Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
LUSH Yuzu and Cocoa Shower Cream Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.4/5

LUSH Yuzu and Cocoa Shower Cream Review

Overall rating:
3.5/5

Yes, it smells like chocolate oranges. No you can't eat it.

Cocoa and tonka absolutes meld with grapefruit bergamot oils to effectively brighten your mood.

Availability:  In LUSH stores and online.

RRP:  $34.90

Website:  www.lushnz.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2017 at 12:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
yuzu and cocoa

It smells amazing and it leaves my skin super soft. I truly love the smell, it always lifts my mood. sometimes when I have a bad day I just smell it and it always helps to calm me down. the smell also lingers on my skin which I love. A little goes a long way. I got a big bottle a few months ago and I'm not even halfway. this is truly one of my favorite products from Lush.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th July, 2017 at 11:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chocolate and orange deliciousness

I picked up this little beauty after trying it in store with a gorgeous Lush store worker, she said people either like it or dislike and after reading the previous reviews on Beauty Review that rings true.

I got two bottles of this the smaller 100ml and the larger 500ml, which both come in a clear bottle, which allows to view the insane bright sunshine yellow body cream inside that catches your eye, with click close black lids. I use the smaller 100ml bottle for travel it is the perfect size, not too dinky and small, but not too large that it takes up excessive space.

The texture is a runny consistency that lathers on my skin beautifully, personally I enjoy the texture of this body cream wash as a little goes a long way and it bubbles and foams slightly, which leaves me with moisturised and cleansed skin.

The scent is out of this world, chocolatey, citrus, tropical and sweet it is a scent that reminds me of visiting a tropical island with a fruity cocktail in my hand, I haven't smelt anything like this shower cream, its a must smell in my opinion when visiting Lush.

Price point - Lush is on the pricier side in comparison to most body washes but the wide range of scents and the different styles are worth the money in my opinion, also knowing that they are mindful with their ingredients is a positive when I am looking to purchase something that I use on my skin.

I would 100% repurchase Yuzu and Cocoa Shower Cream, it is so delicious and a perfect addition in my showering routine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2017 at 8:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lush Yuzu and Cocoa Shower Cream

I was lucky enough to grab one of these in the vault, I had had my eye on it for ages. I love Lush and have never been dissapointed, and this product didnt dissapoint either.

It comes in a 500 gram clear plastic bottle with a black lid. It lasted for ages which is great because I loved it.

It is an absolute shocking bright yellow, which is not my fave colour, however I can get past this as the gel and fragrance are amazing!

It is not as thick as some other shower gels, in fact it is a bit runny so you have to be a bit careful while you are pouring it. I used it on a bath poof and it lathered really well, the fragrance is amazing and very long lasting. It is hard to explain the fragrance, it is sweet but I do not get cocoa as they describe. I am not too worried about that as I love it anyway. I am not sure what tonka is, but if it contributes to the fragrance I am in love.

I will purchase this gorgeous shower gel again and again, it is up there with my favourites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th March, 2017 at 2:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Orange Chocolate

I love love love the smell of this stuff. I was given a big bottle for my last birthday and I love it more than I expected.

It's a cream formula but in saying that its not very thick and easy to get out of the bottle ( I have issues with my hands so easy to poor things float my boat) The only thing I don't like about it is that it's bright bright yellow...... Wish the colour was more muted as it does leave my puff fluoro yellow.

Tips: Use it with a puff for best lathering effect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
19th February, 2017 at 11:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Don't like consistency

It smells amazing just like lemon and chocolate as oppose to orange and chocolate and the colour isn't the usual for a shower product but I can deal with that. I really dislike the consistency it is too runny to use in the shower, the colour stays on and it is just a bad consistency.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
19th January, 2017 at 9:49 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Like rubbing mustard on myself

I have very mixed feelings on this product. I got it from the last BR vault, spending around 340 ish points. The ingredients and the way the scent was described got me excited first off. The thought of orange and chocolate??!! YES PLEASE! So in my cart it went for me to experience this loveliness.

I got the 500g bottle which is the biggest Lush offer so at least I know I am set for a while with 500g. The colour doesn't float my boat much, I mean smiley face yellow? Not the best colour in the world by my taste. The one thing that annoys me about the shower products is the lid on the bottle. It tends to be hard to open and ends up breaking my nails.

The smell is beyond heavenly. I am all over it when it comes to the scent. It really does smell like orange and chocolate like it describes. The part that I dislike intensely is the application itself. I feel like I am rubbing mustard all over my body. Lucky for Lush it smells so good or I would drop it in the nearest bin and not look back. I have never tried their shower creams until Yuzu and Cocoa found its way to me so it was a whole new experience. The cream is very thin and too runny for my liking. It makes it easier when using a shower puff to avoid it running all over the place.

It doesn't really create much of a lather like I would like. For me I associate bubbles/lather with cleanliness. But I just don't get that from this shower cream. The one plus is that my husband love to deep sniff my skin after a shower of using this. He detects coconut more than orange and chocolate. For his benefit I will continue to use it every so often but it is most definitely not my fave.

Tips: I find it stains my shower and my shower puff so make sure you wash it off thoroughly or you will find yourself scrubbing like I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th November, 2016 at 3:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Tangy fruit burst

When I saw this in the vault I was excited to see a Lush product . I managed to secure one. I haven't purchased Lush in a long while and I was thankful to have this as a treat.

When it arrived I was surprised to see such a generous sized bottle. First time I've had a 500 ml bottle . It's great I can see how long this bottle will last me if I was to buy this size in the future. Typically Lush comes in clear bottles so you can see the product through it. This shower cream is a vibrant bright yellow colour. I found the consistency very runny. For the last few weeks I've been trying to figure out the scent of this. The scent that I can smell is this tangy grapefruit citrusy burst with this smooth coconut pulling together a very unusual scent. It's a strong punchy scent. It's either a love it or hate it kind of scent. My partner smelled it in our shower and was disgusted by the smell of it. I don't mind it at all though.

With a flannel I found it difficult to lather . With a shower puff it foams up well. During application it's fragrant. Even after showering I can still smell this shower cream on my body an hour later. I've got plenty of uses remaining in my bottle. I could easily get another two months use from this.

There's plenty of mixed reviews for this shower cream because I think it's a very unusual scent. I didn't pick up on the chocolate orange scent at all which is a bit of a disapointment. Smelled more like tangy fruits. At this stage I'm not sure if I'd purchase or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
7th November, 2016 at 9:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bright and

This will be such a mixed review as I have such mixed feelings about this product!

Orange chocolate? Nope I don't smell that at all, which is rather dissapointing because that was a selong point for me when I picked it up in the recent beauty vault. Citrus? Yes! it smells very zesty and fruity. I'm unaware what yuzu is so maybe that's where the fruityness comes from? sadly I don't get the cocoa part.

The consistency, runny! I mean it is a cream not a shower gel, I guess I was expecting something a wee bit thicker not something that'd run through your fingers and spill all through the shower. BUT! it's something I can live with! Squirt some onto a shower puff and wha la, problem solved. The cream lathers up beautifully in a puff and makes it soooo much easier to use.

I love using this in my morning showers, it's fresh fruity and colourful! It sets the tone for my morning. Bright and Cheerful!

While this isn't my fave lush product I don't particularly mind it. I'm just really in 2 minds about it.

It's a nice addition to my morning showers, I'm just unsure if it's something that I'd buy once I've run out.

Tips: Use a shower puff as the consistency a little runny

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st October, 2016 at 10:19 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I just had a shower in stomach bile!!

I have to get this off my chest first, this cream reminded me of that bright yellow bile you get sometimes when you are sick. I was standing there in the shower being reminded of a few of those old party girl days when you had that sneaky spew in the shower hahaha not the best first impression.

The scent I really didn't mind, I'm not familiar with Yuzu so can't say either way if it was present, but it certainly didn't smell like chocolate oranges to me. I can definitely get that coco butter smell with something nice & citrus.

Does it do what it said it would?...well considering LUSH don't have any specific claims on how this product should work then I'm going to have to just say that I officially prefer gels after using this. I found the cream too thin to be effective for anything other than splattering all over my shower even when added to a cloth (this could be different with a puff) and almost no lathering up but I know this is not common for creams. Also I don't feel as if my skin feels anymore soft or smoother than normal

So over all would I repurchase? Nah most likely not, although I will use what I have but I am glad I got this via the vault and not brought in store. It's just not for me, although it does smell and feel refreshing.

Tips: Be prepared for a messy bright shower

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I think Yuzu is supposed to be a relative of a lemon, I think. But then again I've never seen one either, only in perfumes.

Haha oh gosh, I have this and haven't used it yet but I'm going to be thinking about nothing but stomach bile now! Good tip about the shower puff/loofah.

Great review hehe stomach bile! Yeah it's not my fave from lush either

Yikes, thanks for the tip off. Great review!

Updated: when used with a shower puff there is certainly more of a lather, which was nice.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
14th October, 2016 at 8:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Tropical and Fruity

I got a little 100ml bottle of this in a giftset I purchased from lush at the start on the year. I've been trying to use some others up first but I was definitely looking forward to trying this one out.

This concoction is a very bright yellow. I almost feel like a bright orange would suit it more though. Not that the colour matters of course! This comes in the standard lush gel bottles, at least with the colour being very bright, it's different from other lush gels so you would easily be able to tell which one it is if you have lots of lush shower gel like I do.

This says it is a chocolate orange scent. I really can't smell chocolate. To me, this is a fruity, tropical scent. With a hint of coconut and a nice strong citrus, it's not even really an orange citrus. I get a slight grapefuit hint. I'm not sure what yuzu is supposed to smell like. It's not sweet, but very vibrant and fresh. It's not my most favourite scent from lush but I do enjoy using it in the shower. It scents my bathroom nicely as well while I'm using it. I imagine the scent would linger on my body, but I'm not sure as I also use body lotion and perfume which would mask it. The consistency is sort of runny but not super thin. It lathers up pretty nicely too.

My partner adores this, he saw me grab it out of the shower just now to write a review and he wanted to know what I was doing taking it out! I'm pretty sure I'd buy a bottle separately at some stage, I'm hoping to pick up some gift sets in the boxing day sales which would hopefully have a bottle of this in them too. I'd recommend if you do like that sort of tropical scent, but just don't expect a choc note.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »