Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Three Things You Need to Know Before You Go On a DETOX!

15 July, 2018 - 06:53pm by - Head Pixie | 17 Comments

By BR Amelia

Feeling sluggish? Tired? A bit... blah? Looking a little puffy? Breaking out randomly? It could be that your body is begging for you to show it a little love.

FUN FACT! The body is designed to detox naturally - that's why we have the likes of kidneys, lungs and livers. BUT sometimes it needs a little help - especially if we've not been treating ourselves so well. Now while we're not ones for recommending the kinds of detox that sees you living on soup or juices for weeks on end or any regime that sees such a huge and harsh turnaround that it's impossible to maintain and sees us revert to our previous form but only more so, we are believers that what we put into - and onto - our bodies is what we get out, and sometimes that needs a little fine-tuning*. So what can we do to show our bods that we care and to give it a helping hand? Three simple things.

What You Put In...

Be mindful of what goes into your body. Detoxification doesn't mean having to live on vegetables and water - it simply means putting in food that is easy for your body to process and/or helps with the detoxification process. Thankfully that means you don't have to eat a super limited diet. Instead, up your water intake. We don't mean chug litres and litres of water, but drink enough so that when you go to the bathroom the toilet water is still pale once you've done your business. You can also enjoy herbal teas and nutrient-packed fresh juices. If you're serious about giving your body a refresh you'll slowly cut back, and perhaps even eventually remove, caffeine and alcohol. 

Review your diet. If it's filled with processed foods, refined sugars and saturated fats... you might want to cut back. And by 'might' we mean 'should'. Replace chips, chocolate and lollies with fresh fruit, nuts and seeds. Add in wholegrains like brown rice, quinoa and oats. While cheese and milk is often cut out of detox regimes, that doesn't mean all dairy has to be removed. Probiotic yoghurt can help restore your digestive health, while providing calcium, magnesium, potassium, protein and more. Like meat? A little can be fine, but make sure it's not processed and don't go overboard - try and have a few vegetarian meals throughout the week, and/or switch out red meat for fresh fish or chicken. Speaking of veges... You'll want to eat those. Lots of them. Especially those filled with dietary fibre, like broccoli, sweetcorn, carrots, potatoes with skin on, peas, beans... Why? Dietary fibre helps with your body's 'eliminations'. Lastly, go crazy with the condiments. Spices, herbs, ginger, garlic - stir through, scatter, sprinkle, mix in. Not only are they beneficial to your health, but that make meals taste even better!

What You Put On

While your body's shaping up from the inside, we can give it a helping hand on the outside. A good soak in Epsom salts will work to reduce stress, ease inflammation and eliminate toxins. You can also take up body brushing, which will stimulate your lymphatic system and support your body's release of toxins.

If your skin's showing signs of congestion a good product can help it detox. Charcoal's long been known for its ability to draw out impurities and excess oil from the skin, We're loving the reviews for the Garnier Pure Active Charcoal 3 in 1 Mask

Don't Forget to Breathe (and move!)

Lastly? Don't forget to breathe. It's very easy to slip into the habit of shallow breathing, but breathing deeply helps the body in a myriad of ways, including ridding the body of toxins, easing your mind-load, and taking the edge off those stressful, tension-filled days. An easy way to get your daily deep breaths is to take a yoga class, or if a class is out of your budget or timing is an issue you can always try a YouTube yoga class. (The crew's favourite is Yoga With Adriene. And, as always, before taking on a new exercise regime it pays to get the go ahead from your health professional.) Prefer something a little less strenuous? Take a nice long walk and exercise your lungs that way. Breathe in deeply until your chest is filled, then push the breath out. Bliss. (You can check out a more detailed description on good breathing here.)

There you have it, three simple ways you can help your body detox naturally. So, do tell... are you a fan of keeping your body in top-notch detox condition? Tell us your experience! Give us your tips and tricks! Sharing is caring! 

*As always, before you undertake a new eating or exercising plan PLEASE talk to a health professional first. 

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

3rd August, 2018

Eek I am guilty for not drinking enough water. I always revert to eating junk food because I think that's what I'm craving, but actually I just need water.

22nd July, 2018

I could do with a detox

19th July, 2018

I try to get out and walk in the fresh air (when it’s not too cold!), practice yoga and drink a glass of warm water with freshly-squeezed lemon juice and a tsp of organic turmeric mixed in. Turmeric is a powerful antioxidant and an anti-inflammatory. I also take vitamin C daily to keep my immune system in good shape and I take probiotics for gut health too. But I could do more to detox my body, and I do like red wine and chocolate! Eeek! Now I feel bad so I’m gonna go away and review my diet! Lol. (This scrub sounds like a fab product, by the way!).

17th July, 2018

Been trying to loose weight by dieting mainly .... my boobs have shrunk but not much else

17th July, 2018

I often do the only eating fruit for the first hour of the day. That's supposed to be like a mini detox.

17th July, 2018

I rarely detox anymore. Have done the juice cleanse and a soup diet but didn't stay with it for long. Could always do with drinking more water.

17th July, 2018

I love detoxing . I was fasting for a bit but I’ve fallen off the wagon. Hopefully reset tommorow.

Lisa-Lou
22nd July, 2018

I do IF fasting Macs. Usually 16:8 and I love it :-)

16th July, 2018

Great article - love me a good mask and scrub!

16th July, 2018

I used to take a tea that would completely cleanse my digestive system from top to bottom for about three days. There was options of one week or two week. I did it for two weeks and I actually noticed a difference in how I felt overall less sluggish, my deoderant worked way better and I didn't have bad breath in the morning. I don't remember if it did anything for my skin. Too bad I can't purchase more from that company because they don't have sellers in NZ but I used to do a yearly spring clean.

Erikka
15th August, 2018

Most of those teas are just straight up herbal laxatives, which aren't great for your body and can have some...um...embarrassing after effects.

tannygirl
15th August, 2018

Definitely. Not something I'd take more than once a week. I did the cleanse like once a year.

16th July, 2018

I've recently started this matcha green tea detox, so far it's helped with my bloating and reduced my sugar cravings. The Garnier Pure Active Charcoal works great as a scrub

16th July, 2018

I have done a few of the extreme de tox schemes and have felt really wrung out but I do enjoy starting the day with a hot lemon juice and feel that is a good detox at the beginning of the day and always add epsom salts to my bath .

16th July, 2018

Definitely need to cut the sugar.

tannygirl
16th July, 2018

Yeah it's cold we want snacks, sweets, cookies and pastry. All that comfort food.

15th July, 2018

Agree with some of this, especially the breathing! Fiber is what will help your digestive health. I’d skip the yogurt if you want probiotics. Yogurt is considered a ‘functional fermented food’ and while it may contain ‘live and active cultures’ it is usually in very low doses, too low to have any therapeutic effect. Also, it is often pasteurized (which kills probiotics) and lack any protective delivery system to help them survive transit through our harsh acidic stomach to reach the small and large intestine where they are most active. Also, most yogurts are filled with sugar, preservatives and all kinds of things that aren’t good for you. To get the same quantity of probiotic bacteria found in one probiotic capsule (30 billion cfu) you would have to consume 27 servings of yogurt that’s 4,239+ calories and 594 grams of sugar! Plant based diet for the win! Intermittent fasting is good as well!!

Julieal
16th July, 2018

I have heard it is really easy to make a home yoghurt which is really good for the gut?

Missxjewel
16th July, 2018

I’ve heard it is easy to make too. I make coconut yogurt all the time and it’s def easy. I’m not sure about dairy yogurt as I avoid that stuff like the plague. But it would be better for you than processed, for sure!

15th July, 2018

My diet always goes south during the winter. I'll be working on it when spring comes.

AboutFace
16th July, 2018

Me too its all that hearty feel good food.

tannygirl
16th July, 2018

Me too. It's so cold and if I eat light I'm hungry soon after so I feel I need cheesy, meaty carb loaded pasta, bread, sandwiches and stuff.

MareeB
16th July, 2018

Mmmm meaty carb loaded pasta!!!

tabucutie
17th July, 2018

Definitely into carbs at the moment. Nothing quite like it in the winter months.

15th July, 2018

I once did the lemon detox. A nasty concoction of Cayenne pepper, lemons and maple syrup lmao it was awful. I now do intermittent fasting which I love.

MareeB
15th July, 2018

That sounds like the one Yolanda Foster does for weeks on end. Radical.

Lisa-Lou
15th July, 2018

Yuck! I think I lasted 5 days. Never again lol. Oh I did a soup detox too but once haha it wasn't bad but I got sick of it fast.

MissDilly
16th July, 2018

OMG - I did that one too! I don't think I lasted more than 2 days - madness!

tannygirl
16th July, 2018

I thought that one was meant to make you drop kg after kg.

Lisa-Lou
16th July, 2018

Well it would as you are virtually starving yourself as you are consuming hardly any calories at all. Not healthy at all. Its called the master cleanse.

tabucutie
17th July, 2018

I tired the lemon detox, didn't last two days

Erikka
15th August, 2018

Sooooooo unhealthy - like no wonder people lose weight, you're not consuming enough calories to keep up with everything. Then you go off it and you put all the weight back on.