Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Do You Know How Long Sunscreen Will Protect You For?

25 September, 2018 - 09:05pm by - First Lady | 182 Comments

Article by BR Natalie

Do you know how long a SPF 30 sunscreen will protect you for?

30 minutes
3 hours
3 x 30 minutes
Other?

I've been quizzing my family and friends as part of my 'wear-sunscreen' nag-a-thon.  No one has answered correctly thus far.

Not to sound like a nagging nelly but our little pop quiz shouldn't have you stumped. SPF is a DAILY ESSENTIAL for everyone in your family.  Why?  Because it is quite literally life-saving stuff.  And not in a 'there's a small chance it could save your life' way.  Sunscreen is hugely important.  90% of skin cancers in NZ are caused by excessive sun exposure.  And skin cancer rates in NZ?  High.  Really, really high.  We have the highest incidence rate of melanoma in the world.

So, back to that burning question.  Do you think 'the higher the SPF number, the longer I'll be protected?' Uh-uh.  

SPF is directly related to the individual's burn time. 

So if you burn within 20 minutes of unprotected sun exposure, when applied correctly, SPF 30 will protect you for 20 minutes x 30.  So 600 minutes.  If you burn within 10 minutes of sun exposure, a SPF 30 will only protect you for 300 minutes - a HUGE difference.

Minutes to burn without sunscreen x SPF = Maximum sun exposure time

But always err on the side of caution, and reapply regularly.  Slip, slop, slap!

We're looking for 60 reviewers to put a sunscreen from a renowned brand La Roche-Posay to the test.  


La Roche-Posay's Anthelios XL Ultra Light SPF50+  is a with broad spectrum SPF50+ facial sunscreen containing an innovative UV filtering system to provide the highest UVA and UV protection. 

It's ultra light with a non-greasy texture and is absorbed instantly - leaving a finish that is...invisible.  Like all La Roche-Posay products, Anthelios XL is specially designed for sensitive skin - it's fragrance-free, paraben-free, non-comedogenic.

We know - it sounds FANTASTIC.  If you want to be one of our reviewers on this Trial Team, put your hand up by commenting below and chatting to us about all things sunscreen.  Did you pass our pop quiz at the beginning of the article?  Do you regularly use sunscreen, or are you a bit hit and miss?  Maybe you have sensitive skin and struggle to find the right daily sunscreen?

Get chatting below - we might just pick you!

Do You Know How Long Your Sunscreen Will Protect You For?


View results

View previous polls

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

10th October, 2018

I use a daily sunscreen on my face but I need to get into the habit of applying some on my arms especially now that we are having more and more sunny days!

8th October, 2018

I would love to be on this trial! I keep trying to improve my sunscreen habits, I REALLY know I need too. I cant stand the greasy feel of sunscreen, even the ones which claim a non greasy formula tend to have too much residue for me! I love this brand so I would love to see if thier sunscreen stands up to its claims and can help me improve my sun screening!

5th October, 2018

I have fair skin and burn so easily its important I always have a high rating SPF factor and reapply my sunscreen when outside or I end up red, peel and back to white.

3rd October, 2018

Wow great information! It is already hot enough to get burnt I burn extra easily due to fair skin and acne medication I took in the past. I will be out in the sun with my soon to be 2 year old so I will be needing lots of sunscreen for both of us!

30th September, 2018

Was so excited to hear LRP finally available in NZ, given its long-held 'favourite' status amongst many overseas dermatologists, vloggers etc. But since its a bit tricky to do anything more than a very quick and rudimentary patch test in the chemist, have held off purchasing till I have finished other facial sunblocks I have on rotation. Would love to get a chance to try this one to find out if it could really be the long-awaited HG SPF that doesn't irritate my skin, doesn't leave a white cast, and works well under makeup. (Surely not too much to ask! ;p)

30th September, 2018

It’s so hard to find a good non greasy sunscreen for the face. I’m very fair and wear a moisturiser with spf in to year round, however I can never fupind one with high enough spf. Would love to trial this as sounds great an I’m impressed with the high spf.

29th September, 2018

I always use sunscreen on myself but having sensitive skin means I have to be careful what brands I buy. I find a lot of brands quite greasy and as a result end up quite spotty after using which is not ideal! As I burn really quickly, it is essential I use a high SPF that I can take with me anywhere and reapply as needed!

29th September, 2018

So gutted I missed out on this trial, received an invite but it went to my junk folder and didn't see it until it was too late, not sure why as I've had heaps of BR emails over the years and not gone to the junk folder. I've added them as a contact and hopefully that will work. But anyhoo, regarding actual sunscreen burn time, I didn't know about the equation, great tip. I usually have an SPF in my foundation but am usually always covered up so don't apply sunscreen. When I wear t-shirts though I will do my arms. At the beach I literally pour a whole bottle on me but as I don't like the beach that much, we don't go that often, I only go for the kids.

29th September, 2018

I really like the sound of this one. We're off to the Gold Coast in a few weeks, I'd love to try this one out over there. With widely varying skin types (hubby just needs to look at the Sun and he goes brown whereas I turn a charming shade of lobster without sunscreen ) it's hard to find something that's suitable for the whole family. Some of the sunscreens are so greasy, you end up with a nice coating of sand on top of you go to the beach.

28th September, 2018

will be fantastic please. I get burnt very fast and can get natural tan if spend under the sun few hours. Would like to protect myself and this product sounds fantastic

28th September, 2018

I can be a bit hit and miss as I forget to reapply after the morning often.

28th September, 2018

I'm in my 50's and have sun damaged skin so very particular with sunscreen now. Would love to trial a new one that is light for my face.

28th September, 2018

Sensitive skin here and its hard to find something that works! I didn't know that about sunscreen, I thought it was 2 hrs! Oops! I find when you're busy in the garden or a t the beach, I often forget to stop and reapply. Would love to trial this.

28th September, 2018

Since starting my skincare journey 6 months ago I have used sunblock every single day rain or shine, indoors or out. I really wish I knew when I was younger how important it is. I have taken minimal care of my skin over the years and it wasn't until I noticed how dull my skin was getting while my pigmentation was becoming more pronounced and I was noticing more fine lines appearing that I decided to start researching what I could do to help myself. It would be great to be able to trial this one.

27th September, 2018

This sounds amazing! I have been on the lookout for a good sunscreen for my face that is light and non greasy. I've tried a few now trying to find the best one for my skin since being diagnosed with stage 2 melanoma last year