Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Crew Faves 2017: Skincare

21 December, 2017 - 09:53pm by - Head Pixie | 15 Comments

Compiled by BR Kellie

I'm a self-confessed tart when it comes to all things beauty - especially cosmetics, but when it comes to skincare if I find something I love - a product that takes my slide-side-to-forty skin and makes it look better - I am all in. True love. With minimal side-skincare flirting. The crew (on the whole) concur with my take - sure, we dabble, we have to, it's our jobs, but when something works we don't like to stray.

So what were our favourite skincare products for 2017? Check these out...

BR Merilyn:  This year I was all about the Reversaderm range from Dr LeWinns. It gave me beautiful, smooth skin with definite reduction in fine lines. My star pick from the line up? The Micro-Cellular Age Correcting Peel. The result is instantaneous. Who needs to spend a fortune getting facials when you've got this range on hand?

BR Nat: The Ren Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask is my 2017 discovery. It's so good! It's like a gentle but powerful peel and a brilliant introduction to chemical exfoliants. It's a combo of natural acids and what-nots (techno term) and gently tingles when you use it, but its not an uncomfortable mask and the results occur on the first use and keep on improving with each use. My skin has become more even and super soft, and just looks better. It's greatly diminished my burn scar on my chin, from the great pineapple-falling-from-toastie injury earlier in the year. Try it!

BR Kell:  I love the idea of rosehip oil. It's raved about by skincare lovers. It's featured in 'must have' lists. But on me? On me it has caused enough red acne-ish welts upon using that I'd given up. And then A'Kin Brightening Rosehip Oil made its way onto my desk and against my better (sane) judgement I gave it a go. No zits. No irritation. Just beautiful looking skin. This has made its way firmly into my nighttime regime and I don't see it exiting anytime soon. Or ever.

BR Amelia: I'm a scrubber. I love exfoliating - my body, my feet, my face. Gosh is there anything more satisfying?! So why this scrub by Dr Lewinns?  Well the Dr Lewinn's Facial Polishing Gel is a gentle but physical exfoliant, that is so gentle I use it most days in lieu of a cleanser and my skin is in the best shape it's been in for ages.  I love physical exfoliants and with this you'll get super soft skin after just one use but what's really great about it is you really can't over-scrub. No matter how much pressure you apply the grainy bits aren't abrasive enough to do any damage.  So for a scrubber like me you feel like you've had a bloody-good-scrub without drying or stripping your skin. Oh and the tube lasts for an easy 5 months!

BR Tabatha:  It's hard for me to pick a favourite. I like to flirt with anything and everything! The whole beauty world is fair game! Although, I did buy two bottles of the Snowberry New Radiance Face Serum this year. That's the only twice-bought product, so it counts as a favourite right? I cheated on it throughout the year, but I found when I did use it my skin looked more refined, hence why the second bottle had to be purchased. I like it. It could turn me into a serial serum monogamist.

BR Elaine: Can I pick a whole regime? I'm going to pick a whole regime. After reading the reviews for the Sub24 range of skincare I decided I had to give it a go. OMG, it's awesome. My skin is looking great. I love the scent of the products. That scrub is (if I could do a heart eyes emoji I would) so great at exfoliationg without irritating. And the moisturiser doesn't give me that 'mask' feeling that heavier moisturisers do. A++++++ from me. 

So there you have it - our skincare picks for 2017! Were any of our faves your faves? What jingled your bells this year? Chat away!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

My current fave is from Paula's Choice. The RESIST Pure Radiance Skin Brightening Serum. I love the texture - its like a like lotion cream, its very hydrating. I've been using it for 2 months along with Paula's Choice RESIST C15 Super Booster. I use both AM and PM, C15 first, then Pure Radiance over the top. I have started to see my sun spots lightening after 1 month of daily use. I'm hoping with on going consistent use, my skin will be clear of my sun spots. I also have the Snowberry New Radiance serum, I bought it because of the hype I've heard, but I haven't used it enough to see results. I do love the gel texture, but don't really have time to wait in the morning to let it set. I will try to incorporate it and see how it goes. I'm really interested to add a chemical defoliant to my skincare routine and the Ren once sounds good, and I'm also interested to try the Sundy Riley Good Genes lactic acid too!

I'm using the Dr Lewinns polishing gel - awesome, and I've tried A'Kin oil - fab. So totally agree with those two for 2017. I would love to try the Reversaderm range. Overall my favourite new product from 2017 is Za CC cream, although there have been numerous fabulous products I tried in 2017 via trials and BBBE. It's been a great year!

Oh and I've recently started using make up wipes a lot more and love them :)

27th December, 2017 at 9:29 am

Nooooo!!! Not the dreaded make up wipes Maree!!!! Lol.

29th December, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Hahaha I'm a big fan nowadays!

29th December, 2017 at 7:51 pm

Oooh no! Give me a old flannel any day!

29th December, 2017 at 8:13 pm

I thought you were joking - don't you like make up wipes?

29th December, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Noooo. I absolutely loathe them! Haven't bought them in years! I did get some in a mystery box earlier this year. I took them with me to a hotel just to test them out to review and accidentally left them behind lol. Maybe it was more intentional haha

29th December, 2017 at 9:11 pm

I have the Dr. Lewinn's Peel and the A'kin Rosehip Oil and they are really good. Also tried out the Ren Mask really good in terms of chemical exfoliation for less pain. Stand outs for me from this year are the Kate Somerville Exfoliakate, seriously gives you baby soft skin in two minutes and you don't need to use it more than twice a week. The Ordinary products have been fantastic value for the price and the results, I hope to see more added to the database so I can post a thorough review, stand outs that I have tried so far are the Niacinamde, Alpha Arbutin, The Buffet, the Glycolic Toning Solution, the Vitamin C cream and the 2% Retinoid is amazing - think soft resurfaced skin over time minus the ouch. For makeup Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow, just gorgeous glow! It's luxury makeup, but it you feel and see the high quality when you use it.

My order from Beautylish just arrived so I've just used the peel and the buffet for the first tim tonight. So far, so good!

21st December, 2017 at 11:14 pm

The Buffet gave me really smooth skin when I used it which I really noticed in the first two weeks. I bet combined with the peel it gives better results.

22nd December, 2017 at 11:30 am

The peel isn't too intense either. No worse than using the Ren mask for the first time.

22nd December, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Wow I really need to get that peel. I keep putting it off because I have a few other chemical exfoliators. I recently tried the Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Peel. I really like it and it's really convenient to use but so expensive.

22nd December, 2017 at 1:36 pm

I tried the Dennis Gross recently too. It was good but I wouldn't say it was any better than Pixi Glow considering the price difference. Would be good for travelling though.

22nd December, 2017 at 1:54 pm

I had the Glow Getter limited edition set in my cart for a long time. In the end I let it go because I couldn't justify the price tag. I know I'll get more mileage out of a bottle than a single use peel. They are fantastic for traveling though.

22nd December, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Nip anf Fab's pads are a good budget friendly option if you can get hold of them.

22nd December, 2017 at 7:41 pm

They do look budget friendly but they have about 5% glycolic acid and the Ordinary's Glycolic Toning Solution is 7%. I have to agree that for a gentle chemical exfoliator you can't beat the mileage for the price.

22nd December, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Dr LeWinns and also Snowberry are also my favourites from the past year although I have to admit I have had some lovely products I have trialled during the year with Evolve being another that comes to mind.

I love the Crop range. I am trialing loreal revitalift at the moment and I am loving it! My skin is looking fab.

I was wondering what the revitalift would be like Lisa - I've tried some excellent L'Oreal products in the past.

22nd December, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Definitely need to give some of these a try! My hands down favourite product this year has been the Lush Ultrabland Cleanser — best makeup remover for sensitive skin, period.

Yes! I've been trying other cleansers this year but Ultrabland is still a favourite.

22nd December, 2017 at 1:34 pm

The Ren mask is my all time favourite although I've been flirting with other products this year. It's like going for a glycolic facial and it smells delicious! I also enjoyed trying the Reversaderm line. I got the starter pack from the Vault but it's too pricey to use regularly. Plus I haven't actually seen it available in stores. I love mixing and matching my skincare so will continue to use "all the things" lol.

I've got less than a third of the Dr Lewinns polishing gel left. Such a great exfoliant! I believe I received the A'Kin oil in a BBBE box that I haven't looked at yet so look forward to using in the new year.

The more I use the polishing gel the more I like it. A bit too pricey for me to purchase tho.

29th December, 2017 at 7:52 pm

The L'oreal charcoal mask was my favorite new thing to try.

I loved the Dr Lewwins Range . It worked wonders for my skin. I’d love to try that serum .

yes really good products.

23rd December, 2017 at 5:35 pm

I've been wanting to try out the snowberry brand for a while now, That's good to know it's worth trying

That Reversaderm peel is definitely amazing! And I do so love the Snowberry serum. Keen to try the Ren mask now.

Ooh now I would love to try the Ren Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask! I've got a lot of scars that I want to fade. I really like the Sukin mega greens exfoliator! Gentle and effective

The Ren mask is amazing! My favourite.

29th December, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Absolutely agree with both products from Reversaderm and A'Kin!

Woo hoo yay BRKell, I'm so glad the A'kin Rosehip Oil made it onto this list. It's my favourite oil, so gentle but gives me such great results xxx

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

Are You Currently Using MANUKA HONEY Beauty Products?

I am - I'll tell you what in the comments!

view results

Review of the Day
emilyplum78
La Roche Posay Effaclar Foaming Gel and Duo Plus
These products work as a 2 step programme to effectively control oily and… more »