Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Pure Fiji Coconut Sugar Scrub Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Pure Fiji Coconut Sugar Scrub Review

Overall rating:
4.9/5

Pure Fiji Coconut Sugar Scrub Discover the South Pacific secret to beautiful skin with this amazing two in one treatment. With naturally occurring alpha hydroxy agents in raw sugar cane, and the deep moisturizing and nourishing properties of cold- pressed virgin coconut and drift nut oils, this natural body polishing treatment enhances your skin's own natural rejuvenation process for glowingly beautiful skin.

Pack Size: 457ml

RRP: $66.50

Availability: Selected spas and salons and online

Website: http://www.purefiji.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd October, 2017 at 3:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Fiji Coconut Sugar Scrub - Luxury!

I've reviewed this product on my blog and on my social channels. I LOVE THIS! I will note, I was NOT sent this. I have bought each and everyone - well except for the first one that my Mum bought when she went to visit family in Fiji. I'm now in love and it's one of my luxury beauty products I can't live without.

With lots of beautiful oils, including coconut obvs, this scrub exfoliates using raw sugar. It truly makes my skin feel smooth and hydrated and I'm a dry girl. I mean I have dry skin on my body and I have tried so many products to bring hydration to it.

The smell is amazing. It's totally worth the price point.

Tips: Try pairing this with the Pure Fiji body oil, or body lotion - both pair nicely with this product. You'll thank me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th October, 2017 at 2:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best scrub ever!!!

I recently went to Fiji so I purchased this on my back. OMG as soon as you open the lid you are greeted with the most amazing smell - depending on which one you get. I love them all!! But guava would probably be the fav at present.

You don't need much for the whole body, which is great so it does last a long time if you don't use too much at a time. An example of how I use it is to wet the area then pop a bit in your hand and like place it on the area, then start rubbing until the sugar granules disappear, then I rinse with water to make sure all the granules are gone. Then PAT dry! Feel so silky smooth after using it from the natural oils! I love to use the day or 2 before a spray tan to exfoliate the body really well, but just ensure not to have any of the oils still left on the body when getting the tan. It also helps with taking the tan off.

It is the most nourishing and moisturising exfoliator I have ever used, and it smells divine!!

It is one of favourite body products ever! If you haven't tried it you definitely have to.

Tips: If it is cold, the oil can harden so you just need to leave it somewhere warm, or warm it up by popping the container in hot water. It helps when you are using it in the shower as the steam helps warm it back up. Make sure to give it a good mix before using too! It pairs really well with the Pure Fiji Bath Milk, and to use this first before applying the Scrub. Then finish with the Body Lotion, Body Butter or Oil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 2:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Fiji - Pure Joy - Luxuriously Smooth Skin

I was really lucky to have won this scrub in a giveaway because although the tub size is 457ml, it is a really pricey scrub. But as of the time of this review I can whole heartedly say this is the best sugar scrub I have ever used. When I opened the tub of scrub I was greeting with the most delicious tropical mango scent I have ever come across in a mango scented product! It smelled like juicy ripe mangoes with a hint of peach, nothing artificial and very tropical. The sugar granules are coarse but not sharp and painful to use. I have used some sugar/salt scrubs in the past where they were just plain painful to use because of the size of the granules. I also love that granules are concentrated enough so that it just doesn't dissolve into an oily mess the first time you touch a scoop to your skin. I'm not a fan of those kind of scrubs that only give a sparse exfoliation because there's not enough granules. The oil in the sugar scrub is really nourishing it leaves my skin greasy even when I rinse it off but it smells so good, I don't want to wash it off. Usually I scrub first and then soap off my body, especially with coffee scrubs as they leave mess streaks that wipe off on my towel and stain them. But with this scrub I don't want to have to wash it off because it smells so good. And not just that the whole bathroom smelt good afterwards for awhile. My skin felt smooth but greasy after rinse off, unfortunately the smell doesn't stay on my skin after I pat my skin dry. Although it feels a bit more moisturized. I still like to use a body butter to just seal in the moisture and finish things off. This sugar scrub is a pure joy to use, a bit of me time. The scrub comes with a scoop which is handy to take some out of the pot since all the oils harden if the temperature isn't tropical. That's the only con I can think of besides the price. Because of the large jar it's difficult to get the entire thing soft enough to easily scoop out, even if you place it in warm water. But those are the only two complaints I have. Just wish this scrub were cheaper but I'll be on the lookout for sales.

Tips: Because of the size of the jar the coconut oil hardens and it's difficult to get the scrub out, so my tip would be to have the scrub somewhere warm for a long time. And then when the entire jar of scrub softens give it a mix so the oil and granules are evenly combined and then scoop some out to a smaller jar that's easier to warm up. Plus that way you'll avoid getting water inside the scrub trying to turn the jar upside down in warm water, as the lid isn't water proof. Pure Fiji has sales on stock from time to time so be on the look out to save a bit. If you don't like the greasy feel you can scrub first and soap up afterwards. Follow with a nice body butter to seal in the moisture.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th March, 2017 at 5:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great scrub so many scents

I've tried the Fragipani, coconut and the pineapple scent. All are amazing in fragrance. It is quite grainy in texture I prefer to get in the shower cubicle and use it on dry skin then rinse it off. It's VERY nourishing and rich I find in summer it's a bit too oily and I have the urge to wash it off with soap offer to feel clean. Its definitely my go to product throughout autumn and winter.

Tips: Use on dry skin before you shower the dry scrub result feels so much better and you don't get wastage from it dissolving too quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th February, 2017 at 9:20 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
UH OH another pricey fave

I have wanted to try this for the LONGEST time, and so when I picked up some Pure Fiji minis to go into friends Xmas gift last year, I also picked myself up some goodies, including a small one of this.

I'm unsure if that was wise....I'm now in LOVE with this not-so-cheap jar of amazing.

The Pure Fiji Coconut Sugar Scrub is pure deliciousness. The grains are very large, which looks a bit harsh, but because it's all pretty natural - chunks of cane sugar! - it breaks down without scratching and being abrasive.

Afterwards skin is left with a subtle tropical scent and is ridiculously, gloriously soft and smooth. The oils penetrate and leave my skin amazing - this is the bit that justifies the price. I've run out of mine and I already miss it, so once I've panned all existing scrubs I'll be seriously tempted.

Tips: Keep an eye out for the Xmas packs if you don't want to pay the hefty full sized price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Haha -huuuuge selection at the airport.

Plan B soozie!

Or go to Fiji. Much cheaper there lol.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2016 at 12:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My favorite Scrub of all time

I just adore this scrub and how it makes my skin feel after a shower. First off lets start with how great the scrub is in regards to actually BEING a scrub. I find to often they are labelled scrubs but once you are using it they are only a tiny bit scratchy and often break down before really feeling like they went to town on my dead skin. I don't feel like that with this. I can feel the scrub and I LOVE it!

Secondly my skin feels amazing afterwards. Because of the oils included with the sugar I find that once I rinse I have like a beautiful almost water proof coating on my skin. It's completely lush when my legs rub together when walking around in a skirt.

My only down side is that it is quite pricey and I tend to go through it quite quickly.

Tips: Ditch the little spoon, get on in there with your fingers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2016 at 4:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Fiji coconut sugar scrub

Smells delicious, absolutely does what it says it's going to do - leaves your skin feeling silky smooth! It is a tad bit pricey, but does a great job in scrubbing off that old fake tan without being too harsh on the skin. One critique I would say, is that the jar is small, so it can be difficult to get all the product out.

Tips: Leave somewhere warm and dry, which makes it easier to get the formula out of the package.,

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th November, 2015 at 7:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Fiji coconut sugar scrub

This product has me in two minds. I was excited to pick it up when I was in Fiji due to several friends recommending it, but it wasn't cheap! Still, I love a good scrub so was excited to try.

First up, it absolutely does as it says it will. Exfoliate and then leave skin soft and silky. But here's why I don't completely love it. First up it's really really heard to use, it solidifies and I can't even get the little scoop out, so my fingers got kinda raw trying to scrape out enough to use on my body and legs. So it's frustrating.

But it smells delicious and really really scrubs, possibly a little harshly if you have sensitive skin but it's brilliant for those knees and elbows and it leaves a silky moisturised oil sheen on the skin, so I'll persevere and perhaps soak it in warm water (thanks to the other reviews for this tip) before I try using it in future.

So what's the verdict. Confused, love the actual product smell, quality, delivery and what it says it will do - but it's difficult practicality and use could put it in the too hard basket. Perhaps I need to move to fiji!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th November, 2015 at 1:11 pm
5 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Coconut Sugar Rub

I haven't used many body exfoliants let alone a sugar scrub but I was very excited when my sister bought me the 457ml tub from Fiji. I use this 2-3 times a week because I love how it leaves my body moisturised and smooth ready for the actual moisturiser which you could get away with not doing!

It comes in a huge plastic tub with the signature Pure Fiji gold and floral packaging. For such simple packaging it's quite a luxury product with a price tag to match. My sister paid $FJD39.95 which at the time was $NZD30.00 so it's definitely pricey here in NZ for a whopping $NZD66.50. At the back of the tub it says you can get 15-18 treatments and I'm positive I can get more than that - you really don't need to use much.

When you open the tub you're greeted with a smooth whiff of authentic coconut oil mixed with sugary goodness. There are times where I feel like I've just finished some baking (lets just say edible baking) because of the sugar scent that comes through. The scent doesn't just linger in the tub; it also lingers on the skin.

When I received the scrub back in May it had hardened thanks to good old Auckland weather so you either break up the sugar by digging at it with a spoon or alternatively just close the lid and let the tub sit in a bowl of hot water and watch the scrub soften and turn a beautiful golden brown.

Once it's softened use the scoop it comes with (you may have to dig a little to find it but it's there) to pick up the product. Now, this can be an abrasive scrub so don't give up too easily; once you use it a couple of times you'll know what will work for you.

I apply the scrub all over my body bit by bit and the fantastic thing about this is that it has really good coverage. I can exfoliate an entire arm with just 3 pinches of the scrub. I stand back from the shower when scrubbing myself down until the sugar is fully dissolved because I don't want grains of sugar going down the drain.

You'll start to notice the water just gliding off of your skin due to the moisturising properties of the oil. It's similar to a moisturising shower creme or even Lush' Buffy bar but better and safer because you're not left with a slippery or messy shower. I don't need to moisturise after using the scrub because I've found that my body stays soft, moisturised with a gentle "oiled" fragrance right through to the next night. How amazing is that?

I would highly recommend this scrub to anyone interested in having an affordable (once you realise how many "treatments" you can get out of it) spa treatment at home. I know that Verdo Nails (Parnell, Auckland) stock Pure Fiji products and use them in their manicures (including the sugar rub) so if you don't want to commit to the price of a full tub maybe you'll treat yourself to a manicure where you can experience it while beautifying your nails.

Tips: To soften the scrub, heat up the tub in a bowl of hot water.

Apply scrub bit by bit and massage/rub into your body until sugar is dissolved. Carry on with showering and rinse off last. No need to moisturise but love moisturising with MOR Snow Gardenia or Pure Fiji Coconut Hydrating Lotion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This sounds heavenly!! Thank goodness your sister got you a tub, the price for this in NZ is crazy! I want to try this so badly! Fantastic review as always gorgeous <3

Oh man I wish

Great review. I have been thinking about buying this for awhile and I am now convinced it's worth the price.

argh i want to try this SO much but I have so much scruuuuuuub

I think we just need to go to Fiji for a holiday and stock up on Pure Fiji products hehehe but yes $66.50 is hard to stomach for a scrub :-S

Oh my, this sounds so heavenly! I've been looking for a new body exfoliator and based on your review I would've been 110% sold, but $66.50, for a body scrub...I think I need to find me some Fijiian friends!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th November, 2015 at 6:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Divine!

This stuff is fabulous. Just take a small amount into your wet hands and massage until it has dissolved. Then rinse and you are left with superbly smooth and moisturised skin and smell gorgeous! I have the mango and will not share!!!

Tips: Enjoy!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Hmm, no. What am I missing out on?

view results

Review of the Day
Simones
This is my product OF THE YEAR!
How have I ever lived without this product? HOW? My hair is blonde, and I need to colour… more »