Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

L'Oréal Paris Sugar Scrubs Purifying Face Scrub Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

L'Oréal Paris Sugar Scrubs Purifying Face Scrub Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

The L’Oreal Paris Sugar Scrubs Purifying Scrub combines 3 FINE SUGARS (brown, blonde & white) with the purifying properties of KIWI SEEDS to instantly reveal a clearer complexion and baby-soft skin.

At the heart of the formula are 100% naturally sourced exfoliants rich in essential nutrients, providing deep yet gentle exfoliation for delicate skin. Purifying ingredients also work to clear the skin, including KIWI SEEDS to exfoliate skin and visibly reduce blackheads, PEPPERMINT ESSENTIAL OIL to soothe skin and reduce blemishes, and LEMONGRASS ESSENTIAL OIL to purify skin. Suitable to use on your face and lips. INSTANTLY: Your skin feels fresh, clean and purified.

AFTER 1 WEEK: Pores and blackheads are visibly reduced and skin is mattified. USE AFTER USE: Skin is revived, healthy looking with a baby-soft touch.

RRP: $19.99

Availability: From 1st March in leading supermarkets, pharmacies, The Warehouse & Farmers


back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th May, 2018 at 9:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Definitely worth it

I had to try this scrub after seeing all your amazing reviews and I am so glad I did. This scrub was aimed at those wanting to purify the skin and help remove blackheads. I have combination/normal skin but do have large pores which makes my delightful blackheads look enormous. I have tried many scrubs and some have helped but they often leave my skin dry and slightly irritated. This kiwifruit scrub not only smelt amazing but made scrubbing fun as it literally melts on the skin. I couldn’t believe how clear and soft my skin felt afterwards. I had a few less blackheads and the others had risen to the surface making squeezing (dont judge) easier. I cant believe that after spending upwards of $50 on exfoliants at a time I’ve managed to find my holy grail scrub for $20. I normally use a scrub 2-3 times a week but after the amazing results from this delicious smelling scrub I’m considering mixing it up with the Cocoa one too

Tips: Wet your face first and scrub gently until the mask dissolves

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
19th March, 2018 at 2:20 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sugar Scrub

First of all - I love the box, the window to show the product is always something I like, but the top has this folding bit that keeps the product really secure. It's the small things I like.

The product itself is smooth, I'm not sure if I like the bright colour, I know it's meant to be like kiwi fruit but it seems a little artificial. As does the smell. I was expecting something light and fruity - but instead like a lot of loreal products it has a strong perfume in it. This actually have me a burning feeling in my nose too strong. Thankfully it doesn't linher! The scrub has a good texture, I can feel it is doing something without being too abrasive. I have been using it in the shower every third or fourth day. I started only on my chin just to gauge if I would have a reaction. It made my skin feel smooth without feeling stripped. My assumption was a sugar scrub wouldn't be good for acne - but I haven't had a decent breakout since I started using this- a couple of stray spots but nothing like normal. I've started using it on my forehead now which is quite congested and I'm looking forward to results there.

Will i buy it again? Probably. It feels good, just a shame about the scent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th March, 2018 at 5:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Surprisingly good for a "drugstore" brand!

I'd like to begin this review with mentioning that usually I stray away from drugstore brands when it comes to skincare in particular. I tend to spend quite a bit of money on my skincare because marketing tells me that it's the way to go. However this product was a pleasant surprise.

To begin with the packaging doesn't blow me away. Once you remove the product from the box the packaging is disappointingly simple with almost no details on it which means that because I throw away the outer packaging I lose the instructions for use and the benefits of the product which is a shame.

However upon opening the product it looks awesome! It literally looks like mashed up Kiwifruit which is a cute idea. It also smells deliciously like kiwifruit too. I really enjoyed that aspect of it.

My skin type is oily and blemish prone which is why I tend to use high-end skincare as drugstore products can break me out. I did get one pimple while I used this over a week but I am unsure if the two were related. The scrub is a good density although difficult to get from the packaging without getting it all over both of your hands and without easily limiting the amount you want to take. That's okay though because I suppose you get it all over your hands when you scrub it on your face. I tended to use it in the shower in the morning.

It is quite a harsh scrub which is why I gave it 4/5 because I am used to micro-exfoliants and I do get blemishes so it was a little bit harsh for me however the flip-side of that was that it felt like it was really working. I do think it minimized my blackheads. My skin felt gorgeous and smelt gorgeous after using it which was good and it was easy to apply my makeup for that say. I think it sat on my skin better than usual (although that might have been a placebo effect?)

Either way I do like this product and I will use it again but I wouldn't use it with any raw or open blemishes. I think it is a good price point for a good drugstore exfoliant. Not the best I've ever used but much cheaper than the best I've ever used.

Tips: Use it in the shower and then it's easier to wash off your hands and face. Don't use it on acne or raw blemishes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th March, 2018 at 8:18 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love This Scrub

I've used sugar scrubs on my body before, but never on my face - so I was very curious to see how the L'Oreal Sugar Scrub would feel.

First of all, the packaging is elegant - a square, clear glass tub with a bronze/gold lid.

The product itself smells delicious. Sugary sweet with the freshness of kiwifruit.

On applying I had a moment of panic. Despite reading that it would heat up I wasn't prepared for how warm it would get and I nearly washed it off. I'm glad I didn't though as it quickly settled. I then applied warm water with my fingertips and began scrubbing my face. I love feeling the sugar crystals dissolve. What I love more is the result. My skin feels super smooth and it does look clearer. Despite its mattifying effect, my skin does not feel dry, which makes me love this more. This scrub also feels lovely on the lips... and actually, it tastes good too - though you're not meant to eat it, some slipped in while scrubbing and I wasn't displeased.

I will continue to use this, and I'm keen to purchase the nourishing scrub for winter when my skin tends to become drier. A fantastic product, totally recommend.

Tips: Don't panic when it heats ups. It soon settles, and becomes a sugary treat for your skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th March, 2018 at 7:18 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells Devine

This new sugar scrub was a very exciting review for me! I love sugar scrubs

The packaging is similar to L’Oréal’s other ranges with the glass jar and big square lid It takes up a lot of room in your make up bag so isn’t that great for traveling.

The smell is the first thing you notice it is sweet and inviting if you like fruity smells The green colour is a bit odd but works for kiwi fruit The texture is slightly sticky and gloopy and there is a lot of it

When using this on my face and neck I found it easy to apply however it did get stuck under my finger nails which is fine but annoying You don’t need to use a lot of product so that’s good and it goes on easily, however it has a warning sensation so if you have sensitive skin I would watch out for this!

The sugar feels good on your skin when applying however I broke out on my cheeks and temples which are places I don’t usually get blemishes. I am finding L’Oréal products are making me break out more and more.

After rinsing my skin felt like there was a layer of film still on my skin so I needed to clean my skin a few times which often left me feeling dry so I use a heavy moisturiser to help with this

Overall I did like the pleasant fruity smell however I think I will use this on my legs from now on due to breakouts

Tips: Clean your skin fully afterwards otherwise you may have a film like feel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th March, 2018 at 11:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best scrub ever!

This exfoliant seriously is one of the best I have ever tried. I am 35 and do suffer from hormonal acne/congestion, so I have always been a fan of resurfacing my skin to minimise congestion. First impressions is the jar is very elegant looking yet earthy. The product itself is a thick green slightly sticky consistency, which I actually love. The kiwifruit seeds are evident but not Overbearing. On first application I took a small scoop with 2 fingers which seemed to be enough, and moved it around my face gently. The product literally warmed to my skin which I quite liked. I like that you can press the product hard or softly into your skin for a different effect. I like to press firmly around my nose, chin and forehead as this is where I find my congestion at its greatest. OMG afterwards, this can easily be removed with your fingers or a flannel - and my skin felt so amazingly smooth! Best ever! My make up applied perfectly the next morning, so I am now using this 3x per week and would definitely repurchase

Tips: Cleanse first, then apply to dry skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th March, 2018 at 10:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A lovely treat!

I got sent the Purifying Scrub which was specialised in purifying and clearing blackheads, perfect for me as this is something I’ve suffered with ever since I was a teen. Opening the cute little jar I was hit by a lovely refreshing fruit smell...I thought it was apple at first but upon further inspection it was actually Kiwi seeds. I got stuck in without actually reading the box and was very surprised by the instant warm feeling, I totally didn’t expect it but it was such a lovely surprise, teamed with the fine sugars for the scrub aspect of the ‘mask’ it felt very luxurious. I really like this, it was very easy to use and my skin felt so amazing afterwards! I still think I need to use it for a little longer to notice a difference to my black heads (recommended use is 3x times a week) but after two weeks and 5 uses my pores definitely look smaller, I also found that my make up seemed to last longer than usual! This is such a lovely ‘me time’ treatment especially making time before bed 3 times a week to use it, I really enjoyed taking the time out and creating a beauty ritual! The price is also great...treat yo’self :-)

Tips: Treat yourself and stick to the 3x a week ritual, you won’t regret it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
16th March, 2018 at 10:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Less blackheads but more whiteheads!

This product claims to purify skin and clear blackheads so I was definitely the perfect candidate; I have quite clogged pores and a lot of blackheads. The product comes in a very luxurious transparent glass pottle with a gold lid. I felt like the packaging was really nice for a supermarket product but felt it was excessive that the pottle came also inside a box, I'm not a fan of unnecessary packaging. I liked the transparency of the pottle so you can see how product you're using but I found it unhygienic as you have to scoop the product out with your fingers. I found the scent of this to be really unpleasant, it's a strong kiwifruit scent but with a plasticy chemical- like smell to it. The scrub itself resembles kiwifruit; it's a green jelly-like scrub with black kiwi seeds through it, I thought this looked super cool. I found I needed to use quite a lot to cover my entire face and lips, and I've made quite a good dent in it using this throughout the trial so I don't think this is the most economical product given the RRP price. The scrub was easy to use and I found the self-warming component really cool, it felt very spa-like and pleasant to use this on my face. I didn't enjoy using this on my lips however, I found it weird that this can be used as a lip scrub yet you cannot ingest this. I felt uncomfortable putting this on my lips as it smelt unpleasant and I was scared of getting it in my mouth, it also left quite an unpleasant taste on my lips even after washing it off, so I'd only recommend using this on the face. This was quite a good consistency in that it was scrubby enough to exfoliate my face well but also quite gentle, I found it gentle enough to use every day. After every use my skin did feel way softer so it definitely fulfilled that promise. It left my face feeling softer, smoother and moisturised. I noticed a reduction in the number of blackheads I had but a massive increase in small whiteheads. I don't normally get small whiteheads but throughout the trial I started getting a lot of small whiteheads that I think were due to this product. This may have been just my skin adjusting to a new product and due to the length of the trial period I cannot be sure the scrub will always do this but I didn't feel the reduction in blackheads from this scrub was worth getting more whiteheads, especially when these are more noticeable. So essentially this scrub did do what it said it would but with the added side effect of whiteheads, which has left me a bit undecided if I would want to use this again or recommend this, as the breaking out in whiteheads may just be a temporary effect of this. Overall, I think there are cheaper scrubs out there that smell better and are more natural than this one, and didn't give me whiteheads so I'm not 100% sold on this, but it is not a terrible product. I'll keep using this and update my review if the whitehead issue still persists.

Tips: -Rinse your face twice after using this as it doesn't wash off super easily

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
16th March, 2018 at 9:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It's Pretty...

Received this product through a BR Trial. Thanks BR for the opportunity. First impressions: Packaging is a glass square with a gold sparkly top lid. Looks professional and classy. You can see the scrub through the glass. This scrub is a gorgeous green colour with seeds like Kiwifruit. Also smells sweet and fruity like Kiwifruit.

Have been using this for almost two weeks and have mixed views on the results. No application tools were supplied so you just dip your fingers in to apply. I'd say I used about a teaspoon and a half of product per use. It warms on your face and gets warmer when warm water is applied. This left my face feeling hot. Also when the sugar melted it felt really uncomfortable like multiple scratches you can't itch. When scrub is removed, skin looks clearer, smoother, feels softer and I have noticed a minor decrease in blackheads and gunk on my nose.

However in saying this, this scrub also broke my skin out. Pimples on my chin and random spots on my face. I don't know what this is about. I also used it as a lip scrub and did not find it as effective as I thought it would be.

I think the idea for this product is awesome and has good attributes and probably works really well for a lot of people out there. Unfortunately it didn't work that well for me.

Tips: One and a half teaspoons of product should be enough for the whole face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th March, 2018 at 7:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sugar Scrub Goodness!

When I recieved this my first thoughts were that it had really pretty packaging! I loved the glass jar and it looks really cute on my bathroom shelf. The next thing I loved was the smell. To me it smelled like those Garnier shampoos/conditioners, the ones that smell like apples. So good! I found that there could have been a tad more clear instructions. It said to apply a small amount, but I wasn't sure what quantified a small amount so I just roughly guessed the amount.

This sugar scrub gives a weird heat sensation that I didn't really like. It didn't burn or anything, but the sensation was definatley new to me. The scrub have a nice gentle exfoliation and make my face feel really smooth, even my active acne noticeably reduced in texture. One thing I liked was that it didn't irritate active acne areas and it was easy to apply.

Overall this was a really good scrub that did what it said it would do and I'm impressed.

Tips: Have a damp facecloth ready to help remove the scrub after use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »