Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st April, 2014 at 10:32 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil Hype

Thought I would try this product as it was getting alot of media attention and I had some scars that were needing attention. Used the product as directed and found no ling term results at all. Was disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
19th April, 2014 at 5:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Don't see what all the fuss was about

I used this while pregnant and after for a year and it did absolutely nothing for my stretch marks. I used it on older stretch marks while using it on the new ones and it didn't budge them at all. So disappointed

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
19th April, 2014 at 2:23 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
good moisuriser

I like Bio Oil as a moisturiser & that's about all it was good for for me. I used it consistently for about 2 months & my skin liked it but it didn't reduce the appearance of my scarring or my uneven skin tone. The packaging is appropriate, I like that you can see the volume of the Oil. It has a delicate smell, nothing fragrant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
16th April, 2014 at 3:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good product

This is a good product and I would recommend it. However I think it is better to buy Organic Rose Hip Oil instead as I have had better experiences and results with that (moisture building and reducing scars quickly and effectively)

Tips: Explore other oils such as organic rose-hip

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th April, 2014 at 1:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not ideal for the face

I have acne scarring on my face and bought this product hoping that it might help reduce the appearance of scars. It is instructed that you use this product 3 times a day for a number of months for the best results. I found this product to be really oily and didn't sink into the skin at all. This meant that is was unwearable with any other type of product, especially any makeup - my temporary solution for covering up acne scars. I had heard from others that it had worked for them using it just once a day, only taking 6 weeks for results to show. So, i resorted to using it just once a day - at night - so that it wouldn't interfere with my everyday facial skin care. However i often found that an oily residue was left on my pillow as a result and my patience wore thin for this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
11th April, 2014 at 8:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My little scars.... battle wounds?

I lost my appendix in 2013 (well we had to break up we wanted different things)

I had some scars from surgery and this has helped me heaps. I think it is something that works over time. I think this isn't for everyone but it isn't a quick fix!

However it said it could also be used as a moisturiser and.... well it lied! Well for me anyway it was just to greasy and caused my skin to freak a little. So I keep it as my secret weapon on my scars although I hope not to get more of these.

Tips: Keep at it. What's that saying? It won't happen over night but it will happen?

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
11th April, 2014 at 7:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I brought this after hearing all the hype reviews but for me Bio Oil didn't live up to expectations. The oil is very greasy and does not absorb into your skin leaving a oily residue on clothes. Although my scars didn't fade dramatically they did lighten up ever so slightly and the massaging helped with smoothing the raised scar but I think massaging with any oil would also do this.

Tips: Best for very dry skin as it's really oily and doesn't absorb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th April, 2014 at 4:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Patience!

If you have the patience then this is the product for you!

It really works for stretch marks but you have to apply at least morning and night and massage the areas for at least 15min. Give it about six weeks before you will see a big improvement when it comes to the stretch marks. The really old ones wont disappear completely but will be less noticeable.

One good thing is that its a multi purpose product! Its good for everything from shaving to sun burns! I also use it as cuticle oil on my nails. Which just keeps them in sucha good shape and so healthy! When I had bleach blonde hair, I used to run some oil in the ends of my hair and it help so much to keep it conditioned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
11th April, 2014 at 2:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Overrated.

I purchased this after hearing that it can help reduce the appearance of scars. I have a lot of scars and I feel uncomfortable with them and after talking to my gp about scar removal, decided to give this a shot.

This is quite a thick, greasy oil. It left a slight greasy residue on my scarred skin but it didn't bother me all that much. I used this every day for over three months, as my doctor suggested I do. I went back to him after three months and my scars had faded a little bit but not a lot. Also the scars that had faded slightly were scars that weren't very deep, whereas the keloid scars didn't fade at all.

I continued to use this daily on my scars until the bottle (I used the 125ml bottle), ran out. Alas I didn't notice my scars fading that much - it didn't appear to do anything to the keloid scars and my doctor suggested that it was because the skin was too deeply damaged. Also on the scars that weren't so deep, bio oil did fade them but they are still visible.

I won't buy this again as it didn't do a great job for me and it's kind of pricey. I don't know what it is like for stretch marks but certainly for more severe scars this wasn't effective.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th April, 2014 at 10:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I love this for dry skin

So I brought this not for my stretch marks, but as a moisterizer in winter for my dry skin. I believe that if you're going to get stretch marks, you're going to get them and no "miracle" cream is going to prevent that.

Bio oil is great for dry skin. I only use it in winter as it's quite oily and in winter my skin gets quite dry. Using this stuff my skin is never dry! I only use it at night and by the morning, my skin is soft and moisterized and all the oil has been absorbed into my skin. I love it! I've been using it for the past 3 years (only in winter) and the condition of my skin has never been better. My skin tone is also nice and even. Overall, I love this product.

Tips: I don't use this product in any kind of warm weather as it is quite oily and just does not feel nice on sweaty skin!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »