Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Like a magnet, the cleansing agents capture and lift away dirt from the skin. 

No need to rub to remove impurities and make-up. 

The Result: Perfectly cleansed and refreshed skin without rubbing or rinsing.

Micellar Cleansing Water comes in a generous 400ml format for up to 200 uses*

Pack Size: 400 ml / 125ml

RRP: $12.99 / $6.99

Availability: Countdown, Farmers, Selected pharmacies and online

Website: www.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th March, 2015 at 10:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Holy Water?

When the hype began to rage over this product I knew I had to try it for myself. I was stoked when I found some in Countdown on sale for $9 - I thought it was great value for money given its size compared with other cleansers I've tried. I gave it a go before bed that night and had a really positive first impression. I couldn't get over the fact that it looked like a regular bottle of water but could be so much more. I soaked a cotton pad with the product and circled it around my face; I love that you can apply it to your eye area as well - and voilà, clean and refreshed skin! I was surprised to see how much extra dirt it had picked up. But fast forward to the following night where I had a heavier face of makeup on and unfortunately my enthusiasm didn't remain so high. I needed multiple soaked cotton pads to cut through my makeup, especially my eye makeup which wasn't even water-proof, and even then I picked up more afterwards when I applied a toner. It was disappointingly clear that I had to use a lot more product and basically waste many cotton pads to get a truly clean face. The next night I loosened my makeup with water, baby oil, and a flannel first, then followed with the micellar water. This proved to be the best combination for me, and while it means that the product isn't quite the miracle worker that some claim, it's still good as a facial cleanser and 'light' makeup remover. It hasn't made my skin over oily or dry and I love that you don't have to rinse it off. Ultimately this product still helps me save time, it feels good for my skin and I will consider repurchasing it again, but it isn't as amazing as I was hoping.

Update: 04/06/2015

I just had to take another couple of lippies off this product. I think it was met with way too much hype and has since become overrated. The bottom line is it struggles to remove any the lightest mineral makeup on my face, let alone heavy foundation or thick mascara. The only time it works well is after my face has already been heavily rinsed or precleansed with oil. Therefore it's ultimately a product that over promises and under delivers. Not super impressed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th March, 2015 at 4:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gentle and cleansing

I was so excited to try this with the huge hype it has had so of course when I saw pink and the brand Garnier emblazoned on the bottle with this holy water inside I has to give it a free ride in my trolley! I love that the lid is pink because it means that my husband will leave it alone because of the 'girly colour'. It also suits the decore surrounding it with all my various beauty products in pink and purple to keep it company and to make it look even better.

Usually I am really bad at removing my makeup before bed *slaps hand* so to make it more exciting and so I remembered; Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water found it's way in to my life. I bought makeup pads especially for the occasion.

I was sporting a smoked eye, intense red lippy and foundation to boot so needed something gentle for my sensitive skin but strong enough to handle the job. I squirted a generous amount on to my makeup pad and starting from the forehead worked my way down and saw no makeup but skin! I was amazed at how easily it was removing this makeup after 8 hours of stay power on my face. After I lifted the pad there was a noticeable streak of no makeup left behind....boy was I excited.

I continued thinking...it won't remove mascara without scrubbing but to my astonishment it removed it with a couple of swipes WOW!! I am a follower and a believer Ganrier! Sign me up. Afterward my skin felt cleansed and soft and teamed with my moisturiser it was baby skin smooth and that never happens with my dry skin. Officially dedicated :)

Tips: Use as part of your night skin regime following after with a moisturiser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th March, 2015 at 9:23 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Micellar water

So after hunting in shops all over for this I finally found it. I had been using the Loreal skin perfection micellar water but I still had to try the garnier one after reading the reviews and everyone going crazy on the forum over it I still made it my mission to buy this clear goodness and to see if there was a difference and yes there are a couple Garnier is a bigger bottle (200ml vs 400ml) AND I paid more for the Loreal one! Garnier has one more ingredient.

The bottle kind of looks like a water bottle. It has a pink flip top lid I like this it's really sturdy i wouldn't be worried about it coming loose if I took it with me somewhere in a bag. The hole where it comes out is just the right size it's not too big. There is no scent with it.

So this miracle water is just that. A miracle! I put a tiny bit on a make up removal pad and swipe and wipe my face the very first time I did this I was shocked I felt so dirty seeing all the dirt on the pad I thought my face looked and felt reasonably clean even my partner had to have a try and he was equally as grossed out. It is also good at removing make up and removes everything except for a wee bit of mascara. I love how once it has dried I don't have a tight feeling on my face. This is something I don't think I could ever be without now I love it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th March, 2015 at 4:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So worth the hype!

I can't say enough good things about this! I bought it as soon as it came out and have been using it since. I swear it's magic, it melts off all my makeup so quickly, even my waterproof eye makeup. i dont think I could ever go back to using makeup remover wipes. This doesn't sting my sensitive eyes like a lot of other makeup removers too. It's pretty affordable for how much you get as well and it's usually on sale at countdown.

Tips: Use with cotton rounds and you'll fall in love!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th March, 2015 at 10:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing product!

I love this cleansing water! Easily removed any makeup I wear with no harsh scrubbing! Would certainly purchase again. I mainly use this to remove my mascara on a cotton pad as I find this way is less harsh on my eyes than a makeup wipe

Tips: If your over face wipes give this makeup remover a try! you wont regret it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th March, 2015 at 10:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gently removes makeup

I love the Micellar water to gently remove the remainders of my makeup. A little goes a long way. I have had it over 2 weeks now and still have plenty left. I use it for my eyes and all over my face. It feels so refreshing. It is such a good value for money. The only negative is that it is not strong enough to take out my waterproof mascara.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th March, 2015 at 10:34 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Satisfied

Great product , very easily removes dirt & makeup .simple to use and Does what it says . I do however think the hype over the product is exaggerated , it isn't anything new compared to older products . But I would purchase again , it sells for a very affordable price for its generous size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th March, 2015 at 4:15 am
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

This is another product I jumped on the band wagon for. BUT this time im very happy, This removes my makeup in a breeze, my mascara maybe 90% but doesnt give me panda eyes so thats fine. The best thing about this is that it lasts a life time, each bottle does around 200 washes, so much product for so little money. The bottles nice and fresh and I paid $12.99 at the super market, I sugegst everyone to go out and try it.

Tips: Clean your brushes in it, This is the best product ive ever used to clean my brushes, even took the stains out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Interesting about cleaning brushes in it! I'm going to have to give that a go, great review.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd March, 2015 at 8:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love this cleansing water.

I was super thrilled to have finally got my hands on this product. Seen so much hype on media about this Garnier Micellar cleansing water that i just had to try it out.

The packaging of this products is nice and simple which i like. Doesn't have any scent at all which is good and its perfume free. So this cleansing water is suitable for all skin type.

My first time using this i was extremely happy. It removed all my eye,foundation and lip makeup which great. It left my skin feeling so fresh and smooth. Really easy to use and no need to rinse it off. You can probably get about 200 uses from this bottle which is great , so you would definitely be getting your moneys worth.

I would definitely be purchasing this product again and i would highly recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd March, 2015 at 2:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier micellar cleansing water

I Absolutely love this product. So handy and refreshing and does a great job at removing my make-up. It's really handy to have on hand when travelling or when you a short on time and need a quick cleanse. Thumbs up from me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »