Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

La Riche Hair Cosmetics Directions
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

La Riche Hair Cosmetics Directions

Overall rating:
4.5/5

Directions Hair Dye by La Riche

Intense Semi-Permanent Conditioning Hair Color Directions hair dye comes in 34 vibrant shades of semi-permanent color.

For intense results the dye should be applied to bleached hair. When applied to virgin (unprocessed) hair results will vary according to hair texture and color.

RRP:  $20.99

Availability:  Online

Website: www.lariche.co.uk

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th April, 2017 at 2:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My first choice for Purple

This was my favorite product that I used when I kept my hair purple for a few months during my maternity leave. I tried a variety of different at home brands including Manic Panic, but La Riche was the only one that kept it's bold tones past 1 wash.

I felt my hair looked not only va-va-voom purple, but it felt nourished and looked lovely and shiney too.

Sadly good things come to an end and while I did get a couple of washes before the colour started to fade, fade it will ( I swear I almost cry when I wash my hair and see all the purple go down the drain) I used this on pre-lightened hair, so in general It was less likely to hold the colour for long.

Price wise I do find it a good buy, with a decent amount of product so that meduim to long hair will get away with 1 pot per application.

1 thing I did find however is that evetually my hair turned to these different shades of grey, green, aqua, blue and purple as it washed and faded out. I personally didn't mind this at all, it was like having a different style every week as it faded right down.

I would totally use this again and would like to try other colours in the future.

Tips: I was able to get my hands on this at Cosmic Corner in Auckland City.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
23rd June, 2016 at 8:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
good and bad shades

I love the greens they have, as they stayed in my hair for about 4 weeks before I needed to re apply the colour. But the midnight blue, it lasted a week before dramatically fading?! So I'm impressed with the greens, disappointed in the midnight blue. I haven't changed any hair routine between using colours so it's not that. Must be either a bad batch I purchased or the blue isn't very strong compared to the greens.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th March, 2016 at 3:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Neon blurple.

I recently used La Riche Directions in Neon Blue on my freshly bleached and cropped hair. It was really easy to use especially since it comes in a pottle instead of a squeezy tube. I got great coverage from it.

Tips: Make sure you rinse it out with cold water rather than hot and save a little bit of the colour to add to your regular shampoo to help maintain the colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th February, 2016 at 10:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Favourite

I use the hairdye every time! It lasts amazingly and I have used almost every colour. As it is a conditioner dye, pre lightening is needed (unless you are very blonde to begin with) but your hair can still have brassy tones and this will still work perfectly. I have noticed that their blue colours last the longest with them usually lasting a month before they need a touch up. All of the colours fade pleasantly and are easy to touch up. If your hair has high levels of damage to it, their yellow colour will not stick properly to your hair, I have no idea how or why it doesn't but it won't stick. The package says to leave for 15 minutes but I usually leave it on for 3 hours +, and you can leave it on overnight as it is conditioner based and won't damage your hair.

Tips: Use sulfate free shampoo to minimise colour loss, and watch out for staining when freshly dyed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th January, 2016 at 1:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing Vibrant Colour that lasts!

I love this dye! I have used Atlantic blue and Violet and I get great results everytime. I have long black hair and used manic panic bleach to lighten about 20cm at the ends. When I apply it I give it a good coating and wrap in tinfoil then apply heat with my hairdryer, I then sleep with the dye in overnight, the longer this is left in the better! It is vegetable based so does not damage the hair at all, in fact it is good for it! The next morning I wash it out and use a vinegar rinse which helps seal the colour in. I get awesome results everytime I do this, my colour lasts for months and months. I totally recommend directions, a hundred times better than manic panic.

Tips: Wrap in tinfoil and apply heat Leave on overnight Use a vinegar rinse

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
22nd December, 2015 at 8:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pastel Unicorn!

I read the reviews on this, but then when I was buying my bleach I thought yolo and got two, as they were about $15 each I think? So I bought two from Sinister Boutique, a lavender purple and a pastel pink. They arrived in a timely fashion and were nicely packaged.

I was a bit wary of this brand, as I hadn't heard of it before. The dye comes in a little pot with a twist top lid, and it was smaller than I imagined. I opened the dye and had a smell and a quick touch, and this made me even more nervous to use it as the dye was like a creamy jelly and it was frankly weird, I hadn't encountered anything like this in my 10 years of crazy colors in my hair.

The instructions say to keep it in for a maximum of 15 minutes I believe, but I left it in for longer because I had nothing better to do. I was very pleased to find when I rinsed them out that they didn't bleed into each other and that they clung very nicely to my freshly bleached hair. The purple was true to its name, lavender, and it fades after time to a silvery purple with blue undertones. I don't mind it but I definitely need to touch it up.

The pink however, went peach, rather than pastel pink. I'm not complaining, it looked great! I'm not sure if it was just because it was done on slightly ginger hair or what, but either way I'm very pleased with how that turned out too. It faded quite quickly though and reverted back to the ginger blonde I had underneath.

