Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 8:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Confused!

So I have mixed feelings about this product. I think it does what it's supposed to do but its not all natural as the name suggests. Mineral oil content bothers me. On the bright side it provides superb hydration and lightens scars definitely. My sister swears by it. It doesn't clog pores/cause acne. I wish it didn't have mineral oil..I'd use it more often then.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 6:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wasn't for me

I first tried this when i got pregnant with my first child and didn't notice and change, i decided to try again with my second thinking i didn't use it right so i read all the instructions and still didn't do anyanything for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 7:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I didn't notice any difference to my stretch marks after using this product, perhaps it was the product itself or I just didn't simply use it for long enough but it didn't have much effect at all. Judging by other reviews it seems many of you ladies have had similar results. I guess if you want to try this product it's totally up to you, but I say do your research and maybe find alternate products/ methods to reducing stretch marks/ scars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 5:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did Not Work For Me

I had high hopes for this product to tone down my unsightly stretch marks but it did not happen. After using it as directed it made no difference to them and only made my skin feel greasy and slimy. I would not recommend this :(

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 4:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Useless

I was attempting to use this to try and get rid of stretch marks. I used it twice a day everyday for a LEAST 7 months and it did absolutely nothing. It discolor my white bras and tops and left gross oil all over my body.Would not recommend this at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
3rd May, 2014 at 10:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't go well for me

I have heard many negative reviews for this from friends and family and wanted to try for myself, especially after some biiig scars recently. I know that there's a lot of promo for this, even in professional settings like physiotherapists, though results don't seem to be that good. For me, I didn't see any changes at all, and it was an oil that didn't absorb very well into my skin for some reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
3rd May, 2014 at 3:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't make a difference

I bought this after I had my second child thinking it might help with stretch marks. I didn't notice any difference. They didn't fade at all. I was thinking it would do something so I was a little disappointed. On the plus side it does smell nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
2nd May, 2014 at 7:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Might help prevent but not cure

I bought a bottle of this to help with stretch marks. The idea of having to apply a few times a day was a but daunting but I wanted good results so followed the instructions exactly. However, after 6 months of applying (and then running out of ) the bio oil, I couldn't really see any results. My skin was softer, but the stretch marks were still as visible as ever. I don't have scaring so was unable to test in that way too. However, I do believe that if you were to apply this to your skin regularly it would keep it soft and supple, and therefore would be good at preventing stretch marks, especially during pregnancy. I suppose results depend on the type of skin, how long the stretch marks have been there and a lot of other factors. Just not right for me :(

Tips: For best results you definitely have to apply multiple times a day. Don't waste your money buying this and then only applying once a day or a couple of times a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
1st May, 2014 at 7:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not a fan

I find Bio Oil very misleading. I hadn't heard/read any good reviews but still thought I would give it a try and sadly, I wasn't proved wrong. I have quiet bad acne scarring and a few stretch marks (so I would try anything that could possibly help) which have remained after using this product. I found it very oily, it didn't absorb well and was left feeling very disappointed. It does not do what it claims and I don't plan on repurchasing it again nor would I recommend it. I don't doubt the positive claims people have made about Bio Oil but for me, it just didn't do a thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
1st May, 2014 at 4:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disappointed :(

I had surgery and purchased bio-oil as I had heard that it would help to remove the scars but after using it multiple times a day for about 6 months, there has been little improvement and i still have my scars. It left my skin all oily and overall my skin is basically no different so sadly that was a big mistake ... should not have bought the large bottle.

Tips: Try other products before this one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »