Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Mita Active Non-Slip Snag-Free Elastic Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Mita Active Non-Slip Snag-Free Elastic Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Mita Active Non-Slip Snag-Free Elastics.

 Each pack contains a mix of thick and thin elastics, ideal for all hair types.  The bands are snag free and won't pull or tug hair when you remove them, AND they each have a special non-slip silicone strip, which means your pony tail will be held firm.

Available in black, blonde and brown.

RRP: $6.99

Availability: Farmers, selected pharmacies and online

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th August, 2017 at 6:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The best elastics for thick hair!

I have #thickhairproblems - generally hair ties are too loose tied around twice but won't go a third time. And they don't last very long as they stretch and become useless. Actually in love with these elastics, they hold tight, keep their shape and elasticity, don't frey and with the different sizes I have pony tails, gym buns ans plats all covered in one pack!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th July, 2017 at 9:51 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing hair ties

Of course when I saw these feature on BR it sparked my interest and I just had to go out and buy some. They cost $6.99 at farmers and come in a pack of 10. I got them in black which suits my hair perfectly.

They come in 2 different sizes but if I am honest it is hard to tell them apart. They come in a little resealable bag but I don't use it. I prefer to pop my hair ties in a container in my bathroom.

I have very long hair and have to tie it up for work everyday so hair ties are a must. I need my hair secure so I don't have to fuss with it during the day. These hair ties definately lived up to my expectations. They don't have a tonne of stretch at first but they do loosen up overtime. I manage to wrap them around twice in my hair and once in they do not budge until I take them out at night.

The silicon strip is a brilliant idea. They don't snag in my hair at all. I am in love with these hair ties! Definately give them a try if you wear hair ties regularly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

They sound good Lisa, I'd been keen to try them. I get white ones from The Warehouse (mixed really but I only use the white ones). They're ok initially but they quickly go slack and loose, which is no good.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 9:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mita Active Non-Slip Elastic Non- Slip Hair Ties

My first impressions were that the ties looked too thin for the volume of hair I have and that they wouldn't give or stretch enough for me to tie my hair in two turns like I mormally do. So I decided to pre-stretch them which I think helped as they are initially very tight. I like that the ties have a rubber grip on the inside, this is of course what makes them 'non-slip'. In all honesty whichever way you tie your hair, it will stay tied that way for the duration of the day without slipping. The colour matched my hair well & I think the price per pack is reasonable. I would recommend purchasing these :)

Tips: Give them a quick stretch prior to use to loosen them up as they are quite tight brand new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th June, 2017 at 6:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mita Active Non-Slip Snag-Free Elastic

Firstly I love the packaging! It's resealable so it's great to throw in your handbag so you have them on the go. It also comes with two hair ties attached to the outside (one of each type) so you can see what they look like and how stretchy they are.

You get 10 in a pack which is okay. I would prefer more as I tend to go through them fast as they break or I lose them but hoping these will last because of the design and the resealable package.

I like how they come in black, brown and blonde as well as thin and thicker ties. I found them a bit unstretchy at first but after a few wears they were easier to use. They defintely stay in place and snag less compared to my regular hair ties. I'm not too sure if I will repurchase as the price is a lot more than I usually spend on hair ties (I usually get about 20 for $2) but who knows!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 6:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mita Active Non-Slip Snag-Free Elastics

These come in a pack of 10 hair ties with 2 different widths in a little resealable pouch. There isn't a big difference between the 2 widths though. There is a silicone strip which runs along the inside of them. They come in a few colours so should be able to find one to match you almost perfectly. I got them in black.

I have fairly thin quite straight hair and these were perfect for me! The silicone strip was great at keeping my hair in place once it was up in a ponytail. Normally, I have to re-tie my ponytail multiple times throughout the course of a day but these did an amazing job at keeping the ponytail in place. This wraps around my hair 3 times. Even though it is quite a firm hold, it isn't uncomfortable or painful in any way.

These hair ties don't tug or snag at your hair even as you pull it out. There are no metal bits where hair can catch on to.

I would definitely repurche these. They are a great product at a very affordable price :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 3:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Everyone needs these

Having lots of long hair, 4 kids and working the farm life I need hair ties. My hair is mostly in a mum bun or in a really high ponytail. I'm also very fussy with hair ties so I was very excited to be invited to trial these (thanks BR)

These come in a resealable pouch, a great idea as if your like me you'll take your hair tie out at the end of the day, put it somewhere then it gets lost.

In the pack there is 5 thick ties and 5 thin ties. To be honest I didn't see much of a difference between the 2 sizes. The tan coloured ties are perfect for my blonde mop as they almost blend in.

I love how these have a decent amount of stretch and how one side that has like a rubbery silicone side so it grips onto your hair. Usually I have to make my hair tie go around my hair 3 times and pull it super tight, not with these bad boys though, twice is enough and everything holds in place.

There is no metal clamp in them that gets caught on your hair another thing I love about these hair ties. These really are great hair ties and I won't be buying anything else now. I love the rubbery inside and the fact that you don't have to have your hair tied super tight for it to stay in place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
24th June, 2017 at 3:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Holds hair very well

These actually do what they say and don't slip. Held up my heavy long thick pontail better than anything else I've used and didn't snag my hair at all.

I only gave it a 4 for using it again because if i wrapped it around my ponytail twice it was too loose but I found 3 was too tight and I started getting a headache after a while. However, these are good for the ends of plaits so I will use them for that. Once they stretch a little they might be ok for my ponytail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 2:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Hair Tie!

I think our household goes through about a million hair ties a month or close to it- I have long thick hair and usually use 2 to 3 hair ties to hold my hair up and my 4 year old has super long fine hair and she loses at least 1 a day. So trying new hair ties is something I do on a regular basis so I was looking forward to trying these! I like these! They do what they say and keep your hair from slipping out of a ponytail, however I did find that in my hair (long and thick) I did need to use 2 ties to hold it up as its quite heavy. On the other hand these were absolutely brilliant in my daughters hair and kept her long mane out of her face all day and only needed to be adjusted after the odd roly poly had been attempted. Usually with her I'm constantly adjusting her hair all day as its so fine it just slips out of amy tie I've used. I'm going to purchase more of these more for my daughter than myself but I would recommend particularly for fine hair.

Tips: Double them up if you have long thick hair!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 9:20 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fantastic elastic

These elastic hair bands are a soft elastic material with a small line of clear rubber around one side, very similar to the clear material around some tops to help hold them in place.

Being a ponytail girl for well over 15 years I definitely know my elastics I stopped doing my high ponytail due to hair breakage as I had to do a tight tie to keep my hair up and in its tail and due to failure of some elastics I was splitting my ponytail and pulling it apart sideways to get the elastic back up and tighten it Harsh on hair very harsh.

So to my surprise these bands do stay in and do not need to be in super tight to stay in place, so a nice hold without having to wrap the elastic so tight around my hair that it cut its circulation off lol and that's what slowly caused a weak spot in my hair. The non slip definitely works, even stays in when I'm doing exercise. Small enough to to be discreet and the colour blends in with my hair, ( I tended to go for big soft hair ties thinking they were softer on hair and they are very hard to get a natural colour always a mix of lime greens and reds etc) nice to have a small band that stays in and doesn't get caught in my hair maybe gone are the days of having a hair band that hurts on the way out and after a weeks use looks like a fur ball with all the hair that get suck around it.

These come in a resealable pack perfect to chuck in my bag, ten in a pack with a couple of different sizes (band thickness) that stay in without pulling the odd hair on the way out. One of the best hair ties I've tried value for sure as the band after a weeks use still is nice and stretchy.

Tips: Try and put them on with the clear plastic strip on your hair

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
24th June, 2017 at 8:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mita Non Slip

These come in different colours and two different widths. I like how there are two hair ties on the outside of the pack so you can gauge how stretchy they are. I also like the fact that the packet is resealable!

I like the idea that there is a silicone strip on one side of the hair tie to stop it sliding, but it didn't really do a whole lot for me.

The thicker ones were impossible to tie around my hair, especially in a bun. They are not as stretchy as the thinner ones. The thinner ones however, took a while to loosen up a little as they were too rigid at first. I found that tying them twice around my hair wasn't enough as they would slip and they weren't worn in enough to tie three times. After about 5 or so days of wearing them in my hair and on my wrist they gradually stretched and now they are perfect!

They also don't have any metal clasping them together which is great! I hate the feeling of the metal pinching and tearing my hair.

They also haven't snapped yet! I usually snap one hair tie a week due to my super long and thick hair.

Overall, this product is pretty good. Not fabulous but I can see the idea about the silicone non slip strip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Hmm, no. What am I missing out on?

view results

Review of the Day
Simones
This is my product OF THE YEAR!
How have I ever lived without this product? HOW? My hair is blonde, and I need to colour… more »