Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Do You Dare To Cut Your Hair?

15 November, 2021 - 05:33am by - Head Pixie | 13 Comments

by BR Kellie

It's day 7,397,304,939 of Auckland's latest lockdown. I've just straightened my hair in an effort to feel more like me and less like a Kellie-shaped blob of blahness. Usually I take great joy in straightening my hair and seeing my waves and curls become a sleek mane. Today? All I can see are my skanky, dry, split ends.

I can't even tell you when my last hair cut was. I suspect sometime at the start of the year. You see, I'm not a fan of going to the hairdresser. I find spending an hour staring into a mirror while wearing something akin to a sack, that makes my skin look jaundiced, a horrible experience. Yes, I love how my hair looks at the end of it, but the process pains me. Still, by now I'd usually have gone for my second yearly trip to deal to the ends and reshape my do, and wouldn't be staring aghast at what my hair has become over the course of the last couple of months.

At this point I have no idea when my hairdresser will be allowed to open again. I suspect it won't be anytime soon. So I stare at my scissors and wonder...

Should I cut my own hair?

And by cut, I mean CUT. Not trim. A little trim wouldn't make a difference at this point. Inches need to come off. Which means that layers will need to be introduced once more to avoid my hair going pyramid shaped. It would be a mission. But would it be impossible?

Could a girl with a pair of snips and a YouTube tutorial truly make a mess of her mop? 

How serious am I? Pretty serious. I've gone so far as to find the YouTube tutorial, and while it doesn't look easy - it involves straightening and sectioning and putting hair into little ponytails - it doesn't seem undoable. And what's the worst that could happen? I could end up rocking a layered lob... or coming out with an Edward Scissorhands shag.

Which wouldn't be ideal, especially with Halloween having been and gone...

I don't know... what say you Beauty Review lovies? How are those of you in lockdown land faring? Has your hair reached a point where you are eyeing up the scissors and considering taking matters into your own hands? Or are you holding out until things open up and you can see your hair stylish? Or, do you not care since who's going to see your hair anyway? 

Finally... Should I dare to cut my hair? Chat below, give me your home-haircut tips and tricks, and maybe the next time you see me I'll be rocking a split-end free do! Or a hat. 

Do you dare to trim your own hair?


View results

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

13th January, 2022

Got my haircut yesterday from a hairdresser in a very long time and I love it!

23rd December, 2021

I think I would mess it up too badly...

19th November, 2021

Yes do it, I would say keep it simple and just trim off the dead ends. Don't attempt to do anything big or to do some fancy styling. Make sure you have the right scissors - specifically designed for cutting hair, and start small. If you cut off a small amount, you can always get it shaped professionally later on.

17th November, 2021

I just got a fringe!

16th November, 2021

Yes - always reach a point where I just have a wee hack at it

16th November, 2021

No way. I'm too scared to do this. I can't be trusted to cut my toenails correctly, let alone my hair.

16th November, 2021

Being in Auckland I’ve trimmed my split ends a few times and have done 2 clipper haircuts on my teenage son including some great scissor-work around the neck/ears! I reckon I can do a good job but only if it’s on someone else I’d be nervous doing a full cut for me.

15th November, 2021

I sometimes sneakily trim the ends of my hair when they start to split, but most of the time I regret it and go to the hairdresser after all. You could give it a go if you are prepared to put in the time to get it right, maybe I just rush too much.

15th November, 2021

I got hubby to cut my hair yesterday, using the Crea Clip from one of BR’s previous trials. We’re in Auckland, so still in lockdown and I went from hair past shoulder length to the perfect long bob. I have to admit that he did a better job than the hairdresser who last cut my hair. I popped the clip in, got him to line it up with the length I wanted (it has a built in spirit level that satisfies the need for boy toys), and snip snip, perfectly straight ends, job done!

15th November, 2021

I don't enjoy looking in the mirror for that long but I do enjoy the experience. Someone else washing my hair and a head massage is wonderful. The drinks that are on offer. My stylist is really friendly and competent at doing my hair. My hair is need! It's looking wild, hope too much doesnt have to be cut cause of the split ends I love the length right now. Would not consider cutting it myself, I can definitely wait for an experienced hand.

15th November, 2021

A fringe trim is easy, just cut longer than you think at first and snip it at small angles so it isn't so blunt. You can then snip it shorter if it is too long. I just bought a trimmer and have been cutting my husband's hair for the first time. It is scary at first but by the second cut, it is easier. I am now ready to cut my own hair. I have often trimmed it but need a shorter cut. I'm ready!

15th November, 2021

I don't like going to hairdressers either Kellie. I have cut my own hair many times in the past, but now I just let it grow, and its kinda yick. But long though.

15th November, 2021

Yes I cut mine. I put it in a pony tail at the front of my head....think unicorn horn....then chop it. It's so long and random anyway that it doesn't matter lol.

MareeB
15th November, 2021

"long and Random" describes mine too lol - great description Lisa! If it wasn't grey I'd probably care more than I do.

MareeB
16th November, 2021

I hope lockdown is over for you soon Silvene x

Head Pixie
17th November, 2021

I'd forgotten about the Crea Clip trial!! Oh to have one of those on hand! I caved and snipped off two split-ended inches, but now my hair is a style-free zone. I miss my lob!

THE BEAUTY VAULT IS BEING RESTOCKED!

Get reviewing and earn points to spend on amazing beauty products!

The more reviews you place, the more Beauty Points you'll earn...meaning the bigger the haul you can nab from The Beauty Vault!

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BEAUTY VAULT!