Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Evolu Rosehip & Friends Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

Evolu Rosehip & Friends Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

This gentle facial oil is your skin’s daily infusion of radiance-renewing goodness, powered by a unique synergy of skin-friendly botanicals. The softening, hydrating and repairing benefits of pure rosehip oil are complemented by vitamin-rich oils of Argan, Grapeseed, Pomegranate and Kiwifruit seed that partner perfectly to brighten, deeply nourish and actively strengthen your skin’s barrier function. The fine-textured all-natural blend will soak in beautifully, lock in moisture and leave your skin relaxed, fresh and glowing.

Botanical actives

  • ROSEHIP OIL softening, hydrating, repairing
  • ORGANIC ARGAN OIL brightening, nutritive
  • GRAPESEED OIL antioxidant, protective
  • POMEGRANATE OIL polyphenols, protective
  • KIWIFRUIT SEED OIL vitamin C, Omega-3

Pack Size: 30ml

RRP: $29.98

Availability: Farmers and selected pharmacies

Websitehttp://evolu.com/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th October, 2017 at 12:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great value for money

I really enjoyed using this oil even more than some of the high end oils. So this is a really great choice if you are looking for value! The bottle is also quite large in size so you get a lot, AND a little goes a long way with this one!

The texture of the product is a little more runny than some other products I have tried and the scent is soft and not too overpowering.

I applied it in the evening and it did not feel greasy at all on the skin as it sunk into the skin well and left it feeling hydrated, soft and glowing (unless you put too much on - a little really does go a long way here!). In the morning I now wake up with really soft, hydrated and glowing skin which is the perfect way to start the day.

I would definitely use this product again and would recommend it to my friends :)

Tips: A little goes a long way

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
23rd September, 2017 at 5:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Evolu Rosehip & Friends

This product has a gentle delightful scent and comes in the standard dropper bottle.

Did it do what it said it would? It promised to be gentle and I can agree it was, I have very sensitive skin and I did not have any problems with a reaction with this product.Was it softening? Yes I can confirm that my skin does feel a bit softer upon use. It also hydrated my skin but this was short lived as I had to use my usual amount of moisturiser as well. Perhaps this is because my skin gets particularly dry in places in Winter, so in Summer it may be different.I wouldn't say it necessarily repaired my skin as it didn't reduce the redness and pigmentation like I was hoping it would. Perhaps I will see more of a difference if I continue to use it over several months instead of several weeks.

Overall would I use it again? Maybe if it was on sale but I would not pay full price for it.

Tips: A little goes a long way I found 3 drops was enough for my whole face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th September, 2017 at 9:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A really lovely 'budget' face oil

I've been using face oils quite regularly this year in place of a regular night cream. I like the way they absorb quickly and give your face a beautiful fresh glow. The one that I've been using lately is quite expensive so when I decided to put a stop to excessive spending I decided to try a few supermarket brands but just couldn't find one that gave me the same results, one was fine but I couldn't stand the smell of it and the others didn't really do much more than make my skin soft. I raised my hand high when Beaty Review were offering spots on the Evolu Rosehip and Friends oil trial team.

For the $29.99 price tag the size of the bottle is amazing, I've been using 3 drops every night for the past 3 weeks and a few days have even used it in the morning and I've used about a 5th of the bottle, it has a lovely faint floral smell and a really useful list of ingredients on the bottle. You honestly don't need a lot of this product it goes a very long way! It's so softening and hydrating, which is great for this prolonged heat pump required winter we have had, and are still having.

The ingredients list is a who's who of natural ingredients and the packaging clearly states that it is free from nasties and not tested on animals, all massive ticks in my eyes! I have had a break out whilst using this, however I have hormonal skin and this week is one of those weeks so I honestly don't think it has anything to do with the oil, it is actually nice and soothing on my skin when I put it on before bed. In the morning my skin definitely looks refreshed and smooth.

All in all the price tag, the size of the bottle, the fact it is full of natural goodness and the way my skin glows when I use it is definitely a cause for recommendation, it's really lovely and feels a lot more luxurious that it's $29.99 selling price. Also it's an NZ brand, what more could you ask for!?

Tips: 2-3 drops is more than enough!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th September, 2017 at 6:48 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip oil and best friends

Packaging is relatively attractive green and white very understated considering what little gem lurks inside

A brown glass bottle with a glass drop applicator you know you squeeze the rubber end and it sucks the contents up a glass tube ready to squirt out

One or two drops to be applied after cleansing as per instructions This oil is a kiwi fruit yellow in colour The pomegranate is the main fragrance for me it’s quite earthy and bitter like hemlock a little rancid thankfully it doesn’t take long to settle down to a nice light sweet scent

Well that’s where the negatives stop This is a light fine oil not greasy, nice and easy to smear two drops around my face and neck five minutes tops and it’s all soaked in. I’m not left feeling like there anything left sitting on my skin, I still moisturise on top then continue with makeup etc.

I get nasty cracks on the end off my fingers really stingy and hard to cure, while I’ve been using this I’ve noticed a dramatic improvement in my cracked skin. Just a little extra bonus.

I used this morning and night I love it I’m definitely more hydrated using this oil no heavy greasy feeling or blocked pores

I feel my skin is a little brighter and softer without making me greasy and I'm finding the texture of my skin feels way better I do love rosehip oils but this one with friends (the extra goodies is great) I usually use quite a dare brand of oil I’ve found this just as good if not better.

This is going to have to be one of the nicest rosehip blend oils I’ve tried My go to oil, a little goes a long way so I can see this bottle lasting for quite a while So I’d say it’s good value for sure

Tips: I do like to put a couple of drops of this oil on my hands and pat it gently int my skin This is definitely worth trying if you like oils

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Thanks lovely It's really worth trying x

Great review Fi. Sounds like a gorgeous oil. It's on my list of things to try.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th September, 2017 at 4:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super moisturising oil

I'm using this oil as a daily moisturiser now and I love it! I previously used chia oil, which I also love, but I feel as though this oil has a better feel on my skin (less oily haha) and it looks great underneath makeup for a more dewy finish.

The one thing I'll mention is that it does have quite a "mum-sy" musky smell, which I don't think suits me but it's not particularly noticeable. And it really just smells natural.

It's great to know that my skin is getting some goodness and my skin is feeling great - particularly in the dry patches that I worry about like my forehead and my smile lines.

Thanks BR for letting me give it a go!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
20th September, 2017 at 3:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Evolu Rosehip & Friends is not my taste

My first impression of this product was ruined by the ungodly stench. Admittedly, I am more sensitive to smell than most people but of all the beauty products I've ever owned, this oil smells the worst.

My skin did not soak it up well despite rubbing it in. It left my skin feeling and looking greasy hours after application. I had to wipe it all off before going out in public.

The product isn't all bad. My skin type is dry, and the oil definitely helped improve dryness. I would say it does a good hydrating and softening. The bottle is a small convenient size. As only a small amount is needed during each application, it has good longevity.

Tips: I recommend applying no more than 2-3 drops as this is adequate to cover your face and helps to avoid that greasy look/feeling

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
20th September, 2017 at 11:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Loved it - except for the scent

I love me a good Rosehip oil, gosh what did I do before discovering them?! Up until now I've used pure rosehips and one rosehip and sweet orange oil (which smelled delicious). I was really excited about the prospect of 5 super oils in one blend.

The bottle is beautiful, very classy, yet still has a natural feel to it. It reminds me of something an apothecary would have in their stash.

I found a little goes a long way, even on my moon face, four drops was perfect, any more and things did start to feel a little heavy.

I used this morning and night in lieu of my current brightening rosehip oil, and I found it to be quite similar - it was easily absorbed and made my skin look instantly fresh.

I went a bit overboard using a clay based cleanser and my skin felt super dry and super stripped, I used this before bed and in the morning there were no signs of dryness, so it's an excellent rescue product.

After a few weeks use my skin definitely feels supple and soft, probably not more so than any other rosehip, but that doesn't stop this being a lovely alternative.

The price point is fab, I'll easily get 4-5 months out of it, of twice a day use.

So...why am I iffy about using it again? For me, the scent is just too much. It's very citronella-ey, it smells like a mossie repellant candle, and its just not a smell I enjoy.

But I know people do also love the smell, its not like it smells awful, it's just not the fragrance for me. Its the first Evolu product where the scent hasn't wowed me, but it won't put me off trying more from the range.

Tips: Use sparingly and build up the drops to find your magic number. Too many and it'll sit on the skin, not enough and you just wont get the coverage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th September, 2017 at 5:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The good oil

I've been super excited to get the Evolu oil to trial!

First impressions - love the solid glass packaging with gold accents - looks pretty high class sitting on my vanity and then there's the smell. It's absolutely one of the best oils I've smelt. Ever.

This oil is standard texture and colour, just what you would expect. What you don't expect is the way it glides onto your skin and absorbs. It's not one of those super heavy oils, in fact, I find it goes on smoothly and easily and almost feels dry. If you use too much you can get a slightly greasy feel to it, however, I find 4-5 drops enough to cover my face, neck and decolletage area without leaving any horrible oily residue. If you only use the recommended quantity it can be used in the morning under makeup without causing any breakdown of the foundation.

I didn't rate it terribly highly as although my first impression is favourable I haven't found it to make any marked difference to the texture or look of my skin. My skin feels marginally softer after use, but not enough to really be noticeable.

It's a bit of shame but I wonder if because my skin has hit 40, does it need a bit of extra ooomph in the hydrating department and this product isn't quite enough. I noticed if I only use 2 drops on my face my skin didn't feel at all hydrated and I had to apply more moisturiser which is something I am not used to when using an oil.

All in a good product, but just not quite suited to my skin. It's a bit of shame as the pricing on it is superb - I think a bottle will at least 6 months using it twice per day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th September, 2017 at 4:30 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful in every way!

First off, I just want to say how excited I was to try this product! Evolu rosehip oil was my first love, but I cheated and had got into a serious relationship with a Trilogy oil because it had a mix of rosehip and a few other potent-sounding products. I have always loved the Evolu products and ethos, so I was really excited about an opportunity to get back into their facial oils.

And was I disappointed? Absolutely not!

When it arrived, I immediately fell for the brown glass bottle with white writing and a white and gold top. It looks so elegant sitting on my bathroom shelf!

As is standard with facial oils, it has a dropper to allow careful application of just the right number of drops. Again, standard with facial oils, a little goes a long way. I found two drops sufficient for my face and another two or three did my neck and chest area (because nothing ages you like a wrinkly chest!). This is comparable to how much facial oil I usually use.

As for the texture, it was lovely and light, easily rubbing into my skin and leaving it soft and nourished, with no greasy or heavy feeling. I particularly loved the smell, which is delicious, but in a light, natural way. I like a good scent as much as the next girl, but I also can't bear heavy, cloying scents, so I'm pretty picky. This was spot-on - enough fragrance to be enjoyable, but not enough to remind you what you had on your face 20 minutes later!

Though I haven't been able to trial this long enough to see a difference yet, I know from past experience that when I use Evolu rosehip oil consistently I get compliments on my skin. This product is a very reasonable price (under $30 and it will last AGES) and has that wonder ingredient, rosehip oil, plus a host of other things that may or may not improve my skin, but it sure doesn't hurt to try!

All up, I'm so delighted to have received this facial oil to try. It is affordable, lovely to use, calms and nourishes my combination skin and - bonus - looks ridiculously beautiful. In case you haven't picked, I'm a convert. I see a long and loyal future for 'Evil Rosehip & Friends' and I!

Tips: If you have combination or oily skin decrease the frequency of use. I find every two or three days enough or I break out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th September, 2017 at 4:03 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful oil

I'm an oil fan! I have been using oil as a facial serum for about the past year and so when I was offered to trial Evolu Rosehip & friends oil I was pretty excited. I have used Rosehip in the past on its own and mixed with essential oil which gives me that extra boast of moisture I like for my mature dry skin, so I was surprised to find that Evolu oil with its base of Rosehip is in my opinion far superior, within a couple of days I would say that I had a noticeable glow to my skin that I hadn't before. It looks like Rosehip oil about the same texture but whatever the other ingredients are doing it is a great mix. I liked the smell it's got a kind of citrus with an under note of Rosehip which I find is refreshing. It is yellow in colour and a little goes a long way, I let it sink into the skin for a few minutes before applying my moisturiser, I use it morning and night. As an oil user this product to me gets top ratings - it performs to all the claims on the box brighten/protect/nourish. Would I buy this product again DEFINITELY. Something in the grape seed, pomegranate or kiwi fruit that just works on my skin. Well done Evolu this is a really an excellent oil. Goodbye dry skin.

Tips: Make sure the skin is clean and I exfoliate a couple of times a week to get more benefit from the oil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »