Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Sign up now
Sign up now
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is a slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. 

With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft.

  • ​Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
  • Natural botanical goodness (non nonsense included) 
  • With chia seed oil’s winning 3:1 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6

Availability:  Select Farmers stores

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 7:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells very natural and wholesome

Every time I use this balm which is 3 or 4 times a week (I alternate with my other make-up remover) the smell reminds me of grassy herbs, kind of like parsley! But that isn't off-putting, just makes me think of organic, wholesome healthy stuff. I like the texture, how when its warmed on your fingertips it melts and becomes supple and oily - in a good way. Yes it does what it says, my skin feels very cleansed but not stripped, its moisturizing too. The only drawback is I seem to get it in my eyes each time, which doesn't hurt in the slightest but my eyes always feel a little blurry afterwards - I think this is a user issue not so much the product!

Tips: Try not to rub it in your eyes!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 2:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm

I received this in the staff picks Beauty Box, and it quickly became a regular in my night routine.

Firstly, the packaging is so pretty. It comes in a sturdy, colourful tin, that stands out and means you can get all the product out. It has a pleasant smell, I think it smells like lemons but also bananas?

It's easy to scoop the product out. It's a waxy consistency and once rubbed in turns oily. I find I don't need much to remove a full face of my "everyday" make-up, about a fingernail worth. I need a bit more if I have going out make-up on, but it removes everything and leaves my skin feeling great!

It's super easy and quick to use, and doesn't require any heavy rubbing, it's like it makes make-up just slide off! It doesn't sting or hurt my eyes in any way, and removes even the most stubborn of mascaras.

I have about a third left and will definitely be repurchasing when I run out!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th June, 2017 at 10:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Gracious ...

I grabbed this and another Goodness product randomly at Countdown the other week when they were on special. I think it was two for thirty dollars. I had been looking for a nice balm makeup remover since I chose to stop using Clinique TTDO because of their animal testing practices. I unscrewed the lid and I have to say I like the packaging. It is sturdy but still easy to get into. I like the fact that it is a tin as it seems less likely to break if it falls onto the bathroom floor.

I was a bit concerned to begin with that the product was a bit hard and waxy but it is reasonably easy to scoop out a little lump of balm and warm it up in your hands before massaging it into your makeup covered face. I use it on my eyes with no stinging or sensitive reaction. It breaks down mascara reasonably easily. Although I have only tried it with one mascara. The product shifts makeup effortlessly. Massage it in and wipe off with a warm flannel and hey presto, no makeup. It has a reasonably pungent lemon scent, which some days I find more pleasant than others. Overall it's OK. I feel like this doesn't break down with a warm flannel quite as easily as other balm cleansers I have used and does require a second cleanse to get rid of all the product. Having said that I don't dislike this and will probably repurchase. A little goes a long way and it is a good makeup remover. It hasn't caused any reactions or breakouts and leaves your skin feeling soft and moisturised. I like this cleanser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 7:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new favorite!!!

I have literally just used this product and i think it going to become my go to make up remover.

Love the little tub which allows you to get exactly the amount you need and also makes it stand out amongst all the bottles of potions in my bathroom cupboard.

Wasn't sure what to expect when I scooped out the paste but it soon started to melt on my finger tips going a lovely velvety texture. This then was rubbed onto my dry face and the feeling was lovely! Nothing abrasive in this at all, I was kinda expecting it to be more of a rub but was very happily surprised. It definitely did it's job and when removed with a warm flannel the proof was left on the flannel not my face. It wiped off easily and left my skin feeling slimy smooth. The fragrance is very subtle and very natural.

Will definitely be using again, so glad to have got this in a Beauty box as I probably would never have tried it.

Tips: A little does go a long way, a fingernail worth is really all you'll need.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th May, 2017 at 11:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Goodness

I was lucky enough to get sent this directly from Goodness Products, and then received another one from a beauty box woohoo!

First of all I love the packaging - I love anything that has easy access and that allows me to get however much product I want. The screw top lip tin also allows for a very safe product to travel with - no worries about spillage. Even if the lid did come off, this is a balm, so this won't spill anyway. However the balm will probably melt if you leave it in the scorching heat.

I also love how easy this product is to use. Scoop out however much product you want, in my opinion about a teaspoon is enough, rub it together in your hands (it will turn to an oily like substance) and massage your face. The oil will life any dirt and makeup then use a warm cloth to remove.

After using, my face is 100% clean. I tested this by using a makeup wipe after using the balm - not one single smidgen of makeup on the wipe. My skin is also left feeling smooth, soft and hydrated.

I love how affordable and available this is and also love that it's filled with natural ingredients. Definitely worth repurchasing.

Tips: You can use this as a cleanser too, not just a "makeup remover".

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th May, 2017 at 9:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A great cleansing balm!

I tried this after getting a beauty box from MakeupObsessives, and fell in love with it almost immediately. The texture is light and melts into your skin so quickly yet removes your makeup so well. I tend to add a small amount of water to make it into a milky emulsion before wiping off. I also love that you only need to use a small amount of it and that the price point is so reasonable that I will repurchase when my current tin runs out.

Tips: Try using it to clean your beauty blender! I find it does just as good of a job as anything else I've tried

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th May, 2017 at 7:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
a good breakup

Well I totally understand why this was in the ‘staff picks BBBE! It is… ah-maz-ing!! I honestly thought the trilogy one was good, this is seriously better.

I love the tin this comes in. the pale pastel colours give it an almost slight retro look. Being tin I thought It would bend and buckle (yes I am rough) and I wouldn’t be able to screw the lid back on after a while, I can safely say I am almost at the end of the tin and it is still in good shape and the lid still screws on evenly where it should.

The balm has a very mild oil-y scent that is almost slightly citrus. I grab a small amount out (about the size of a 20 cent piece) and plaster it all over my face and press it against my eyes for 20-30 seconds to really let it soak into my stubborn mascara and eyeshadow. I love how this balm starts melting as soon as you scoop it out of the tin and there are no chunky bits left over that need more time to melt, its perfect! I notice how it’s not overly oily and greasy. I grab a warm, damp face cloth and start wiping the remnants away. It all wiped away fairly easily, except for the stubborn waterproof mascara- but then I am yet to find a product that removes it all in one swipe! I was so happy when my normally sensitive peepers didn’t sting when I put it near my eyes.

Afterwards I gently cleanse my face and find there is no residue left on my skin, over time I haven’t found it to clog my pores or break me out. (I sometimes tend to with oil cleansers)

This is definitely my favourite makeup remover it is seriously so good and I will be repurchasing it when I run out.. which Is very soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd May, 2017 at 8:18 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Break-up Makeup Balm

I recieved this in a best beautybox. I was so eager to try it since it has great reviews.

It comes in a cute tin and has a natural scent which i can't pin point sorry. The consistency looks hard but it's actually soft. The colour is yellow.

Put a small amount onto the palm of your hands and rub together to melt the product (takes a matter of seconds) the rub all over your dry face. Then wash your face with a warm flannel.

I found this product easy to use. Very simple and very effective. I was worried that my skin would be left with an oily residue but it wasn't. My face was 99% clear of makeup. Just a tiny amount of eyeliner left. I am happy with this product and would recommend it.

Tips: Leave product on for a few minutes to allow your skin to soak up all those natural goodies!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
13th May, 2017 at 10:31 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Lovely but....

This balm is presented beautifully, the tin makes it feel a little more "High end" than it is and sturdy packaging for travel etc.

i was very intrigued as all natural and the ingredients sounded amazing!

Very easy to use, I just scooped out a pea sized or slightly larger amount with the back of my nail and would let it warm up in my finger tips and then gently massage all over my face including my eyes.

For me I found it had a slightly gritty consistancy, a little like some sand was in it? It still felt nice on my face.

Then I took a warm damp facecloth and let it sit over my face for 10 to 20 seconds before gently wiping off.

I have had some troubles with makeup removers in the past, I find they just don't live up to the hype, now while this balm removed my face makeup "ok" I still found it had trouble taking off my non-waterproof eye makeup, especially the mascara. Would wake up with panda eyes the next day, also using toner after on a cotton round still led me to find traces of my face makeup. I also developed a couple of pimples after using this a couple of times, nothing severe but I am not usually prone to breaking out.

All in all this sounds like a great balm, but not for me unfortunately, I still end up using eye makeup remover before this so I get everything off.

I would recommend friends trying though as for $20 things do work on different people differently and I am quite fussy when it comes to getting the ol' Mascara off

Tips: Potentially may need to use eye makeup remover prior to using the balm, Let melt in fingertips before applying to face to allow for more even product distribution.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th May, 2017 at 2:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
ABSOLUTE Goodness

AMAZING! I have used numerous make-up removal cream, wipes, you name it, Ive been there. Goodness is the best I have used so far. It is easy to apply, feels nice on your skin and smells nice as well (For a make-up remover).

I have quite dry skin and sometimes sensitive to certain products, this is safe to use on my dry and sensitive skin. I am just about out and will be defiantly getting some more very soon!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How often do you exfoliate?

How often do you exfoliate?

view results

Review of the Day
pedaju
It's not all in a name!
What a pretty container greeted me when Dragon's Blood Skin Therapy arrived. A generous size of product… more »