Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Manic Panic Classic Formula
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.9/5

Manic Panic Classic Formula

Overall rating:
4.0/5

Manic Panic Classic Formula semi-permanent cream hair colour. Available in 37 shades.

Some shades glow under black light.

There is also a Pastel-izer / Mixer available in the Classic Formula.

Manic Panic Classic Hair Colour made from vegan ingredients, PDD free and is NOT tested on animals. 

Pack Size: 118 ml

RRP:  $24.90

Availability:  Sinister Boutique, Various Retail outlets and Online,

Website:  www.sinister.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th July, 2017 at 12:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manic Panic Classic Formula - Ultra Violet

Im a huge fan of mabic panic i just started using it recently, you have a reasonable amount of colours to choose from i chose the ulta violet colour. Any ways i highly recommend just like with any coloured dyes cover your area your going to use cover with paper towels or even news paper this stuff can stain so also chuck a old top on and some gloves. Now i didnt apply it straight to my hair i placed a little in a container then diluted it heaps with some conditioner, i only did this to make it lighter a was going for a pale pastely tone. If you are going to dilute it you can get a diluted pale white from manic panic and mix abit of the violet to it abit at a time til you like the colour i ran out of this so i had to opt for the conditioner mix it does the same but if you do this way make sure the conditioner you use is free of oils and silicone. Swarzkopf and tresseme have a range of these conditioners. Anyways after ive diluted it i section my hair into fours so straight down the middle apply it from top to the back on my roots then split and section from the top of my head to my ear i then apply it to my roots in this then is in four sections i then carry on applying bit by bit in each section making sure its really satured once im done i do go ask someone for help just in case ive missed a couple bits then i leave that from 30mins to an hour. Like after dryed styled and admired the colour the like i mentioned i was going for a pale look and i cracked it lol but yeh im a huge fan because the size of the pot im able to do this look a few times if i use conditioner as diluter but im definitely going to buy this in the future.

Tips: Always was your hair with cold water and you dont want the hair cuticle opening and let out the colour. And try not to was hair alot as this will let colour out too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th May, 2017 at 9:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ultra Violet

I have used a few of these different coloured pots in my time but the most recent was an ultra violet that I put onto my natural dark blonde hair after using Manic Panic lightening kit so it was onto an almost white base, this made the colour a pretty pastel violet shade that sat in my hair for about 2 weeks until it had faded completely out leaving my white hair behind oh and dark roots, not a great look.

1 pot was not enough for my shoulder length, thick hair so I had to use 2 pots and even then I think I could have used half of another to get a more even look as the colour itself is quite thick and doesn't spread easily, well it does spread easy over the floor, walls, clothing, skin, etc.. however this was nothing a little bleach and damp cloth didn't clear up after I had finished putting the colour in.

Tips: As much as you cover up you will get this everywhere it is the nature of the beast, be prepared with damp cloths and towels you don't mind ruining (I always keep a set for dying my hair only) and have some bleach of mold out to get off of surfaces especially baths and sinks which can be porous.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th April, 2017 at 1:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ultra Violet

Manic Panic was the first Semi colour that I actually got a result from when I was trying to go Purple. I fell in love with how the colour looked, it was bright, it was in your face it was PURPLE!

However, there is virtually no real staying power. My heart broke a little when I took my first shower 2 days after dying my hair. I was bathing in a waterfall of purple, as all that goodness rinsed away. I got about 2 weeks of decent wear out of this before it needed a serious re-dye to breath life in to it again.

I used this on pre-lighten hair and while it does make the results more vibrant to begin with, the lighter your hair, the less likely the colour will hold.

Tips: Bright coloured hair styles are high maintence so regular touch ups will be required.

If you can hold a strand of your hair up to the light and see through it, keep in mind colour is more likely to stain long term and also less likely to keep it original colour for long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th August, 2016 at 11:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Manic Panic Classic Formula

I've used hot hot pink and purple haze. These are not as intense as amplified but still good otherwise. These products are vegan and leave your hair soft and lovely, one of the main reasons why I love using manic panic

Tips: Pre-bleach your hair if you want the colour to show up, wear gloves when applying the colour and put conditioner on your hair after applying colour to help the colour last better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
10th July, 2016 at 8:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
No lasting power :(

Was quite upset at the longevity of this product! The original colour was amazing but only held for about 3 washes. I've seen it last well on friends so I would recommend but I won't be using it again.

Tips: Make sure you cover the area you are in when dying(the room) it stains really quickly !

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th March, 2016 at 8:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very cool colours

I died my tips voodoo blue! Such ana awesome colour ! However really stains blonde hair. Hold colour really well

Tips: wear gloves and nothing white haha

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
10th March, 2016 at 3:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not very bright.

I tried the Manic Panic in the bright pink colour. It was easy to apply but it didn't really take to my hair and what did take didn't last very long at all. It doesn't seem as 'strong' as other brands. It did make my hair look and feel a bit better.

Tips: I would suggest having hair as close to white as possible if you are going to use these colours. Make sure you keep a little product to add to your shampoo to help maintain the colour.

I think this particular dye would be good to maintain already coloured hair but not so much to get an initial colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
27th February, 2016 at 10:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good

I find that manic panic is good but the lasting power isn't as strong as directions which is my go-to. In saying that, manic panic has some colours that I prefer such as electric lizard which is the best yellow toned lime green I have ever used! Manic panic is good if you want the colour to fade out, but if you want long lasting bright colour you will need to do a lot of touch ups while using manic panic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
6th August, 2015 at 10:28 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Didn't take hold

I bought a few colours from this brand (classic colour and amplified) as I was going for a rainbow effect. I already had bleached my hair to blonde and was careful about which product went where for the overall effect. I spent a long time applying the colours and waited out longer than the necessary length of time, washed my hair and um... where's my rainbow? seriously beyond upset! I had wasted a lot of time and money for a product that barely lasted one wash, and what was there washed out after only two more washes (using salon branded colour-safe shampoo).

I am mortified at the price I paid when I could have purchased a cheaper brand that I had used before and knew it lasted longer (much, much longer). I tried once again but less time spent on application with just two colours chosen... same result... washed out within a week. The amount of product I used was a lot more than I would have on the cheaper brand I normally buy.

This not lasting long might be a good thing for some but for me it was a big waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
5th August, 2015 at 9:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Highlighter Head

I brought the vampire red manic panic and to say i was disappointed would be an understatement. As told by the staff member who sold it to me and the manic panic instructions it said to be used on light blonde hair which was what i had as i was bleach blonde so was already set to go. Applied as per instructions and left on for an extra 10mins to help build a better colour, it was looking so red and exactly what i wanted; washed it out to find it had turned my hair neon pink - not what it said it would go or what i asked for; i ended up having to re-dye it with a cheap supermarket hair dye just so i didn't have to look like a walking highlighter. Other than the colour it was a good thick consistency making it easy to apply

Tips: Do extra research into what other peoples colours have turned out like so you know what your in for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »