this Trial Team.

Then why not come back here and tell us all about your current straighteners - we'd love to hear how old they are, what technology they utilise and if they need an upgrade!

How old are your hair straighteners?


View results

View previous polls

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

23rd November, 2021

I would love to trial this! I am a busy working mum and I barely have time to look after myself. I have been able to straighten my hair once in the last 4 months and when my hair is straight I feel so much better about myself! I need something nice an simple <3

14th November, 2021

I have given up using my straighteners and now have to go to the hairdressers. I used to spend ages straightening my hair only for it to have fly aways before leaving the bathroom, kinks before leaving the house and curls coming back before I actually got to the event I tried to straighten my hair for. My girls continue to use them but I just bother. I would love to give these a go and restore my faith in home straightening.

10th November, 2021

My hair is thick with a deep curl, and even with my GHD’s the kink comes back within a few hours. The only straighteners that ever gave me long lasting results were the ones my old hairdresser used, which were steam straighteners. I would LOVE to give these bad boys a hoon! I also have a young woman with curly hair down to her bum living in our spare room - double product testing to be had :)

9th November, 2021

My poor remmington straighteners have had a looong life with me but now it's time to replace them with something more advanced. I'd love a spot on the trial xx

1st November, 2021

I cant believe I didnt consider that straightners needing replacing! My poor hair! I think mine is about 7 yrs old ... it is a GHD and I really need something more modern and safe with the latest and greatest technology. The technology sounds incredible and powerful yet safe and gentle. Would love to try!

1st November, 2021

My straighteners look surprisingly good for having been bought in 2014, I’m scared they’ll give up the ghost with no warning!

1st November, 2021

I've been using the same straighteners for over ten years now, however today- they cord has decided it no longer wants to work.. I've got very thick, bushy hair that I don't wear down unless I have straightened it. I'd love to review this new straightener- as it sounds much kinder to hair than what I have been using.

30th October, 2021

I need to read these reviews! Desperately needing to find a good straightener! Some promise the World and deliver Mercury... Babes, i need some good straighteners in my life!

26th October, 2021

I can't wait to read the reviews..I think steam..and I think my hair will block the sun (well what little we get in Auckland).

26th October, 2021

I have never been able to get rid of my old straightener and it has actually been a pain to use too. My hair always get entangled in the plates as they are not wide enough. I do not trust straighteners taking care of my hair, but i want to raise my hand to try this one as it says 5 heat settings plus steam technology and wide plates. I hope I can help straight hair loving family with my reviews if i get to use this as a trial. I would love to trial this straightener.

26th October, 2021

Level 3 lockdown hair - you know the rest. I would love to try new straighteners that might take this unruly mop. I do have some, but they’re as old as the hills and were never really that great. They are better than the method I tried when I was very young involving an iron and an ironing board (didn’t go too well) and it’s been a bit downhill from there to be honest. I would absolutely love to try something that might actually work!

25th October, 2021

My Cloud 9 Straighteners have to be about 15 years old and still going, 1x fix. The fix guy looked at my GHDs too and told me my 20+yr old GHDs would still go also with a small fix.

25th October, 2021

Fingers and toes crossed for this one! :D

25th October, 2021

These honestly sound amazing. I would love to try these out. I have not found a decent pair of straighteners yet that give me my desired result

25th October, 2021

Love how these are secret until after the trial team invites are out - I know the reason, but I think you should consider this for all trials, it really adds to the excitement

B-youtiful
25th October, 2021

definitely need an upgrade tho.... they can dry my hair out

Reviewers Needed for the Garnier Perfecting Care BB Cream!

It's BB Week here at Beauty Review!

We'll be putting the new Perfecting Care range from Garnier to the test - which means we'll be sending it out to members just like you! FOR FREE!

Whether you want a BB Cream with high SPF or one designed to keep oily skin matte...we've got you covered!

Check out the Trial Teams by clicking below!

Put Your Hand Up Here!