Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Range Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

The new L'Oréal Extraordinary Clay range consists of four products containing 3 refined clays.  The range is designed to rebalance oily roots while hydrating the lengths - all without weighing your hair down.

The range consists of a pre-shampoo clay mask, shampoo, conditioner and dry shampoo. 

RRP: $6.59

Pack Size: 250ml

Availability:  Farmers, Supermarkets and selected pharmacies

Website:  www.lorealparis.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 7:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great value range

I loved some of this range more than others, I liked the shampoo, conditioner, the mask was ok, worked well but was a bit of a fluffing around before washing your hair each time, and the instructions were hard to find and didn't tell you how often to use it. I absolutely hated the dry shampoo, which didn't work for me at all. Overall I liked the range , and will definitely continue to purchase the shampoo and conditioner, not sure if I would bother with the mask tho. I wasn't in love with the smell either, was kind of medicinal, I prefer floral smells, but it wasn't totally offensive.

Tips: Shampoo and conditioner together are a great combination for oily roots and dry ends, at such a reasonable price too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 6:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Clay is bae!

Let me be honest - I was a very cynical, oil ridden girl when I received this invite. But hey, who am I to turn down the chance to trial a range that claims to keep oil at bay for days?!

Each product was nicely packaged in mermaid blue - a lovely addition to the bathroom.

Clay Mask - surprisingly easy to apply and it didn't 'set' too much, I was convinced I'd be trying to wash out clay and flakey bits for ages but it rinsed easily.

Shampoo -lathers well - you really only need a tiny amount of this (10c piece tops). It smells so fresh and leaves your hair feeling, well, normal if that makes sense? There's none of that obvious straw feeling some shampoos leabe.

Conditoner - ahhhhh sooooo luxe. It's a great consistency, not too thick, but not watery enough that it just falls from your hair. Same fresh smell as the mask and shampoo. It leaves your ends super soft, you can feel it immediately!

Dry shampoo - really nice product, you have to get the distance right though - too close and you'll be left a powdery mess! You also need to leave it a couple of minutes before massaging through. Would it replace my usual Batiste? YES!

All up, as a range, I'm really impressed with these products. I managed to get 3 days between washes the first time I used it, and FIVE days from second time, which to me is pretty telling. Going from washing my hair daily, to oil free for almost five days? YES PLEASE!

Tips: The instructions aren't obvious - you have to peel the label on the mask lid. And you'll apply the mask pre-shower, so don't do what I did and take it in there, fiddle with peeling the label and then realising I needed to get out again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
18th July, 2017 at 11:36 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Doesn't put the Extra in Extraordinary but lovely

I was super excited to try this New Elvive Extraordinary Clay range for oily roots and dry ends but for me these products, the Detox clay mask, Pre-shampoo treatment, the shampoo and conditioner and the dry shampoo didn't impress me all that much. However, I liked the fact that after massaging the clay mask into my roots for about 5 minutes before showering, the pre-shampoo mask actually felt like it absorbed excess oils and impurities in my hair. The flip for instructions were easy to follow on the lid of the container. It had a nice texture, fresh scent and it was easy to apply to my roots. I found it took awhile to wash the mask fully off in the shower but eventually the water ran clear. Following on, I cleansed and hydrated with the shampoo and the conditioner. Both of which, smelt pleasant and refreshing. I only needed a small amount of each. The shampoo lathered up quite a lot and the conditioner was a silky texture and seemed to make my hair feel softer. After shampooing and conditioning, I rinsed my hair and it felt quite clean, not really any different to usually but I did notice my roots, scalp and dry ends did feel fresher and cleaner. After towel drying my hair, I sprayed in some of the dry shampoo and combed it through my hair and I was able to skip a day or two washing my hair after using it. It was quite good to spray in my hair every now and again for freshening up between washes. The product in each bottle and container seemed to last me quite a few washes. The Detox clay mask, I used quite a generous amount of each time I used it so that was quick to deminish out of all four products in this range. I liked the packaging of the products, the aqua, teal colours added to the fresh look and appealed to me. I thought this range was lovely although I probably wouldn't purchase it myself to try again as I found it didn't impress me as much as I thought it would.

Tips: The Detox clay mask Pre-shampoo treatment takes awhile to wash out and you do need to apply a generous amount. Make sure to rinse it completely. ;)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
17th July, 2017 at 4:32 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Overall, a bit "so-so"

I have very fine, thin hair with a slight wave to it which is a little below my shoulders. As a result of my hair type, it gets oily within 12-18 hours.

I will go into more depth on the individual items in the range on their own product pages, but as a general overview I don't feel especially strongly about this range in either direction.

The shampoo and conditioner were the most useful and effective parts for me personally, however, the shampoo was overly drying and the conditioner was overly conditioning. I'd prefer them to "tone it down" somewhat and meet halfway. I noticed the bottles say they contain 3 types of precious clay but do not mention what these clays are or what benefit they provide.

The clay mask for me did nothing. The first time I used it I don't think I managed to wash it all out properly and as a result of the clay residue my hair was unable to excrete it's oils but my hair didn't feel nice so I don't recommend this. I noticed that to properly cover my scalp it uses a large amount of product so the container wouldn't last long.

The dry shampoo I might repurchase depending on price. I like that the scent matches the shampoo (as does the clay mask) and it does a good job of absorbing the hair oils making me not look greasy, however my hair was still limp so I kept it tied up in a ponytail for the day anyway.

Tips: The shampoo lathers up a lot, so a little goes a LONG way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th July, 2017 at 1:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nothing extraordinary but it does the job!

The set seemed to work right after I used it first time. However, I didn't notice a huge difference. I thought the more I use it, the better my hair would be. But that wasn't the case. Here's what I did: I used the clay mask as directed. I then washed it out and used shampoo as I would use any other shampoo. I then conditioned my hair using the conditioner as I would use any other conditioner. I used the dry shampoo once a day (in the morning) for 3 days after the wash. On the third day, I REALLY needed to wash my hair again.

The scent of all the products is SO FRESH and I loved it! It made me feel so fresh and clean. For the price, I would regularly buy and use the shampoo and conditioner. The clay mask didn't make much of a difference to my hair as I though it would, so ditch that! And I didn't really see the need of using dry shampoo (I never really was one to use dry shampoo and it's too much of a hassle with my thick hair). So I will switch the my current shampoo and conditioner for this set but no mask and dry shampoo for me. Would I recommend? Yes, why not. The brand is trusted and not expensive at all. It's worth a try, it leaves hair very clean and works to an extent. My hair is not as oily as it used to be but it didn't last as long as I thought it would. I don't really wash my hair less often with these products but my hair feels better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
15th July, 2017 at 9:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Evenally Split

The products were beautifully presented in mint green packaging, they have a pleasant fragrance and for the most part have a great texture. Standouts: I found the shampoo and conditioner were the only products that worked for my hair. They complimented each other well. Dislikes: The Detox Clay mask and the Dry Shampoo were a bit of a waste of time for me. They didn't do what they said it would and actually ended up making my hair feel and look oilier. All in all I did enjoy testing the products and will continue to use the shampoo and conditioner

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th July, 2017 at 3:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Squeaky Clean

The clay mask smells amazing and is a lovely texture. It feels light and spreads easily through the roots - while you're there you may as well give yourself a nice scalp massage to make sure your roots are well covered. I find that it does take a few goes to wash it all out but following up with the shampoo should get it all. I think the clay mask DID affect my hair dye as I noticed some washout both times I've used it. Funnily enough, no washout issues with the shampoo and conditioner.

Shampoo and conditioner are good. I think even if I didn't use the clay mask I would consider using just them by themselves. Lovely fragrance and easy to work with. The conditioner feels silky.

Have yet to need dry shampoo but I'm looking forward to using it to lengthen days between washes.

Tips: You might feel a bit dry and frizzy once the hair is dried but I reckon it's all about the blowout. Use the direction nozzle if you have one. I also use a spritz of light conditioner on my ends.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th July, 2017 at 9:25 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bye Bye Oil!

I can't go 24 hours without washing my hair. When I try I end up feeling like I've been bathed in oil. Most unpleasant. So I was very excited to try this range.

The clay was so interesting to use - it's thick, has a potent but enjoyable smell, and it took quite a while to work it into my hair. I thought because of this it would be hard to rinse out, yet it rinsed easily.

The shampoo soaps up really well so you don't need a lot. It feels like my hair is clean, but not stripped.

The conditioner was interesting in that it felt quite moussey, like meringue mixture. It went through easily and once rinsed out my hair felt soft and smooth.

The combination of these three products saw my hair stay un-oily for three days - which is unheard of! On the fourth day I saw hints of oil, so took to it with the Dry Shampoo.

I love the dry shampoo's scent. It's yum. And makes my hair smell lovely. Initially I used it wrong, just doing the squirt and scrunch method I use with other dry shampoos, which didn't work. I then read the instructions and saw I was to spray it on, leave it for two minutes and then brush through. This worked much better and meant I could get another day of not washing my hair in.

I loved the freedom these products gave me. I saved time each morning not washing my hair. I was able to do different styles. I was able to enjoy my hair once again.

Since using this I've tried just using the shampoo and conditioner, and this combination alone means I get 48 hours out of my hair before having to wash.

I went into this being pretty skeptical and have come out converted.

My only nitpick would be the shampoo and conditioner are similar in design and I have to be careful to reach for the right one first.

All in all, this regime is a winner!!

Tips: Read the instructions for the dry shampoo in order to get better results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
14th July, 2017 at 3:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sad face

I've been testing the shampoo, conditioner and dry shampoo in this range for the past couple of weeks, and tried the hair mask last night. I have to say I'm pretty disappointed by the results. The products do a good job of eliminating oiliness at the roots but unfortunately leave my hair dry and almost coarse feeling - an issue I never have with other products. The conditioner doesn't make my hair shiny or help it look hydrated... and the dry shampoo was just a bit meh.

Tips: The shampoo is the most harmless of the bunch. I'll keep using that, but skip the rest.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

That's essentially how I felt too :( I felt like it did about as well as most other ranges at eliminating oiliness plus left my hair drier than normal, such a shame!

Overall rating:
3.0/5
13th July, 2017 at 2:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mixed feelings

When I started using these products I noticed a huge change in the quality of my hair right away. I have thick, heavy, long & difficult to manage hair, and my hair suddenly felt lighter, smoother and softer with combined use of these products.

This range really appealed to me, 3 types of clay -intruiging, and the color choice of packaging for these products Is fresh & pretty. These products all have a similar sweet pretty floral smell, the scent is great.

Although the condition of my hair was significantly improved when I started using this range, the oiless of my roots wasn't. I noticed no difference in regards to oily roots, which is supposed to be an aspect of this range..

The conditioner was my favourite of the bunch as it worked wonders on my lengths. The shampoo is nice but didn't make any difference in regards to oily roots. The mask and dry shampoo I found to be rather ineffective.

I might repurchase the shampoo & conditioner, but would leave the mask and dry shampoo.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

YES, moist definitely! (geddit?)

view results

Review of the Day
scarlettraine
Extraordinary Clay Conditioner
Weightless and wonderful! I applied the conditioner to the lengths and ends of my hair after… more »