Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.6/5

A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C Review

Overall rating:
4.6/5

Improve your skin's overall tone and texture with the wonders of Rosehip Oil combined with the brightening powers of Vitamin C. 

Designed to combat the high level of stress and damage caused to skin throughout the summer sun months, this highly concentrated facial oil of Rosehip, Vitamin C and Macadamia  helps to reduce the visible signs of ageing, sun damage, pigmentation, age spots and uneven skin tone.  

With a beautiful lightweight, non-greasy and fast absorbing texture this is the perfect addition to any skincare routine.
Use alone or for superior benefits apply before moisturiser.  

Skin Type:
Suitable for all skin types, even oily with the lightweight texture

Pack Size:  20ml

RRP:  $34.99

Availability:  Selected pharmacies, online. 

Website: www.akin.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st July, 2017 at 10:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip Oil

Thanks BR, I got sent this as a prize for placing a review on BR :) I absolutely love facial oils, and reading really good reviews about this product I was excited to try another oil by a brand I hadn't used before.

The packaging is very standard to other facial oils, glass bottle with a glass dropper to extract the oil. I find this method most easiest with oils. I love the simple design/colour of the labelling. What I didn't realise is that this is an Australian made & owned (which doesn't change my opinion at all), and not tested on animals.

The scent of this oil is very similar to other rosehip oils I have used, which was to be expectes. This has Vitamin C as well, I don't know what difference it makes but I find the scent has a small amount of uniqueness to it.

I have dry skin and this has been so great to use during winter. Parts of my face have been flaky, during the day I mix the oil with my moisturiser & at night I put this on after my night cream - its definitely helped the flakiness disappear!

I love this oil, I just wish for the cost it came in a 30ml bottle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th July, 2017 at 7:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Absolutely love this!

I received this in a beauty box. To be honest I was skeptical but absolutely loved this oil and have purchased a second bottle. I use it before my moisturizer it us easily absorbed into my skin and I had definitely noticed my skin tone is more even and clearer. Highly recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
10th July, 2017 at 9:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not that big a fan

After reading all of the great reviews on this oil I knew I had to try it. Unfortunately, I feel a bit let down.

The oil bottle is quite cute, made of dark brown glass with an old style dropper. The oil isn't too thick, so the dropper works quite well. I don't like the smell at all - it's not horrible, but it's akin (see what I did there) to wet hay which has been sitting damp for a week. Not nice, but I could stand applying it to my face each night if it meant less splotchy redness. But after about a month of using a few drops on my face each night, I have seen only a slight change. My skin tone is quite even, but I still get red blotches easily. This might be due to my skin not being splotchy enough to need the help when at rest, I don't know. During use I have noticed an increased number of zits.

So all up, I think this oil has helped slightly but the con of increased acne has persuaded me to give the A'Kin Rosehip Oil a lower star rating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 3:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MUST HAVE!

This product is an absolute MUST HAVE in your makeup/skincare regime, it's so versatile. I apply a few drops and rub in all over my face at night, my skin is smooth and soft in the morning. I have dry skin and this has been amazing at stopping any dry patches. I used to have to mix jojoba oil into my foundation to stop any dry patches but since using this every night I haven't had any dry patches! I mix a drop into my concealer as it's quite thick to help smooth it out and make it easier to apply and blend. I am so impressed with this product, it has done wonders for my skin.

Tips: Less is more, a few drops will do your whole face!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th June, 2017 at 1:20 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A'kin Brightening Rosehip Oil

I cant fault this product! I've been using it for almost two weeks now and absolutely love it. The effect is already quite visible with my skin looking brighter and healthier than it has looked and felt in a long while. I've been religiously using it twice daily after cleansing my face and neck and applying the recommended 5 drops - massaging on pigmented area and all over generally. It has a strong earthy smell but nothing I cant handle. On the contrary it actually feels pure and au naturale! I was alittle apprehensive that it might cause breakouts and acne problems but touchwood no such issues at all. A'kin Rosehip oil seems to love my skin and my skin loves it back. I'm planning to buy another bottle already so that I dont get caught off guard with it running out unexpectedly. Highly recommend if you have sun damage, pigmentation and uneven skin tone. It has significantly helped me in these areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Hi Olakhalifa - I know the feeling! Foundations & concealers have ruled my life for long!! hopefully you'll find this product as helpful as I did. Goodluck :)

So excited to try this! I received a prize from BR, will start using tomorrow after cleansing and toner. I hope to see improvements as my uneven skin tone makes me want to hide under foundation all day everyday

Overall rating:
4.3/5
27th May, 2017 at 11:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I believe I have had better results with this Rosehip Oil than I have with any of the other brands I've tried. The only downfall is that it seems to be runnier, not as thick. But given that I believe that this one doesn't result in pimples from the oil I'm happy! I use it after using my dermaroller, and I so believe it assists!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th May, 2017 at 1:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love this - A great oil!

I need to start out with some scene setting. I'm in love with facial oils. I'm all over Argan oil, Rosehip Oil... These are always part of my nightly beauty routine, not least as I have oily skin and I've clicked on that, by using oil in my evening beauty routine, my skin is LESS oilier (sounds like totes kookie thinking, but it's true). So, scene set, I was a bit excited to try this brightening oil from A’kin (I’m new to their range), to ascertain for myself: How it lives up to the plethora of oils I've tried. My exec summary is that it delivers. Firstly, I should say I don't quite claim to understand how this has been processed, extracted to deliver such goodness (it sounds fancy in the marketing), but that aside, I really enjoyed this and would definitely repurchase it. For me, one big up is that most rosehip oils carry a, errr, slightly fishy smell. This one is less fishy than other rosehip oils I've tried, but still, faintly on the fishy smelling side (!). What has it done? I’ve noticed that, overall, my skin seems brighter and well moisturised, which is a bonus as my skin, when coming into winter, is prone to drying out. I have some acne scarring from my teenage years - I won't claim this has vanished, but this, along with my my pigmentation (damn you pregnancy) both appear to be slightly less noticeable. Yip, thumbs up from me. I reckon this oil is a welcome addition to the plethora of oils springing up on the (saturated?) market and I’d say it’s 'up there' with some of the best oils I've tried, which is just as well, as at $35 for 20ml this is getting up there in pricing for a product that is becoming quite widely available (including in the grocery aisle).

Tips: Get this oily goodness on your decollegage for a super moisturising experience: I'm keen to avoid wrinkles on there...!

Second tip: Mix ONE drop of this into your foundation, it'll yield a gorgeous dewy (not oily) finish. Stunning.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th May, 2017 at 10:02 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Good Oil? The Great Oil!

I've yet to fall in love with an oil. Most of the time I've felt rather ho-hum about them. They're fine. They moisturise my skin. But do I notice a difference? Not really. That doesn't stop me from trying new oils though - and the A'Kin Rosehip Oil with Vitamin C was intriguing to say the least.

The packaging is pretty standard for an oil - a dark bottle, great to keep the sun off the product. A dropper, which delivered exactly the amount I needed (three to four drops).

The oil is a yellowy gold colour and a little thick. It claims to be non-greasy and quick to absorb, however I erred on the side of caution initially and only applied it at night after cleansing and toning, and before moisturising. We can tick the non-greasy and quick to absorb boxes. No issues there. My skin didn't feel tacky in the slightest. Once I felt comfortable using this at night I used it during my morning routine as well and found my skin felt so fresh and dewy during the day - and it didn't effect makeup application either - which is always good.

So did it do anything? First of all - no breakouts. Usually when using a Vitamin C product my skin goes nuts, not in this case. I feel like the lines around my eyes and forehead look less prominent - yay! And my skin definitely has this renewed fresh look about it.

This might not be the cheapest oil on the market, but as far as I'm concerned it's the best. I've finally found the good oil! And it's great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great review

Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th May, 2017 at 6:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Litte Disappointed

I was extremely excited when I was chosen for this trial, as this product promised to reduce the visible signs of aging, sun damage, pigmentation, age spots and uneven skin tones. I myself have uneven skin tones and a few issues with pigmentation. Aging, well, I have just turned 40 and luckily enough don't look my age yet (some say I look like I'm in my late 20's/early 30's).

The packaging was pretty standard for a face oil - a glass bottle and a dropper application. One benefit of having product in a glass bottle is that you can see how much product you have left. As it is an oil product as well, I would recommend keeping it in a dark cupboard, just to avoid the product being exposed to the sun and spoiling it.

When I started using the product, the first thing I noticed was the smell. When I first starting using it, to me it smelt a little bit like cooking oil. As the oil started to go down it starting smelling a bit more "earthy". Once you rubbed it on your skin though the smell did disappear.

I also had a few issues with the dropper when I first started using it. At first it was hard to get only 3 to 4 drops out of the dropper. It was more like 10 drops (I found it hard to control). Once again as I got through the bottle and the product went down, it was much more easier to control to get the 3 to 4 drops needed for application.

I used this twice a day before my moisturiser. Being an oil product I thought it would take ages to absorb into my skin. It actually didn't. It did sit on the skin for a bit longer than usual moisturisers, but by the time I was ready to apply my makeup, it had fully absorbed.

I can't say I noticed any reduction or pigmentation or uneven skin tone, but I have noticed that my pores aren't as big as they usually are. Another positive I did notice that was not a claim of this product, was that my make up applied better and lasted longer throughout the day - almost airbrushed.

Would I use this again? No. But I am going to continue to use this product until it runs out, to see if it takes longer than 2 weeks for me to see results. I'm hopeful x

Tips: Using this once a day should be sufficient to see results. If you're not a fan of strong smelling products, this may not be for you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2017 at 7:46 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ticks All Of The Boxes!

This is absolutly my kind of facial oil in a nutshell. I was so excited to be chosen to try this out as I have a problem with pigmentation and some scaring that I wanted to try this on. I have used this for 2 weeks now and im estatic with the results.

I usually tend to stay away from oils due to bad experiences in the past which usually resulted in my face becoming somewhat like an oil slick however I found this one completly different.

I use this both morning and night after cleansing I leave my face slightly damp and apply this in the places that I need to. Then I apply moisturizer straight away on top. My skin feels amazing (especially with the moisturizer on top). Thats what sold me straight away. Since I have been using this for 2 weeks I have noticed my skin less dull - more brighter and awake looking. As for my pigmentation- It has faded and some of it has gone! I cant wait to see results in the long term, so far im very impressed. This Rosehip oil didnt leave my skin oily and I had no bad effects from this. To me it has a natural smell which didnt bother me at all

This retails for $34.99 for 20mls. I have been using this for 2 weeks and it looks like I havent made a dent in it. A little goes a long way and I can see this lasting quite a while - even with daily use. I feel its well worth the money for the results I have seen so far.

It comes in a small box with detailed instructions. It comes in a glass bottle with one of those glass dripper things. Just your average facial oil bottle ect. Its australian made and, 100% vegan, Not tested on animals and the packaging is recyclable. Literally ticks of of the boxes.

Oh and one more thing, Its so easy to apply my foundation after using this and it feels so amazing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

It sounds lovely . I need this in my life.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How Do You Apply Your Base?

How Do You Apply Your Base?

Yes I use a blender or cosmetic sponge!

view results

Review of the Day
SandieNZ
My new fave
I received the serum as part of a review panel for the entire range. I have a crazy amount of hair - it's not… more »