Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Shampoo and Conditioner Reviews
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Shampoo and Conditioner Reviews

Overall rating:
4.1/5

Fructis Sleek & Shine: The paraben-free formula combines argan oil to intensely nourish, and phyto-keratin, a naturally occuring protein, to replenish the hair fibre for a lasting smooth, anti-free result.

RRP: $5.09 each

Availability: Selected department stores, pharmacies and online

Websitewww.garnier.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th October, 2017 at 8:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Did what it said it would

Intrigued to see how this product would perform I already had it made up in my mind that it wouldn't be very successful. But I can confirm that this product absolutely does what it says it's going to do. I have wavy to curly hair unbrushed. When I brush it it turns frizzy. From the first time using both the Shampoo and Conditioner there definitely was a noticeable difference. The frizz has reduced completely and I have had multiple comments from people asking if I've had a haircut because my ends looked so healthy. It looks thicker, healthier and like it has more volume. I do not have frizz and flyaways like I usually do. The Cons... I do feel like my hair gets oilier a lot faster, particularly around the roots which I find annoying to have to wash my hair every 2-3 days instead of 3-4 days. I do think my hair tends to be more on the oiler side but it is increasingly more so with this product. To sum up... I do approve of this product. I do believe it does what it says its going to do. If frizz control is something that is of utmost importance to you then I would give this a try. I would definitely use this again but only for the times when I am going out or want it to look thick, rich, sleek and healthy. As for day to day, personally I do not like how quickly my roots feel oily and for this reason I wouldn't use it regularly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 7:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Sleek and Shine Shampoo and Conditioner

My first impression of the products was the packaging. They have a nice green colour that screams goodness and health for your hair. I think it would be easy to find in the supermarket. Second impression was opening the bottles. They smell divine, very nice and fresh. This factor is very important to me because I get headaches if the smell is too strong. After passing that test, I really need it to try it.

The products are easy to handle and you don’t need to have a fight to open them. I have long hair but I didn’t need much product so the bottles will last for a while.

The shampoo kept my hair clean for a long time and the conditioner made it easier to comb my hair after washing it.

I won’t say they eliminated all the frizzy but it was reduced. Also my hair looked shiny.

That both of them are paraben free is an extra bonus.

They are my new “Precious”.

Tips: You don't need to use much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 3:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sleek and Shine Shampoo and Conditioner

Wow what a pairing. Having hair that is curly underneath with a straightish layer on top my hair is my hairdressers worse nightmare. Having used this shampoo and conditioner combination I'm sold. I've used many so called sleek, anti frizz, shine shampoos and conditioners over the years and have never found one that's actually done all of those. Well I'm happy to say I have now. From the first time I tried I could feel the difference in my hair from being able to run my comb thru my wet hair after applying the conditioner to after towel drying my hair it didn't feel matted and again the comb glided thru and when I went to blow dry my hair my brush went thru nice and smoothly and even my straighteners went thru my hair with no snagging at all. But what really sold me was after using the first day I went to work and was told that 'my hair looked really lovely today and had I been and had it done yesterday' (now that never happens especially on washing hair day) and even the other day I went to my hairdressers and even she commented that my hair was looking good. Loving the green bottles they come in easy to know which one is shampoo (clear green bottle) and which one is conditioner (solid light green) and love the fruity smell of both, not too overpowering and the smell lasts for awhile. Awesome with the added Argan Oil (which I often smoothed onto my hair before drying) and will help protect my hair from heat damaged. Overall am extremely happy with this shampoo and conditioner and will definitely keep using.

Tips: As the shampoo is quite runny don't tip the bottle right up, otherwise a lot will come out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 2:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Shampoo/Conditioner

I was sent this product as part of the trial team and got the Sleek & Shine shampoo/conditioner as when I leave my hair to dry naturally it is extremely frizzy. The smell of the shampoo & conditioner is delicious and I loved how it my hair smelled just like it for ages afterwards. I did find the shampoo was runnier than other shampoos I have used in the past but the good thing is you only need about a 50c piece worth to do your hair. The shampoo foams well, and the conditioner spreads easily in your hair and both washe out without leaving that slick feel on your skin where it has run off like others can. Even after the first time using the products my hair was calmer looking and I found after using the shampoo together with the conditioner a couple more times my hair got even better when drying and got nice soft well contained curls instead of looking like I was shocked.

Tips: You don't need a lot of either to do a head of hair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 1:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good every day combo

The design of these bottles makes them easy to handle in the shower. I'm not overly keen on the particular green colour used. The fruity/floral scent is pleasant and not too strong. Combined, they did do what they stated just not as well as I had hoped. My frizziness was reduced enough to make a difference, however, no noticeable change in the shininess. The effects lasted until I next washed my hair (approx 36hours). My hair never felt oily as has happened with other products I've tried that were designed to control frizz. Overall, I think for the price range it is an ok Shampoo & Conditioner to use every day. I also like the fact they have made their bottles more recyclable but it would be good if the could make the lids recyclable too.

Tips: Do not leave bottles standing on their lids as they start to fill with product. Remove lid and rinse well before recycling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 1:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sleek & Shine

Definitely made my hair feel super clean and smooth and also made it much easier to handle....after using irons my hair felt even smoother and I found I didn't need to wash it as much after using this product. Has a really gentle fragrance and comes in a great sized bottle so will last awhile which is good value for money.

Tips: Shampoo is very runny so be careful when using as you will end up with too much in your hands

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
28th October, 2017 at 12:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth using solely for the scent, but there's more

I really enjoyed trialing this Shampoo and Conditioner product as I have a tendency for frizzy hair and I'm always on the look out for products that will help. I like the packaging which is quite elegant, i much prefer the more natural green to the original vibrant green, and I think it stands out from the other bottles of product in the shower. Also love Garnier is doing their bit for the planet with the bottles being made out of the most easily recycled plastic, well done to them. The tops are very sturdy and are perfect for standing the bottles if you're like me and prefer to have the product ready to go when you need it. Both the Shampoo and Conditioner have a lovely scent, both are slightly different but complement each other. My hair smelt lovely the next day and even had a comment from my son about how nice my hair smelt. The shampoo lathered beautifully and rinsed clean very easily. The Conditioner was very thick and creamy with a slight oiliness to it, it smoothed through the hair nicely, it did require slightly more rinsing than my normal which may be due to the oil but definitely worth it. It left my hair feeling silky smooth and completely knot free. After my shower I was able to easily run a brush through my hair without any snags or pulling. I tend not to use a hair dryer so letting it dry naturally it dried lovely and shiny and very smooth. I tend to leave 3 days between a wash so was able to test the 72hr frizz free claim and must admit there was definitely a reduction in the fly aways I tend to get around my face. I tried the product out on my 8yr old daughters long hair, again with a tendency to Frizz, and got great results. Her hair just required a quick brush each morning to tidy it up and it was beautifully shiny and kept her 'fluffy bits', as she likes to call them, in check. Once this product runs out it will certainly be repurchased and is likely to take up a permanent position in my daughters shower and most likely mine.

Tips: Don't skimp on the time you leave the conditioner in, i like it give it a good 5 minutes, then remember to rinse it really thoroughly, be prepared for silky smooth hair!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
28th October, 2017 at 6:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Healthy Shiny Hair

First of all, the packaging is pretty great, it looks stylish and it's easy to store in my shower caddy. The first time I used it, I noticed immediately that my hair looked shiny and healthier. I have been using it for the past couple of weeks and I really think it's an amazing shampoo and conditioner. It has improved the condition of my hair and it smells amazing. As far as my frizz goes, it hasn't eliminated that but it has minimised it. Overall, I am very impressed with this product and would definitely buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
24th October, 2017 at 2:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Above average shampoo

Like I have said in previous reviews, the shampoo and conditioner were really easy to use. The kids were a lot easier to open than previous Garnier products. I really liked the smell of the duo, smell is really important for me in a shampoo and conditioner. The duo appeared to leave my hair cleaner for longer as well as feeling softer, shinier and less frizzy. This is what the shampoo and conditioner said it would do. Despite this I am uncertain as to whether it was the change in shampoo and conditioner that did this instead. I would use this again as I like the smell and it appears to have some good effect.

Tips: I used the shampoo on my roots only, but as I was washin it out I washed the shampoo through the rest of my hair. This worked well for me. Leave the conditioner in for as long as possible. I used a wide tooth comb to brush in the conditioner and detangle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd October, 2017 at 2:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
You get a lot for spending so little!

I was lucky enough to get this to trial, and was excited to see that it's paraben-free. I have very fine, frizz-prone hair, that I have to dye every few weeks due to having a lot of greys. I find it really hard to find shampoo and conditioner that truly delivers on the 'sleeking' and 'shining' front. However, I have to say, after using this a few times now, it really does deliver! I've noticed over the years that some shampoos and conditioners are great the first time you use them, and then for whatever reason, just don't deliver the same good results in subsequent uses (why is this by the way??). But this Garnier product has actually continued to make my hair much sleeker and shinier with subsequent washes. We have also had some hot days recently, followed by rain, which usually makes my hair frizz, but not so this week after using this product! I also love the pretty bottles that are easy to use, and it smells great. This is a trial product that I'd actually buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »