Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.9/5

St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review

Overall rating:
3.9/5

Green tea packs a punch in this derma-tested, blackhead-tackling scrub. It’s got those good guys – antioxidants and it’s moderately exfoliating too, helping to target blackheads, unclog pores and calms redness, for a more even skin tone. It also contains olive leaf extract which the Egyptians saw as a symbol of heavenly power. And who’d argue with that?

RRP: $9.99

Pack size:150ml

Availability: Selected supermarkets and department stores.

Website: www.stives.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th February, 2018 at 1:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Green Tea scrub

I've used the St Ives apricot scrub alot in the past so I was really keen to try this one when I saw it in the beauty vault. The packaging is a white squeezy tube with green writing, a picture of green tea leaves and the St Ives brand name at the top. The scrub is a green paste that smells really refreshing. The texture is quite smooth with just a little bit of grit so it's quite gentle on my face. I've been using it 2-3 times a week and I'm really liking it, it leaves my skin soft and refreshed everytime. I didn't notice it clearing my blackheads, although I don't really get alot of them anyway and it didn't calm any redness but I would definitely keep buying this one because of the smell and how it leaves my face feeling, it does really clean it well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th January, 2018 at 10:19 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Blackheads be gone

Now this might be gross but I actually suffer from blackheads not only on my face but in my armpits (sees the town folk with their pitchforks charging towards me)

I had a few scrubs on the go when I got this green tea blackhead clearing scrub so decided to really put it to the test by using in the shower, as a skin scrub for all areas of my body and wow did it impress me.

The fragance is fresh but not overpowering and the squeeze tube is a soft plastic so you are able to squeeze the very last drop out which is a big bonus for me. Brightly coloured green with a slight grit to the texture this scrub smooths onto the skin in a more gentle fashion to some other scrubs, but it has power and after only a few days of use I noticed that almost all those problems areas were free from those pesky blighters.

It has landed in my shopping trolley this week as I ran out just the other day and I already miss using it in the shower.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
17th August, 2017 at 9:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
smells good.

I do not get too many black heads now but thought I would give this product a try as I like green tea scent and their apricot scrub. I got it from the rewards Vault. The product is green and says it is all natural green tea and olive extracts. I heard good things about olive oil. It is supposed to calm and soothe. I like that this product is not over harsh on the skin in terms of the exfoliating granules but felt like I was still giving my skin a nice clean. The green thick product smelt nice but not of green tea. I did not notice a huge difference in terms of less redness but that is not to say it does not help because my skin can go red anyway due to heat in the shower and pink undertones. I cannot really comment on if it gets rid of black heads but it is a nice product to use to clean the skin that does not feel like you are potentially hurting your skin by scrubbing to hard and making little abrasions with sharp granules. It was a nice change to the apricot scrub and after use my skin felt soft and clean. the packaging of this product is fairly good because on the back it states how it is in terms of the exfoliation roughness/feeling. You can still get a nice deep clean with this scrub and I think it is goof for sensitive skins too. I would re use the price is okay and if you like natural product you may enjoy these however the entire product it self may not be totally natural.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
27th May, 2017 at 8:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not scrubby enough

I usually use St Ives blemish control scrub and thought I would switch it up a bit and try this out. I like the packaging, simple but looks nice and modern. It comes in a 150 ml tube and is easy to squeeze the scrub out.

The scrub itself is green and sort of like a paste. An odd texture to me. It has a strong scent but is quite nice. I apply to my face and give it a good rub around but it definately is far too delicate and not scrubby enough for me. If I am going to use a scrub I want it to feel like one.

It did leave my skin feeling clean but I can get that from my regular cleanser. I need more from this. I have a few blackheads around my nose area and it didn't help them in any way.

I would not use this again and will stick to my blemish control scrub.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
2nd April, 2017 at 8:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
st ives blackhead scrub

St ives have done it again. If you like the apricot scrub you will love this. The scrub smells devine, and spreads over your skin easily. I love the way my skin felt so much smoother after the first use - the results are pretty much instant. After use, I found that foundation went on a lot cleaner. There was no need to moisturize as the scrub left my skin feeling dewy.

Tips: Use the scrub in the shower because you will actually want to use it all over your body!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st April, 2017 at 9:11 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
St. Ives Green Tea Blackhead Clearing Scrub Review

The first thing that overwhelmed me was the smell of the scrub even before opening the package. It smells incredibly good and refreshing. It smells more like cucumber than green tea.

My skin has been clear for months but I recently started breaking out uncontrollably and did not know the cause and still don't. Needless to say the opportunity to try this product was a good timing as I was feeling very frustrated.

The product is a green paste, the texture was nice and not as rough as most scrubs typically are. Only a small amount is needed. Glides onto skin relatively smoothly, well as smooth as a scrub can be. It is gentle on the skin keeping in mind my forehead was quite bumpy the first time I used the scrub. I thought it may irritate my skin but it did not. Even though my skin is a little dark I still get redness however I did not experience as much of it as a usually do which was great.

My skin, especially my cheeks felt very smooth afterwards. My face felt clean and it did not dry out. Even though I have been taking medication for my skin I think that the scrub has definitely also help get rid of the bumps. Over the last few days they have receded and therefore I'll keep it in my routine.

It's also great to get rid of makeup after cleansing with something gentle beforehand. Although it did somewhat reduce my acne, I did not notice much difference in terms of my blackheads which are mostly on my nose. Still looks the same but it does feel smooth after exfoliating.

Tips: Use a cloth to dry face gently to avoid the skin drying out fast. Also not need to be rough when rubbing over skin. Everyone's skin is different so using it 2-3 times a week best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review Nicole. Shame it didn't help with the blackheads though.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st April, 2017 at 7:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing for clearing your skin

I had a really good experience with this cleansing scrub! It looks like a very deep green paste, but it's so satisfying to rub it into your skin and feel the grittiness as if it was scrubbing everything away.

I had a huge pimple during the time I was trying it, and just one scrub made it instantly look less red that day, and then go the next day. I've never had anything work so well, so I'm really impressed. I only used a small bit about the size of a pea, and it was more than enough, so such a large tube is bound to last plenty of uses too.

My only bone to pick is that it has a very strong fragrance and it is very overpowering. Just placing it in a room makes the whole room smell of it. As a result, when scrubbing on your face, the smell does get overwhelming like a very strong perfume.

However, for such a good scrub for clearing and reducing red of blackheads and pimples, it is so worth it! If they made the fragrance more subtle, and maybe the cleanser more translucent so it's pretty, this would easily be 5 stars.

Tips: Just be careful to use it only 2-3 times a week as it suggests, as it can be really drying on the skin otherwise. Also use a cloth to help rinse as the granules are very fine and can get in your eyes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st April, 2017 at 6:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The scent is delicious!!

I fell in love with the scent as soon as I used it... however within a day my skin broke out and looked awful. I felt like I had a zillion 'blind pimples' and swore I'd never use it again. I persisted, and incredibly the spots never eventuated. My skin is clear and with minimal redness and I can see a noticeable difference in the pore size on my nose.

Tips: I use in the shower each morning! Use on your decolletage for a nice self tan base

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
31st March, 2017 at 10:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product, smells amazing!

I lofvvved the smell of this product. It smelt so yummy and I loved putting it on my face. The texture was great, little granules that helped my skin to feel cleaner and look healthier. I didn't find that this product particularly removed my blackheads but it made my skin look fresh and it felt clean and plumped. Tried products similar that give a similar result however I would 100% use this one over any of those others that I've tried purely because this one smells the best and makes my face fresh rather than dry. I wish it got rid of my blackheads however... :)

Tips: Gentle massaging motions worked for me, then use a wet face cloth to remove excess as its thick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st March, 2017 at 9:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!!

i really enjoyed this product, i've heard mixed reviews regarding the St. Ives range so wasn't sure what to expect honestly. I liked the packaging of it, it was sleek and easy to use, the product itself worked really well! it wasn't to rough on the skin, which is great personally as a lot of exfoliant products rub my skin red and raw, this one didn't, yet still managed to remove dirt and make my face feel clean and new - so am very impressed! washes off well, no strong scent, am very impressed and will continue to use and most likely repurchase!

Tips: A little goes a long way

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »