Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is a slick-quickie at removing all sorts of make-up. 

With all the goodness of chia seed, coconut and avocado oils, your skin will be oh-so-clean and super soft.

  • ​Vegan friendly. Lightweight, non-greasy 
  • Natural botanical goodness (non nonsense included) 
  • With chia seed oil’s winning 3:1 ratio of omega 3 to omega 6

Availability:  Select Farmers stores

RRP:  $19.99

Website:  www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th November, 2017 at 3:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I'm not breaking up with this one

I got this from one of the Rewards Vaults, lucky me! I use it probably once or twice a week when I'm feeling pretty lazy with my cleansing routine late at night. I just find this less hassle to use than other cleansers. Another bonus is it's great to take away with you - no risk of it spilling all through your back, as has sadly happened with some other products in my experience! This is so easy to slather on and massage in to the skin for a bit. I love the smell and it feels super nourishing on the skin. I then wash it off either with warm water or a cleansing wipe - it really does work efficiently at getting rid of all the makeup and grime. My skin always feels really soft and clean afterwards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th October, 2017 at 9:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I received this Makeup Remover Balm from the beauty vault and was so happy with it, there is nothing bad I can say about this product, it works so well! Firstly I love the cute little tin it comes in with the screw top lid, it's really easy to open and close, and there is quite alot of product in there, so definitely a great price. I only needed a very small amount of balm on my finger, it just melts in my hands and is so easy to rub onto my face and neck. I love how it takes off eye makeup aswell and is so gentle with no irritation. Once it is all rubbed in I get a warm damp face cloth and wipe it off, it's so easy! I even double checked that it had removed all my makeup by using some Micellar water, and yes it had removed all of it. The smell of the Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm is so nice, lots of natural oils in it that feels great putting it on my skin and leaves my face feeling so soft and smooth. The great thing about it is its putting good oils onto your skin and not stripping it like alot of product can do, and I have not once had any breakouts from it. Will definitely be purchasing again when I run out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st September, 2017 at 10:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pure Goodness!

This is SUCH a lovely makeup remover! Everything about this product is honestly so nice. It's quite well priced, and comes in the cutest little tin. The balm reminds me of firm honey in a way — you only need a tiny amount and it melts really easily on your skin. It's super easy to smooth into your face, and removes all makeup effortlessly. Plus this company doesn't test on animals, which is super great!

I think I do still prefer Ultrabland by Lush though — it's my holy grail makeup remover and nothing seems to be quite as nourishing to use. But this is a close contender.

Tips: I like to splash my face and eyes with warm water first, just to loosen up my makeup. Particularly my mascara. After applying this balm I then wipe it all off using a warm, damp flannel. Works like a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
19th September, 2017 at 11:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
30% positive 70% negative

Received this as part of the recent Beauty Vault. I was so excited as I heard/seen people rave about it online. However I was underwhelmed.

This product comes in a little tin like pottle with a screw top lid. Aesthetically it looks really nice. Smells wonderful, organic like it is made with all natural ingredients. I like it, not overpowering.

Having since used it on a regular basis in the evening, I find I don't like scraping the product out with my nails. I have them semi long and the product gets underneath my nail I just don't like it.

Using the recommended amount (a finger nail size) I found it would wash off most of my make up not all of it (mascara). It was also really greasy, which I wasn't expecting. Didn't appreciate that. I found the product wouldn't come off no matter how much I washed my face and ended up using a facial scrub to remove the product completely. I found it annoying that I would have to have a second step in my make up removal process when I have used make up removal wipes, micellar water and they remove it all first time.

This probably seems mostly negative but it had some cool points. I thought it was so cool when it melted down in my hand, how clever is that changing substance. Also since there is 80ml of product I feel like this product will last me atleast 6 months if not longer. Being vegan ticks a big box, I love that in a product.

Overall, it's a shame I generally don't like it. It's not quick, it is greasy and does not remove all sorts of make up. This was a miss for me.

Tips: Does not remove easily, a facial scrub helps a lot to get this product off your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I considered it but, i'll be honest I am lazy. I don't want to do any more steps than I have to. I just like a product to go on and come off with no hassles

Have you tried using a warm, damp face cloth to wipe the product off with? That's what I use and it works great!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd September, 2017 at 3:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Goodness Break-up Make-up Balm

I was lucky enough to pick this up in the beauty vault after I missed out on the trial team for it and I'm so happy I got it!!

First of all, I appreciate that it comes in a robust, metal tin, the screw on lid means I can keep it in my bathroom without the moisture affecting the product.

The product itself is solid, but it is soft to scoop out, it is oil based so if you warm it up by rubbing your fingers together for a few seconds then it will melt. It does have a small fragrance which I can't quiet put my finger on, but it doesn't bother me nor does it linger on the skin.

I use this all over my face to help remove foundation, as well as eye make up. I was worried that as this is an oil based product it would break me out, but I had no problems with acne or break outs related to this product. It easily breaks up make up and works especially well on waterproof eye make up.

You do need to remove this product with a face cloth as water won't rinse it off. It comes off easily with a damp face cloth and leaves your skin feeling quiet clean, it doesn't dry out my skin or irritate my eyes either.

The only negative thing I have to say about this is if you try to rinse the product off (such as getting it off your hands) the product will solidify a bit and won't wash off, you really do need to use a damp face cloth.

You don't need a huge amount of this either, and as you get a large tin it will last a while. I will definitely be repurchasing this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th August, 2017 at 11:11 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great find from the vault!

I got this in the July rewards vault and I'm so glad I picked it up! I heard a friend of mine rave about it so i thought I'd give it a try.

I've used coconut oil to remove make-up before, which was pretty similar to how this works (largely because a main ingredient is coconut oil) but it just feels so much nicer afterwards. It's not as thick/heavy as coconut oil and it doesn't stick to my skin as much as coconut oil did. It does what it says it would. I scoop a small bit out, warm it up in my hands then spread/massage it all over my face. It dissolves all your make up, even stubborn mascara.

Once I've dissolved and smudged my makeup all over my face, I get wet a facecloth with warm water and just hold it over my face for a few seconds, this just helps break down the balm more and makes it easier to wipe off. I then wipe my face and cleanse.

I love the packaging of this too! Goodness do such a good job of that. I also love how the product is natural.

When I run out I will certainly be purchasing again. I love this!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th August, 2017 at 12:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really love this balm!!

I was fortunate enough to get this break up balm from the July beauty vault, and I love it! The pottle is quite large being roughly the size of a hockey puck but deeper, and I can see the balm lasting me a long time because there is so much of it. It smells fresh like grassy wildflowers (not floral, per say, but very natural). This smell is very gentle and reminds me of a spa treatment.

In the pottle the balm looks like hard wax but it scoops out quite easily and melts on your fingers very fast, quite like straight coconut oil. Luckily is doesn't feel as heavy as straight coconut oil though. The only question mark for me is over the directions, it says to use on a clean dry face. I'm not sure about other people, but I usually take off my make up before cleansing my face. I tried using the balm after cleansing and it does get rid of that pesky leftover waterproof mascara that a cleanser doesn't do, but now I use the balm before cleansing anyway.

I like to use it on my eye make up (as I'm often not wearing full face make up) and it works very well - within a few seconds of massaging it around my eyes I get big panda eyes! Then using a warm cloth I can gently wipe it all off. I really like how gentle I can be with this balm so I don't damage the skin around my eyes. I was also very impressed that it didn't sting my eyes at all and I don't react to it (I have very sensitive skin so this is a biggie).

All up I am very VERY happy with this product and will definitely buy again once I've finished my current tub. A total WIN!

Tips: When removing the balm with a warm cloth hold the cloth to the area for a few seconds to better melt off the balm, it makes gently wiping away the product and your make up very easy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
2nd July, 2017 at 7:36 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My go-to balm

I never would have purchased this product had it not been included in the BBBE Gamble Box. I’m so glad it was because it’s now my go-to balm. Prior to this, I was using the Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm, same thing, but at the higher end of the spectrum.

It comes in a handy tin with the brand’s typical fun twists of lime green colours. The only issue I have with this packaging is I find that the lid is not very secure; I have to put quite a bit of pressure to close it. I hate dipping my fingers into tubs of product so I reuse the Omorovicza spatula to scoop out the yellow product. The balm has a lovely fragrance which reminds me of a light blend of lemon, orange and grapefruit.

I want to make it very clear that I always remove my make up with facial wipes first before going in with the balm; that’s just my preference. What’s the point of using the balm then? For me, it’s purely to remove what I’ve missed with the facial wipes and it really does a fantastic job while leaving my skin feeling supple.

When melting the product in my hands, it feels somewhat gritty but it melts away within seconds. I smooth the product over my skin and it feels AMAZING - just like silky oil - I can seriously just stand there and massage my face for quite some time; it feels that good! Once I’m back to reality I remove the balm with a warm cloth in the shower.

I have tried removing my makeup with just the balm alone and it performs well however I feel that I’m just creating more of a mess that it doesn’t really break through all the layers. This doesn’t mean it’s not good, it just means you either repeat the session or remove the rest with facial wipes or a warm cloth. I’d rather just have a clean face the first time round by removing with facial wipes then going in with the balm. This product is now a staple and for such an affordable price and easy to access I’d be silly not to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2017 at 3:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really does what it says it does!!

With most balms i can be a bit of a skeptic!

But the goodness balm is great, i only need to apply it once for it remove most of my stubborn makeup, it also has a fresh/natural scent that isnt overpowering which is quite nice.

The main thing i love about this balm is it doesn't leave my skin feeling oily or that there is a residue left over.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 6:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A convert

I have never been big on make-up remover balms in the past. But this one might have converted me. It's simple to grab just the right amount out of the rub, and warm it up in your hands. The balm doesn't over dry your skin, so you are left with soft supple skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »