Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

105,411reviews
7,680products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.8/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Overall rating:
3.9/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is a slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. 

With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft.

  • ​Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
  • Natural botanical goodness (non nonsense included) 
  • With chia seed oil’s winning 3:1 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6

Availability:  Select Farmers stores

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
26th April, 2017 at 12:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did not like...

I was sent this product to review as part of a Trial Team.

The product comes in a really pretty metal tin with a screw-on lid. It is a solid waxy balm that you are supposed to scrape out to use. It melts easily in your hands and turns into a smooth oil. It has a strong botanical/floral fragrance that I find quite pleasant.

To use, the instructions state to scoop out a fingernail-size amount of product, melt in hands, and spread on face. You are supposed to use a warm washcloth to remove it.

The product was easy to spread on my face and felt pleasant to massage in. It did remove my makeup well, as most oils tend to do. However, it ran into my eyes and stung badly despite the instructions stating it can be used to remove eye makeup. I used a warm washcloth and wiped thoroughly, which removed the makeup, but it was very difficult to remove the oil. My face was left with a slightly tacky, oily film - though this was not a big problem as I always use a foaming cleanser after oil-cleansing.

I did not like this product for the following reasons: It stung my eyes. It was hard to remove as it does not emulsify with water like many other (Asian) cleansing oils/balms I have tried. It left an oily film that made it hard for my second cleanser to lather well.

I would not re-purchase this product.

Tips: Don't use on sensitive eyes as it may sting. You may need several rounds of warm/hot washcloths to remove the product sufficiently.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th April, 2017 at 8:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Break up with Makeup easy

So I'll start with the packaging , the tin is cute a nice size to take traveling I had mine in my handbag all week, the one i received was damaged in the post however so its not completely drop/crush proof. It has a nice sort of citrus scent but once applied you can smell the wax used in it. It was easy to apply and follow instructions I found i needed a reasonable size scoop to cover my face. It melts in your hands quite easily and once washed off with a hot facecloth leaves your skin feeling nice and tight but in a good way. I generally don't wear much makeup (only bb cream n thin lizzy usually) so I purposely did a full face to give this product a good try, it worked really well removing everything from foundation to lipstick and mascara however I didn't like rubbing wax so close to my eyes. it worked well to get everything off quickly and left my skin feeling refreshed. At $19.95 its good value for money compared to products such as make up wipes. I would use again after a big night out to save from scrubbing my face to get products off however I don't think I would like adding oil to my face on a regular basis.

Tips: Remove with a hot facecloth and give your face a coat of moisturiser after half an hour or so after using for a nice fresh feel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
24th April, 2017 at 6:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm

I have used other products by Goodness so I was super excited to trial this one – especially because of how cute it looked. I do love that it is made in New Zealand and vegan.

This product is easy to use and a great size that is perfect for travelling as well as everyday use. I have been using it for a week and I feel like I have barely made a dent in the amount of product. I would guess this will last me quite a while. You simply scoop out a little bit of the product (they suggest about a fingernail sized amount – I used a little more depending on how heavy my makeup was), ‘smoosh’ it on your face (as the company instructs) – on dry skin – massage it around your face and into your makeup, then simply wipe off with a warm, damp cloth. I personally used this right before showering so I applied the product then massaged it off with hot water in the shower.

The cutest packaging ever! This product comes in a small 80ml tin, with a patterned, pastel paint-splashed container (tin bottom) and a cute matching lemon yellow lid. I don’t usually reuse beauty product containers but I for sure will be reusing this cute one! It feels and looks luxurious and really makes you think that it is a quality product. Although this product won’t break the bank, this packaging alone gives off the feeling of quality.

It also smells quite nice for a make-up remover! It is lightly lemon scented which is one of my favourite scents as it equal parts refreshing and calming. I love the ingredients in this product: coconut, olive, sunflower seed, chia seed and avocado oils! I am not a huge fan of the feeling of oily skin, but once this product was washed off thoroughly, my skin simply felt soft and hydrated rather than super oily. I tend to have sensitive, dry-combination skin and although the feeling of heavy, oily skin was definitely something to get used to, after thoroughly wiping the product off this heavy feeling went away (I wouldn’t call the product itself lightweight but once removed this heavier feeling went away).

Unfortunately, this product didn’t seem to be able to remove all of my makeup. It definitely removed the lighter makeup (foundation, BB cream, some eyeshadow) but it didn’t seem to be able to handle the heavier eyeliner or mascara. However, it did seem to make it easier to remove when I used my usual cleanser straight afterwards. For this reason alone I will continue to use it – if it makes my make-up easier to remove with cleanser then that is still a win in my book!

Despite this, I will continue to use this product as it made it easier to remove my make-up than with cleanser alone. I will also continue to use this – especially in the colder, winter months when my skin gets drier – as was nicely hydrating on my sensitive skin. Essentially, I wouldn’t rely on this product alone to remove all make-up, but when using alongside a cleanser it definitely made my make-up easier to get off!

Tips: A great addition to your skincare routine rather than a replacement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th April, 2017 at 4:27 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fabulous natural product

So I'm the type of person when I get home and go to take my make up off, I usually A: grab a wet wipe and quickly rub it over my face or B: leave my make up and sleep in it. Hello panda eyes. But then this wee gem got sent to me and hello fresh face in the morning smelling oh so yummy! I love this product and really takes the stress of getting your make up off away. I dread putting on make up simply because it's a pain to get off but this product made it so easy to wipe off with a warm damp cloth. It's not greasy and doesn't leave your face dry so it's like a moisturiser as well!! Can't recommend it enough! It even got my tricky eyeliner off which is usually impossible.. my face felt clean and lush after using it and it smells divine!!

Tips: Rub all over your face and leave for a minute or two so it can really get in there and do its thing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th April, 2017 at 4:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness - make up balm

So excited to test this Goodness - Make up Balm! My review will be bullet points: • Wow love the funky branded/coloured tin, good size to throw in your handbag • overall product branding, info and method was very good and visible • generous amount, 80mls • initial scent...so organic and natural (you know this has too be good, no nasty additives) • product texture, buttery balm that melts in your hand...a lil goes a long way • massaging into your face, it feels like your actually moisturising your face not cleansing it (so it doesn't feel like a chore)...goes on nicely and spreads so well • using a warm cloth to wipe off, actually takes a few goes to ensure you've wiped the balm off • YES it cleanses the makeup off, yet it leaves your skin feeling moisturised • I didn't do an allergy test because I based it on the fact the ingredients where all natural! Will I continue to use this balm again....YES! Yes I will and I shouldn't say this but it's also great for days when you wanna moisturise really dry legs, arms and feet.

Tips: Tips? • I highly recommend this balm for day to day light makeup applications. I would recommend for long lasting items like mascara and long lasting lippy use a more stronger cleanser or facial wipes. • for acne prone faces or problem areas I recommend your wipe of balm carefully and do not apply extra moisturiser after as the balm has already done that for you. • keep the balm in a cool place (prone to melting if left near heat or direct sunlight) • do not use white facecloths (when wiping balm off) use an coloured face cloth and ensure its wash thoroughly to remove balm from cloth

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
23rd April, 2017 at 11:47 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Balm with benefits

I loved the packaging and portion size. The smell was interesting, I couldn't place it but it reminded me of a cleaning product, or dubbin. The texture was a good smooth balm. The directions stated a fingernail size was all that was needed. I followed the directions and it really didn't do the job, so I had to repeat the steps three times until it broke up my make up to remove it. The residue left behind was kind of a sticky waxy feeling, I could definitely feel it still and it was not pleasant. However, the most amazing part was the next morning when I woke my skin was super soft and felt fantastic. I will give this product another couple of tries before I make my mind up on weither it's keeper

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd April, 2017 at 9:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty amazing

I was a little sceptical about how a balm can take off makeup but was pliantly surprised! The balm smells lovely and citrusy and fresh. The balm melts in your hands very quickly and is easy to apply. It does feel a little oily. It worked well and removed my day makeup really really well. I have sensitive skin around the eyes and it didn't irritate or sting. It worked well to remove evening makeup however did need some extra help for heavier eye makeup. After wiping with a warm damp cloth my skin felt moisturised and clean. I didn't wake up with oily skin (which I was expecting). I would purchase this product but only to use as a light makeup remover.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
23rd April, 2017 at 2:38 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Novel time

I was lucky enough to receive this as a trial item. The tin itself has a very retro feel, however i would mark it a 4/5 as it dents very easily (arrived slightly dented) and possibly as a result of this it can be fiddly to screw the top back on properly.

Scent wise it took me a while to get my head around but it reminds me of the smell of lemon peel crossed with lemongrass, it's not overpowering and I found it quite pleasant.

Ingredient wise it is packed full of oils and goodness (chia, coconut and avocado), which i'm sure must be good for you as they're all delicious.

Application - the instructions are to get fingernail sized bit and 'smoosh' it all over your face. Since I typically use coconut oil to remove makeup this was quite familiar.

I found it smooth and silky, the only time this changed at all was when i tried it on a damp face in the shower and it ended up feeling more 'sticky' in that it turned a creamy colour and became more solid so had more resistance to move it on my skin.

It doesn't melt in quite the same way as coconut oil but it smoothes on very nicely and a little goes a long way. It comes off easily with a warm damp cloth.

Findings: Well... Ive had a pretty hectic week in terms of different events like work, a date, and a dance festival including a themed party so i've used this on lots of different products. It easily removes my natio liquid foundation, thin lizzy mineral powder, and moisture mist beauty cake.

It also worked well on my eyeshadow and had no issues with my MAC paintpot eyeshadow which doesn't wipe off to touch once it's set.

Face paint comes off like a dream, as does glitter gel too. The one thing I found it had issues with is eyelash glue +/- with glitter stuck to it. In this case i physically had to pick it off with my fingernails (I had lots of glitter dots on my face, neck and arm from being painted like a leopard) but I won't really hold this against it.

Overall I enjoy using this product, and definitely see myself using it regularly. 4/5 due to the eyelash glue but I wouldn't expect this to be a major issue for me on a weekly basis. It easily left me with skin that felt hydrated, rather than that tight feeling from using a clenser. I prefer this feeling as get fairly dry cheeks, nose and forehead. Basically my skin feels pampered after I use it and to be honest - it makes me want to keep stroking my cheeks because of how soft they are!

Tips: I had a bit of a search online and someone recommended applying the balm directly to your warm damp cloth and holding over your eyes for a period before removing, rather than rubbing to remove mascara etc, however either is fine. Definitely apply to dry skin rather than wet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd April, 2017 at 3:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A Balm to Savour

Goodness break-up make-up balm came in a pretty pastel-toned screw-top tin. It boasts an impressive list of natural ingredients, almost a diet list! First impression for me was the aroma of the balm - almost "medical" as it reminded me of Vicks days, or was it Rawleigh's? I have been using a cleansing balm and this one surprised me with its grittiness, almost to exfoliant level. However, that had no detrimental effects on my skin.

This product is very economical, only a frugal amount is needed for the entire make-up removal and eye area also benefits with the Goodness ease of application and removal.

I felt my skin's "relief" immediately after I removed the balm, which in turn took all traces of make-up away with efficiency. In the morning I felt that I had a bare, clean canvas for my moisturiser, and in the evening I apply a fine night serum which went on and was absorbed beautifully.

I would buy this product for everyday use, particularly because of its cost and content, but I do prefer a smoother balm without the "grit".

Tips: Lightly moisten your face or finger before digging into the balm cake, it applies much easier and you use less product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st April, 2017 at 11:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for face not eyes

Comes in a screw top tin. Melts instantly on hands and face making it easy use (no clumpy bits). Removes everything amazingly well except mascara. I was a bit disappointed with how little it actually worked on my eyes.

Tips: Great for removing kids face paint with no tears!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No