Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

11 posts, 10 members
Kia
550 posts
Hey ladies,

So I've been using the Proactiv face toner for the past two years, and it only just occured to me that I don't actually know what the purpose of a toner is.

I've only been using it because Proactiv is a three step process and the toner is step 2. Honestly I can't say that it's doing anything for my skin. I don't notice any difference with and without using a toner, and m skin feels no different. 

So my question is, What is the purpose of a facial toner, why is it important, and what would you recommend for skin with redness, and the occassional acne?
hughes_dre
229 posts
I found this explains things well...
Mila
1209 posts
I should read that to !.  Toners just remind me of first starting out with makeup and borrowing my nana's toner which always burnt my skin thanks to the alcohol i assume haha ....
MareeB
5241 posts
It's to cool and refresh your skin and tighten pores. I find if you apply it with cotton wool you can see how well you've done with your cleanser because the cotton wool / pad should be clean after applying the toner.
Macs
5351 posts
Ive never used a toner. I better click on that link lol.
triffid
151 posts
I liked the article about it.I know I was told it tightens the pore and removes the last traces of make up or cleanser.
Back in the early days(my kids would say days of the dinosaurs)I think my MUm used either rosewater or witch hazel for this.I know people mixed the two or used one of them.Rose water was gentle and softening and witch hazel was astringent.
I love it cold from the fridge as a cooling treatment .
STORM03
94 posts
i have nooo idea what a toner does, but i use the Michael Todd's toner and all i know is use it after i clean my face. :D :P
SandieNZ
424 posts