Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.6/5

Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher Review

Overall rating:
3.7/5

A root cover spray that works in an instant. Spray onto styled hair. Washes out in 1 shampoo.

 

Reusable for up to 25 applications. 

 

Availability:  Supermarkets, Farmers, selected pharmacies

RRP: $19.99

Website: www.schwarzkopf.com.au

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th November, 2017 at 10:17 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Root Retoucher - A bit of a life-saver

I'm always a little bit sceptical about products that claim to cover regrowth and have tried a few different ones in the past with varying rates of success. Like others who have reviewed this product, I think Schwarzkopf could probably improve on the way they display the instructions but it's probably not too hard to work out how to use this product. This was the only real criticism I had of the product. I actually tried it on both dry and damp hair and on only half of my hair to see a comparison - yes it's THAT long since I've been anywhere near a salon. To be fair, I had surgery four weeks ago so that's my excuse that I'm currently sticking to. ;) I was really impressed with the coverage. It does come out a little stripy but I found that I could just blend it with a brush or my fingers - as long as I washed it off straight away. It blended really well and most definitely covered the greys - of which there are quite a few. The comparison during the half-and-half trial was definitely noticeable. I even blended it further down to even up the ever-so-slightly mis-matched colour I now have. (I'll bet you have an awesome picture of what my hair looks like! It really does need help!) I didn't find that this product made my hair dry but I'd like to use it on several days before I made a judgment on that as others seem to have found this to be the case. The only thing I would do differently next time is to choose a lighter colour as the one I chose - the dark blonde - was a little too dark for my current colour.

Tips: Practise makes perfect with this product. The more you use it, the better you get with being able to get an even coverage. Try blending it through if it's been a while since you've been anywhere near the salon and your regrowth is more like your current hair style! Works a treat. :D

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
19th November, 2017 at 7:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not for me

This product was not what I was expecting, firstly the shade (dark blonde) was too dark for my roots, I know know that I opted for the wrong shade. However I tried this product on four occasions and found that the product itself went on evenly and dried quickly. The darker shade made my hair look quite cool really, more ombré. The product only lasted 1 day in my hair and brushed out easily. I think this would best work for people with darker hair for a gray root touch up.

Tips: Don’t wear light coloured clothing when spraying, as it can drip and stain clothing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th November, 2017 at 11:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher

This has been such a handy product to have and I have been really happy with how well it has covered my regrowth around my face and hairline. I have black hair so any grey hairs that show up become very noticeable even with just a slight bit of regrowth. I only have the odd few greys starting to show up but I really can't stand the sight of them. This was so quick and easy to use before going out for any occasion just to make my hair look great and freshly coloured. Application is quick and easy and the spray nozzle is precise. There is no weird smell to the product and it washed out easily. I only found results lasted a day at most however. Completely recommend this if your abit short on time and wanting to give your hair a quick tidy up.

Tips: I only used around my face area and hairline but this seemed to be enough to disguise any regrowth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th November, 2017 at 10:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great pre-appointment touch up!

I wish I could be so diligent at going to the hairdresser to not need this but that honestly I will always need this! Haha. I trialled the dark blonde root retoucher. It was slightly darker than I would imagine for a dark blonde. Closer to a light brown in my opinion. It goes on well though! You can spray it on just like dry shampoo to the roots and the colour goes on strongly.

At first the spray shocked me a little because it comes out so fast but if you’re prepared for that and can aim it in the right spots with the right colour match then it is a great quick fix!

It washes off straight away in the shower so if you make a mistake there are no dramas!! I think this product (and in other colours if I change my hair) will be a lifesaver for me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th November, 2017 at 10:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not quite what I expected

When I put my hand up for this review, I was anticipating basically hair colour in a spray bottle, but I was very wrong!

The first time I used this product I couldn't see any difference to my hair, but I decided it was probably because I have too much regrowth (yeah, I haven't got to the hairdresser in way too long... #mumlife). When I washed my hair and tried again I only sprayed one half of my head, so I could compare. I wasn't sure if I could see any difference, but when I asked hubby he indicated the side with the Root Retoucher and said 'that side is lighter?' Sure enough, on scrutiny in the bathroom mirror, I agree with him - my roots look much lighter and more natural, more balayage than the harsh regrowth line on the other side of my head.

The product was fast and easy to spray on and it works for up to 25 applications, making it very affordable.

On the downside, obviously the product information is not clear (I had a very different idea of what I was receiving), the instructions were hard to find (under the label), my hair felt horrible and couldn't be touched after applying this, and there is some scary warning about not using too much or your hair will become breakable.

On the whole I'm very undecided about this product. I think I'll try it again when I have less regrowth (I'm trying to figure out when I can manage that appointment with the hairdresser!) before I firmly make up my mind on this one!

Tips: Don't use too much or your hair will become brittle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
18th November, 2017 at 9:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Root retoucher

As a dark blonde I struggle with regrowth. Therefore I was super excited to try this product if it means I could wait a little longer between salon appointments. The design of the bottle is small, compact and classy. The labelling is clear to read however the instructions for use not so easy to find. Once I had found the hidden instructions (underneath the product label of all places) I attempted hide my the dark roots. The slimline nozzle makes application easy and minimises the risk of over spraying the product. While the product gives good coverage and even tone, it was a bit dark for me. It did soften the lines between my highlighted hair and regrowth however. Another positive of this product is how easy it washes out making it perfect for those special occasions prior to getting to the hair dresser.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th November, 2017 at 7:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher is great

I was very excited to try this as at 50 plus years old the grey is sneaking through..okay not so much sneaking...and its costly having to go to the hairdresser to get the grey covered so for me this meant lengthening out the time between hair treatments and ultimately saving money...

The good things Loved the packaging and felt the amount in the bottle was good. It did cover the grey and it felt okay on my hair, not greasy or stodgy...if you know what I mean. the colour also blended well with my original...well okay....dyed colour...... It meant that my usual hair appointment was able to wait longer by three weeks and overall that will end up being a great saving for me. Pity i have to wash my hair every two days or it may have lasted even longer before it was necessary to see the hairdresser.

The Not So Good The nozzle, when I sprayed the part in my hair it was great but when I comcentrated on those pesky grey hairs at the side of my head it seemed to go every which way but loose!! So it got on my skin and seemed to superblast out of that nozzle. Took time to get the right pressure that wouldn't leave me looking like an Egyptian mummy gone wrong.

Recommendation To the company, please work on the application nozzle so it is easier to apply to the sides of the hair, for the part in your hair and middle it's great.....

would I use it again,, Oh indeed I will, I loved that it did what it said and I got longer out of my hair treatment, important at my age when you need to,go more often to see a hairdresser..that's for sure....

Tips: Be mindful of the nozzle when applying slope to the skin ...because it' can come out at speed and leasv Make sure you only spray where you need colour not where you didn't need it.....like. .on your skin. Do the part first to get a feel for the pressure you need on the nozzle and to see the radius of the spray before doing areas close to the face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
18th November, 2017 at 2:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Regrowth Free

I was really excited to try this product as I had seen it hit the stores but didn't want to purchase incase it didn't do what it said it would....so as soon as it arrived I tried it straight away on my grey regrowth & was very impressed with the results. Was easy to apply and the colour was perfect and bended well with the rest of my hair. It lasted in my hair for a few days until I washed it & the product washed out easily as it states. I will definitely use this again once this bottle runs out but in saying that it will last me awhile so im happy about that as only a little is needed each application.

Tips: Definitely apply before putting your make up on as it can over spray and leave your forehead or face with small drops of the product on it, it doesn't stain so clean up is easy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th November, 2017 at 10:04 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Schwarzkopf Root Retoucher

Covers greys really well, you just have to be wary of how hard you press the nozzle as it does come out really fast! Also make sure to hold it far away from your head as it will go a funny texture if the nozzle is too close. Apart from those small points a lovely product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th November, 2017 at 9:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Has Its Ups & Downs

I've been dying my hair dark brown for years and as I've gotten into my dirty 30s my greys have gotten worse and worse and as we all know grey against a dark background sticks put like a sore thumb! I tend to dye my hair every 3 weeks but often it stretches out to 4 weeks between root touch ups and I'm always anxious about my roots being visible so I was excited to be on this trial. The packaging on this product is pretty standard, nothing that makes it stand out, the lack of instructions annoyed me as I had no idea what the best method to try this was so had to wing it. The nozzle is thin and doesn't really spray the product in an easy to manage way- it shoots out in blobs so I kind of massaged it quickly into the surrounding hair. The colour was perfect for me which I really liked and it did look like I'd just touched up my roots as I usually do- this may also habe looked like I'd done this as there was the telltale dye mark's around my hairline and ears- yes this product will stain your skin just like normal dye. Over all I actually like the product and I think it works well and I'd probably purchase it again as the colour match is great for me but I'd love to see them put some thought into the application method and look at another nozzle design.

Tips: It stains so get it off your skin asap!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »