Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Sign up now
Sign up now
Essano Body Wash Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.6/5

Essano Body Wash Review

Overall rating:
4.5/5

Available in three varieties:

Calm Manuka Honey Sensitive Body Wash - Active New Zealand Manuka Honey is blended with exotic Australian rainforest botanicals to deliver a soothing, gentle formulation, perfect for even the most sensitive skin.

Bliss Coconut Oil Lightly Moisturising Body Wash - The uplifting fragrance of Coconut, Frangipani and Paw Paw will leave you feeling like you’re on holiday, every day!

Adore Rosehip Oil Repairing Body Wash - Infused with the luxurious scent of Jasmine and Fig, this formulation will leave your skin feeling soft, refreshed and nourished.

Pack Size: 445ml

RRP: $9.99

Availability: Countdown and online

Websitehttp://www.essano.co.nz/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th May, 2017 at 3:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Body Wash

This is the best value for money ever. Love the feeling of my skin after use and the smell is amazing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th May, 2017 at 10:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Bliss Body wash

This body wash comes as a liquidy gel consistency, exactly what you'd expect from a body wash, I love that it has a great pump that is easy to use without having to take off and replace a cap or lid after each use. The biggest thing you'll notice about this product is the smell, it is intense! Personally I loved the smell, it's not too strong for me by any means, but I do feel that anyone who isn't particularly fond of scented products may not fully enjoy this product as it does pack a scented punch! I find that you need about an average amount to get clean, I wasn't amazed or disappointed at all by how long the product would last for the price, it's about as expected. I found this product did leave me feeling clean, fresh and smelling good! However I do have sensitive skin in some areas, it didn't create a reaction or anything like that, however it did sting very slightly. . For the price you get a wonderful sized bottle of lovely smelling body wash that leaves you fresh and clean, so overall I would recommend, especially if you don't mind fragrance!

Tips: Be wary if you're not fond of strong scented products as this is definitely fragranced!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Which bottle is this review for, as the scents are all different. Is it Adore, Bliss or Calm?

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th May, 2017 at 9:19 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bliss, bliss, BLISS

I was very fortunate to be selected to trial this beautiful shower gel (thanks BR!!!) Essano products have been really growing on me and this is another great product.

I Love the big 445ml bottle, its dark brown and looks like those old medicine bottles (or is it just me?) it has a plain and easy to read label. I love how this has a pump top lid, so easy in the shower with slippery hands no need to shake, squeeze and bash the other end of the bottle to get the product out. The scent I received is ‘bliss’- and yes it really is.

The clear shower gel has a thickish consistency and lathers up nicely on my shower puff. As soon as I pump 4-5 pumps out I get a real paw paw fruity kick, (it also has coconut and frangipani) its sweet, it’s fruity and it’s perfectly balanced and seriously I wanted to drink it.

I smoosh it round and round my body wishing the scent was just a tad stronger like it was when it first comes out of the bottle. I love how this makes my skin feel after I wash the suds away, clean and refreshed without feeling stripped- great for us dry skinned lasses.

Since its winter I have been a big sook and won’t moisturise after my night time shower cold lotion on warm body aint my idea of ‘unwinding and relaxing’ anyway… I can wake up in the morning and my skin isn’t too bad, it’s not itchy or looks scaly. So I think I will carry on being a bit lazy through winter.

I will be definitely repurchasing this it smells amazing leaves me feeling clean and fresh, and lets me be lazy. I also love how Essano products are cruelty free and contain natural ingredients. Another reason to love this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

I want to buy this so much. Even more now :)

Great review Bex :)

Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th May, 2017 at 8:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano body wash - Calm Manuka honey

The packaging is great, recyclable plastic bottle, dark colour, very unisex, therefore ideal for the family shower.

The scent is delicate, so again great for unisex use.

Easy to use pump dispenser, one pump delivers a decent amount, so a couple if pumps did half my body on both body brush and body puff, with plenty of lather.

Left my skin feeling soft and clean, not tight at all.

Would I use it again? Yes, but I do prefer something with more fragrance. Would I purchase it? Not for myself at that price, but I would consider it when looking for a gift for male or female.

I have enjoyed using this product, and would recommend it.

Tips: Three to four pumps did my whole body with plenty of lather, so use sparingly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th May, 2017 at 7:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sweet and sensitive.

Any bodywash that comes in a pump bottle is always going to be a winner in my books. I was lucky enough to be given Calm as a gift. I don't have sensitive skin, but I could definitely feel the difference. So smooth on the skin. I have even used it on my face a few times with adverse reactions. The frangrance is sweet but subtle, really quite nice. Not too foamy, just 2-3 pumps on a loofah and you're golden.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Whoops, with *no adverse reactions

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th May, 2017 at 6:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Calm Manuka Honey Body Wash

Made in NZ, this body wash is also cruelty and Palm Oil free, all of which are important to me when choosing products. It comes in a dark plastic bottle with a handy pump which makes it easy to use as well as looking pleasant. I used a loofah and found that two "pumps" were sufficient for my whole body. The lather is light and airy rather than thick. The fragrance is very light - almost undetectable, but I quite like that as it doesn't interfere with perfumes etc. My skin felt "clean" and soft after use and I had no issues with irritation or rashes. I will buy this again as it does what it claims (other than the very light fragrance) and is kind to my skin and my conscience

Tips: Try the matching body lotion to get more out of the fragrance

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th May, 2017 at 5:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Essano Body Wash Calm

What beautiful packaging , I love the natural , you know it's gonna be good for you look. A large amber plastic pump bottle , easy to read labeling , perfect. Straight to the point.

A clear fresh floral scent , the body wash is a clear gel.

It's very moisturising, we had no irritation and we in our family have 3 members with eczema. So that's awesome that no one reacted. Weren't itchy etc.

I love the fact it has healing manuka in it :) great for itchy sensitive types.

I would prefer the pump let out more product a one time but that's ok I used about 2/3 pumps on a bath pouf and it lathers really easily and rinses clean leaving you soft and refreshed.

I would definitely purchase again :) I would love to try the other fragrances :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Lovely profile pic vintage-ink. Great recommendation for this product that it doesn't irritate sensitive skin.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th May, 2017 at 7:36 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
New Family Fave

I was lucky enough to be chosen to trial this body wash and the timing of it''s arrival was perfect as I'd just run out of my usual thanks to my darling 3 year old and her need to copy everything I do. Now the reason I have titled this review family fave is because not only did I use it and have to share with my 3 year old but apparently my husband was using it too as he liked the smell!! The packaging for this is lovely, stylish and practical- pumps make life easy particularly if you're trying to supervise little people in the shower with you and the instruction of one pump is easy and literally saves your product from going down the drain. I had the manuka honey scented wash for sensitive skin and was pleased to read that this is also cruelty free. This body wash is lovely, it has a nice subtle scent and doesn't smell sickly sweet like some honey scented products can, it lathers easily in the hand or onto a loofah. A little goes a long way and the scent lingers on the skin- my 6 month old ended up covered in it a few times and she smelt lovely when I got her up in the morning! In terms on value for money I'm impressed and we've already bought another bottle for the second bathroom as it really is going to be our new tried and trusted was for ourselves and the girls.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th May, 2017 at 9:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nicer than expected

While I did find it to be a pretty standard body wash, it did have a few extra pros. For starters it's cruelty free which is important to me and so many others. The jasmine scent wasn't too strong at all, which was good for me as I'm not a huge fan of jasmine. It just smelt kind of sweet and floral. It was a soft gel which is my personal preference for body wash. One tiny thing, which is by no means a deal breaker, was the pump would stick in the pushed down position quite often and not pop back up by itself and I would have to do it. As I say, not a deal breaker for me, but just something to note. It left my skin feeling nice and soft, not greasy at all and it wasn't a pain to wash off or anything. Pretty stoked with this product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Please report the faulty pump to Essano, via the "product feedback" section on the contact us page on their website. I also have a faulty pump on my bottle of Adore body wash and Essano needs to be made aware that their packaging is faulty.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th May, 2017 at 9:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Calm ~ Manuka Honey with Elder flower & Chamomile

For Essano being a price savvy brand I was instantly struck by the packaging. Very on trend, deep brown bottle with a pop of gold. Would definitely give higher end brands a run for their money. Even the pump action nozzle was longer and thicker than most - this bottle has curves in all the right places!

The lack of scent in this particular variety isn't a bad thing as everything else about this product makes up for it.

The lathering consistency is perfect on my loofah, it washes off nicely and after my shower I don't feel guilty if I don't moisturise, as this body wash leaves my skin feeling super fresh and hydrated - something I can't say about any other washes I've tried. My skin feels so soft!

I wouldn't say I have super sensitive skin, although now and then I can react to certain products but I find it must be the manuka honey in this that works it's magic and gently cares for the skin. I would feel comfortable using this on the whole family, as a 'sensitive' wash.

Would I use again? Yes definitely, however given I do like a little more scent in my body washes I would try a different variety from the range.

Tips: As the fragrance isn't very strong, and the packaging isn't gender driven, this would make a great unisex body wash. (If you want to share that is!)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have you tried DRAGON'S BLOOD before?

Have you tried DRAGON'S BLOOD before?

Erm...no. Also...is it dragon-friendly?

view results

Review of the Day
andreabrown
Couldn't Wait
I got straight onto my dye when it arrived yesterday as I was crying out for new colour. At $19.99 it is more… more »