Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

105,411reviews
7,680products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Simple Hydrating Cleansing Oil Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.4/5

Simple Hydrating Cleansing Oil Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Simple Hydrating Cleaning Oil thoroughly cleanses for touchably soft skin. Made with 100% natural grape-seed oil, when mixed with water it dissolve impurities and removes make-up, leaving your skin deeply clean and well-hydrated.

Pack Size: 125mL.

RRP: $11.99

Availbility: FarmersCountdown and Online

Website: www.simpleskincare.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th April, 2017 at 3:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Simple, no fuss.

I don't mind it. But I prefer other cleansing oils. The directions say 2-3 drops but I found it wasn't enough, I use more like 6-7 drops. Removes makeup really well. Definitely best used on dry skin(with dry hands!) otherwise it turns milky too quickly and doesn't have the same cleansing power. I find that I want to still use my normal facial cleanser afterwards though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th April, 2017 at 11:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cheap and affordable!

This product is cheap yet worth it!

It says to use 2-3 drops however I found it was way to little and ended up using way more.

I massaged it for about 1 minute then rinsed off with warm water. It left my skin feeling smooth and moisturize yet not oily (I have combo oily skin)

The only down side to this soul have to be the smell it literally feels and smells like I'm putting put olive oil on my face -super nasty. It also did not take off all my makeup so I would not use it as an alternative to my makeup remover.

Other than that I will continue using it :)

Tips: Make sure your face and hands are completely dry before applying

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th April, 2017 at 11:44 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty good!

First of all, thanks BR for letting me trial this!

This product has cute and simple packaging, much like the rest of the brands products. Mine however leaked in the post, so I would be hesitant to take this on holiday with me!

As someone with sensitive combination skin, finding a simple cleanser and make up remover can be a challenge. This was a good addition!

It says to use a few drops, but for heavier make up I would recommend using a couple more (especially with a red lip) although for light make up and no make up, a couple drops worked well! After massaging the oil into your skin, use some warm water to help spread it and dissolve make up (which it does do!). I felt like using a facecloth to get it off was a good idea if you're not in the shower.

The texture of this product is just a light oil, which makes your skin feel nice and soft after using. It's pretty natural, made of grape seed oil, which is nice to know you're only putting something natural on your skin!

I would recommend this to friends and will continue to use again! :)

Tips: After massaging in with warm water, use a face cloth to help take it off!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
8th April, 2017 at 10:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Review of the Simple Hydrating Cleansing Oil

My first impression of the Simple Hydrating Cleansing Oil was that whilst it was very effective at removing makeup, my skin did not feel as clean as I had hoped. For the first 3 times that I used it, I did not follow it up with any exfoliaters or toners to get a clear idea of what the oil did. When I used it in conjunction with an exfoliater, toner, and moisturiser I found that I was much happier with the results. My extremely acne prone skin felt much more hydrated and healthy and I will definitely continue to use this product.

Tips: - Use this product in conjunction with a toner, exfoliater, and moisturiser. - Make sure you use warm water to remove the oil. - A little goes a very long way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
8th April, 2017 at 10:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
As simple as its name

Love the silky feeling of the oil, glides over your face and eyes easily, no harsh or over powering fragrances or greasy, oily residue. This product is simple as its name, 1 2 3 and your done!

Tips: Give it a gentle shake to infuse the oils and have a microfiber face cloth on hand, rinsed with warm water to wipe the mess! 4.5

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
8th April, 2017 at 9:49 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great

This product was great, I would use it again and recommend to others, it wasn't like any normal cleanser to apply, it's very runny and didn't feel like you are putting anything on your face but you are & it does work to remove makeup. It doesn't make your skin have a tight and dry feeling either.

Tips: I would recommend doing 2 applications to make sure you get all the make up off. One probably won't be enough to cleanse the skin. I always do it twice when wearing makeup, and once without makeup.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
8th April, 2017 at 3:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love it

I think that this is a great product. It is super affordable and has only natural products in it so you know it's good for your skin, I have been loving this for removing my water proof makeup like mascara and lipsticks etc, all the stubborn stuff, then after wards clearing it all away with the simple micellar water, using the two together gets all of my makeup off! The oil dissolves my mascara and I follow up with the micellar water to get rid of anything remaining on my face, I have dry skin and this is really gentle on my super sensitive skin and doesn't leave me with redness or tight dry feeling skin, also if doesn't make my skin feel oily at all just bright and refreshed!

Tips: Follow up with the simple micellar water to remove all traces of makep

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th April, 2017 at 9:02 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Changed my mind!

I had mixed feelings about this product before it arrived. Initially I was excited but by the time it had arrived I'd convinced myself an oil would be too heavy for my skin and my excitement had all but died. But being a grateful beautyreview girl, I didn't want to let anyone down so that night set to removing that days makeup. I instantly changed my mind and loved the product! I needed to use more than just a few drops but it was an excellent and effective makeup remover and cleanser and washed off easily with warm water. My skin was left feeling soft and hydrated, rather than heavy with oil. At only $11.99 and containing no artificial nasties, I'm completely converted!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th April, 2017 at 7:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soft Skin

I'm gonna preface this review by saying a week is DEFINITELY not long enough to trial a skincare product and actually see a change.

Despite that, this product is really lovely to use and works really well as a cleanser for my oily/combination/acne-prone skin. If anyone's thinking that oil is a stupid thing to put on your skin, just know that basic chemistry says that oil breaks down oil-soluble products (like most eyeliners, mascaras, and lipsticks,) making them easily removed when washed off with warm water. I usually use a cotton ball soaked in olive oil to remove my makeup anyway as makeup remover products are overpriced for essentially just being oil and water. The same goes for your skin's oils, so when rinsed off I was left with soft, hydrated skin. I usually use Cetaphil acne cleanser which is probably better for my acne but can be a bit drying, so using the oil cleanser at night and Cetaphil in the mornings kept my skin at a really nice oil balance. Overall I'd definitely recommend this as a cleanser, especially if you wear makeup on a regular basis :) It would probably be a great cleanser for dry skin too, and it's definitely helped my dry patches (nose and forehead) to stay hydrated :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
7th April, 2017 at 2:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product

I really liked this product. I was a bit weary of it at first, being an oil cleanser as my T-Zone tends to get quite oily and my skin can be sensitive. It worked so well on my skin. There was no tightness after cleansing and it left my skin feeling smooth, soft and hydrated. There was no oily residue left over after washing it off and it has helped improve the over all oiliness of my skin. I used it morning and night and had no need to follow it up with other products like I usually do. The over all condition of my skin has improved and I have had no dryness or breakouts with the weather changing like I normally do. I was also able to apply my foundation straight on after washing my face without primer as my skin was nice and smooth.

Tips: Use it with confidence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No