Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Yay Laybuy
Yay Laybuy
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th September, 2014 at 11:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil not for me

I purchased bio oil for my stretch marks and used it religiously everyday but didn't notice any change in my marks so was quite disappointed not too sure if I used the product wrong maybe????

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
19th September, 2014 at 8:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
bio oil

i bought this awhile ago and wasent happy with it at all, i found the oil texture ok, but it didnt do what it said it did, in fact i used it for ages and was hoping it would work as i have had 4 children and have stretchmarks and it made no difference at all, so dissappointed in this product

Tips: my tip would be dont buy it its a waste of money

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
18th September, 2014 at 9:19 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dissappointed :(

I have attempted to use this product many times over the years. At first when puberty hit and I got awful stretch marks on my hips and legs and lastly with stretchmarks during and after pregnancy.

I find the packaging leaks very easily and many times I have had to clean up an oily mess in my bathroom cupboard!

After applying Bio Oil, it takes a REALLY long time to absorb and it leaves you feeling very oily. I wouldn't recommend this product if you enjoy feeling fresh and clean after a shower.

After a long period of using this product, I saw no difference. Once I had my daughter I battled to find time to even apply the product as it takes so long to absorb you cant get dressed.

I really wouldn't recommend this product. I thought because of it's price it would work, but it's really not worth it! :(

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th September, 2014 at 6:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I used it with the aim to assist with scars. I haven't seen any improvement in scars in the two years I've used it. My skin has always been prone to dehydration since my first pregnancy and I must admit it has been great for hydration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
13th September, 2014 at 2:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for me

After reading the glowing testimonials for this product, I used it throughout my pregnancy and after in regards to stretch marks. It did nothing to prevent giant angry stripes from appearing and did nothing to reduce their appearance. Perhaps it works for scars and dry skin but I found it no use at all. There's a few products out there formulated specifically for stretchmarks, perhaps have them at hand as well if you find Bio-Oil just doesn't make the cut.

Tips: Prepare to get messy, slimy and sticky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
9th September, 2014 at 9:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't work for me

I jumped on the bio oil band wagon when I was pregnant with my daughter, I used it at least twice a day every day for around 7 months of my pregnancy and probably about 6 months after. Unfortunately it didn't do anything for me to either reduce stretchmarks occuring or lighten them once I'd got them. This is a nice smelling, subtle product, it absorbs relatively easily for an oil product and I found it did help reduce the itchniness I felt across my stomach while I was pregnant. I dont think I'd use it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th September, 2014 at 8:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hit and Miss

I originally bought this product after hearing such great reviews about it being no. 1 for stretch marks, but I have to say, I’m not all that convinced on their claims. I have been using it on my hips and thighs for a number of months and have not seen an improvement. I must say however, I haven’t seen them get worse either. Despite this fact, I am still happy to continue using this oil and will probably still repurchase next winter. My skin is quite dry and sensitive at times and I have found the oil to be quite good in relieving my rough dry skin. I use it underneath my moisturiser and it doesn’t leave any oily residue. It smells nice, and the packaging is fine, it would just be a little better if the lid was different as it gets slippery to open after a while with oily hands! A must have for me over the winter months, but maybe not so much during summer.

Tips: Apply under moisturised for extra depth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th September, 2014 at 3:13 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Go to Scar Repair

This is my go to scar repair solution.

I tend to use it during the Summer months when my legs are exposed. I do motorcross, so over the years have had some quite deep scars on my body from it. Bio Oil is my go to "fix it" oil. It really does help with repairing the skin and toning out the uneven skin tone.

It's very light and easy to apply. Only a small amount is needed to cover the affected areas, leaving the product to last you a long period of time. Bio Oil leaves your skin feeling smooth and soft.

I do think that it is pricey, the Warehouse sometimes have specials on it, so look out for these deals.

Comes in a see through bottle, i transfer the contents into a small spray bottle, this makes it super easy to apply to the area in need, and will allow just the right amount, as the bottle tends to give more than is needed.

I would recommend this product to all.

Tips: Pour the Bio Oil into a small spray bottle, making it easier to apply.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
9th September, 2014 at 12:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not all it's made out to be

This product comes in a variety of sizes. 3 in total. It comes in a tidy and attractive box with a list of preventatives and what the product can help reduce the visibility of. It has instructions on how to use the product. I used this product for 6 months solid on my very dark and prominent stretch marks on my stomach and hips. (3x 200ml bottles) and did not notice any clear results. After showering, and applying religously I do not deem this product as great as it's advertised.

Tips: Maybe a longer trial period could help make results more noticeable

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
1st September, 2014 at 8:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I have been using Bio Oil for over a year due to this being the only product I knew of that was supposed to reduce stretch marks. My stretch marks are quite light due to getting a tad fatter going from a size ten to a twelve. I have only got stretch marks all over my hips and have found that this item doesn't help too fade or reduce them. I was using this product twice a day as advised. To be honest I wouldn't waste my money on this item as it is a waste of time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »