Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 4:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Marketing ploy preying on pregnant mums.

This oil does NOT help with stretchmarks and fasley markets the product as helping to make them fade or prevent. This is not the case as stretchmarks are genetic and happen at a cellular level. I used this twice daily through pregnancy and it did not help during or after! Much too expensive for a product that doesn't work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 4:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not as advertised according to me

I personally have tried this product once when i just had stretch marks and then again when i was pregnant as i thought i would give it another go but sadly both times i saw no difference in the appearance of stretch marks or making my skin elastic...

I will probably not spend any money on this product again and would not recommend it to anyone either..

Its a very well known and advertised product but for me doesn't do it..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd December, 2013 at 1:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I actually like this

I found bio oil great at the start, when it first was available. It did help with my slow healing scars and wounds, which healed faster and aren't as prominent on my skin to this day.

It was also pretty good rubbing into my scalp for when my hair was dry.

Tips: If used regularly, I'm quite certain it will work for most. Also, when rubbing into scalp and hair ends, don't keep in for too long, as it'll look like a grease pit! Remove by rubbing shampoo into the scalp while dry, jump in and rinse off, wash hair as normal. Trust me, your hair will be soft!

One more tip, my partner dives, and comes back sometimes with lumps on his face from toxins from certain mussels. I always put bio oil on them, and he says its soothing and takes a third of the typical time to heal!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
18th December, 2013 at 3:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't notice a difference...

This has been raved about by a lot of people, but I'm sad to say that Bio Oil did nothing for me. I realise this isn't a 'miracle in a bottle', but I thought I'd notice a slight improvement in the appearance of my stretch marks. I'm glad to see that some reviewers below have experienced the same lack of results as I have. Will not be repurchasing Bio Oil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
16th December, 2013 at 9:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not a fav

I'm really not a fan of this product. There are tons of other oils out there that I would definitely pick over this one. For me it doesn't really soak into my skin and leaves me really feeling oily and yucky. I prefer other natural body oils that soak into my skin and leave it feeling hydrated and smooth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
15th December, 2013 at 7:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disappointed

I used this religiously for months after having a accident that left the front of my legs scarred and I have to say once the bottle was gone there was absolutely NO improvement to my scars. I felt it was a real wasete of money and most people I know who have used it have said exactly the smae thing. It is a nice moisturizer but after reading one of the other reviews about what is in it I will be sticking well clear of it.

Tips: Save your money!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

i am glad i read reviews like these before purchasing . was going to get it as a christmas gift to my sister whose recently had a child , but can see for a lot of people it didnt work :(

Overall rating:
4.0/5
14th December, 2013 at 4:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for preventing stretch marks in pregnancy

I used this when I was preggie with my little munchkins and it gave really good results. The texture is quite greasy and you have to wash your hands abit to get rid of it, but I found that if I hadn't had used it, my stretch marks would be a lot worse.

Tips: A little goes along way, but hey smother it as much as you need, every bit helps in the prevention of stretch marks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th December, 2013 at 7:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product

This product helped my stretch marks 100%. Applied twice daily (sometimes only once) they just disappeared. But after reading these reviews I would think twice about repurchasing if I had to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
6th December, 2013 at 11:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I wouldn't buy it again.

I wouldn't repurchase bio oil, however, I would continue to use it if it was given to me, or if I found it on a good special. The only thing bio oil has done for me, is hydrate my skin and prevent it from getting dry and itchy. (Mainly the tummy area). No improvement on stretch marks whatsoever, which is a shame as that was the only reason why I purchased it in the first place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
4th December, 2013 at 8:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Initially....

I was put off buying this because of the reviews other gorgeous ladies had written, however Farmers did a give away and I received a free bottle and I'm rather pleased I have! I have found this product to be AMAZING. I'm using it on my wrinkles and I've noticed a definitely diminishing of the fine lines around my eyes, the creases in my forehead and overall my skin on my face is looking smoother and more refined. I've also used this product after shaving my legs and my legs were soft and smooth and very very touchable, or so my husband tells me ;) I think this product is only limited by your imagination, almost! I'm looking forward to seeing if these results continue for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »