Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
29th April, 2015 at 10:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for everyone, but worth a shot!

Bio Oil has been a family favourite for a while now. My mother uses it all the time, and after a bad cold quite a while ago it became one of mine too.

During that cold my nose suffered much more than normal - it was quite cracked and sore, and extremely dry. As a last resort I used some Bio Oil and it worked perfectly! Very hydrating.

I now always have some with me, and try to use it at least once a week for stretch marks (although I am very forgetful).

I worked for a time in a pharmacy and 100% of the time would suggest this product to women who wanted to fade stretch marks, scars, hydrate skin and the like!

The different size bottles also allows for a range of uses. It's not very expensive either, and you get what you pay for!

Tips: It definitely has an oily consistency, and is quite slippery, and don't use too much because it does stay on your skin for a while until it absorbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
28th April, 2015 at 8:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I didn't really enjoy using this product...I used it every day during and after my pregnancy on my stomach and breasts and it did nothing...I found it hard to use as it was too runny and oily so it would drop everywhere before I managed to get any on me...also didn't like the smell of it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2015 at 4:13 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio oil

I love bio oil. I used it when my son got second degree burns at age 5. It worked on him and he hasn't got a scar in sight. I also use Bio oil on my cuticles. I also use it in my moisturiser just a drop, in winter when my skin is a bit more dry. I put in my night cream too. My skin feels fantastic. When I don't use I can feel the difference. I have recommended to my friends too and they all rave about how there skin feels since using it. I wouldn't recommend using it if you have oily skin this way.

Tips: Put in day and night cream (just a drop) mix with cream and apply on face. Great in winter if you experience more dry skin than usual.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I've just been reading all the bad reveiws. It's a good tip to mix it with something, maybe that's what it needs to get the right result. I wonder how it would go mixed with coconut oil?

Overall rating:
3.0/5
24th April, 2015 at 5:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

hmmmmm, Bio Oil.. The big fuss on specialist skincare for scars, winkles etc.. I myself purchased Bio Oil for a scar after getting a birthmark removed from my leg, one thing when buying that gave me second thought was the statement "applt twice daily for a minimum of 3 months" THREE MONTHS!! is this how long it would take before I started to see results? But I thought I would give it a good from plenty of recommendations etc.. I personally didn't think it was that great as it took awhile to work but I do think my scar has healed better than what it would of without using it. Although the scar is still quite visible, I think this product would work better for more minor things as stated such as dehydrated skin and minor stretch marks etc

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th April, 2015 at 4:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mixed review but good for me

I got the worst stretch marks from teenage growth spurts and I covered myself up until they faded. They finally faded at 17!! At 20yrs old I got a surprise pregnancy and a big concern for me was my fragile skin !!!! What was I going to use to stop what happend a few years ago that iv only just healed from. Distinctivly I chose bio oil. I used it twice a day everyday from my breast down to the bottom of my theighs and Im honestly speaking that I did not gain one stretch mark and my skin looks exactly how it did before I had her.

Tips: Give it just once more go? You never know !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
24th April, 2015 at 1:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
awful smell

i have bought this and used it a few different times based on other people recommending it. The three times i bought i used it for extended periods hoping it would work. but it just never did anything but make my skin feel oily. And smell awful!

Tips: don't waste your money

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
22nd April, 2015 at 11:20 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rosehip Oil is Better

I have a huge scar on my thigh from a drunken accident. I hated how big and purple and noticeable it was. Everyone talks about how Bio Oil works great for scars so I gave it a try. After 2 weeks I didn't notice any differences. It was hard to use and feel very heavy and gross. I changed to rosehip oil and my scar is disappearing as I type.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st April, 2015 at 7:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Quite good

bio oil reduced the color of my stretch marks and my scar. It left my skin feeling really nice. I didn't really believe the label when I was looking into something to use when I was pregnant but I was pleasantly surprised with the results I got from bio oil during and after pregnancy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
1st April, 2015 at 7:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Happy to be proved wrong

I always thought that the hype and marketing around Bio Oil was, well, BS, until I tried it myself. I received a 60ml bottle as a gift with purchase the Christmas before last, and it sat around untouched for several months before I thought hey, I'll give it a go.

I was really surprised at this product after a couple of weeks of using it! My favourite way to use is to use on healing skin - mostly dried up pimples on my face but also scar tissue on all parts of my body. I find that the Bio Oil helps my skin heal much faster than it would using nothing. It also helps to hydrate those flaky bits of skin you can get after a pimple is 90% healed and therefore helps my make-up go on smoother.

Regardless of my love for Bio Oil, however, I would recommend you buy it when it's on sale. The price can be pretty insane but I have seen the 60ml bottle at the Warehouse for $10-$12 on a good day, and that is more than enough to last you months and months if you use it for spot treatments like me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2015 at 9:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

I was bitten by some sort of insect, which brought on a full eczema reaction all over my body, and after that went away, it left my skin with dark pigments and very, very dry. I don't know if the bio oil helped with the pigmentation, but it was great for the dry skin. It absorbed into the skin very well, and I was surprised to find that it did not leave a very oily feeling as I originally thought it would.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »