Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.8/5

St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review

Overall rating:
3.8/5

Green tea packs a punch in this derma-tested, blackhead-tackling scrub. It’s got those good guys – antioxidants and it’s moderately exfoliating too, helping to target blackheads, unclog pores and calms redness, for a more even skin tone. It also contains olive leaf extract which the Egyptians saw as a symbol of heavenly power. And who’d argue with that?

RRP: $9.99

Pack size:150ml

Availability: Selected supermarkets and department stores.

Website: www.stives.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
17th August, 2017 at 9:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
smells good.

I do not get too many black heads now but thought I would give this product a try as I like green tea scent and their apricot scrub. I got it from the rewards Vault. The product is green and says it is all natural green tea and olive extracts. I heard good things about olive oil. It is supposed to calm and soothe. I like that this product is not over harsh on the skin in terms of the exfoliating granules but felt like I was still giving my skin a nice clean. The green thick product smelt nice but not of green tea. I did not notice a huge difference in terms of less redness but that is not to say it does not help because my skin can go red anyway due to heat in the shower and pink undertones. I cannot really comment on if it gets rid of black heads but it is a nice product to use to clean the skin that does not feel like you are potentially hurting your skin by scrubbing to hard and making little abrasions with sharp granules. It was a nice change to the apricot scrub and after use my skin felt soft and clean. the packaging of this product is fairly good because on the back it states how it is in terms of the exfoliation roughness/feeling. You can still get a nice deep clean with this scrub and I think it is goof for sensitive skins too. I would re use the price is okay and if you like natural product you may enjoy these however the entire product it self may not be totally natural.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
27th May, 2017 at 8:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not scrubby enough

I usually use St Ives blemish control scrub and thought I would switch it up a bit and try this out. I like the packaging, simple but looks nice and modern. It comes in a 150 ml tube and is easy to squeeze the scrub out.

The scrub itself is green and sort of like a paste. An odd texture to me. It has a strong scent but is quite nice. I apply to my face and give it a good rub around but it definately is far too delicate and not scrubby enough for me. If I am going to use a scrub I want it to feel like one.

It did leave my skin feeling clean but I can get that from my regular cleanser. I need more from this. I have a few blackheads around my nose area and it didn't help them in any way.

I would not use this again and will stick to my blemish control scrub.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
2nd April, 2017 at 8:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
st ives blackhead scrub

St ives have done it again. If you like the apricot scrub you will love this. The scrub smells devine, and spreads over your skin easily. I love the way my skin felt so much smoother after the first use - the results are pretty much instant. After use, I found that foundation went on a lot cleaner. There was no need to moisturize as the scrub left my skin feeling dewy.

Tips: Use the scrub in the shower because you will actually want to use it all over your body!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st April, 2017 at 9:11 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review

The first thing that overwhelmed me was the smell of the scrub even before opening the package. It smells incredibly good and refreshing. It smells more like cucumber than green tea.

My skin has been clear for months but I recently started breaking out uncontrollably and did not know the cause and still don't. Needless to say the opportunity to try this product was a good timing as I was feeling very frustrated.

The product is a green paste, the texture was nice and not as rough as most scrubs typically are. Only a small amount is needed. Glides onto skin relatively smoothly, well as smooth as a scrub can be. It is gentle on the skin keeping in mind my forehead was quite bumpy the first time I used the scrub. I thought it may irritate my skin but it did not. Even though my skin is a little dark I still get redness however I did not experience as much of it as a usually do which was great.

My skin, especially my cheeks felt very smooth afterwards. My face felt clean and it did not dry out. Even though I have been taking medication for my skin I think that the scrub has definitely also help get rid of the bumps. Over the last few days they have receded and therefore I'll keep it in my routine.

It's also great to get rid of makeup after cleansing with something gentle beforehand. Although it did somewhat reduce my acne, I did not notice much difference in terms of my blackheads which are mostly on my nose. Still looks the same but it does feel smooth after exfoliating.

Tips: Use a cloth to dry face gently to avoid the skin drying out fast. Also not need to be rough when rubbing over skin. Everyone's skin is different so using it 2-3 times a week best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review Nicole. Shame it didn't help with the blackheads though.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st April, 2017 at 7:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing for clearing your skin

I had a really good experience with this cleansing scrub! It looks like a very deep green paste, but it's so satisfying to rub it into your skin and feel the grittiness as if it was scrubbing everything away.

I had a huge pimple during the time I was trying it, and just one scrub made it instantly look less red that day, and then go the next day. I've never had anything work so well, so I'm really impressed. I only used a small bit about the size of a pea, and it was more than enough, so such a large tube is bound to last plenty of uses too.

My only bone to pick is that it has a very strong fragrance and it is very overpowering. Just placing it in a room makes the whole room smell of it. As a result, when scrubbing on your face, the smell does get overwhelming like a very strong perfume.

However, for such a good scrub for clearing and reducing red of blackheads and pimples, it is so worth it! If they made the fragrance more subtle, and maybe the cleanser more translucent so it's pretty, this would easily be 5 stars.

Tips: Just be careful to use it only 2-3 times a week as it suggests, as it can be really drying on the skin otherwise. Also use a cloth to help rinse as the granules are very fine and can get in your eyes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2017 at 6:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The scent is delicious!!

I fell in love with the scent as soon as I used it... however within a day my skin broke out and looked awful. I felt like I had a zillion 'blind pimples' and swore I'd never use it again. I persisted, and incredibly the spots never eventuated. My skin is clear and with minimal redness and I can see a noticeable difference in the pore size on my nose.

Tips: I use in the shower each morning! Use on your decolletage for a nice self tan base

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
31st March, 2017 at 10:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product, smells amazing!

I lofvvved the smell of this product. It smelt so yummy and I loved putting it on my face. The texture was great, little granules that helped my skin to feel cleaner and look healthier. I didn't find that this product particularly removed my blackheads but it made my skin look fresh and it felt clean and plumped. Tried products similar that give a similar result however I would 100% use this one over any of those others that I've tried purely because this one smells the best and makes my face fresh rather than dry. I wish it got rid of my blackheads however... :)

Tips: Gentle massaging motions worked for me, then use a wet face cloth to remove excess as its thick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st March, 2017 at 9:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!!

i really enjoyed this product, i've heard mixed reviews regarding the St. Ives range so wasn't sure what to expect honestly. I liked the packaging of it, it was sleek and easy to use, the product itself worked really well! it wasn't to rough on the skin, which is great personally as a lot of exfoliant products rub my skin red and raw, this one didn't, yet still managed to remove dirt and make my face feel clean and new - so am very impressed! washes off well, no strong scent, am very impressed and will continue to use and most likely repurchase!

Tips: A little goes a long way

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
31st March, 2017 at 9:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good but not for my skin type

Where to start? The packaging is simple and definitely modified since last I used their products.No longer transparent it's a tube with a flip top lid white with writing & has a sleek matte feel to it not the shiny feel.There's a radar scale printed on the rear,which indicates what type of exfoliating it is,the indicator sits at the middle stating moderate exfoliating. The scent, this product has a strong scent, nothing that I can pinpoint(as in a specefic perfume or food type)on but definitely a fragranced scent. Which had me a bit weary as it smells more perfumed then natural,(this could mean my skin may react to the fragrance).I'll try to describe it as a mint but not a true mint scent mixed with something green but not green tea scent.(sorry for my description) Texture, this product has a gritty texture no beads in sight, I'd compare it to sand, it literally has the texture of wet sand. As it touches the wet skin it spreads out quite easily & all be it having this texture, it's not abrasive or harsh. Green in colour. Consistency is that of a cream/gel that squirter slowly out of the tube(similar to toothpaste) Now for Results what did/does it do for my skin. Pros it removed old surface dirt on my forehead I could see build up of my makeup had been residing right on my temple.Also at either side of lower check/ jawline,new residents had been residing for a few weeks,of dirt build up that hadn't been coming away with my normal cleanses/exfoliation & masks. It gave my skin the feeling of smooth texture.There was a slight change around my nose and mouth area with slight reduction of redness. White heads were removed. I used this product during the trial as the per the product instructions suggested 3-4x per week.

Tips: Cons though I said this product wasn't abrasive I feel it may have the wrong ingredients for my skin, as my skin would feel dehydrated although it had good results of removing dirt & evening texture it'd also removed my natural oils.The deep black heads didn't budge either, most probably due to the moderate exfoliating factor. I had a few minor break outs it could've been due to two things 1) the fragrance 2) the fact it'd disturbed my skins mantle.(that dehydration I mentioned prior) Conclusion overall this product has given me a mixture of feelings on one hand it's pros are as stated good but then the cons in my case would be the game changer of whether I'd purchase this or not.I'll continue to use this product till it's gone but would knock it back to once per week, because the 3-4 times per week as suggested is too much for my mature combo/oily skin type. I just feel like having read the ingredients list & then comparing it to my products I currently use (which isn't a exfoliating product the same as this) I can't repurchase,1,the ingredient salicylic acid isn't in my genre at this stage of my life.I'm more of a gycolic acid user.Choosing to use this outside of my work days in case I did react,I had those days off to recover.I did react all be it little patches.2, it had a fragrance that didn't agree with me.Don't get me wrong people may actually enjoy the scent for me though it smells too perfumed,instead of natural.3, dehydration factor for my combo/oily skin type.This would suit other people, that are able to withstand the salycic acid combined with the alcohol however this isn't perfect for my skincare rotuine.It's plenty of pros with it creating a smooth texture & clear skin but it dries my skin up so much that I have to rehydrate my normally oily combo skin.I think if you're you're oily & more of the youthful age then this would be the category suited to the product. Mature skin that's dry or oily combo it could parch you. It could also be the fact that I use hyaluronic acid & glycolic acids in my daily routine that combined with salicylic acid it's way too much acid in my routine. As much as I'm grateful for the trial I've rated it accordingly,for those out there that are looking for their scrub, but perhaps have similar skincare routine or skin type as mine then keep looking.Those with a oily skintype & younger this could be your weekly exfoliant. Removing buildup reducing the oily & the like.Thanks BR

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
31st March, 2017 at 9:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub

On first use of this product, my skin was soft from being exfoliated, and the grains were quite small so it provided a good level of exfoliation without hurting or aggravating my skin at all, however I didn't notice any visible difference in my blackheads or pores.

The smell is very mild but pleasant, and the packaging is just a simple squeezey tube. I proceeded to use this product once a day for a week, focusing mainly on my nose, forehead and chin areas as this is where my skin is the most congested. It did smooth out my skin and seemed to help my other skincare products absorb into my skin better, and the fact that I was using it daily didn't seem to negatively effect my skin in any way which was nice. Unfortunately though even after a week of everyday use, I wasn't able to see a difference in my amount of blackheads which is ultimately the point of this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How Do You Apply Your Base?

How Do You Apply Your Base?

Nope, I use something else, I'll tell you...

view results

Review of the Day
Astariuss
Better than I was Expecting!
The first thing that grabbed my attention was the packaging it was pretty sleek for a drugstore… more »