Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Purple Orchid Soy Candle Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 5.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 5.0/5

Purple Orchid Soy Candle Review

Overall rating:
5.0/5

100% natural soy wax, triple scented, free from toxins and are non-carcinogenic.

Candles that come in 2 sizes 160g with approx 20-30hr burn time and 250g with approx 40+hr burn time and soy melts.

These come in a vast range of fragrances of Coconut Lime, Very Vanilla, Lychee Black Tea, French Pear, Passionfruit, Lotus Flower, Monkey farts and more.

RRP: Melts $6, Medium $16 Large $26

Website www.purpleorchidsoycandles.com

Availability: Online

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th May, 2017 at 9:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best of the Best!

I love supporting local businesses that create beautiful handmade natural products, and Purple Orchid Soy Candles does! My most favourite candles around I buy them mainly for myself but gifts as well!!! They smell Devine and the flavours are true to the smell! They also do a coffee scrub which I swear by, I have reasonably dry skin and always have to moisturize but not after using this. It is skin rejuvenating and makes my skin feel soft and silky. They are also super affordable which makes it even better! So get buying everyone!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th May, 2017 at 8:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful Product

I love Purple Orchid candles as their fragrance can be smelt in a large room which a lot of candles do not do. My favourite is the very vanilla candle. It has a great long lasting burn and I love knowing that it is free from toxins. It's a great feeling knowing that you are supporting local women in business too. Will be buying again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th May, 2017 at 1:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Purple Orchid Soy Candles!

Purple Orchid Soy Candles are bloody lovely! The scent they give off is amazing - I love being able to walk into a nice smelling room. My favourite is coconut and lime, vanilla and sweet pea and jasmine. I have burnt them alongside leading candle brands like lyttelton lights and purple orchid comes out on top for scent. They are easily ordered and quickly delivered.

Another great thing about purple orchid is that they refill old candle jars. I hate the amount of rubbish that we put into the environment and after talking with Purple Orchid found that they clean out and refill old candles for you to reuse. I recently sent her four old jars and they came back looking brand new.

Tips: The coffee scrub is pretty bloody great too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th May, 2017 at 1:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Strongly scented candles

Love these candles. Very strong scent which is important for me. Glad to know they are soy wax also. Good range of fragrances and a fantastic price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd May, 2017 at 9:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My favourite local candles

I love Purple Orchid's candles and coffee scrub!! The candles are presented beautifully, the customer service is great and most importantly the candles are Devine and have a strong, long lasting fragrance. I've put so many friends and family onto Purple Orchid with no negative feedback.

Tips: Try passionfruit flavour! My favorite!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th May, 2016 at 12:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
There's a reason this is so highly rated!

I have been lusting after these candles ever since they were on trial on here. I saw on their facebook page that they were doing 20% off for mothers day so I took that as a sign that I needed to buy some. Actually though, at full price, these are really well priced. A full sized Ecoya candle for example is around $50. This one is half that price plus I got it even further discounted. I think the website said these are also made to order so it's nice to be able to get a fresh product. I think this took about a week to get to me from when I placed my order.

I decided to get a large coconut lime and a small monkey farts. I seriously could not resist buying a candle with the fragrance monkey farts! So far I haven't used that one, but even in the box with bubble wrap on it, the scent is very intense and fruity delicious!

I think the packaging looks nice. It's just a simple glass jar with a silver lid. It has the purple orchid labelling and scent on it, but they are just stickers so I think if you wanted to reuse the jar when the candle is gone, it would be easy enough to remove them.

The scent on this before you even light it, is incredible. It's very sweet and tropical, probably a more warm season scent as it seems sort of beachy to me but why not have that scent wafting in winter! When lit, this fills my room with it's inviting scent. When it's not lit and I have the lid off, I can still get the odd hint of it every now and then which I really like.

To me, these candles are so worth the money. I prefer these so much more than the Ecoya brand. These are way more scented and of course the price makes them even more appealing! I'd recommend these to any candle lover out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th March, 2016 at 11:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Coconut lime

This candle comes well packaged upon removing from its box you're greeted with a purple ribbon around a candle cannister with a silver lid. The smell is already present. Which is delicious. I purchased the medium sized candle which expected to burn for 40 hours. The glass canister has simplicity with a label on the front & the ribbon comes from the bottom of cannister crossed over to the lid. Immediately lighting it the scent permeates thru my home being an open plan home gave the candle easy access to scent the entire house. Although pungent in the origin of which the candle was sitting. Silence wick candle it still brunt evenly with a nice pool and throw as mentioned above. With my love of candles and beautiful scents this lasted me a week of constant burning which I was happy with & the week didn't need much trimming either, nor did it get lost in candle wax. The lid comes handy when time to put the candle out. I love the scent excellent throw & long lasting.

Tips: Trim wick as directed. Burn on a plate for ease of moving into other spots during burn. Don't forget to put out when leaving the room or house. Use lid to extinguish candle easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th January, 2016 at 3:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Purple Orchid Soy Candle

I bought the large 'coconut lime' scented candle when they had a discount going just before Christmas. I received a few different scented candles for Christmas and I've put them all to the test so far, but this one is by far the best of them. The fragrance is amazing and very intense. You can smell it when the lid is off and it's not even lit. Mine has been getting pretty regular burnings and I haven't finished it just yet. I thought it was great value for for money, as it seems to be more heavily fragranced and a better performer than other candles I have that are smaller and more expensive to buy. I'm already trying to decide which one to buy next.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th November, 2015 at 6:25 pm
4 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Top quality candles to rival the best

I love these candles. I've been meaning to buy them after our awesome BR trial team gave them top marks. I ordered 4 large candles; French Pear (review below), Mango Cilantro (tropical blend of mango), Cinnamon Apple (Spicy cinnamon) and Coconut Lime (burst of zesty lime and a hint of coconut).

You could easily smell the delicious blend of fragrances coming from the well-packaged box. I'm positive it would have been more than what I paid for in terms of shipping so I'm really grateful Purple Orchid took the time, effort and money to secure them. If you thought the fragrance was delicious from outside of the box, the scent inside was ridiculously delicious!

They all came individually packaged in bubble wrapped white boxes with the lovely Purple Orchid label on them. The names of the candles are not printed on the boxes which is fine with me because it helped me to randomly select which one to burn first - it would have been too hard otherwise! They come in sturdy clear glass jars capped with a silver lid making it look simple yet elegant and topped off with a purple ribbon tied from bottom to top.

There's very little difference in size between the large Purple Orchid candles (250ml) and the large Ecoya candles (270ml) except the jars where Ecoya is taller, wider and bulkier. With regards to scent I find that with Ecoya candles it really depends on the candle you choose where the fragrance will either be "light/gentle" or "strong". With Purple Orchid I feel you will not have that problem; the strength of the fragrance is consistent.

When I opened up the French Pear, I was in awe of how strong the scent was and was extremely hopeful that I would be able to spread this scent through the room once lit. Within half an hour the hallway was filled with the most amazing aroma. I've never smelled French Pear before so I'm not entirely sure what it's suppose to smell like. I just thought of the fruit (yes that's as far as my sophistication goes haha) but this smelled like the smoothest blend of baked vanilla custard pie straight out of the oven.

Other than the scent I will have to say my most favourite thing about this candle? It burns evenly!!! None of this lopsided burning where a large chunk of wax is left on the top part of the glass while the candle is slowly dying near the bottom. I didn't even have to trim the wick and I actually saved myself some tin foil haha. For top quality candles and delicious fragrances they're affordably priced and I'm stoked to have found them on BR.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Ohhhh this review made me so hungry! Imagining the smell of French pear sounds incredible! A very well written review Koni! Thank you so much! I will be purchasing some of these once Ive finished my current candles :)

I love scented candles! Thanks for your review, I'm keen to give this a try now.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th November, 2015 at 10:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
As good as they say

When BR sent the message about this candle getting 5/5 stars from everyone that trailed this candle and gave us a discount code for 15% off I was excited because I love scented candles and melts, I didn't really NEED a new candle but oh what the hey, I still had to try it.

The website is so simple and easy to follow. After browsing and trying to narrow my choices down I chose vanilla for a gift and lychee and black tea for myself but I really wanted monkey farts (just for the name) next time.. And yes there will be a next time.

This arrived 2 days after I placed my order, and good heavens the scents I could smell coming through the well bubble wrapped packages was insane, Especially the vanilla one.

I open up lychee and black tea and notice how elegant the candle looks. The glass jar has a silver lid with a purple ribbon that is attached to the bottom of the candle that you pull up over the lid, so pretty!

I lit the candle and wasn't really wowed at first, after about 30 minutes the scent hit and boy oh boy was it heaven. I love lychees, the sweet fruit is one of my faves and this candle has that same sweet lychee smell with the added twist of the black pepper to break up the sweet scent so it's not a sickly sweet scent. I think the 2 scents work perfectly together. We have a rather large lounge and dining area and after 30 minutes the room was filled with the scent I could even smell it for several hours after I finished burning it.

Is it just me or do these candles just keep on going? They are like energiser batteries they go forever. I would guess I have been burning mine for 25 hours now and It looks like it's not even half way yet. I am so happy I brought this candle and as I said above there will be more purchases to come they are such great value compared to some of the other candle brands, they smell devine and last ages.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Hmm, no. What am I missing out on?

view results

Review of the Day
Simones
This is my product OF THE YEAR!
How have I ever lived without this product? HOW? My hair is blonde, and I need to colour… more »