Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Bio Oil
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 2.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 2.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.5/5

Bio Oil

Overall rating:
2.6/5

Bio-Oil is a specialist skincare oil that helps improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks and uneven skin tone. It is also effective for ageing and dehydrated skin.  The Bio-Oil formulation is a combination of plant extracts and vitamins suspended in an oil base.

Oil, being oxygen-free, allows the plant extracts and vitamins to retain their potency.

Bio-Oil has won 70 skincare awards and has become the No.1 selling scar and stretch mark product in 11 countries since its global launch in 2002.  Bio-Oil is a member of Beauty Without Cruelty International.

Pack Size: 60ml, 125ml, 200ml

RRP: $14.95-$49 depending on pack size

Availability: Supermarkets,  Pharmacy, Department Store, The Warehouse, Farmers, Online

Website: www.bio-oil.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st November, 2013 at 4:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil Works

I love this product. It must have some magic which helps the cells so with daily use skin health is improved. I prefer to use Bio Oil, rather than a moisturiser, on my legs as it is still 'working' at the end of the day.

Tips: Use Bio Oil daily... and thank you to the person who recommended it to me..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd February, 2014 at 9:30 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brilliant Bio Oil

Definitely one of the best products to relieve dry and itchy skin. My husband used this twice daily after skin surgery on his nose and massaged it in well. The scaring is now only noticeable to those that know the surgery ever occurred. Amazing results and a great product.

Tips: Use every day to see results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th February, 2014 at 4:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Used religiously

I used bio oil religiously while pregnant on my tummy to hep avoid stretch marks. Came out the other side of pregnancy with no major stretch marks and fully believe it was due to bio oil use I also use it on dry skin spot of myself and by toddler. Love this product as it is doesn't leave a too oily residue (even though it is an oil) it also doesn't have an odour either. Only thing is that it isn't cheap, would love it to be a little more cost friendly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd March, 2014 at 5:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Scar reducer

I bought this when my two year old split her forehead open. After the healing I was concerned about the huge scar on her forehead. It was red, raised and obvious. The pharmacy girls recommended this. It was a savior in a bottle. The scar diminished to a fine line very faint. She is now 11 and has never worried about it. We applied it twice a day for a couple of months.

Tips: My father had a cancer growth taken off his nose he used this for his scarring....looks great

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th March, 2014 at 9:23 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It takes time, but does work.

This product claims to work on scars and dark marks. It also takes time. I used this miracle stuff over a period of four months. My daughter used it for the same period for some scars she wasn't happy with. I don't know if it was the massage motion or the actual oil, but in both cases, her scars faded, my facial scars faded and some pigmentation also faded. You don't need to use a lot, just a few drops, so it does work out to be economical. It smells pleasant and I have since bought more, and given some to a sister who had a bad accident requiring surgery. This stuff worked for me when Rosehip oil was too much for my skin. So...even though I naturally prefer natural products, this oil actually worked really well for both of us.

Tips: Don't give up on it too quickly. I think most of us want 'instant' effects, but when it comes to this stuff, the longer you use it, the better the effect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st March, 2014 at 5:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good stuff

I have been using bio oil for a few months now and the majority of my scars/ stretch marks have faded. I also use it on my face and hands when they are really dry and it does a really good job to give my skin that intense boost then back to the moisturiser I go. Don't like the smell much but because it works so well I can handle that

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st March, 2014 at 6:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing regenerating product

I love bio oil! I first started using it when I was pregnant with my daughter to prevent stretchmark’s. It was amazing. It can feel a bit oily but I did not get any stretchmark’s. It was also amazing as an evening facial moisturizer. Yes sounds so weird but it leaves your skin feeling so smooth in the morning and evens out blemishes and fine lines. I also used it after my c-section after my son. My scar is practically gone and I scar terribly. It is a great regenerating product!

Tips: only use a very little bit on the tip of your fingers when putting it on your face. also great to add to your bath for a all over repair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2014 at 4:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

So many uses!

When I first tried Bio Oil, it was because I was given a sample size, so I got to try it out before I spent the money on it. I am so glad I did because I use Bio Oil for many things and have repurchased a bunch of times.

1.Makeup Remover/Lash Serum Once or twice a week, I will use Bio Oil to remove my eye makeup before cleansing. (Side note: This should be done carefully and the eyes should not be opened until you have rinsed it off.) It not only removes my makeup easily, but it also coats my lashes and helps them grow. I glue on false lashes pretty much every day, and even with all the glue I use, I have noticed my lashes are longer and stronger since I have been using the Bio Oil on them.

2. Shaving Oil. I came across this trick accidentally. I was shaving my legs and the gel fell of my shaver. My Bio Oil was already in the shower with me so I put some on my legs and then shaved them. My legs were SO SMOOTH after, and I also noticed it took a little longer for the hairs to grow back. I use Bio Oil every time I shave my legs now and I think the hairs may even be growning back softer now!?

3.Hair Treatment I use Bio Oil on the mid-lengths to ends of my hair after I have washed it. My hair is pretty dry and after washing is super dry - especially on the ends. So I put a little Bio Oil on my hand, distribute it through the bottom of my hair, and then comb it through. It definitely puts some moisture back in after the washing has dried it out.

4.Dry Skin Remedy Whenever I have a dry patch of skin, I use Bio Oil on it. The fact that it's an oil really helps get some moisture back into the skin.

5. Overnight Lip Remedy I quite often put some Bio Oil on my lips just before I go to bed. I wake up with super soft lips in the morning.

There is so much more to Bio Oil than just being used on stretch marks. I don't care that I have stretch marks, so have never used the Bio Oil on them. It definitely does work for all the above uses, and there are probably many more uses too.

Bio Oil is the kind of product that's good to have around, you never know what use you'll find for it. I have to say though, I am not sure why so many people are always surprised that it's an oil. Why would a product called Bio Oil be anything but? It does feel weird on your skin if you aren't used to using oils, but that doesn't mean it's bad for your skin. There are plenty of oils around that are great for skin, hair and body.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th April, 2014 at 10:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Magic!

I have used this product for the past few years on scars I got during my teenage years. Just a tiny bit of oil rubbed I each day and within weeks there was a drastic difference in the appearance of my scars. After a couple of months some of my scars have completely disappeared! Sure it is quite expensive but it is worth it! The oil is good, it has a pleasant smell and rubs in quickly leaving your skin feeling nice and not greasy at all!

Tips: Use as directed for best results, otherwise it's a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th May, 2014 at 11:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bio Oil

This product works really well. Its smells so nice and is a really light dry oil that goes a long way. I used it during both of my pregnancies and it prevented me from getting any stretch marks which was much appreciated. I have since used it on scars which it has healed and as a moisturizer also. I really enjoy using this product and will continue to do so in future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »