Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Improve your skin's overall tone and texture with the wonders of Rosehip Oil combined with the brightening powers of Vitamin C. 

Designed to combat the high level of stress and damage caused to skin throughout the summer sun months, this highly concentrated facial oil of Rosehip, Vitamin C and Macadamia  helps to reduce the visible signs of ageing, sun damage, pigmentation, age spots and uneven skin tone.  

With a beautiful lightweight, non-greasy and fast absorbing texture this is the perfect addition to any skincare routine.
Use alone or for superior benefits apply before moisturiser.  

Skin Type:
Suitable for all skin types, even oily with the lightweight texture

Pack Size:  20ml

RRP:  $34.99

Availability:  Selected pharmacies, online. 

Website: www.akin.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2017 at 5:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Akin to a nice face oil

This is another product I got from the last Vault but didn't write the review yet. I feel that the jury is a little bit out on this one because despite all the ingredients, I can't see any difference to my skin than the usual Rosehip oil that I use. I give this a 5 out of 5 because it has all the qualities of my usual good Rosehip oil, and has an excellent quality dispenser. If you've never used Rosehip oil you will probably like this. It stays fresh when using the dropper and doesn't have any extra fragrance as some oil manufacturers tend to add. It's just nice and simple.

For me, I use Rosehip oil after my evening shower, 4 drops into my palm and patted across my forehead, cheekbones and under my eyes. It's too powerful for my chin and nose - breakout city. It works wonders on chapped lips and other ailments like Mille around the eyes if you persist in applying it.

Tips: Experiment with how much you need - sometimes you don't need much at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th October, 2017 at 7:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brightening and Hydrating

I was given this oil to try by a friend.

It comes in a standard dropper bottle with A'Kin branding. It's nearly finished and the dropper still works perfectly, which is a boon.

It is a pale gold liquid, and quite thick, which I really like. I have dry skin so I'm an avid user of oils. This is one of the better oils I've tried - not the best, but not as expensive as the best ones either.

I love the ingredients - rosehip, macadamia, and vitamin C, all the goodies for skin. I've been using it at night, applying a great volume of it, so it can absorb and work it's magic while my skin rests. I wake up in the morning with soft hydrated skin.

I really like it!

Tips: Buy the BBBE Top Rated 2 box, as there is an A'Kin Rosehip moisturiser inside - lucky as mine is almost empty!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
24th September, 2017 at 11:58 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip, Macadamia & Vitamin C

My experience of A'kin is that they make quality skincare products, and this oil is no different. I was lucky enough to be able to get this face oil from the Beauty Vault that Beauty Review hold for its members several times a year.

The oil comes packaged in an attractive cream and maroon cardboard box with the main ingredients of rosehip oil, macadamia oil, and vitamin C listed on the front. This oil claims to help with sun damage, pigmentation and skin tone.

The oil itself is in a brown glass 20ml bottle with a dropper. The dropper is very easy to use. Rather than the end pointing straight down, the bottom is angled slightly to make it easier to apply the oil to your face. The oil is yellow, and has a mild smell, like olive oil.

It is recommend that you use it twice a day, ideally before moisturiser. I have been applying this once a day, at nighttime, and before my night cream. I apply four drops to my face each time. The oil feels lovely on my skin and is absorbed well. My skin feels very soft and moisturised after applying it.

I have some pigmentation on my forehead and cheek, which has improved slightly over the past two weeks I have been using this oil. I hope to see a continued improvement.

Tips: Apply after cleansing and before moisturising.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Thank you MareeB!

Great review. I liked it too.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
10th September, 2017 at 11:01 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
another rosehip oil

This comes on a nice little anber bottle with a dropper in the lid which is a good easy way of dispersing the oil. I liked the idea of having vitaminC and Macadamia with Rosehip and thought the scent may be better than the average Rosehip however I was disappointed as the scent is the standard rosehip and I struggle with that every time I use. The oil does soak easily into my skin which I like as I have very dry skin but at $35 for 20ml I felt it is a little expensive. I can't say other than the scent I dislike this however I believe any oil would achieve the same benefits and I haven't noticed any inprovements with uneven skin tone or brightening so all in all I am disappointed.

Tips: rub any excess from your hands into your nails,

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great tip! thanks.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
6th September, 2017 at 9:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Broke me out

After reading all the rave reviews about this oil I just had to try it. I was lucky enough to snap it up in the beauty vault which was great. I absolutely love rosehip oil so had high hopes for this plus I had never tried one with vitamin c.

It comes in a cute amber glass bottle with a dropper which makes it easy to get the right amount. The bottle holds 20ml which is a good size. It has a slightly earthy smell which I don't mind and you can't really smell it once it is applied. For some people though the smell might be off putting.

The texture is great, not too thick and a little goes a long way. It applies to my face so well and does not leave a greasy, tacky feeling at all. I have dry skin so use half a dropper full which covers my face, neck and the remaining I massage into my hands.

I like how soft it makes my skin but unfortunately my skin broke out so bad when I started using this. I have not had that many pimples in a long time. I heard the vitamin c can break you out so wondering if that was the case.

Because of this I would not use this again as I have used other brands with better results and had no breakouts. A real shame as I wanted to love this but alas it is not for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd August, 2017 at 8:28 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip and vitamin c

I have tried a couple of different rosehip oils so was interested in trying this one has vitamin c aswell so thinking it must be better.

It comes in a lovely little brown bottle with a dropper and a little bit goes a long way. Currently I'm probably over using it as I haven't been wearing makeup at the moment every time I see the bottle I add an extra couple of drops just to freshen up my skin. It hasn't caused my skin to break out with the extra use.

It leaves my skin feeling soft but not too oily. I do prefer putting it on at night so it has plenty of time to soak in. I haven't really noticed any difference to my sunspots or pigmentation which I was really hoped that it would lighten but maybe over a longer period.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st July, 2017 at 10:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip Oil

Thanks BR, I got sent this as a prize for placing a review on BR :) I absolutely love facial oils, and reading really good reviews about this product I was excited to try another oil by a brand I hadn't used before.

The packaging is very standard to other facial oils, glass bottle with a glass dropper to extract the oil. I find this method most easiest with oils. I love the simple design/colour of the labelling. What I didn't realise is that this is an Australian made & owned (which doesn't change my opinion at all), and not tested on animals.

The scent of this oil is very similar to other rosehip oils I have used, which was to be expectes. This has Vitamin C as well, I don't know what difference it makes but I find the scent has a small amount of uniqueness to it.

I have dry skin and this has been so great to use during winter. Parts of my face have been flaky, during the day I mix the oil with my moisturiser & at night I put this on after my night cream - its definitely helped the flakiness disappear!

I love this oil, I just wish for the cost it came in a 30ml bottle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th July, 2017 at 7:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Absolutely love this!

I received this in a beauty box. To be honest I was skeptical but absolutely loved this oil and have purchased a second bottle. I use it before my moisturizer it us easily absorbed into my skin and I had definitely noticed my skin tone is more even and clearer. Highly recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
10th July, 2017 at 9:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not that big a fan

After reading all of the great reviews on this oil I knew I had to try it. Unfortunately, I feel a bit let down.

The oil bottle is quite cute, made of dark brown glass with an old style dropper. The oil isn't too thick, so the dropper works quite well. I don't like the smell at all - it's not horrible, but it's akin (see what I did there) to wet hay which has been sitting damp for a week. Not nice, but I could stand applying it to my face each night if it meant less splotchy redness. But after about a month of using a few drops on my face each night, I have seen only a slight change. My skin tone is quite even, but I still get red blotches easily. This might be due to my skin not being splotchy enough to need the help when at rest, I don't know. During use I have noticed an increased number of zits.

So all up, I think this oil has helped slightly but the con of increased acne has persuaded me to give the A'Kin Rosehip Oil a lower star rating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 3:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MUST HAVE!

This product is an absolute MUST HAVE in your makeup/skincare regime, it's so versatile. I apply a few drops and rub in all over my face at night, my skin is smooth and soft in the morning. I have dry skin and this has been amazing at stopping any dry patches. I used to have to mix jojoba oil into my foundation to stop any dry patches but since using this every night I haven't had any dry patches! I mix a drop into my concealer as it's quite thick to help smooth it out and make it easier to apply and blend. I am so impressed with this product, it has done wonders for my skin.

Tips: Less is more, a few drops will do your whole face!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I like to layer it on - great for dry skin overnight :)

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
You Can Only Use One Product For The Rest of your Life...

You Can Only Use One Product For The Rest of your Life...

Eyeliner - How's a girl to fly without her wings?

view results

Review of the Day
MissDilly
Soft hydrated hair
I bought this shampoo and the conditioner at the supermarket after feeling my hair was dry and dull. It… more »