Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
30th August, 2014 at 11:43 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disapointed

Bio oil was the biggest craze out when I was pregnant with my first child. Almost all of my family members were raving about Bio oil. I had to find out what all this fuss was about.

Bio oil comes in various sized bottles. I had the 60 ml bottle. This bottle is see through so u can see how much product your using. It looks like this opaque orange liquid. It had a distinct smell too.

I used Bio oil for a whole year during pregnacy and after having my daughter. I got the darkest Stretchmarks a new mum could get deep purple all over me. I applied the oil every morning and night. The oil itself soaked into my skin well. If applied too much it felt greasy. Dont need to apply much. Comes in a decent sized bottle. Easy to open and apply. Unfortunately for me it didnt work on me like I had hoped for. My stretch marks were still visable. Its not badly priced. Wish I had a good outcome like others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th August, 2014 at 8:35 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Live this!

I am now onto my third pregnancy using this product.for my first two pregnancies I never got a stretchmark! I'm only in my 2nd trimester now, but still no streatchmarks! Worked great on my c-section scars too! Smell is delicious. Great to use on face too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th August, 2014 at 8:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Banish your insecurities!

I've had a huge scar along the back of my right leg from this one time a few years ago when I fell off my bike and pretty much skid along a jagged rock as I rolled off. Last Christmas I visited my cousin who had a baby recently and she recommended Bio Oil. She'd been using it to get rid of her baby stretches and I thought why not? So I went and bought a little bottle to try and so far I'm really liking it. My scar has already faded (yay!) considerably and my skin seems generally smoother and tighter looking. It's quite oily feeling but I find that if you really rub it in then it pretty much gets all sucked up by your skin. I typically rub some on at night before bed and everytime after I shower. Looking forward to more results!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
27th August, 2014 at 3:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
As good as it gets

I have used Bio Oil for a number of years, not only on scar tissue but on dry areas and have found it to be extremely effective. I think there is a limitation to what it is capable of doing to scar tissue (as would any product) but for dehydrated areas I rate it above average. Areas I have used it on are elbows, knees and neck area. I rate it above average.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
27th August, 2014 at 8:49 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Overhyped?

I recently tried this, used the whole bottle religiously and saw no noticeable difference. Was pretty disappointed as everyone raves about it. Maybe its a works for some not for others product. But I wouldn't try it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
25th August, 2014 at 4:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

Awesome product!! I had a scar which is not visable anymore after using bio oil. I used it every night after a shower for about two weeks and I could definitely see the difference. Also worked well for my uneven skin tone on my face

Tips: Due to it being an oil I found it best to use in the evening when I wasn't going anywhere

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th August, 2014 at 10:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Doesn't Work For Me

I used this everyday for quite some time & didnt notice any changes what so ever in my stretch marks/scars, I wouldn't Reccomend this product but It might do wonders for someone else you never know. But for the price I payed it deffinately wasn't worth the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
25th August, 2014 at 1:56 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil Disaster

I used this product for a few months during my pregnancy and found it was ineffective , did nothing for my growing stretch marks and also left a horid grease all over my fingers that wasnt easy to get off.

Tips: Dont apply with your hand or expect it to do miracles

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th August, 2014 at 8:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
i had great hopes

i really had high hopes for this product , and i didnt see any change or improvement . the smell is ok , nothing amazing .although the bottle design does make it easy to use too much . now although i didnt have any results i know it worked for my brother on a scar he had on his back . so i guess it does work for some .. i just wasnt one of them

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th August, 2014 at 8:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I have scars all over my legs from scratching my itchy spots. I've been spending my life trying to find the perfect product to get rid of them.

I used Bio Oil after hearing friends and people around me that it's used for scars and stretch marks. I gave it a go, it has a nice smell to it, it feels really soft on the skin and very moisturizing. My skin had been very supple and never dries. However, the main reason why I bought this was for my scars and stretch marks, and I am pretty disappointed how little to no improvement it has done on my skin.

I would still used it from time to time simply because it feels nice on my skin and leaves it moisturized and supple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »