Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 5.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 5.0/5

Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter Review

Overall rating:
5.0/5

Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter Award winning body butter with softening shea butter and aloe vera. Smooth on a handful after your shower and you might swear you're wearing velvet. Scented with our Original Pink™ fragrance.

After showering or bathing, smooth a generous handful of The Righteous Butter onto damp skin and massage lightly until it all sinks in.

Pack Size: 300ml

RRP: $20.00

Availability: Online

Website: http://www.soapandglory.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th November, 2017 at 10:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mousse texture

I decided to give this moisturiser a try when I saw it advertised at a special price for two tubs. I like giving new body moisturisers a try, and I am very glad I bought this one.

The edition I bought comes in a neat pink and red cardboard box with a black and white retro picture of a woman dancing on it. When you lift the flap of the box, it reveals the tub of cream sitting inside. The tub is 50ml, and is pink with another retro image of a woman on the lid. I also love the play on words of the product name: "The Righteous Butter." The name fits really well with their whole retro, tongue in cheek vibe of calling themselves "Soap & Glory."

The cream is labelled as being a "very dry skin formula". It is very mildly, and pleasantly, scented. The cream is white, and it has a wonderfully light texture, just like mousse. I used it on my legs. It was easy to scoop out of the tub and to rub into my skin. It absorbed well, and my skin felt very hydrated.

I loved using this cream, and now that my city has a Mecca Maxima, I can buy it locally.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th June, 2017 at 11:21 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Perfect for all skin types

I love the 300mL package. It's huge and lasts for ages! The pink is a pleasant shade, and the butter itself smells amazing!

It's super thick, but spreads evenly and easily. A little goes a long way and it absorbs well, but leaves a bit of luminosity to your skin, making it look glowing and healthy.

Hydrated and pleasant smelling, what's not to love?

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th March, 2017 at 5:56 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soap and Glorious

This body butter has been a favourite amongst the forum beauties. I hummed and harred over it the last time I saw it in Postie (I have a lot of panning I still need to do!) and then of course, it sold out. When I saw it in a gift pack at a big bucket sale, I finally gave in.

I've always admired Soap and Glory's cute vintage style packaging whenever I've seen it on sale overseas. It's comes in a particular pleasing shade of pink! The 50ml plastic tub is easy to open. The first thing that hits you when opening it is the glorious smell. I'm terrible at describing smells so the best I can come up with is that "it smells like expensive perfume". It is quite strong though and I like my body lotions/butters to be in the same scent family as my perfumes. So I find this quite hard to team with a perfume without it completing so tend to use it alone.

Despite being a thick butter, it absorbs almost instantly leaving beautifully soft, silky skin. It appears to have a slight luminosity to it, making the skin look instantly better. And a little goes a long way. I can see myself buying more of this now that it's a bit easier to come by, with Mecca Maxima opening soon in Wellington (just take all my money now....)

Tips: Not just for very dry skin. Even 'normal' skin will love this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Thanks, Maree!

Mmm love your review sooziewong, you make it sound delicious.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th November, 2016 at 6:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Butter

I love S&G there's nothing about it I don't love the quirky packaging & naming of each product just keeps me wanting more. I got this as a set from Mecca although when Postie plus stocked it I had plenty of opportunities to purchase but I never did. So glad Mecca cosmetica has come to NZ. Firstly this comes in a pink tub and as son as you open the lid your senses are awakened by a scent none like any other but notably S&G. It's a fragrance of citrus & clean. I lather this on its quite thick in texture & absorbs into my skin leaving me feeling moist. The scent can be overpower but thank fully I agree with the scent. The butter leaves my skin feeling smooth hydrated & scented. I'll continue to purchase this butter for thsee purposes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th October, 2016 at 8:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Blend of high end perfumes

I'm fussy when it comes to body butters but I know I love one when I've nearly panned it. This body butter is in my top 3 and it's a must-have (the others are Pure Fiji and MOR body butters).

I was gifted a 50ml tub which fits in the palm of my hand so it takes up little space and is easy to travel with. It's a lightweight plastic pink tub that's durable.

You get a whiff of the fragrance when you put the tub to your nose but the true delight is revealed when you work it into the skin. It smells AMAZING!!

The best way I can describe the scent is a blend of the high end perfumes you smell in the air when walking in the fragrance section at Duty Free haha! This scent lingers on my skin until I wash it off.

My skin feels soft and hydrated and doedn't leave any greasy residue behind. I cannot recommend it enough. My main issue is the one thing that may prevent people from buying it but something we're used to in New Zealand and that is accessibilty to the brand. Oh the cruelty of it all.

The only place I can think of is Mecca Cosmetica Australia but it'll be a special order via email.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th October, 2016 at 1:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells AMAZING!

This is one of those scents that takes me to a certain time in my life. I was so excited to find it in Postie Plus one day & re live my trip to France a couple of years ago! The scent is just amazing!

The actual body butter is beautiful on the skin & sinks in really quickly, leaving my skin super moisturized! It doesnt feel greasy like some body butters can.

Tips: Wish this was easier to find in NZ! I found mine at Postie Plus, however havent seen it in there recently.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th August, 2016 at 6:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Why must I love thou!?

Thanks to recent purchase from Mecca Australia I picked up a few travel sizes Soap and Glory offer, and this was one of them! It was quite a generous sized tub, and it lasted me about 2 weeks which I was stoked with.

I opened the pot and took a deep sniff, and the smell surprised me. It was fruity and delightful! It was also very thick, not unlike the Body Shop butters that I have a love hate relationship with. I used it immediately after my shower and I was pleasantly surprised.

The lotion went a long way for my standard, which was good. The smell went slightly manly on my skin, but I was fine with that. Best of all, I could put my jeans on straight away without having a tantrum as the lotion absorbed really well. The lotion didn't leave a greasy film like TBS ones do, and well, I was just stoked all round. This lotion is great and I'm sad I didn't pick it up when it was available at Postie!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th July, 2016 at 7:57 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Such a great butter

I bought this tub at the end of last year when it was heavily mentioned on the forum and available super cheap at postie plus (I unfortunately haven't seen it stocked in there since although I have looked quite a few times). I did try to use this in the summer but I found it was a bit too heavy for my liking with the heat so I put it away until now to use.

This comes in a massive pink pot. It's 450mls so you get a lot of product and it was super cheap as well. Around $10 I think, possibly less as I think I got it with a buy two, get one free deal. The labelling is cute, I feel like even though it's quite wordy, you want to read it.

When you open this, you are immediately hit with a strong, perfumed scent. I think they call this their original scent? I'm not totally sure. I'd describe it as being a mix of fresh and sweet. It's not overly candy sweet but there is definitely a hint there. I think this would appeal to a lot of people as it's not overly obnoxious.

This says it's for dry skin and keeps you hydrated for longer. That is exactly what I'm looking for in any kind of lotion or butter. I feel like this does what it says too, no scaley body for me. I find that although this is thick, it rubs in pretty easily. It does leave me with a slightly sticky feeling straight after but it does go away pretty quickly.

I've used up around half of this tub so far, I'd love to buy it again if I ever saw it for sale. I always live in hope that postie will be stocking it when I go in. I'd recommend picking one up if you ever see it too, especially if you have dry skin and what something thicker than a lotion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

It sounds really nice, and tempting. I'll look out for it at Postie. Great review!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th July, 2016 at 8:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Gorgeous Butter

This is such a lovely product, I absolutely adore using it. It comes in a cute little pink screw-top tub, and has a beautifully clean and feminine scent. The butter is wonderfully thick so is perfect for very dry skin, but it also smooths on easily and doesn't leave the skin feeling too greasy. I love that it isn't tested on animals, too. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a good body moisturiser, or as a gift for a friend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st May, 2016 at 11:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Glorious, Righteous Butter for Caressable Skin!

I actually had a chuckle at the name of this brand and the name picked for this body butter. Righteous? I imagined this product looking down condescendingly on other body butters that did not meet it's standards with righteous indignation. But this body butter definitely sets a high bar for anyone who uses it. I was lucky to be able score an almost half kilo tub of this at a bargain. This body butter is thick in the tube but smooths and absorbs into your skin almost instantly but leaves your skin moisturized, smooth and feeling like velvet and lightly fragranced with a light fresh, floral scent. Can it look down on other brands? Oh yes this is righteously superior! I love how this product has a fair amount natural ingredients despite being an affordable brand. It has a lot of shea butter, some cocoa butter, coconut oil and rosehip oil. A lot of body butters moisturize your skin but they feel oily so it's best used at night. This absorbs so fast it's a great moisturizer for any time of day and a bit goes quite a way. I love this! It's great for summer or winter. Despite having a giant tub that I know will last me a long time, I know one day I will run out and I hope Postie sells this brand again so I can repurchase this.

Tips: Best applied when your skin is damp but works just as well on dry skin. If you are looking for a daytime body butter this is it! Great all year round.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »