Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.6/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
8th May, 2014 at 9:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did not work for me

I tried this product on a scar that was reasonably new (around 2 months or so) after recommendations to help the healing process. This product just did not work for me.

For one, it stung! As soon as I applied it my scar started stinging! I do have somewhat sensitive skin so this may be the reason why. I also did not like the scent of this product or how greasy it made my skin feel (other oils absorb and don't stay feeling greasy but for me the greasy feeling stayed a while).

Overall, would not use this product again. It just did not suit my skin. I much prefer rose hip oil which is supposed to do the same thing except it does not irritate my skin and it absorbs better.

Tips: I would not use this if you have sensitive skin as it may irritate you like it did me. Use a rose hip oil instead for the more natural benefits.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
7th May, 2014 at 9:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for eczema

I love Bio oil. It remains the only product I have found that can cure redness and open cracks on eczema overnight. It is soft and soothing and feels amazing on my skin. It works miracles on red scarring (white scarring can't be repaired) and uneven skin tone and helps damaged skin heal quickly.

The downsides are it takes a while to sink in. Don't put this on then stick easily marked clothes on top of it. If you put this on before bed your linen will smell of it until you wash it. It also can make me itchy as it's quite rich. I balance this out by using Anthisan under it. The two together fix my eczema like nothing else.

This is a treatment, not a moisturiser. The ads used to say the lady who used it's skin was "like butter". It won't be. This is an oil. Skin needs hydration to stay moisturised so if you are going to use this make sure you use a standard body moisturiser too.

I also find the bottle can leak a little so be sure to keep it upright and put it in a snap lock bag when travelling.

Tips: If you are going to use this on your face make sure to use it sparingly and cleanse daily to avoid blocking your pores.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
7th May, 2014 at 2:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
not sure

I used this a while ago to try and reduce the look of my stretch marks. Firstly I will say I really didn't like the feel of it I know its bio OIL but I didn't like it, it also from memory didn't smell great either. I wouldn't put it on if going out incase it rubbed on clothes, I probably didn't use it long enough to see results maybe used it about a week but just wasn't a fan. I would try it again just to see if it would work but maybe ask a close relative to apple it instead. A little does go along way though so I guess that's a plus

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
6th May, 2014 at 12:17 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for me.

I do believe it does what it says it does (as in reducing the appearance of scars and stretch marks etc) however I dislike how oily and greasy it leaves my skin feeling, it just does not seem to want to absorb completely, which makes me feel gross.. Ive only used it a handful of times, however each time ive found myself grabbing a towel and wiping the excess off (which doesn't help much) or jumping back into the shower to clean it off. I personally don't like it, however I know a lot of people swear by it.. Its really something you have to try yourself and make your own opinion on.

Tips: Apply an hour or two before a shower, to give it time to work its magic, before washing of any left over residue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 11:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

This product works really well. Its smells so nice and is a really light dry oil that goes a long way. I used it during both of my pregnancies and it prevented me from getting any stretch marks which was much appreciated. I have since used it on scars which it has healed and as a moisturizer also. I really enjoy using this product and will continue to do so in future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 8:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Confused!

So I have mixed feelings about this product. I think it does what it's supposed to do but its not all natural as the name suggests. Mineral oil content bothers me. On the bright side it provides superb hydration and lightens scars definitely. My sister swears by it. It doesn't clog pores/cause acne. I wish it didn't have mineral oil..I'd use it more often then.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 6:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wasn't for me

I first tried this when i got pregnant with my first child and didn't notice and change, i decided to try again with my second thinking i didn't use it right so i read all the instructions and still didn't do anyanything for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 7:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I didn't notice any difference to my stretch marks after using this product, perhaps it was the product itself or I just didn't simply use it for long enough but it didn't have much effect at all. Judging by other reviews it seems many of you ladies have had similar results. I guess if you want to try this product it's totally up to you, but I say do your research and maybe find alternate products/ methods to reducing stretch marks/ scars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 5:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did Not Work For Me

I had high hopes for this product to tone down my unsightly stretch marks but it did not happen. After using it as directed it made no difference to them and only made my skin feel greasy and slimy. I would not recommend this :(

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
4th May, 2014 at 4:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Useless

I was attempting to use this to try and get rid of stretch marks. I used it twice a day everyday for a LEAST 7 months and it did absolutely nothing. It discolor my white bras and tops and left gross oil all over my body.Would not recommend this at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »