Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Sign up now
Sign up now
Sukin Paw Paw Ointment Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.6/5

Sukin Paw Paw Ointment Reviews

Overall rating:
3.8/5

Our petrochemical free, versatile Ointment with fermented Paw Paw nourishes and soothes chapped lips and dehydrated skin. Alongside fermented Paw Paw is a blend of natural oils, wax and extracts including Castor Seed Oil and Papaya Fruit Extract to hydrate and protect the skin’s moisture barrier.

Our multipurpose Ointment may also be used to ease the discomfort associated with redness and itching due to dryness while also improving the texture of skin.

Suitable for all skin types.

Sukin's Paw Paw Ointment provides you with a natural and safe alternative.

RRP: $9.99

Availability: Farmers, Department Stores, Selected Pharmacies and Online

Website: www.sukinorganics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
21st May, 2017 at 11:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Average

Ever since I got my vertical labret done I've noticed my lips being a little bit drier and cracking quite a bit. So I was happy to accept the invite onto this trial.

The packaging is super cute. A red/orange tube with a black lid the tube was quite solid.

Solid because the product is really thick maybe?! I found I had to really squeeze super hard to get any product out. I placed a wee bit on my pinky finger and rubbed to together with another finger to warm it up a little and make it a little bit easier to apply to the lips. Ice noted once it's warmed up a little it tends to be a bit thinner and a little goes a long way.

Did it do much for my lips? Yes it kept them hydrated through out the day it seemed to help them drying out and cracking. However a day without it? I had noticeable dry patches on my lips. Noticeable cracking and super dry lips.

For this reason it's a product I won't regret purchase or recommend to a friend. While it's good in the moment it's not great in the long run.

Tips: Put a little on your finger rub with another and warm it up, it makes it easier to apply.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 10:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sukin Paw Paw Ointment

I was surprised at the colour of the packaging - the apricot colour (paw paw colour) wasn't what I was expecting but it did grow on me. I was excited to begin using it on a variety of wounds & dry skin areas, if only I could squeeze it out of the tube! The ointment is very solid & perhaps could be better accommodated in a glass jar or similar. After using some elbow grease to squeeze a little of the ointment out I applied it to the few problem areas I had earlier selected. Thats when I noticed the ointment has no smell! Neither pleasant nor unpleasant it wasn't either. I then became reminiscent of Lucas Paw Paw Ointment & its ease of squeezing it from the tube and the divine fragrance it had. However, true to the trial I continued to use the Sukin Ointment over a period of days and in all honesty I felt it was of no benefit. It is a product I will not purchase or recommend for anyone else to purchase.

Tips: Purchase Lucas Paw Paw Ointment instead!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 10:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
She's thick!

So I put Sukin Paw Paw Ointment to the test over about 10 days. Firstly this is a very thick ointment with little to no smell that comes packaged in a small handbag sized tube. The product was so thick in fact that I thought it was sealed with a clear seal, you need to squeeze very hard to get the product out of the tube. In my opinion the packaging appeared cheap and a pot would be better to store it in but I can see the travel friendliness of the tube.

I have dry spots in between my fingers so this is wear I used the product. It didn't rub in completely, it sat on the skin and stayed there for a long time. I do think it helped to rehydrate the area but I did find it uncomfortable and greasy on my hands for that reason I chose to apply it before bed.

Overall I do think it is a good product and if you are looking for a more natural friendly alternative it's worth a shot, it has a great price point and is a fair bit cheaper compared to other similar products on the market.

If you suffer from dry chapped lips I think this ointment would be a great alternative to lip balms as it has little smell and no taste and is heavier and more viscous.

Tips: If using on a larger area I'd suggest applying before bed as this product is an ointment so it sits on the skin and can be bothersome on areas like hands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 10:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not Bad, Not Amazing

This is a good product, it just didn't WOW me.

I love the pink tube it comes in, it's pretty compact for the amount of product you get and it's designed well so that only a little comes out of the tube at a time (you have a put quite a bit of pressure on the tube to get it out- this is good though cause you don't need much).

The smallest bit is enough for my lips and it does feel really nourishing once it is on. The feeling does stay there for quite some time however once it is worn off (from eating or drinking etc) I haven't noticed my lips feeling particularly different.

I get quite bad eczema on my hands and used it on little patches there too. This was a nice soother in the moment, but again I haven't really noticed any long(er) term results.

It's really nice and moisturizing, and I will continue to use it. Not sure if I would repurchase, would probably be keen to try something similar first.

Tips: Apply a tiny amount at first - a little goes a long way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 2:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sukin Paw Paw Ointment

Packaging/Appearance - Appealing, soothing Odour/fragrance - not much Post Use Feedback- Had to squeeze real had to get the ointment out. Lips I have chapped lips and use chapstick regularly a few times a day.

Applied Sukin Paw paw ointment to my lips and hands every night and morning.

Day 1 - not much difference Day 2 - no more chapped lips. Day 3 onwards - lips felt real good, smooth & no chapping Infact after a week of applying paw paw, just using once a day was good enough for the lips.There were no more cracks/chapping. Was quite impressed that I had to apply paw paw just once or max twice a day. Whereas chapstick has to be used constantly during the day.

Hands My hands have started getting rough, dry and shriveled with age. Day 1 - applied at night before sleeping, next morning hands felt slightly smoother Day 2 - started applying morning and at night before sleeping. Hands felt smoother with a bit more life in them. Not as shriveled as before. Day 3 - hands felt the same. Day 4 - same Day 5 onwards - hands felt smooth, soft and not as shriveled. Felt I had shed a few years on my hands.

Paw paw is more effective on the lips than on the hands. I need to use twice or more times a day on the hands to get an effective result.

Last week I burnt my hand real bad. I had a dressing on for a week. Once the dressing came off I applied Sukin 2 to 3 times a day for 10 days. The burn is totally healed and there is a very light scar. I plan to use Bio Oil now to get rid of the remaining scar. Pretty impressed with Sukin on the burn.

Tips: Apply on the lips under lipstick and the lipstick lasts longer and lips feel smooth all day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 10:23 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Natural Paw Paw ointment

I received the Sukin Paw Paw ointment without any packaging (assuming this is how it is purchased from a store). The little tube is a nice colour and it has the Sukin brand name with the wee leaf at the top and easy to see. Most of the writing on the tube is almost impossible to read though, ok my eyes are getting a bit "tired" but I'm sure most people would have issues reading it.

The tube is a good size and it can be thrown in your handbag so nice and handy to take with you. I do have quite dry lips and a patch of dry skin on the top of one of my feet so thought I would use it on those areas. The ointment is very thick and takes a bit of squeezing to get it out of the tube but you only need a little bit. It smells nice and natural, sort of wheaty is how I would describe it and I liked it - no stinky perfumes etc so you know it's nice and natural.

I used the ointment on my lips and foot for over a week and think it has made a little difference but nothing to really write home about. I will keep using it however as I do like it and knowing it's not fully of harsh chemicals etc makes a difference.

I would be happy to use this on my 4 year old daughter also and will try on her at some stage when she needs it for any chaffing etc.

Overall I do like the product, not quite sure if it was totally effective on my dryness however being natural is a huge plus for me so I would probably buy it again and have it in my handbag.

Tips: No tips with this product, really just use when needed :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 10:19 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Big power, small price.

Having never used this product before I was excited to trial it. My kids have eczema and I often get patches as well. I decided to try it on both myself and my son. We both used a small amount on our eczema twice and day. Immediately my son said his eczema was not itchy anymore and I noticed that it didn't look as inflamed. The redness was gone within 2-3 days and his skin was soft and smooth. My dry patch disappeared after 3 days and I continued to use the pawpaw ointment for 4 more days to ensure it wouldn't come back - it hasn't. My son's eczema has improved 80% and he is still using the pawpaw ointment as he forgot to put it on, but the natural oils have made a difference to his skin and what was sore, red, cracked skin is no longer. I will be buying more of this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th May, 2017 at 7:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty in peach

I was really excited when I received Sukin's paw paw ointment to review. I have always been a fan of their skin care so was hoping this would be just as good as all their other products.

The first thing that appealed to me regarding this product was the cute packaging. It makes me think of summer and i feel 25 grams is a reasonable amount of product but still keeps it travel friendly.

The ointment is a thick consistency that clings to the area you apply it. I can happily drink a cup of tea and still feel the product on my lips. With other lip products they would disappear and I have been left wondering if they actually remained on my lips long enough to do any good.

I have tried a few other paw paw ointments over the years but stopped using them once I found out that they contained mostly petroleum jelly. Finding a similar product but without the questionable ingredients has made me very happy.

Since receiving this product I have used it everyday. My lips are nor normally overly dry and this product has helped them retain their moisture and I really like using it first thing in the morning to help condition and smooth my lips before putting on liquid lipsticks.

This past weekend my lips did end up getting a little wind burnt and while this is not a miracle product ( it's not going to return your lips to there former glory with one application) it has started to recondition my lips and t hey are already feeling better than they were.

I also get really dry and painful outer corners of my eyes at the time of year and I have used Sukin's paw paw ointment on the area at night times and in the morning the pain has gone.

I am looking forward to trying this ointment on the cracked skin I get on my hands every year too.

I will continue to use this product and test this product to see how it works for other situations.

Tips: If you are like me and find getting the product out of the tube a little difficult at times because its so thick I recommend holding he tube under running hot water for a minuet or two.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 7:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sukin Paw Paw Ointment

Having used the Lucas Paw Paw Ointment for many years I was really interested in trying the new face on the block. I use Paw Paw Ointment for dry lips, eczema and all things dry on my body, I am known to have a tube or two in my handbag.

The packaging of Sukin Paw Paw Ointment is really cute, I was really impressed with the pinky/peach tube. It was great that the product is sulphate and paraben free as well. I first opened the tube on a cold morning and found it nearly impossible to push any product out at all. I found this to be a real negative to be honest and put me off the product quite early on.

Once I finally managed to get some product out I found it had a subtle but not unpleasant scent. It smooths onto the skin reletivaely easily and is absorbed quite quickly into skin that is dry.

Overall the product certainly does what it claims but I found it to be no different to the Lucas Paw Paw (though I will say Sukin does have cuter packaging!).

I would only buy again if it was the cheaper of the two options.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th May, 2017 at 12:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the best lip product for me

I'm one of those rare people that had never tried any kind of Paw Paw ointment before, so I was unsure what to expect with this product. I had fairly high hopes that this would work wonders on my lips, as Paw Paw ointment is a cult favourite beauty product for many. When the product first arrived I had a difficult time getting it out of the tube, though I put that down to the parcel sitting outside in the freezing Hamilton weather. The positive to it being hard to get out of the tube, is that you're never likely to squeeze out too much product.

This ointment is very thick. On cold days, it can feel grainy when you first put it on your lips but it doesn't take long for it to melt to a smooth consistency. It feels sort of waxy yet oily at the same time. You only need to use a tiny amount at a time. I wasn't a huge fan of how it sat on my lips, as it felt quite heavy. I didn't feel like it was adding any hydration to my lips. It was like I had a barrier on my lips preventing any moisture from leaving, instead of adding moisture.

Since it's winter my lips are drier than usual. After using this product for nearly two weeks my lips are in a good condition. They feel smooth and I haven't had cracked lips. However they don't look as 'plump' as they usually do when I use products like Blistex. I can tell my lips look a little smaller, as my cupid's bow is flatter and not as defined as it usually is. I think my preference is lip products that have ingredients like peppermint/menthol that bring a cool feeling. This Paw Paw ointment doesn't give you any kind of feeling, so I don't think it's the ideal lip product for me.

If you are a fan of the classic Paw Paw ointment, I think you will be a fan of this product. However if you are used to products that give you a cooling sensation like Blistex, then you might not like this as much. I will keep this in my purse and continue to use it, but it won't be the only lip product I use.

Tips: When I dyed my hair, I used this product around my hairline and on my ears to stop the dye from staining my skin. It worked amazingly well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have you tried DRAGON'S BLOOD before?

Have you tried DRAGON'S BLOOD before?

Erm...no. Also...is it dragon-friendly?

view results

Review of the Day
andreabrown
Couldn't Wait
I got straight onto my dye when it arrived yesterday as I was crying out for new colour. At $19.99 it is more… more »