Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Marzena’s Hair Lightener for Face & Body Review
Marzena’s Hair Lightener for Face & Body Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

Marzena’s Hair Lightener for Face & Body Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Marzena introduces Marzena’s Hair Lightener for Face & Body – a gentle cream which lightens even the darkest hair, greatly reducing its visibility. 

If winter signifies embarrassing dark facial/body hair and a rush to cover up, then Marzena is here to help.Marzena’s Hair Lightener can help women feel confident and feminine again, providing them with a product to lighten even the darkest body hair making it almost unnoticeable.

The special formula gently blends hair with the natural skin colour, resulting in amazing lightened hair all year round.This treatment is quick, simple and easy-to-use leaving more time to enjoy the fun things in life! 

RRP: $23.99

Availability: Available from supermarkets and pharmacies nationwide

Website: www.marzena.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd June, 2016 at 9:34 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My go-to hair lightener!

I have tried numerous hair lighteners, some with powder, and many that have irritated my skin. Would be confident recommending Marzena Hair Lightener as I have no problems using this, even with my sensitive skin. It's super quick, application is easy and it does exactly what it purports to do. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th July, 2015 at 8:17 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very impressed

I have mostly blonde hair but darker brown and coarser underarm and leg hair, probably from shaving. I trialled this product on my underarm and top of arm, I found it super easy to mix and apply with the applicator. Has a slight ammonia smell to it but can only be smelt if you put your nose close to the cream. The cream puffs up after about 4 minutes and at that point I felt a slight stinging on the top of arm site but not at the underarm site. I removed the cream on the top of my arm after 8 minutes and noticed my fine arm hairs had lightened. Removed a small amount from the underarm but it wasn't done yet. So I left it for another 5 minutes and that time I removed it all and compared to my other underarm and the hair was considerably lighter than my other underarm. For this price I was very impressed that after one application my hair was lighter. Would definitely recommend, didn't make my sensitive skin react either apart from the slight stinging which lasted for about a minute.

Tips: Do the test prior to using to make sure you do not react. Has some harsh chemicals so people with very sensitive skin may have a reaction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
4th July, 2015 at 2:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not what I expected!

Ok so just to put a base layer down the hair on my body is dark. I shave my legs only so the hairs there are quite dark and seem pretty thick. The hair on my upper lip has only ever been waxed a few times as it not that obvious but it's still noticeable from a close distance. I was planning on trying the product in those two areas.

First I tried the product on one of my legs. It didn't take long to put together at all as it had said. It felt just like running a moisturizer over my legs but letting it sit there instead of rubbing it in. The wait time was 7-10 minutes but after a few minutes of applying the product I felt it start to burn! I looked down at my leg and it had started to form bubbles all over my leg. It was subtle at first but then it really started to hurt so I could only last with the product on for about five or so minutes. I took it off and rinsed with cold water. The hairs on my leg were still very noticeable but had definitely lightened up a bit. The burning instantly stopped when i removed the product from my skin.

After a few days I tried again but on the other leg. I read the instructions over again just in case I had missed something. I did have a shower previous to doing it last time so perhaps the heat of the shower had opened my my pores which it said could increase sensitivity. This time I didn't, and ran cool water over my leg to make sure it was cold. I applied the product again the same way but the same thing happened. I could last the full 7 minutes this time but it still burned and bubbled. I feel like if i went the ten minutes it could have made a much bigger difference. Again the hair was still very noticeable but had clearly lightened up a bit.

I was planning on trying this product on my upper lip as well but after what happened with my legs I was a bit hesitant as this area is much more sensitive than my legs. In the end i didn't as I was afraid something worse would happen.

It was very quick to prepare and apply. It could just be me that had this experience with this product but I felt if it didn't burn and I left it on longer than I did, it would have lightened my hair much more than it did. I'm really disappointed this didn't work for me as I was looking forward to using it more often! I would definitely recommend this to someone else to see if they react like I did, this could possibly work for someone else!

Tips: Make sure your skin is nice and cool. If it is hot then your skin may be more sensitive to this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
2nd July, 2015 at 10:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good product some irritation

So where to start, I tried this product on my arm as I am a very dark haired person and it being winter it tends to be more prominent. The best thing about this is that it is so simple mix equal quantities of the two products together, leave on for 7 minutes and hey presto! Super simple. The smell is awful very chemically but what can you expect, it would be nice if it had sometime of mild natural frangrance because it is quite overwhelming and for myself if I don't like the smell of something it puts me off straight away. I applied the product as instructed and started the wait of 7 minutes which passes quite quickly, better than say 20 minutes. I don't by any means have sensitive skin but the product did become a bit itchy and stingy after about the sixth minute so I removed it straight away. Even after leaving it on for only 6 minutes I saw there was a significant lightening in my hair colour not orange or anything just a warm blonde kind of colour which I was quite happy with. Overall I quite like this product my experience with it wasn't the best but the end result was good, so I probably will use again to see if it was just a one off. I would recommend this product to others because it's super easy to use and the end result is good and if you dread getting waxing done this is probably a good alternative.

Tips: Make sure to do a test patch

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th June, 2015 at 11:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Marzena Hair Lightner for Face and Body Review

I used this product on forearm hair as i don't have any noticeable facial hair. The instructions for this product were very easy to follow and the product was easy to mix. The product has a slight bleach smell but was not too over powering. Application of the product was a bit messy however the product was easy to apply with the spatula provided. I left the product on for 7-8 minutes and it lightened my har from a medium brown to a light lone in that time. The product stung my skin for the duration of that time but it was bearable. It definitely did wha it said it would and would recommend to people with noticeable facial hair etc.

Tips: Wear a short sleeved old top if doing arm hair and moisturise afterwards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
27th June, 2015 at 3:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

It did an amazing job lightened my upper chin. The hair is now blonde and are blending in unnoticeable into your skin tone.

The smell is not intense (nearly fragrance free) compared to other bleaches which is wonderful. I hate the strong smell of bleaches, it gives me a headache. It does leave the skin feeling smooth afterward. When I applied it onto my skin, I experienced a stinging feeling (not really burning sensation) but I reckon it is not a big deal. It does go away after you rinse your skin with cold water. It is very easy to apply and the fact that the box comes with a little mixing container which is very handy.

To sum up, I like the product, would use it again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Tips: DO read the instructions CAREFULLY before using the product. DO a test when first trying out this product, it may not be suitable for those people with sensitive skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th June, 2015 at 12:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great product!

I was a bit sceptical about this product, as it said it was gentle while doing lightening. I was very impressed with the results of this product. I used it on a patch on my arm, and left it on for the 7 minutes like it says and there was a noticeable difference. I have quite hairy arms, and so I was quite excited to try this. I can't wait to use it more.

Tips: If you want your hair lighter, leave it on for longer, up to 25 minutes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th June, 2015 at 1:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dark hair now light!

I have very dark hair on my arms - I also have extremely sensitive skin so was interested to try this. Really impressed, my dark hair has now lightened considerably. This product didn't worry my sensitive skin - my arm didn't even go tingly. I will definitely recommend to friends as I have many with the same predicament.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th June, 2015 at 8:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hair Lightener

My hair is quite light brown to begin with and usually i would be happy with it but i thought i'd give this product a go! I followed the instructions to a tee! (which were very straight forward). I have quite sensitive skin and it only started feeling tingly at about the 8min mark (should leave on skin for 7-10 mins) so i took it off then. The results were really good! my arm hair is now blonde and you can hardly see it! Would recommend <3

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2015 at 6:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worked wonders

I had just started noticing a few darker hairs either side of my upper lip and wondering if I should wax, pluck or lighten? I'm glad I got to trial this product it was easy, caused no irritation and lightened the hair easy. I just mixed up a little bit and applied it to the hairs that bothered me and within 7 minutes they were light ! So awesome. I have two beautiful daughters with dark hair and I think it's hentle enough to use on them as one is starting to show dark hair on her upper lip. Hope it lightens her dark hair too!

Tips: It does tingle a little when it first goes on don't panic it calms down just as fast it doesn't mean irritation is occurring!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

I use my body lotion for other reasons

view results

Review of the Day
SandieNZ
My new fave
I received the serum as part of a review panel for the entire range. I have a crazy amount of hair - it's not… more »