Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

2020 Resolutions that are FREE & EASY to Keep!

1 January, 2020 - 12:56pm by - First Lady | 10 Comments

by BR Natalie

Can you believe it's 2020?!  It's a cliche we hear all too often, but it's true - time flies.  And with that tick over from 2019 to 2020 came the usual...what am I going to resolve to do better this year?

At the age of 35, I think I've finally learned the trick to New Year's Resolutions.  Brace yourself, it's an eyeopener.

Don't make them too hard.

Told ya.  And also - don't make them dependent on finances.   I hate spending money on things my heart really isn't in to, don't you?  And as a reward for bettering yourself with free stuff, you can spend money on things you like.  

So here are my ideas for easy New Year's Resolutions that are also pretty much free!  Pick one, pick a couple and we'll meet here in a year's time to compare results.

Beauty.  Resolve to:

  • Spring-clean your makeup collection, if it's sat unused for the last year, or is really old, bin it.
  • Take off your makeup every single night.
  • Clean your makeup brushes once a week.
  • Shampoo your hair no more than every 2 to 3 days.
  • Exfoliate your skin once a week.
  • Apply SPF every day - rain or shine.
  • Step out of your comfort zone.  Try those red lips you've always loved.

Health and Fitness.  Resolve to:

  • Get up-to-date on your lady WOFs - when did you last have a smear or a mammogram?
  • Apply SPF every day - rain or shine.  (Yes, we know we've listed it twice, but it's important!)
  • Move more.  It doesn't take an expensive gym membership, or a spare room full of the latest As Seen On TV exercise equipment to get healthy.  Opt to walk when you can or put on your favourite tunes and dance.  Just move more.
  • Drink 2 - 3 litres of water a day.

Lifestyle.  Resolve to:

  • Get a proper bra fitting.  
  • Only wear clothes that fit you, regardless of the number on the label.
  • Not buy any new DVDs, Books or Music until you've finished what's currently un-watched, un-read or un-heard in your collection.
  • Do more of what you love.  How many times over the last year have you said "I used to do [insert hobby here] all the time, but now I just don't have the time.  Make the time.
  • While we're talking about time - resolve to NOT feel guilty about how you choose to spend YOUR time.  Time is a gift - don't let anyone squander your time.

And my top free, and easy-ish New Year's Resolution for 2020 is:

Do something nice for someone you don't know.  Whether it's donating what you spring clean instead of flogging it for a tenner on Trade Me or buying a coffee for the person after you.  It doesn't take something huge to make a huge difference to someone else.  And just imagine how happy a world of people hopped up on free coffee would be...

If I get to this time next year as grateful for 2020 as I am for 2019, then  I'm going to be pretty darn happy.  If I can check some of the things off of this list?  I'll be just a little bit proud too!

So there's my take on New Year's Resolutions. What about you?  Do you know yours yet? Share them below!

Comments

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

20th January, 2020

Very self health promoting

12th January, 2020

I have a lot actually.... Eat more healthily... take better care of my skin... but only buy what’s necessary especially clothes and skin care... Sleep better... Do more reviews... Do more reading... Slowly move out of my comfort zone and get out there more. Need to start some form of exercising... and to socialise more... Expand my social circle... Need to start focusing on my physical and mental health, as the previous years was probably all about work, work and work. I probably have way too much...

8th January, 2020

Mine will be to hit the sack earlier. I stay up way to late. Especially since I'm going to start studying. Oh and hopefully go for my restricted.

7th January, 2020

I decided not to have a resolution this year, just a general lets improve and declutter life attitude.

4th January, 2020

For me its to keep decluttering. Also I have made orange salt and now want to find out what to use it for. I've always wanted to find out how to make essential oils and suchlike, and hope this is my year. But I've worked a scarifying number of hours lately so don't know when I'll have the time to really get into it. But that's my resolution - learn to make things with plants and organic items. I'd also like to do another degree but my thyroid issue has relapsed and my energy and brain might not be up to it. We'll see I guess ...

4th January, 2020

Love all of these. Mine is to get back on track with healthy eating, with more of a focus on nutrition as opposed to weight loss (once I've lost my xmas and news belly that is lol.

Have a spring clean of my closet (partly done already).

Use up testers, samples, minis and partially used beauty items. So many to go through lol.

MareeB
4th January, 2020

You can do it girl. Love your profile pic :)

Mumof3Munchkins
4th January, 2020

Thanks sweets xx

3rd January, 2020

Mine is to eat less sugar. After having gd in pregnancy I know I am at risk for diabetes in the future so watching what I eat is important to me so something I will have to try and keep up for the rest of my life. All in moderation but just have to not go overboard.

MareeB
4th January, 2020

Best of luck x

3rd January, 2020

This year, for the whole family - it's read more books. We're visiting the library every 2 weeks (myself and hubby included) and taking out books to read, and reducing our online and TV 'entertainment' reliance in the evenings. Myself and hubby are going to keep our work to only our work hours where we can. We grow our own vegetables, but have more than we can eat - I'd love to start or contribute to a community vegetable exchange/hub.....

1st January, 2020

I've done a lot of cleaning and decluttering this past week. It feels great. I am starting walking every night also. I've started having a green smoothie each morning as I've been slack at eating my fruit and vegetables and it gives me a great kickstart to the day.

1st January, 2020

Lost a bit of weight instead of putting it on. I hope to continue on the same road. Working out more.

Mumof3Munchkins
5th January, 2020

That is awesome tabucutie, well done hun xx

tabucutie
6th January, 2020

Thanks mumof3, it's a first in many years.

REVIEWERS NEEDED!

We need reviewers to put the Garnier Micellar Rose Water Clean & Glow to the test!


The innovative cleanser is combining forces with one of the original beauty essentials. Will it be more amazing than the bestselling and Top Rated Garnier Micellar Water?

We need you to help us find out!

Put Your Hand Up Here!