Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Garnier Chamomile Tissue Mask Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.7/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.1/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.9/5

Garnier Chamomile Tissue Mask Review

Overall rating:
3.9/5

Garnier’s Hydrabomb Tissue Masks are the latest beauty trend, inspired from Asia. Truly innovative, its super thin tissue is infused with an ultra-hydrating formula to intensely rehydrate and even skin’s complexion for 24 hours of lasting hydration. Available in rejuvenating pomegranate, rebalancing green tea and soothing chamomile.

Chamomile Tissue Mask: For dry or sensitive skin.

An ultra-hydrating soothing mask that intensely rehydrates skin, improves skin’s comfort and soothes skin.

RRP: $4.99

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th October, 2017 at 1:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Well it is nearly Halloween...

My daughter bought me this, I suspect to enjoy seeing her mummy look ridiculous!

Ok, this is definitely not an activity to partake in when you're expecting visitors, or the mail man to come visiting - you look like something from Friday 13th or Nightmare on Elm Street.

So, choose a time when you can put your feet up and sit undisturbed for 15 minutes.

This tissue mask is thicker than I expected, I was expecting it to tear at slightest touch, it didn't, which was good because it did take a wee bit of positioning. I don't know if my features are just bigger than the average lady but I did have to pull and push to get the mask into place so I could comfortably open my eyes and, well breath.

Still once on it was on. It didn't slip or slide around, even though it was incredibly saturated in product.

It felt cooling and kind of relaxing in a weird way - you know how warm wax feels nice on your skin? This is like that, but cooling. Lovely for the end of a hot day.

Anyhoo 15 minutes later and I follow the instructions and massage the excess product into my face. It didn't seem to want to absorb, so I walked around for an hour with a bit of a moist face, after which it felt tacky.

It's not sounding good is it? BUT WAIT.

I went to bed feeling a bit meh about tissue masks. Until I woke up the next day with the softest skin EVER!

When doing my groceries I threw another mask in my trolley (it's less than $5, why not?) and a couple of days later I went again. Same issue with the lack of absorption and the tacky feeling, and yet the next day, salon-facial-fresh skin was mine!

I don't know what voodoo this is, maybe this should be advertised as an overnight treatment?

I know I'll be sticking with this mask for the foreseeable future, my skin has looked healthier after 4 masks than it ever has, its soft, its supple, it feels incredibly hydrated - oh and definitely gentle enough for sensitive skin!

Tips: Use at night in case of absorption issues! The morning after result is worth it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th October, 2017 at 8:51 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Converted

Oh seeing the reviews for the Garnier tissue masks I had to give them a go. I chose the chamomile mask as my skin is on the drier side and I love a good bit of hydration.

The mask was saturated in product, and I found it easy to unfold and apply (some sheet masks I've used have ended up in rips and tears - not this one!).

What I found interesting during the 15 minute mask time was how the tissue progressively felt drier on my skin, as if my skin was sucking in the product.

I peeled off the mask and there was a goodly amount of product on my face so I did as suggested and wiped off the excess with a cotton pad and massaged the leftovers in.

The result? Super glowy, super hydrated skin - that still looked great when I woke up the next day.

I highly recommend this to anyone who needs a boost of hydration - this even made my deeper wrinkles plump up!

Tips: Do at night rather than in the morning (if you plan to wear makeup) as it was tacky on the skin post-mask and I can't see it mixing well with cosmetics.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
29th October, 2017 at 8:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Unmask The Slime

I'll start of with the packaging because it was the best thing about it. It's the size of my hand, bright, beautiful and easy to open.

Carefully reading the easy-to-follow instructions I then opened the pack and attempted to pull the mask out. The layers fell apart in my hands. Holding it up with both hands I already knew this slimy mask was not going to fit my face.

You have to have a longer face shape as it crunched up under my eyes and didn't fit my facial structure correctly. The noise piece was small and absolutely nothing lined up. I continued to get correct it how ever and pulled the top layer off. It slid around on my face so I thought I'd lay down and relax. It slid off the side of my face but I corrected it each time as I wanted to know if the effects were worth it.

I stood up, it slid off and I then washed the excess slime off my face. It had no beneficial results for me. My face did not feel fresh or soft or brightly.

Unfortunately this isn't made for people with small faces. I hope they bring out something that can be made for all face shapes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th October, 2017 at 12:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MY OH MY...Bags beGONE!

I confess that i have NEVER, (never have I ever) used a Tissue Mask before ...well up until now.

So when this fascinating piece of machinery appeared on my doorstep promising hydration and refreshment of my skin in 15 minutes, being an impatient person I was all up for it.

When I opened the pack you find the mask itself folded in two, and it's literally soaked in liquid. You unfold it, peel the backing paper off and smooth it on your skin.

My first reaction was 'my oh my' it feels so cooling on your skin and when you smooth it around your face it feels amazing.

I amused myself while I was waiting by checking some emails and drinking a cup of tea with my glasses on. What a picture! Even the dogs took a second glance!

When I removed it after 15 minutes, my skin just felt amazing, plumped up, hydrated and most important of all - my sleep deprived under eye bags, were almost completely gone.

I've gotta say...i'm a convert. And at under $5 i'll be stocking up. I can see my self using it on those Sunday mornings when you 'may' be a wee bit tired from the night before and just want to relax. It's a yes from me!

Tips: I'm not sure why some people say they find it difficult to apply. Just follow the mask design and don't forget to smooth it out across your skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
25th October, 2017 at 11:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Glowing and supple!

This was the first time using one of these paper face masks, and I was pleasantly surprised! It smells just like a cup of chamomile tea and would be perfect before bed with a cuppa. I did my mask in the morning though, and it was so nice and soothing. After the 15 minutes with the mask on, I removed excess product with a cotton pad and my skin was so nice and supple! Definitely gave my face a nice glow, and so smooth once dry. Perfect base for a day of make up. As much as I would love to use something like this everyday I would probably only buy for special events for my budgets sake. Also as I hope that I, or anyone else, avoids the risk of sunburn, this would be an ideal emergency product to help relieve a mistaken sunburnt face. It says it’s supposed to last for 24 hours, and my skin isn’t too dry normally, so I couldn’t tell if there was actually much difference at the end of the day, but this may be more noticeable for people with dry skin.

Tips: Perfect for a good base before a special event!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th October, 2017 at 9:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier tissue Experiance

This product arrived in a foil packet, easy to tear open, with a moisten tissue mask inside. Opening the product was fairly simple, removing the mask from packaging was a bit more messier than expected. After I cleansed my face, dried off, I then applied this mask, which is quite wet to apply, using its blue protective film to help smooth around. The eyes in this mask were not really symmetrical to my face, so had to tear additional sits into it, so I could see what I was doing. The nose and mouth parts were equally challenging and a lot bunched up more then I thought was needed. Nonetheless I applied mask and waited 15 minutes before removal, removal is easy with a gentle pull. The residue is suggested to rub in, or remove with a tissue, I removed it, but it did leave a tacky after feel. At this point here was no visible changes and I do note that it is advised that three treatments a week to obtain results is required. I left the residue on overnight and felt my skin the next morning, to my surprise my skin was a lot more plumped, smoother and hydrated, the redness was still seen. As I have a sensitive skin I did worry about leaving the product on, however this proved to be no issue and was well regarded by my skin. Would I try again? I think the facial design needs to be more customised, however the concept is good, a bit of modification from the customer end and I’ll be in!

Tips: Have some tissues ready to help take product off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th October, 2017 at 8:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chamomile Tissue Mask

Tissue mask

I haven’t used a tissue mask before so I really had know idea what to expect. The packaging was appealing to the eye, it was easy to open and all the instructions for application of the mask are on the back. All looked easy enough when reading them but, easier said than done. When I opened the foil package I was overwhelmed with the amount on liquid the mask was in. I awkwardly applied the mask to my face and removed the protective blue film. Once I had applied the mask I looked like a had put my Halloween costume on early! But don’t be alarmed that is how it supposed to look! (just don’t make the same mistake as I did and try have a serious conversation to your husband at the same time!!)The mask is easily adjusted fit around the eyes, mouth and nose. It felt very cold and very wet however over the 15 minutes it was on I began to get used to it and thankfully for a person with sensitive skin it did not cause any irritation. After the 15 minutes had concluded I removed the mask and as instructed left the excess serum to soak in. This took a while as there was a lot left on my face. Initially after the mask my skin felt very hydrated and smooth. However in the morning my skin did not feel any different. I still had to moisturise just as much if not more than any other day, which is confusing as it supposed to give 24hours hydration. Don’t think I’ll be using this product again. Would have loved for it to have done what it had said it would as my skin certainly needs the extra hydration without any irritation.

Tips: Make sure you wear old clothes or have towel to protect clothes as some serum could get on them due to excess in package. Give yourself plenty of time to complete application and allow for excess serum to soak in once mask removed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
24th October, 2017 at 8:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soothing and Calming

I've used tissue face fasks before but from Korea so when I saw that Garnier had brought one out, I was definitely keen to try.

The mask came in a pretty pink pearl coloured packet which was easy to open as it had a slight tear at each end enabling you to open from both sides (great if one opens and the other doesn't).

Application - ummm now this I found pretty tricky to be honest as it was a bit hard to work with. You are supposed to apply the mask white side onto your face with the blue part face outwards. I patted the mask down and tried to smooth it out, but found this hard to do with the blue part still on. I tried to pull the blue part off, but struggled to find the area to pull it off but once found was able to remove. This made the mask so much easier to work with (perhaps I applied it incorrectly in the first place).

Once smoothed over (didn't understand what the two slits were for on the sides of the face, supposed to go over the ears or something? lol) it managed to sink into place. Apart from the mouth area which I found the slit was just a too tad small for my mouth. I must have a big mouth ha ha ha. I left it on for the recommended time of 15 minutes as instructed.

I removed the mask and followed the instructions on how to remove the residue moisture still on my face.

Results - did the mask hydrate like it said it would? Yes it did and I noticed that my skin looked a lot less red and calm as it states it would. So thumbs up for that.

Price is great too and I think I would need to try a few of these on a regular basis to really get a good idea as to how hydrating these are.

Would I rush out and buy one though? Not really, given the time it takes to apply it and the uncomfortable feeling of it on my face (I felt anything but relaxed with it on) it is not my idea of a "chill out and take a few minutes for myself' kind of session.. Although I'm super grateful and appreciative for the chance to try it. Thanks Beauty Review xx

Tips: There was quite a bit of liquid left over in the packet, so after I removed the brand new mask, I tipped out into a little pot which I will use at a later date. Hopefully this will give me a longer indication as to whether it would be good to purchase a few more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th October, 2017 at 7:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Hydra Bomb Tissue Mask

I have very dry skin year round and am always looking for anything that will help hydrate it. The Garnier hydra bomb tissue mask states it is an ultra hydrating soothing mask which instantly rehydrates skin, so I was quite optimistic about the results I might get. The positives - it definately delivers on being very soothing. My skin felt very comfortable the whole time I had the mask on, mildly cool and soothed. The negatives - I didn't feel this mask hydrated my dry skin whatsoever. In fact I had to apply my usual moisturiser about an hour after using this mask because my skin had dried out again. It definately didn't give me 24hr hydration. The mask is however very easy to use, and not messy at all. I think this mask would be better suited for people with normal/combination skin who might like abit of a small hydration boost, but if your dealing with very dry skin, I can't really recommend it as I personally didn't find it hydrating enough.

Tips: Probably not the best choice if you have very dry skin as it wasn't hydrating enough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th October, 2017 at 7:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Face Mask Fascination

Tissue face masks have quickly become one of the newer cult beauty trends so it's always good to see an affordable brand release a range of masks for those that don't want to shell out too much money but still be able to indulge.

The first thing that I noticed about the Garnier Tissue mask is the beautiful packaging and I'm a real sucker for packaging as a lot of people are!

The mask itself was actually one of the better fitting masks I've tried... I suppose it's impossible to get a mask that fits every face type but this one molded quite nicely to my face with just the eye holes being a little too close together.

I was really happy that this mask didn't have an offensive smell, it didn't smell too much like anything which I prefer, especially because I don't want highly fragranced products on my skin because that can't be good for it!

I noticeably relaxed while wearing this mask and actually found the 15 minute wait bearable, when usually I'm quite a 'busy' person. When I removed my mask, my only grievance (and I've had this issue with all ma9sks I've used) is there is so much residual product/moisture left over - I know this is a deeply hydrating and moisturizing mask so it's to be expected I suppose so I lightly massaged it into my skin and then patted my skin with a clean makeup pad to dry it off a little more.

I was impressed with this mask, my skin felt smoother, more hydrated and what surprised me was it felt firmer which I didn't expect! I would definitely agree that my skin felt more hydrated, firmer and softer for 24 hours as they state on the packaging.

This isn't a product I would rush to repurchase and use on a super regular basis but I enjoyed using it, I felt more relaxed afterwards and my skin thanked me for it so it would definitely be, say, a once a month indulgence - however, I would happily stock up with it retailing at that super affordable price!

Tips: Massage any residual moisture into your skin after removing the mask and if there is still too much for your liking left over, then dab off with a clean makeup pad/flannel but very gently as you don't want to remove all the goodness! Also, use it to your advantage and make sure you're in a quiet room, light a candle, read a book while you wait the 15 minutes and really enjoy how relaxing the process is!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »