Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Detoxifying Serum Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.8/5

Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Detoxifying Serum Review

Overall rating:
3.8/5

BioDTox and Probiotics combine to detoxify congested skin, clear pores and balance sebum production.  This light, fast absorbing serum will balance natural oil levels and, used ongoing, will help prevent infections and breakouts. Combine with the rest of the Essano Clear Complexion range for optimal skin balance.

SCIENTIFICALLY FORMULATED TO: 

• Control sebum levels

• Regenerate and restore skin health

• Prevent further breakouts

• Improve skin firmness and elasticity

Pack Size: 30ml 

RRP:  $29.99

Website:  www.essano.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
19th December, 2017 at 12:14 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent serum

This is probably the one product out of the whole range that I'm not completely sold on. Personally I felt like it didn't do much for my skin, and I found that it was the one product I didn't really care about using.

There's nothing actually bad about this product, however there's nothing I found to be amazing either. I felt like instead of nourishing my skin, it almost made it feel dryer than usual, and slightly tight. I personally do not like the tight feeling because it makes me feel like I'm just putting alcohol on my face.

What I do like about this serum is the packaging, I like how it's slightly heavy so it feels nice to hold. The pump is also nice, but I think if it was a bit more controllable it would be perfect.

I will definitely continue to use this serum though, because I think that all of the products in this range work together amazingly. Perhaps if I stop using it I will see a difference, and then I will know if it's helping my skin.

Tips: Apply at night after your moisturiser, make sure to put it on your neck too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 10:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Effective Detox

I had never used a detoxifying serum before this one and was intrigued to see how it felt on my skin. After my first use I was enamored; the serum was light, easy to apply, and immediately felt like it was working.

The serum is easy to apply morning and night, and is fine to wear under makeup. In fact, with a combination of this serum and the Essano Clear Complexion Toner, I've found no need to use a primer underneath my powder foundation as it sticks to it very well.

I already think that after only a month, this product has significantly helped my blackheads. Although my pores have yet to reduce in size, I am no longer facing the breakouts I used to get from having clogged pores.

I have had a few breakouts since starting this product, but nothing out of the usual for me, and I think using this serum has helped me control and heal them faster. I am so happy I got the chance to trial this product as it has opened me up to a new world of facial serums that I am excited to add to my regular skin-care routine.

Tips: The pump bottle is designed so that the perfect amount of serum is deposited in one pump, so there is no need to use any more than one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soothing and Cleansing

I tried this product with the complete Essano Clear Complexion range that BR sent me!

I love the packaging for this product. It's really simple and sophisticated and the pump makes it feel very high quality.

The product does have quite an interesting smell - my friend described it as over ripe kiwifruit and I would have to agree. Call me crazy but I kind of warmed to the smell after using it quite regularly.

I believe the product had a great effect on my skin. I have used witch hazel products and other products on my chin to try and prevent my monthly breakouts but have always been unsuccessful. I've had great skin this month and I think I can attribute that to the whole range and this serum.

I find the texture really smoothing and think that this serum is a great (and will be an ongoing) part of my skincare routine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
18th December, 2017 at 9:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Quiet disappointing...

This was the most disappointing product in the Essano Clear Complexion range.

It is a plastic bottle and pump, which normally I don't mind but I found the pump to be really flimsy and felt like it would snap every time I used it.

The product itselfis quiet thick and a weird yellow colour which is a little off putting, and it does have a sort of herby smell to it, which isn't unpleasent, but isn't pleasent either.

When I used this product in conjunction with the other products in this range I did find that I was less oily and less breakouts, but I'm not sure if it can actually be contributed to using this product or the effect of the overall range. I didn't notice a change in my skins elasticity, firmness or overall health. I also found this product left a weird sticky residue/film on my skin. Whilst I do recommend this range I think you can pass on this product as it wouldn't make that much of a difference.

Tips: I would only use this as a part of the whole product regime, I would not recommend this as a stand alone product, and would suggest skipping it if you are purchasing the range. It doesn't really make a difference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 6:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Clear Complexion Certified Organic Detoxify

Aleyah (15) said this product made her skin feel the best, she said it glided on nice and smooth and has no scent. it's her first 'serum' product and she loves the silver pump bottle it's really cool.

I think this has a slight slight herb scent , reminds me of the Blackmores skin care range I think it was a marshmallow product? That's what the fragrance reminds me of lol.

It's not clear it has a yellow tint to it , very silky . a little sticky until it dries. Then it's matte. It actually makes your skin matte , whilst being very hydrating

I really think this Skincare range is amazing!! All have left her skin very clear and glowing.

Tips: A little goes a long way

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
18th December, 2017 at 5:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Serum

I like the packing in this range. Sweet and simple.

I had never used a serum before and didn't know what to expect. I was honestly pleasantly surprised.

Although the smell is a bit strange (almost a woody smell) and it felt a little sticky after application, I really liked this.

I felt like it made my skin soft, glowy and helped control oil.

I liked the pump bottle but it only needs 1-2 pumps to cover your face and neck.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 5:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super Serum

I love natural products, as they usually seem to work with my sensitive skin, and am always on the hunt for more, so this product was right up my alley. The packaging is similar to those in the range- white and pink with some silver. It had a pump nozzle, which I found a bit hard to use- it was a bit stiff and hard to control the amount of product that came out. It was had to get it to do a half pump, so it had to be one or two full pumps (if that makes sense). I usually found that one pump was enough, and sometimes I would need a bit more so I just unscrewed the lid to get it out, as it was hard to use the pump to get a small amount of product out. This smells different from the other products in the range, it has a bit of an off smell, more like a mix of tea and bark (sounds odd I know, the only way I can describe it), and wasn’t unpleasant. The texture of this was really smooth and spread really easily. It soaked in super quickly and left my skin feeling smooth. I have noticed my skin has become clearer and I haven’t really had a breakout (odd pimples here and there) since using this for the past 4 weeks. My skin is more dry than oily, however I sometimes get oily in my T-zone, which I have found to be less after using this. My skin is sensitive and did not react at all or get red/itchy or anything from using this so that was great! All in all, I did like this product and will continue to use it!

Tips: 1 pump was usually enough for me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 12:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great!

This serum is my favourite part of skincare set! I apply it to my freshly cleansed face and it dries very quickly and doesn't feel heavy because it is designed to be applied underneath the moisturiser. It smells really nice and feels so smooth on my face and neck. I really do notice a difference in the amount of oil I produce now compared with what I used to produce; in the mornings my face was so shiny and gross from sleeping but when I apply the serum at night and see myself in the morning I am completely dry and look hydrated! So this product is a big yes in my book, and my skin has kept relatively clear! The packaging is a strong metal pump bottle and looks very sleek. Overall I love this product and will continue to use it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 10:53 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not spectacular

I had high hopes for this product, but it was probably my biggest let down. It comes in a pump package, and I found the smell to be fairly artificially scented. I didn't like it as it's quite sticky and doesn't sink in well.

I feel that it doesn't particularly improve my skin. It didn't seem to improve my breakouts or prevent further ones.

Overall I wouldn't repurchase as it didn't particularly do anything for my skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th December, 2017 at 12:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Detoxifying Serum

This is probably my favourite thing in the set! I absolutely love applying this, it makes my skin feel so smooth and refreshed.

It comes in a smallish 30ml bottle with a pump, and matches the rest of the items in the set. I don't need to use much product to apply this over my whole face! It has a smooth consistency. I love how it smells, to me it smells like a mixture of vanilla and cinnamon and bananas (if that even makes sense!) It soaks into my skin reasonably quickly.

While I have been using this set, I have noticed my skin feeling fresher and smoother, and I haven't had any breakouts. I also feel like my skin has a lot less redness as well and feels overall amazing. Since I've been using the rest of the set, I can't say whether this difference is all down to this product, but love the feeling of applying this and would recommend!

Tips: Recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all

Two Toned Lips - Hot Or Not?

view results

Review of the Day
MissDilly
Soft hydrated hair
I bought this shampoo and the conditioner at the supermarket after feeling my hair was dry and dull. It… more »