I'm not sure if I would purchase these again. I want to say I would as they have a large range of colors, but for most of them you do have to have bleached white hair (almost). I did like them though! And, they also didn't stain my hands, as I had no gloves. Great work!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
19th November, 2015 at 4:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
New best friend

I recently purchased a tub of this over trademe. I got it in the colour Mandarin orange. I had prelightened my hair before applying to get the best results as the oackaging states. I applied for 40 minutes instead of the recommended 30 and then rinsed thouroughly and conditioned. As far as colour goes the initial colour was amazing and bright, just what i wanted. In subsequent washes with cold water the colour has gone more patchy but has remained quite bright. For the very impressive inexpensive price you cant go past it. I have tried other temporary colour brands in the past and Directions really stands up on its own. I will be purchasing this in the future in other colours.

Tips: Apply to prelightened hair for brightest colour pay off

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th November, 2015 at 1:55 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
LOVE LOVE LOVE!

I have always enjoyed having crazy coloured hair and trying new things. My problems always was that I got bored easy of the colour, that the upkeep became too much of a hassle (because so often these vibrant colours do not last) I tried La Riche Directions from just searching through Hairaddict.nz (seriously go check them out) And found La Riche Directions, I had NEVER tried this before or seen any reviews on it. Total impulse buy. So for a low $15 (free shipping, arrived within two days) I bought Carise!

And it is my new colour. I use this colour on the bottom of my hair as an ombre, bleach beforehand. (initially)

and it lasted 3 weeks with no touch up!!!! which is just amazing! and when I do need to touch it up it grabs to my hair without having to rebleach.

I am a happy shopper and manage to get three uses out of one little jar. My hair is almost midway my back and a majority of it is in this colour!

Check out my photowall!

I am converted!

Tips: Try it! Bleach your hair beforehand if you want super vibrant results! Shampoo less or use a dry shampoo to prolong colour (sulphate free shampoo is great too)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the website!!!!

Overall rating:
2.0/5
21st September, 2015 at 10:23 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Only three washes

* I tried this color in Carnation Pink. It's ok I guess. I bleached my hair to medium blonde but I should've gone even lighter. Color does not work on dark hair at all. You have to bleach your hair very fair to make color show. Pink is very vibrant first you apply it and stays like this until you wash your hair. It fades quite fast and if your hair is not paper white, you'll end up with peachy-orange hair until the pink completely vanishes (first pink fades in a week, then you'll have warm peachy-tinted hair for rest of the month and the it will be your natural hair again). I probably wouldn't buy it again because the upkeep is too much to deal with and I can't be bothered to dye my hair after three washes to keep the pink the way I want to. I'll use up what I have left though. On the good side - dye doesn't make your hair dry and I think it even conditions it. On the tub it says to rinse the color out after 15-30 min but you can keep it on longer, it doesn't do any damage, it only makes color show up better. One tub lasts for one use on shoulder length hair. If you dip-dye or use it for streaks, you can use it multiple times. For pastel shades you can use 1 part of conditioner and 2 parts of dye mixed together, but then you'll have to keep it on longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th August, 2015 at 9:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pillar Box Red!

I went into a Hair Product store a few weeks ago on the hunt for a Bright Dark Purple & walked out with Pillar Box Red... It's my favourite & wave it in my face I'll buy it!

I usually get Manic Panic but this store stocked La Riche instead. I had heard good things so I didn't hesitate in buying it.

Much like Manic Panic, it comes in a wee tub with a screw on lid, no gloves or application tools. One needs confidence with these products.

I popped it in, left it in for 45 minutes instead of the recommended 30 and washed it out.

The results were beautiful! I had a few weeks before stripped the colour out of my hair with a Bleaching Product, so I was a Gingery pink. On top of that I had put in Schwarzkopf Brilliance Ultra Violet (Dark Brunette Purple) which had faded out to an almost pinkish colour but still quite dark. So I was surprised at how vibrant Pillar Box came out!!

However!

It washed out in the first wash... My hair was still red but more Brunette Red, not the vibrant red I had had for the previous 5 days (Dry Shampoo is your mate).

SO I applied colour again, second go never acheived the Vibrant red.... I'm a little sad about it.

The colour runs out in water very easily, so do not wear light colours with wet hair or if there's a chance of rain... Also be manned with a bottle of shower cleaner if you have white acrylic walls in the shower as it stains something wicked!

I will continue to use this product though as I love the colours & I have resigned to the fact that if I was bright coloured hair then it will be a weekly maintenance.

Tips: Some have said to wash the colour in cool or cold water but I'm on the fence on this one, I cannot say it has prolonged the fade... Mixing some in with conditioner in a standard wash & leaving it in your hair for as long as possible is a cheat way of boosting the colour. Cover anything that is going to stain when applying! And Vaseline is a life saver on the skin - cover everywhere prior to application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »