Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.3/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Like a magnet, the cleansing agents capture and lift away dirt from the skin. 

No need to rub to remove impurities and make-up. 

The Result: Perfectly cleansed and refreshed skin without rubbing or rinsing.

Micellar Cleansing Water comes in a generous 400ml format for up to 200 uses*

Pack Size: 400 ml / 125ml

RRP: $12.99 / $6.99

Availability: Countdown, Farmers, Selected pharmacies and online

Website: www.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th April, 2015 at 9:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth the hype?

My mum actually bought this back from Sydney for me to try (she got me 3 bottles!) so I was super excited to try it out. It left my face feeling clean and refreshed, it doesn't have a scent which is good too. The only bad thing I would say is that I feel I used a LOT of cotton pads to take off my makeup. I'm not sure if it was because of the quality of the pads or not, but that was the only bad thing I have to say.

Tips: Works amazing to clean brushes too! Just pour a little into a cup, swirl the dirty brush around and then clean on palm of hand under running water :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd April, 2015 at 7:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Make up remover

I'd heard a lot about on line and this made me give it a try. I love the way it takes everything off and leaves you skin welling freshly washed. It really affordable and does exactlly what it says it would. I recently got out of hospital and this was a great product to use here. I could clean my skin without getting out of bed. My skin felt fresh and clean. It's a great product and lived up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd April, 2015 at 1:44 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Micellar water

A clear bottle with a pink pop top lid. 400 ml (great size) Clear liquid oily looking and bubbles. states that it has 200 uses from bottle. No scent. Water consistency and has no oily residue at all. I like to shake it and it bubbles up like a soap. I soak cotton pads and have learnt the more the better, as in, more pads. You only need a few squirms onto the pads and they absorb up the water. Then swiping over face starting at the eyes 1 pad each eye ensure to use both sides then continue on with the rest of the face. It doesn't scratch the face or feel harsh, it does tingle in the eye area and it removes makeup easily. However it doesn't get all of my mascara off. And still need to redo my eyes again with buds and wipes. This product is amazing and leaves you feeling clean. I've used it daily and it hasn't had any side effects no drying, breakouts and still a lot of liquid left. A bit bummed about the mascara not fully removing but still satisfied with product and am certain I'll get a lot of use from this bottle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st April, 2015 at 10:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
meh

I like this product but i have to use multiple cotton pads to remove my foundation and mascara to make sure my makeup is gone. It doesnt leave my skin feel dry nor too oily

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
31st March, 2015 at 7:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Micellar water worth the hype?

So... I have now been using this for just over a week. As per usual my skin has had a bit of a breakout, but nothing out of the ordinary when using a new product. I love how easy my make up comes off with this product, and it doesn't leave my skin with any sensitivity which is awesome. It takes about 3 cotton pads to completely remove a full face of make up, which I think is pretty darn good. I don't get any irritation near my eyes, and have not noticed any patchy/flaky spots that I have received from other similar products. I do however find that it feels quite oily afterwards. and tend to cleanse afterwards to remove the excess oil. I am definitely a fan of this product so far, but will continue to see how my skin progresses over the next few weeks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
31st March, 2015 at 3:17 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Micellar water worth the hype?

Just like everyone else, when this product launched in NZ I couldn't wait to pick it up. I found it at my local Pak 'n' Save for $9.99, bargain! The bottle is simple and cute with a generous amount of product.

Looking at it, you think okay it's just water but it's supposed to help remove make up? So I wasn't 100% sure whether it would actually be able to remove heavy duty makeup. After I night out I tried it on my dry face with a full face of make up on. To my surprise it worked great! It removed all my face makeup quite easily, only a small amount of rubbing was needed. I held the cotton round on each eye before swiping and all my eyeliner and mascara came off. I was amazed at how something that looked like water could get all that make up off.

I used 3 cotton rounds in total to get a completely clean face. It didn't leave any residue on my face, it completely soaked in so you could definitely just use this to cleanse. It is the perfect lazy girl make up remover.

I've been using it every night for 3 weeks now and I love it. I also love that it doesn't have a scent so it's good for my sensitive skin.

Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
31st March, 2015 at 9:36 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't Live Up To The Hype

The hype around this product was huuuge and as an avid YouTube watcher, I was so excited when it finally reached our shores that I went out and got some on the first day it was released here.

I picked mine up for $10.99 from New World on introductory sale. For 400ml of product I thought that was pretty good! And up to 200 uses?! You could pay that much for 30 odd makeup wipes!

The packaging is minimal but there is something 'clean' and 'fresh' about it, its very suitable to the product and I really like it. The pink pop top snaps shut well which is awesome as I'm not too worried about it spilling in my overnight bag.

The liquid itself is very watery and to me smells faintly of coconut?? It is designed to be poured onto a cotton round or similar and used like a regular makeup wipe. I found this removed my face makeup well but really struggled with my eye makeup and I have to scrub a wee bit to get the majority off. I need to use at least 3-4 rounds to get off a face of makeup and seem to be going through this product very fast, only have about 1/3 product left! With that said, the formula doesn't sting the eyes which is a bonus!

It says that you can leave this as is without rinsing but this to me seems ridiculous! It leaves a slight film on my face and I always use this as a pre-cleanse only so always wash with my cleanser afterward. I have also been breaking out more than usual and have developed eczema on my eyelids after trying this and its the only thing thats changed in my makeup/skincare routine and diet.

The other thing that bothers me about this product is that it gets so bubbly after shaking it/if its in a bag! Not like foamy bubbly, like big giant bubbles that remind me a lot of dishwashing liquid bubbles. Something about this is very unappealing to then put on my face.

Overall this product is good but definitely not amazing and I don't think its the right one for my skin type which is unusual as I have normal/combo skin which is never usually sensitive. The huge hype around it led it to be more of a let down. My viewpoint on it is that as a pre-cleanse I still far prefer makeup wipes - a little more expensive but far less effort and I don't have the sensitivity issues that I seem to be getting with this product. For me, the Garnier Micellar water didn't work as well as I was hoping so I will be sticking to makeup wipes as my pre-cleanse from now on

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
30th March, 2015 at 6:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bioderma but easier to find

I picked this up back in January when I was over in Sydney. Of course soon after I got back there were rumours of this coming to NZ. I've been using my Bioderma Micellar water for over a year so as soon as it ran out I was happy to try the Garnier version as it is much cheaper and easier to get.

The packaging is very simple. I really like the clear plastic container as you always know how much you have left. The pink cap works well and I haven't had any problems with getting it on and off or breaking. I like the oval shaped bottle as it is easy to hold and the plastic seems quite thin so easier to push to get product out faster.

I find this incredibly similar to my Bioderma (lucky for me and my bank balance). It looks and feels just like water, but better. Personally I use this on a cotton pad after I have cleansed my face to get rid of any further make-up residue, like having a second cleanse. I also use it in the morning just to make sure my skin is clean before putting more stuff on my face. I have found that it isn't the best at removing waterproof mascara. I have to put it on the cotton pad then leave on my lashes for a bit before swiping off, but for the price I don't mind. It doesn't make me feel like my skin is stripped of moisture and I have had no redness/reaction to this at all.

I'm impressed with this product as it does all the things I want it to, and the price isn't too bad either. My Bioderma bottle (that I used in the same way) of about the same size lasted me 10 months so that shows that this is incredibly good value!

UPDATE: Turns out that this product does in fact break me out. I found that some of my pimples were not healing as fast as usual and that I had a huge amount on my chin. I stopped using this and went on to use a Simple Micellar Water instead and haven't had this problem. Therefore I have downgraded this product and will not be using it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
29th March, 2015 at 10:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Holy Water?

When the hype began to rage over this product I knew I had to try it for myself. I was stoked when I found some in Countdown on sale for $9 - I thought it was great value for money given its size compared with other cleansers I've tried. I gave it a go before bed that night and had a really positive first impression. I couldn't get over the fact that it looked like a regular bottle of water but could be so much more. I soaked a cotton pad with the product and circled it around my face; I love that you can apply it to your eye area as well - and voilà, clean and refreshed skin! I was surprised to see how much extra dirt it had picked up. But fast forward to the following night where I had a heavier face of makeup on and unfortunately my enthusiasm didn't remain so high. I needed multiple soaked cotton pads to cut through my makeup, especially my eye makeup which wasn't even water-proof, and even then I picked up more afterwards when I applied a toner. It was disappointingly clear that I had to use a lot more product and basically waste many cotton pads to get a truly clean face. The next night I loosened my makeup with water, baby oil, and a flannel first, then followed with the micellar water. This proved to be the best combination for me, and while it means that the product isn't quite the miracle worker that some claim, it's still good as a facial cleanser and 'light' makeup remover. It hasn't made my skin over oily or dry and I love that you don't have to rinse it off. Ultimately this product still helps me save time, it feels good for my skin and I will consider repurchasing it again, but it isn't as amazing as I was hoping.

Update: 04/06/2015

I just had to take another couple of lippies off this product. I think it was met with way too much hype and has since become overrated. The bottom line is it struggles to remove any the lightest mineral makeup on my face, let alone heavy foundation or thick mascara. The only time it works well is after my face has already been heavily rinsed or precleansed with oil. Therefore it's ultimately a product that over promises and under delivers. Not super impressed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th March, 2015 at 4:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gentle and cleansing

I was so excited to try this with the huge hype it has had so of course when I saw pink and the brand Garnier emblazoned on the bottle with this holy water inside I has to give it a free ride in my trolley! I love that the lid is pink because it means that my husband will leave it alone because of the 'girly colour'. It also suits the decore surrounding it with all my various beauty products in pink and purple to keep it company and to make it look even better.

Usually I am really bad at removing my makeup before bed *slaps hand* so to make it more exciting and so I remembered; Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water found it's way in to my life. I bought makeup pads especially for the occasion.

I was sporting a smoked eye, intense red lippy and foundation to boot so needed something gentle for my sensitive skin but strong enough to handle the job. I squirted a generous amount on to my makeup pad and starting from the forehead worked my way down and saw no makeup but skin! I was amazed at how easily it was removing this makeup after 8 hours of stay power on my face. After I lifted the pad there was a noticeable streak of no makeup left behind....boy was I excited.

I continued thinking...it won't remove mascara without scrubbing but to my astonishment it removed it with a couple of swipes WOW!! I am a follower and a believer Ganrier! Sign me up. Afterward my skin felt cleansed and soft and teamed with my moisturiser it was baby skin smooth and that never happens with my dry skin. Officially dedicated :)

Tips: Use as part of your night skin regime following after with a moisturiser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »