Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Conditioner Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

L'Oreal Paris ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Conditioner Review

Overall rating:
4.3/5

Up to 48HR Purified Roots & Hydrated Ends. Silicone-Free Clay Conditioner. Conditioner for Oily Roots and Dry Ends.

Extraordinary Clay Conditioner for oily roots and dry ends with 3 Refined Clays instantly purifies oily roots and hydrates dry lengths without weigh down for beautifully fresh, flowing hair from root to tip.

RRP: $6.59

Pack Size: 250ml

Availability:  Farmers, Supermarkets and selected pharmacies

Website:  www.lorealparis.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th July, 2017 at 12:39 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Would Recommend!

I'd read a few reviews about this product and although i don't have very oily hair, i thought that my hair was prone to be quite itchy on the second day/day of needing a wash so I bought this and tried it out and thought that it was quite good and did what it said it would.

The smell that I'd read that was 'overpowering' and chemical smelling, i didn't find to be that strong or chemical smelling. I found that the smell was quite subtle and you don't really pick up unless you were smelling it for ages.

But anyways. I thought it was a good conditioner and although didn't provide me with immediate silky soft hair, after blowdrying, it was manageable and very nice and the smell i quite liked too. I no longer had itchy scalp/hair on the second day after washing so I think it wasn't as oily as it usually got. I also used this for a week so it wasn't just the one-off use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th July, 2017 at 9:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Extraordinary Clay Conditioner

Weightless and wonderful! I applied the conditioner to the lengths and ends of my hair after using the shampoo from the range, and was surprised with how light the product felt compared to other conditioners. Others I have used feel much thicker, so I wasn't sure how effective it would be. But it definitely was! My hair was left feeling very light and soft. Much nicer than it usually feels after washing. This effect lasted for about 3 days before starting to get a little oily, whereas usually the oil starts to come back the day after washing. I will definitely be continuing to use this product, along with the matching shampoo.

Tips: Apply only to the lengths and ends of your hair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th July, 2017 at 5:58 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It worked :)

Loved the conditioner! It it thinner than conditioners I am used to however a little goes a long way. I normally have to wash my hair daily, otherwise my hair is an oily mess. After using for a week, I am now able to wash my hair every 2nd day. My hair feels light, clean and nourished. I found the conditioner compliments the shampoo well I will definitely purchase this again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 10:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
An awesome conditioner!

I was fortunate enough to be apart of the beauty review trial for this range. This is the matching conditioner to the shampoo. The conditioner accompanying this shampoo is really nice, I applied it to the middle of my hair and ends as directed. It has defiantly helped with dry ends, they have basically disappeared. I can tie my hair up in a bun (which normally dries out the ends so badly) and my hair is as good as new. Would defiantly recommend this with the shampoo.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 7:12 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Moisture Kick!

I can't get enough of the iridescent mermaid packaging. The only thing they could have done better was put the range in tail shaped bottles. (You can totally use that idea L'Oreal, it's all yours!)

Its a great conditioner, fresh smelling like the shampoo, and the scent lasts the day which I personally like. I used maybe a $2 coin size amount, my hair is in a bob, I felt this was plenty. So for the cost of the product it's relatively economical.

My bleached hair definitely felt hydrated after use, and I didn't actively avoid putting it near my roots - they weren't weighed down in the slightest.

My hair was easy to style and manageable after. Soft but not too soft and no sign of frizz.

All up - a great, affordable conditioner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
17th July, 2017 at 10:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty ineffective

Of the extraordinary clay range the conditioner was probably the biggest disappointment.

It was nice enough for the first day, but by day 2 my tips start getting dry and angry, and if I use dry shampoo to stretch things out to day 3 then my tips are a gnarled mess. Because the shampoo was so drying, this definitely needed to be a lot more nourishing.

However, whatever the temptation may be: DO NOT USE TOO MUCH. Trust me, just don't! In an attempt to counter the drying effect of the shampoo I tried using extra conditioner and the product was so incredibly heavy in my hair it hung lank and heavy and just was not a fun experience.

Overall this one was a big flub for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
17th July, 2017 at 4:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Too heavy for my fine hair

I've been using this conditioner daily, following the ELVIVE Extraordinary Clay Shampoo.

The scent is the same as the shampoo, and like the shampoo only a small amount of product is required.

The instructions say to apply to the lengths of the hair, leave for a few minutes, then rinse. I found this conditioner to be too heavy on my hair for this so would apply to the lengths and rinse straight away. While rinsing i'd move some product up towards the roots to help reduce frizziness.

My hair is left in an "ok" state. I wouldn't describe it as well nourished by any means. It's very fine and thin so having it weighed down by conditioner only emphasises this fact.

I am undecided at this stage whether I will finish the bottle, but I know that I will not repurchase.

Tips: Apply a small amount to the lengths of the hair, focusing on the ends. Work towards the roots while rinsing to condition them without being as heavy as a direct application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th July, 2017 at 3:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Squeaky Clean

The conditioner is good. I think even if I didn't use the clay mask I would consider using just the shampoo and conditioner by themselves. Lovely fragrance and easy to work with. The conditioner feels silky and I tend to apply more liberally to my ends than roots.

I didn't have a problem with my hair dye washing out - very minimal if any.

Tips: You might feel a bit dry and frizzy once the hair is dried but I reckon it's all about the blowout. Use the direction nozzle if you have one. I also use a spritz of light conditioner on my ends.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
15th July, 2017 at 10:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not as moisturising as I was expecting

The packaging for this range is so pretty and the conditioner has the opening on the bottom of the bottle which I like as its super easy to use. The texture of the conditioner was a little thinner than I like for my hair as it is sooooo dry it sucks up the conditioner really fast, so I felt like it didn't give me all the the hydration my hair needs. It still did a great job of smoothing my hair out and removing the knots, but after it was all dried off it was a little lacking the moisture I get from other brands.But in saying that, with having oily roots there can be a fine line when adding moisture to the hair and just adding more grease, so I can see how this would work for people with possibly less length than me and finer hair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
14th July, 2017 at 3:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Thin but still weighed my hair down?

I'm not feeling this Extraordinary Clay range, I'm sorry L'Oreal. This conditioner was maybe the worst of the lot. It was very runny and thin, which I was surprised about—even though I have oily-tending hair, I like a rich balmy conditioner. Despite the thin consistency, it managed to weigh my hair down and it looks limp, lank and flat even immediately after washing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

Is 'Moisture' the Most Important Thing In Skin Care?

YES, moist definitely! (geddit?)

view results

Review of the Day
scarlettraine
Extraordinary Clay Conditioner
Weightless and wonderful! I applied the conditioner to the lengths and ends of my hair after… more »