Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
22nd February, 2016 at 4:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Half minded

I tried this because I saw the ad and I have a lot of stretch marks I use it for atleast 5 months n it didn't really do much for me although I used a little on my face and it worked great the discolouration and I had a few dark dots went away but for stretch marks I don't think it work well at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st February, 2016 at 2:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I am currently using this product, it has a lovely scent and feels nice and silky on my skin. so far I haven't seen any change to my stretch marks but this oil has worked on some scars that I have...it has started to lighten them, I can't understand why i have been able to notice a change in my scar and not my stretch marks but i am hopefully if I keep using this it may lighten then too. Bio Oil is quite expensive but a little goes along way being an oil it spreads quite far. as for the packaging it comes in different sized clear bottles, pretty average nothing special to the design.

Tips: apply a couple drops to your hand then apply to skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
19th February, 2016 at 9:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hyped up

Really orange scented. Loved it on hands n face especially when mixed with creamy face or hand cream. Did do a thing for any scarring or discolouration even over long period

Tips: Oils are great but this has a lot of non good ingredients

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
19th February, 2016 at 10:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the greatest!

I got to try this when it was first released as I had worked in a pharmacy and we got full sized bottles for free to sample. I was really looking forward to it because I had marks that were left behind from my Eczema and I had the odd stretch mark. I used it until the bottle finished and unfortunately nothing changed, my marks were still extremely visible and my stretch marks were still there. However I did try it on a recent scar I had and I noticed there were changes happening with the scar as it was slowly starting to fade, so I guess it is only best to use it on recent imperfections you do not like.

In future I will not purchase this, instead I will keep using my coco butter and coconut oil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th February, 2016 at 10:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
2 babes tummy

I have to say after haveing 2 kids and the dreaded marks that come along with doing so i used this both times where pregnant and i had minimal maeks sooooo very happy and to top it off use is after and the ones i did get where allmost gone very happy as i get to get out the 2 pice when laying on the beach and feel amazing about myself ;-)

Tips: Definitely a after showing thing i found it helped a lot :-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
15th January, 2016 at 3:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fail!

Sadly I saw no change in the colour of my stretch marks, I continuted to use this product for a year and haven't noticed 1 slight change at all! Very sad. I recently looked at the ingredients and noticed that there were no things in it that benefited the skin. Worth a try though because I hear it working wonders for some, lucky people!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
26th December, 2015 at 10:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Healthy skin

I was 3 months pregnant that time I bought it but couldn't use it because skin irritation.so after baby born i start using it on my stretch marks and then after what ever leftover on my hand I use it on face within month I noticed my uneven skin tone and dark circle are gone. So happy

Tips: For best result use it long time

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
21st December, 2015 at 4:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bye, scars and stretch marks. Hi, even skin tone!

Will fade scars and stretch marks if you apply regularly. Although very pricey, especially for people who are applying regularly. But definitely worth it as there will be results.

Tips: Use regularly for best results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st December, 2015 at 8:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Skin Repairer

I have been using Bio Oil for about a year now it seems to be a wee miracle worker I just used to use it on dry skin but it helps with the appearance of scars. I use it in the morning on my legs and arms it takes a wee while to dry and its a bit greasy but it lasts all day. I even use a tiny bit on my face at night and it has made the wee fine lines seem less obvious.You do have to massage it in fully.

Tips: Use the tiniest wee drop on your hands at a time it goes a very long way and make sure you let it dry fully before applying sunscreen or it is a horrible mess.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th November, 2015 at 9:26 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A great product

I have been using this product for a few months now on my scars from my breast augmentation and the scars have definitely become less noticeable. Going from a purple to bright pink colour to a light pink, I am going to continue using as I'm hoping to see them go white. It has prevented any stretchmarks from forming too so plus be great for pregnancy and teenage growth. This product gives a lovely shiny look on the skin too. Overall I am happy with the results so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »