Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is a slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. 

With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft.

  • ​Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
  • Natural botanical goodness (non nonsense included) 
  • With chia seed oil’s winning 3:1 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6

Availability:  Select Farmers stores

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th August, 2017 at 12:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really love this balm!!

I was fortunate enough to get this break up balm from the July beauty vault, and I love it! The pottle is quite large being roughly the size of a hockey puck but deeper, and I can see the balm lasting me a long time because there is so much of it. It smells fresh like grassy wildflowers (not floral, per say, but very natural). This smell is very gentle and reminds me of a spa treatment.

In the pottle the balm looks like hard wax but it scoops out quite easily and melts on your fingers very fast, quite like straight coconut oil. Luckily is doesn't feel as heavy as straight coconut oil though. The only question mark for me is over the directions, it says to use on a clean dry face. I'm not sure about other people, but I usually take off my make up before cleansing my face. I tried using the balm after cleansing and it does get rid of that pesky leftover waterproof mascara that a cleanser doesn't do, but now I use the balm before cleansing anyway.

I like to use it on my eye make up (as I'm often not wearing full face make up) and it works very well - within a few seconds of massaging it around my eyes I get big panda eyes! Then using a warm cloth I can gently wipe it all off. I really like how gentle I can be with this balm so I don't damage the skin around my eyes. I was also very impressed that it didn't sting my eyes at all and I don't react to it (I have very sensitive skin so this is a biggie).

All up I am very VERY happy with this product and will definitely buy again once I've finished my current tub. A total WIN!

Tips: When removing the balm with a warm cloth hold the cloth to the area for a few seconds to better melt off the balm, it makes gently wiping away the product and your make up very easy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
2nd July, 2017 at 7:36 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My go-to balm

I never would have purchased this product had it not been included in the BBBE Gamble Box. I’m so glad it was because it’s now my go-to balm. Prior to this, I was using the Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm, same thing, but at the higher end of the spectrum.

It comes in a handy tin with the brand’s typical fun twists of lime green colours. The only issue I have with this packaging is I find that the lid is not very secure; I have to put quite a bit of pressure to close it. I hate dipping my fingers into tubs of product so I reuse the Omorovicza spatula to scoop out the yellow product. The balm has a lovely fragrance which reminds me of a light blend of lemon, orange and grapefruit.

I want to make it very clear that I always remove my make up with facial wipes first before going in with the balm; that’s just my preference. What’s the point of using the balm then? For me, it’s purely to remove what I’ve missed with the facial wipes and it really does a fantastic job while leaving my skin feeling supple.

When melting the product in my hands, it feels somewhat gritty but it melts away within seconds. I smooth the product over my skin and it feels AMAZING - just like silky oil - I can seriously just stand there and massage my face for quite some time; it feels that good! Once I’m back to reality I remove the balm with a warm cloth in the shower.

I have tried removing my makeup with just the balm alone and it performs well however I feel that I’m just creating more of a mess that it doesn’t really break through all the layers. This doesn’t mean it’s not good, it just means you either repeat the session or remove the rest with facial wipes or a warm cloth. I’d rather just have a clean face the first time round by removing with facial wipes then going in with the balm. This product is now a staple and for such an affordable price and easy to access I’d be silly not to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2017 at 3:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really does what it says it does!!

With most balms i can be a bit of a skeptic!

But the goodness balm is great, i only need to apply it once for it remove most of my stubborn makeup, it also has a fresh/natural scent that isnt overpowering which is quite nice.

The main thing i love about this balm is it doesn't leave my skin feeling oily or that there is a residue left over.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 6:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A convert

I have never been big on make-up remover balms in the past. But this one might have converted me. It's simple to grab just the right amount out of the rub, and warm it up in your hands. The balm doesn't over dry your skin, so you are left with soft supple skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 7:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smells very natural and wholesome

Every time I use this balm which is 3 or 4 times a week (I alternate with my other make-up remover) the smell reminds me of grassy herbs, kind of like parsley! But that isn't off-putting, just makes me think of organic, wholesome healthy stuff. I like the texture, how when its warmed on your fingertips it melts and becomes supple and oily - in a good way. Yes it does what it says, my skin feels very cleansed but not stripped, its moisturizing too. The only drawback is I seem to get it in my eyes each time, which doesn't hurt in the slightest but my eyes always feel a little blurry afterwards - I think this is a user issue not so much the product!

Tips: Try not to rub it in your eyes!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 2:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm

I received this in the staff picks Beauty Box, and it quickly became a regular in my night routine.

Firstly, the packaging is so pretty. It comes in a sturdy, colourful tin, that stands out and means you can get all the product out. It has a pleasant smell, I think it smells like lemons but also bananas?

It's easy to scoop the product out. It's a waxy consistency and once rubbed in turns oily. I find I don't need much to remove a full face of my "everyday" make-up, about a fingernail worth. I need a bit more if I have going out make-up on, but it removes everything and leaves my skin feeling great!

It's super easy and quick to use, and doesn't require any heavy rubbing, it's like it makes make-up just slide off! It doesn't sting or hurt my eyes in any way, and removes even the most stubborn of mascaras.

I have about a third left and will definitely be repurchasing when I run out!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th June, 2017 at 10:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Gracious ...

I grabbed this and another Goodness product randomly at Countdown the other week when they were on special. I think it was two for thirty dollars. I had been looking for a nice balm makeup remover since I chose to stop using Clinique TTDO because of their animal testing practices. I unscrewed the lid and I have to say I like the packaging. It is sturdy but still easy to get into. I like the fact that it is a tin as it seems less likely to break if it falls onto the bathroom floor.

I was a bit concerned to begin with that the product was a bit hard and waxy but it is reasonably easy to scoop out a little lump of balm and warm it up in your hands before massaging it into your makeup covered face. I use it on my eyes with no stinging or sensitive reaction. It breaks down mascara reasonably easily. Although I have only tried it with one mascara. The product shifts makeup effortlessly. Massage it in and wipe off with a warm flannel and hey presto, no makeup. It has a reasonably pungent lemon scent, which some days I find more pleasant than others. Overall it's OK. I feel like this doesn't break down with a warm flannel quite as easily as other balm cleansers I have used and does require a second cleanse to get rid of all the product. Having said that I don't dislike this and will probably repurchase. A little goes a long way and it is a good makeup remover. It hasn't caused any reactions or breakouts and leaves your skin feeling soft and moisturised. I like this cleanser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 7:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My new favorite!!!

I have literally just used this product and i think it going to become my go to make up remover.

Love the little tub which allows you to get exactly the amount you need and also makes it stand out amongst all the bottles of potions in my bathroom cupboard.

Wasn't sure what to expect when I scooped out the paste but it soon started to melt on my finger tips going a lovely velvety texture. This then was rubbed onto my dry face and the feeling was lovely! Nothing abrasive in this at all, I was kinda expecting it to be more of a rub but was very happily surprised. It definitely did it's job and when removed with a warm flannel the proof was left on the flannel not my face. It wiped off easily and left my skin feeling slimy smooth. The fragrance is very subtle and very natural.

Will definitely be using again, so glad to have got this in a Beauty box as I probably would never have tried it.

Tips: A little does go a long way, a fingernail worth is really all you'll need.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th May, 2017 at 11:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Goodness

I was lucky enough to get sent this directly from Goodness Products, and then received another one from a beauty box woohoo!

First of all I love the packaging - I love anything that has easy access and that allows me to get however much product I want. The screw top lip tin also allows for a very safe product to travel with - no worries about spillage. Even if the lid did come off, this is a balm, so this won't spill anyway. However the balm will probably melt if you leave it in the scorching heat.

I also love how easy this product is to use. Scoop out however much product you want, in my opinion about a teaspoon is enough, rub it together in your hands (it will turn to an oily like substance) and massage your face. The oil will life any dirt and makeup then use a warm cloth to remove.

After using, my face is 100% clean. I tested this by using a makeup wipe after using the balm - not one single smidgen of makeup on the wipe. My skin is also left feeling smooth, soft and hydrated.

I love how affordable and available this is and also love that it's filled with natural ingredients. Definitely worth repurchasing.

Tips: You can use this as a cleanser too, not just a "makeup remover".

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th May, 2017 at 9:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A great cleansing balm!

I tried this after getting a beauty box from MakeupObsessives, and fell in love with it almost immediately. The texture is light and melts into your skin so quickly yet removes your makeup so well. I tend to add a small amount of water to make it into a milky emulsion before wiping off. I also love that you only need to use a small amount of it and that the price point is so reasonable that I will repurchase when my current tin runs out.

Tips: Try using it to clean your beauty blender! I find it does just as good of a job as anything else I've tried

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How Do You Apply Your Base?

How Do You Apply Your Base?

Yes I use a blender or cosmetic sponge!

view results

Review of the Day
SandieNZ
My new fave
I received the serum as part of a review panel for the entire range. I have a crazy amount of hair - it's not… more »