Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

The new L'Oréal Extraordinary Clay range consists of four products containing 3 refined clays.  The range is designed to rebalance oily roots while hydrating the lengths - all without weighing your hair down.

The range consists of a pre-shampoo clay mask, shampoo, conditioner and dry shampoo. 

RRP: $6.59

Pack Size: 250ml

Availability:  Farmers, Supermarkets and selected pharmacies

Website:  www.lorealparis.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th July, 2017 at 12:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Clay Range

I am a girl who usually washes her hair every day as I have very oily roots and hate the look of it. since using the L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range i have been able to go 2-3 days between washes. I will definitely be using this range again!

All 4 of the products have the same clean, fresh smell that is gorgeous. The aqua packaging is very appealing too. I started off by using the Pre-Shampoo Clay mask. The custard like cream came in a rather large tub and was easily applied once you got the hang of it. Initially a bit messy and time consuming trying to segment hair to ensure to only get it in the roots. Once rinsed out I followed with the shampoo and conditioner. The shampoo lathered excellently and a little amount went along way. Once washed out, my hair felt cleansed and almost squeaky to touch. I used the conditioner only on the lower half of my hair, avoiding the roots. It made my hair feel very moisturised and silky to touch. Once dry, my hair looked very shiny, bouncy at the roots and was soft to touch. It was easy to style and there seemed to be less knots in it than usual. The dry shampoo I liked the least out of the 4 products as it only removed a small proportion of oil residue and found it left my hair quite damp after using it. However on a positive it did not leave any powdery residue like other dry shampoos do and smelt amazing. Overall I recommend this product range for anyone like me with oily roots that wants to make them a thing of the past!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th July, 2017 at 11:46 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A really nice hair care range

I was fortunate enough to be in the trial for this product and I can say I really liked it! The packaging is really nice and the whole product range smells like a sea breeze.

Hair mask: this is a really thick green colour (same colour as the packaging). I found it a little difficult to apply as I have a lot of hair. It was difficult to get it into the scalp rather than just on my hair. This product is meant to help balence your scalp and I did notice my roots were less oily and my scalp felt nice, but I can't say it was so amazing that I would purchase this. Perhaps if you have really oily hair (more than mine) it would make a difference?

Shampoo: love the shampoo, you don't need to apply a lot as this lathers up sooooooooo much. Smells awesome and leaves my hair feeling nice and clean afterwards. I can defiantly see this shampoo becoming my go to. Easily one of the best supermarket shampoos I've tried.

Conditioner: The conditioner accompanying this shampoo is really nice, I applied it to the middle of my hair and ends as directed. It has defiantly helped with dry ends, they have basically disappeared. I can tie my hair up in a bun (which normally dries out the ends so badly) and my hair is as good as new. Would defiantly recommend this with the shampoo.

Dry Shampoo: I was really impressed with this, dare I say I think I like it better than my Batiste dry shampoo? this doesn't leave a weird white film in the hair like the batiste does. Shamefully I have gone almost a whole week without washing my hair due to the magic of this dry shampoo. This dry shampoo is like magic on your hair.

Over all I really like this range, my hair is soft and shiny and not nearly as frizzy. I would defiantly purchase the shampoo, conditioner and dry shampoo. They only thing I feel that wasn't as good as the rest of the range is the hair mask, and that's not to say it wasn't good, just not as good. Perhaps it just isn't right for my hair. If you have super oily hair give it a go and it may work better for you.

For the price point, this range is awesome, make sure you check it out!

Tips: When applying the hair mask split your hair into sections (with hair ties) for easier application

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th July, 2017 at 11:10 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Can't fault!

Thank you BR for selecting me for this trial! A little background of my personal third-world hair problems..my hair gets extremely oily on top, my hair is thin/limp & my ends are dry - hence I wash & condition my hair daily to keep these things at bay. That means, blow drying & hair straightening everyday too which is all just time consuming & costly. To finally have a range specifically made for oily roots & dry ends, to me, is kind of a big deal!

This range includes a Detox Clay Mask Pre-Shampoo Treatment; Rebalancing Shampoo; Detox Conditioner & Dry Shampoo. I won't divulge into too much detail of each product because we have to review each product individually but more review them as a range.

They are all packaged with the same coloured bottles & slightly darker mint/green lid & all in your typical shampoo/conditioner solid packaging. They all have the same scent too which is a nice refreshing scent which isn't too strong.

These products claim to give you 72hours of fresh & lightweight roots, scalp feels balanced and ends are hydrated. I found that on day 3, my scalp still felt "dry", my ends & top did look a little bit limp - but neither looked dirty. The dry shampoo worked a treat (which I've never experienced with any other dry shampoo), just a spray all over my roots as directed, waiting a couple of minutes before brushing through, styling & my hair looked fresh as the first day of washing - so much so I had no anxiety about leaving the house with my hair down! Oh and I have to mention how shiny my hair still looked.

Overall this range has definitely surprised me, over 15 years of living with oily roots & dry ends I was kind of sceptical about it having not found any product that lived up to their claims! I definitely recommend this range.

Tips: Can't think of anything specific except follow the instructions on the packaging & if you feel like you should shampoo & wash just leave it - the dry shampoo will sort it out (based on my personal experience).

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
9th July, 2017 at 12:16 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Even worked on drier hair!

Sooo I have the oiliest hair. But in between submitting the Beauty Review survey and getting the product I bleached my hair three times. My ends became mega dry but my roots stayed the same in terms of oil.

Pros: light-weight shampoo, nil build-up after several uses (I usually find most ranges are fine for 2-3 washes, then I get a thick film build-up on my hair). I found the conditioner still nourishing enough for my ends. The dry shampoo actually meant I could get 3 days between washes, which is unheard of for me. Usually, I would be ashamed to go to work by then because of greasy hair, but it still looked fresh. Great price, like the rest of the range they are within a price point I am happy to pay. There is also a wide availability and you should be able to get it at most supermarkets and some pharmacies.

Cons: I didn't feel I got much benefit from the pre-treatment product. It was another step that, although easy I feel like I'd forget to do if I wasn't on the trial team.

Tips: Try using a bristle paddle brush to get the dry shampoo through the hair. I use a faux boar bristle one, which worked better than with a comb or tangle teaser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 10:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oil be Gone!

My hair usually gets oily within few hours after washing my hair, so I was excited to get chosen to trial the L’oreal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Clay range. The range consists of 4 products; the detox clay mask, rebalancing shampoo, detox shampoo and dry shampoo.

Before I hopped into the shower, I scooped a little detox clay mask with my fingers and massaged it onto dry roots on my scalp. I did this with every section of my hair and left it on for 5 minutes. I found that even though the texture of the mask is thick, it was very easy to massage it into my scalp. Once I’ve given enough time for the clay mask to soak in, I washed it off in the shower in a massaging motion until the water ran clear. While I was washing my hair in running water I noticed, the greasy and oily feel my hair had before I applied the mask was gone. I followed my hair washing ritual with the shampoo and conditioner in the same range. I’ve also used the shampoo and conditioner without using the clay mask and I found the clay mask makes a significant difference to the oiliness of my hair.

I tried the rebalancing shampoo after I’ve used the clay mask and followed the instructions on the bottle. I have medium length hair, so I used about $2 coin amount of shampoo. I massaged it into wet hair, covering my whole scalp and rinsed it out until the water ran clear. Often with other shampoos, I had to wash my hair twice in the shower because I could still feel the oil in my hair. With the rebalancing shampoo my hair felt very clean and oil free after one wash. I then followed it with the hair conditioner of the same range.

I applied the detox conditioner after I applied the rebalancing shampoo and followed the instructions on the bottle. It doesn’t say how much to use, so I squeezed two pea size amount into my palm and applied the conditioner onto my hair, only focusing from the mid-length to the ends of my hair. I left it into my hair for about 2-3 minutes and washed it out until the water ran clear. My hair was very soft after I washed it.

I wash my hair everyday second day, so I used the dry shampoo on days I haven’t washed my hair. I followed the instructions on the bottle. I shook the bottle well and sprayed it to my roots from 15 cm above my hair. I did this to each section of my hair, only targeting the roots and let it soak in for 2 minutes. Once it has set, I lightly brushed it with a comb. I was very disappointed and unimpressed with this dry shampoo. The dry shampoo didn’t absorb the oil like it said it would, instead made my hair very greasy, sticky and even oilier. The worst part was my scalp got very itchy and uncomfortable.

I liked using the detox clay mask, rebalancing shampoo and detox conditioner for my hair washing ritual as my hair felt very light and soft while leaving my hair smelling lovely. The best part was, my hair was oil free for 2 days. I wouldn’t use the dry shampoo again at all because it made my hair and scalp in a horrible condition.

Tips: Use the detox clay mask, rebalancing shampoo and detox conditioner for the best results for oil free hair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 9:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The perfect solution for oily hair and scalps.

The range consists of 4 products - when used together the result is shiny, light feeling hair without the oil build up around your scalp - and it stays this way for days. The range all has a a similar smell - the only one that is a tad more earthy smelling is the mask.

I love the idea of a mask for your scalp. Yes it's messy and a tad tricky to apply, but you use it prior to showering so washing it off is easy. I blobbed it in sections over my head and massaged it into my roots with my finger tips and found that worked well. After 5 minutes it washed off easily in the shower.

The shampoo was thick and lathered well. I only shampooed once as I could feel that my hair and scalp were clean. Normally I shampoo twice using other shampoos but this worked a treat on the first go.

The conditioner I had doubts about - would my dry ends be well moisturised? Would I have to use half the bottle in one go? Yes and no - yes my ends were conditioned and no I didn't have to use much at all. I focused on the mid lengths to ends as directed and was impressed with the result.

After the 3 products I was easily able to comb out my hair. After letting my hair air dry I styled as usual. My head felt lighter - i get headaches which I think is from the weight of my long hair but it amazingly felt a tonne lighter. I also had a lot more root lift that I dont usually get even with freshly washed hair.

Skip forward 5 days and my hair was finally starting to get a little oily - a quick spritz of dry shampoo before bed and voila - another 2 days of oil free hair.

After 7 days I did feel my ends were a little dry, I used some hair oil on the ends and it was better. This could be drying on hair that isn't super oily, or even if over used, I don't think I'd use this range solely for my hair I would mix it up with another shampoo set and alternate them just two as not to overdry my hair and scalp.

Tips: My daughter has acne on her face, back and shoulders - I made her use these products as well as her hair is really greasy - she only used them once and her skin is looking heaps better which I think is from not having an oily mop of hair draped over it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 9:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Tried but missed the mark

I am cursed with lots of thin hair which is oily at the roots and dry/damaged at the ends and because of this my hair can neither be washed too often or my ends dry out OR left too long before washing. What usually happens is I get 1 day of beautiful clean hair that can be left down, then it goes into a pony tail, then into a bun before having to 're-wash. If it's really not behaving it's tight in bun after 1 day.

Now I would like to start with what I loved about this range: the packaging is gorgeous all aqua blue/green across the whole range, the scent is lovely and fresh like walking into a high end salon and the price is fantastic value for money. However from here my results varied. Out of the 4 products in the range I would repurchase 2 - the mask & the shampoo, I would definitely not repurchase the Dry shampoo and lastly the conditioner I would use again but wouldn't actively seek out. (Pleas see my more in-depth reviews for each product)

Over all the range claims to keep my oily roots at bay and my hair light and fresh for 72hrs but that sadly is not what I experienced.

When I used the pre-shampoo clay mask, the shampoo & then the conditioner at best I got 2 days of wear before I really needed to wash my hair again OR start my tying up routine. 1 extra day is all I got being able to leave my hair down but I had to really think about not touching it. The dry shampoo was the worst for me, it speed up my need to wash my hair instead of prolonging it.

So over all, like I said I think they have really tried but it has just missed the mark for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 4:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
L'Oreal Clay Range

I was super excited to be chosen for this trial team and to get all 4 products was awesome because it's not often that I go out and buy an entire range, I usually just buy the shampoo and conditioner. The clay mask I am not completely sold on/not sure if it is necessary, I feel like it did make my hair feel nice, but not sure if it made a difference to the overall oiliness. I did really like the shampoo as I felt it didn't leave my hair feeling dry before I put the conditioner in which I find a lot of other shampoos does. The conditioner was really nice and I would repurchase this again as I love the feeling of my hair after and the smell was really lovely too. As for the dry shampoo, it smelt amazing and I would use it just for the smell it left in my hair and how long it stuck around for! I kept thinking I was getting a whiff of someones perfume each time I smelt it, but I this didn't perform to how I thought it would and didn't hold up to others I have tried in the past.

Tips: The conditioner goes a long way, so don't squeeze out too much! Also, probably best to use the whole range to get the most out of this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 9:11 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Clay range

Over all I love this range! I was excited to be selected to review the whole range free of charge which I'm so grateful to beauty review for. I do get oily roots and dry ends but with the help of this amazing range I feel illiminated the oilyness. My hair smelt amazing, my hair felt clean and healthy, hair has bounce, not weighed down. Would definitely use again in the future

Tips: Best used with the whole range together to get the best benefits

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
8th July, 2017 at 7:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Something I was looking forward to but let down

I was so excited about trying this range! As someone who struggles to go two days without washing my hair I was crossing my fingers for good things but this product wasn't for me :(

The dry shampoo did nothing at all inbetween washes, but it smells really nice! Sadly, it's go nothing on other brands of dry shampoo.

I used the shampoo and conditioner with and without the mask and didn't find the mask made any difference to how oily my roots were between washes.

The shampoo and conditioner themselves were nice smelling and the bottles were an attractive addition to my shower, however I don't think I'll be purchasing this range in the future.

However, after reading the other reviews maybe it's just my hair?

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »