Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Sign up now
Sign up now
A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.7/5

A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review

Overall rating:
4.6/5

Improve your skin's overall tone and texture with the wonders of Rosehip Oil combined with the brightening powers of Vitamin C. 

Designed to combat the high level of stress and damage caused to skin throughout the summer sun months, this highly concentrated facial oil of Rosehip, Vitamin C and Macadamia  helps to reduce the visible signs of ageing, sun damage, pigmentation, age spots and uneven skin tone.  

With a beautiful lightweight, non-greasy and fast absorbing texture this is the perfect addition to any skincare routine.
Use alone or for superior benefits apply before moisturiser.  

Skin Type:
Suitable for all skin types, even oily with the lightweight texture

Pack Size:  20ml

RRP:  $34.99

Availability:  Selected pharmacies, online. 

Website: www.akin.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2017 at 1:20 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil

I cant fault this product! I've been using it for almost two weeks now and absolutely love it. The effect is already quite visible with my skin looking brighter and healthier than it has looked and felt in a long while. I've been religiously using it twice daily after cleansing my face and neck and applying the recommended 5 drops - massaging on pigmented area and all over generally. It has a strong earthy smell but nothing I cant handle. On the contrary it actually feels pure and au naturale! I was alittle apprehensive that it might cause breakouts and acne problems but touchwood no such issues at all. A'kin Rosehip oil seems to love my skin and my skin loves it back. I'm planning to buy another bottle already so that I dont get caught off guard with it running out unexpectedly. Highly recommend if you have sun damage, pigmentation and uneven skin tone. It has significantly helped me in these areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Hi Olakhalifa - I know the feeling! Foundations & concealers have ruled my life for long!! hopefully you'll find this product as helpful as I did. Goodluck :)

So excited to try this! I received a prize from BR, will start using tomorrow after cleansing and toner. I hope to see improvements as my uneven skin tone makes me want to hide under foundation all day everyday

Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th May, 2017 at 11:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I believe I have had better results with this Rosehip Oil than I have with any of the other brands I've tried. The only downfall is that it seems to be runnier, not as thick. But given that I believe that this one doesn't result in pimples from the oil I'm happy! I use it after using my dermaroller, and I so believe it assists!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th May, 2017 at 1:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love this - A great oil!

I need to start out with some scene setting. I'm in love with facial oils. I'm all over Argan oil, Rosehip Oil... These are always part of my nightly beauty routine, not least as I have oily skin and I've clicked on that, by using oil in my evening beauty routine, my skin is LESS oilier (sounds like totes kookie thinking, but it's true). So, scene set, I was a bit excited to try this brightening oil from A’kin (I’m new to their range), to ascertain for myself: How it lives up to the plethora of oils I've tried. My exec summary is that it delivers. Firstly, I should say I don't quite claim to understand how this has been processed, extracted to deliver such goodness (it sounds fancy in the marketing), but that aside, I really enjoyed this and would definitely repurchase it. For me, one big up is that most rosehip oils carry a, errr, slightly fishy smell. This one is less fishy than other rosehip oils I've tried, but still, faintly on the fishy smelling side (!). What has it done? I’ve noticed that, overall, my skin seems brighter and well moisturised, which is a bonus as my skin, when coming into winter, is prone to drying out. I have some acne scarring from my teenage years - I won't claim this has vanished, but this, along with my my pigmentation (damn you pregnancy) both appear to be slightly less noticeable. Yip, thumbs up from me. I reckon this oil is a welcome addition to the plethora of oils springing up on the (saturated?) market and I’d say it’s 'up there' with some of the best oils I've tried, which is just as well, as at $35 for 20ml this is getting up there in pricing for a product that is becoming quite widely available (including in the grocery aisle).

Tips: Get this oily goodness on your decollegage for a super moisturising experience: I'm keen to avoid wrinkles on there...!

Second tip: Mix ONE drop of this into your foundation, it'll yield a gorgeous dewy (not oily) finish. Stunning.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th May, 2017 at 10:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Good Oil? The Great Oil!

I've yet to fall in love with an oil. Most of the time I've felt rather ho-hum about them. They're fine. They moisturise my skin. But do I notice a difference? Not really. That doesn't stop me from trying new oils though - and the A'Kin Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C was intriguing to say the least.

The packaging is pretty standard for an oil - a dark bottle, great to keep the sun off the product. A dropper, which delivered exactly the amount I needed (three to four drops).

The oil is a yellowy gold colour and a little thick. It claims to be non-greasy and quick to absorb, however I erred on the side of caution initially and only applied it at night after cleansing and toning, and before moisturising. We can tick the non-greasy and quick to absorb boxes. No issues there. My skin didn't feel tacky in the slightest. Once I felt comfortable using this at night I used it during my morning routine as well and found my skin felt so fresh and dewy during the day - and it didn't effect makeup application either - which is always good.

So did it do anything? First of all - no breakouts. Usually when using a Vitamin C product my skin goes nuts, not in this case. I feel like the lines around my eyes and forehead look less prominent - yay! And my skin definitely has this renewed fresh look about it.

This might not be the cheapest oil on the market, but as far as I'm concerned it's the best. I've finally found the good oil! And it's great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th May, 2017 at 6:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Litte Disappointed

I was extremely excited when I was chosen for this trial, as this product promised to reduce the visible signs of aging, sun damage, pigmentation, age spots and uneven skin tones. I myself have uneven skin tones and a few issues with pigmentation. Aging, well, I have just turned 40 and luckily enough don't look my age yet (some say I look like I'm in my late 20's/early 30's).

The packaging was pretty standard for a face oil - a glass bottle and a dropper application. One benefit of having product in a glass bottle is that you can see how much product you have left. As it is an oil product as well, I would recommend keeping it in a dark cupboard, just to avoid the product being exposed to the sun and spoiling it.

When I started using the product, the first thing I noticed was the smell. When I first starting using it, to me it smelt a little bit like cooking oil. As the oil started to go down it starting smelling a bit more "earthy". Once you rubbed it on your skin though the smell did disappear.

I also had a few issues with the dropper when I first started using it. At first it was hard to get only 3 to 4 drops out of the dropper. It was more like 10 drops (I found it hard to control). Once again as I got through the bottle and the product went down, it was much more easier to control to get the 3 to 4 drops needed for application.

I used this twice a day before my moisturiser. Being an oil product I thought it would take ages to absorb into my skin. It actually didn't. It did sit on the skin for a bit longer than usual moisturisers, but by the time I was ready to apply my makeup, it had fully absorbed.

I can't say I noticed any reduction or pigmentation or uneven skin tone, but I have noticed that my pores aren't as big as they usually are. Another positive I did notice that was not a claim of this product, was that my make up applied better and lasted longer throughout the day - almost airbrushed.

Would I use this again? No. But I am going to continue to use this product until it runs out, to see if it takes longer than 2 weeks for me to see results. I'm hopeful x

Tips: Using this once a day should be sufficient to see results. If you're not a fan of strong smelling products, this may not be for you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2017 at 7:46 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ticks All Of The Boxes!

This is absolutly my kind of facial oil in a nutshell. I was so excited to be chosen to try this out as I have a problem with pigmentation and some scaring that I wanted to try this on. I have used this for 2 weeks now and im estatic with the results.

I usually tend to stay away from oils due to bad experiences in the past which usually resulted in my face becoming somewhat like an oil slick however I found this one completly different.

I use this both morning and night after cleansing I leave my face slightly damp and apply this in the places that I need to. Then I apply moisturizer straight away on top. My skin feels amazing (especially with the moisturizer on top). Thats what sold me straight away. Since I have been using this for 2 weeks I have noticed my skin less dull - more brighter and awake looking. As for my pigmentation- It has faded and some of it has gone! I cant wait to see results in the long term, so far im very impressed. This Rosehip oil didnt leave my skin oily and I had no bad effects from this. To me it has a natural smell which didnt bother me at all

This retails for $34.99 for 20mls. I have been using this for 2 weeks and it looks like I havent made a dent in it. A little goes a long way and I can see this lasting quite a while - even with daily use. I feel its well worth the money for the results I have seen so far.

It comes in a small box with detailed instructions. It comes in a glass bottle with one of those glass dripper things. Just your average facial oil bottle ect. Its australian made and, 100% vegan, Not tested on animals and the packaging is recyclable. Literally ticks of of the boxes.

Oh and one more thing, Its so easy to apply my foundation after using this and it feels so amazing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

It sounds lovely . I need this in my life.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th May, 2017 at 2:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C

First impressions of the product were appealing as the packaging is 100% Fully Recyclable, 100% Vegan & Not Tested on Animals. The oil comes in a dark amber bottle for added protection against the environment & a high quality glass dropper. The oil itself is light yellow in colour and has an earthy scent. It doesn't smell fragranced.

I have been using it religiously morning & night for the trial period and I am really pleased with the results. I have been applying 4 to 6 drops each application, enough to cover my face, décolletage & chest. The oil glides on and is lightweight, absorbing quickly. It does not feel heavy or greasy at any stage. In the mornings I use it under my make-up (as a primer) and my appearance looks dewy & fresh. I have had comments on how radiant my skin has been looking. I have noticed my skin feels hydrated & nourished all day long. I am tempted to apply this to my legs!!

Tips: Use as a primer under makeup :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2017 at 2:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip Gold, long list of No's = Yes!

I find it hard to try “oil” products that I haven’t used before, bit like a creature of oil comfort.

A’kin is a brand that I am not very familiar with, the bottle says NEW so assuming Rosehip Oil is new to the range. The brand is not available in Farmers or Countdown but is at Pharmacy Direct, directly online and Healthpost. Now I know this I would happily try other products. However feel that the brand would fly under the radar if I hadn’t actively searched it out.

To me I feel this product is made with care & consideration. Its not to heavy & absorbs well leaving just a slight shine. Letting it settle for about ½ hr sees it absorbed without any oily leftovers. I successfully added moisturizer and makeup. I am impressed that I am able to do this making it easy to use morning and night. An oil product that I can use before makeup is genius! It caused no irritation or breakouts.

It does have that unique “Rosehip” fragrance (which I don’t really like), but its not as offensive to me compared to others. Only 2-4 drops are needed and the bottle comes with a dropper so controlling amount used is easy. Remember to close bottle, once I've dropped oil onto fingers it's easy to forget to screw the dipper back in (thats one great thing about self dispensing bottles). Its easy to massage in and my skin feels alive after applying.

It claims to improve age spots, pigmentation & overall skin tone. I have to agree and advise that for me this product has done it. I only had a few age spots starting on my skin but they are so dulled I can’t easily spot them now. Pigmentation was good for me anyway so any improvement there has been unnoticed. Skin tone – yes, yes, yes! Seeing great results on my cheeks and those pesky diagonal lines. I would expect this bottle to last the distance. Only needing a few drops and coming in a 20ml bottle makes it great value for $.

I’ve stored it in a cool dark cupboard.

To be honest I feel Rosehip Oil is the best to use (for me anyway), other products like Bio Oil etc... don’t quite do it for my skin (which I feel is normal). This Rosehip is the best, most lush, expert Rosehip I have tried. I would advise to anyone who loves Rosehip.

There is a long list of NO’s which makes me feel like a responsible consumer. The Rosehip matches well with Vit C & Macadamia Oil.

All in all very happy with product and can't wait to try more products from the A'kin range.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2017 at 9:47 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Now I'm as beauitful as a rose

I loved the texture of this product, I put it into my skin after I cleansed under my makeup. It made my make up look beautifully soft and refreshed but not oily. After I've been using this product every day twice a day for a few weeks I've started noticing the difference. My skin is bright, youthful and glowing. My skin is completely glowing! I didn't mind the smell of this product. Not too strong. It smelt natural. I don't often use natural products but I think I've been converted. I have had such amazing results. I use it over my moisturiser and it works wonders for my skin. My skin has never looked so good. I use it twice every day. In the morning before I put my makeup on and after I take it off and cleanse my face. I only saw results after week one or two, but I suggest to keep on using it as results keep getting better and better. My skin looks better then yesterday and the day before. I will continue to use this every day twice a day and I will be purchasing it again. My skin honestly looks bright and beautiful! In love with this product. My little scars which I got in high school from popping pimples are looking so much better and are almost invisible now. I don't feel like this product was oily. It does what it says, it's natural and although it's a relatively high price at $35 dollars it should last at least 3-4 months as you only use a few drops at a time.

Tips: Use every day twice a day! Keep using it results will come!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th May, 2017 at 7:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bottle of gold

I couldn't wait to try this cute wee gem.

The first day it arrived I had a smile as big as the moon. My skin isn't at its finest stages right now. I can get oily/dry skin (weather dependant) break outs! So this arriving was perfect.

The bottle itself is super cute with a squeezable applicator and the fragrance reminds me of chopped wood, mild smell but I don't mind it.

The bottle says to use 3-4 drops on face/body so I concentrated more on my face.

Every morning when I woke up and every night before bed this became  (still is) apart of my daily skin routine. I use 2 drops on my forehead and one under each eye then massage it all over my face, sometimes I would moisture afterwards, Otherwise totally fine not to.

I didn't see any results to this instantly but two weeks in and my overall skin appearance was smoother, softer and looking good!

Tip: make sure your face is damp before applying so the oil can be easily applied and absorb in to your skin  ( I did try this on dry skin to check and the oil doesn't apply as easy )

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How often do you exfoliate?

How often do you exfoliate?

view results

Review of the Day
pedaju
It's not all in a name!
What a pretty container greeted me when Dragon's Blood Skin Therapy arrived. A generous size of product… more »