Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

GHD Gold Max Styler Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

GHD Gold Max Styler Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Make even easier work of straightening thick or very curly hair with the larger plates on the GHD V gold max styler.

With all the heat and styling capabilities of the ghd gold classic styler, this max size makes styling quicker and easier when you’ve an abundance of hair.  Smoother gold plates glide effortlessly through the hair to make straightening longer and thicker hair even quicker and easier, while their contoured edges help to create perfect curls and waves, all with a high shine, salon-style finish. 

A handy protective plate guard also allows you to pack up your styler straight after use while an automatic sleep mode is activated if the styler isn't used for 30 minutes.

Universal voltage ensures you’ll get the same styling performance wherever you are in the world, making this styler a great choice if you travel frequently.

PRODUCT FEATURES

  • Professional Finish
  • Smoother plates
  • Cooler, lighter body
  • Ceramic heaters and contoured plates
  • Sleep mode

RRP:  $270

Availability:  Selected Hair Salons, Online

Website: www.ghdhair.com


back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th May, 2016 at 10:36 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ghds gold Max styler

Love love love my GHDS, would never go back to any other hair straightener. Have had alot of different brands but these are the best for sure.

Tips: If you have thick long hair like me, it's better to use these gold Max with the thick plates. Alot quicker =-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd May, 2016 at 6:45 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Prefect hair!

These are my favourite hair straightener. Prior to being given these for a present I owned the GHD classic styler. I have been using these now for four years and I love them.

I have long, thick coloured hair and the wide plate on these makes for super quick straightening. My hair always looks straight, smooth, has less frizz and feels silly after each use (Prefect hair). It normally takes me between 5 - 10 minutes to completely run these through my hair.

The straighteners beep after 30 seconds to let you know when they have heated up and the sleep mode is a great safety feature. They are built tough but look elegant in black with gold. My only complaint is, that the protective guard they come with doesn't stay on very well.

Unlike some other hair straightener the heat is evenly distributed throughout the whole plates so you don't end up ruining your hair.

I would recommend these to everyone. I don't consider them expensive because they last for years. A great hair investment!

Tips: Prefect for all hair types!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
6th September, 2015 at 1:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
GHD gold max styler

A very old straighter 'again' another brand that always yr lies upto here name as the quality of this hot iron leaves the finishing touch through a head of hair is impeccable. Each strand is straightened to perfection when styling a perfect silky straight set of hair on a head .Every finishing end after using this strainer is amazing as you are grunted salon quality finish every time u are to use this hot iron especially suitable for textured corse or fizzy hair that only seems tame able when not comes to GHD gold max styler

Tips: Works best on thick,long, texturized, coarse or frizzy hair

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th July, 2015 at 4:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for thick long hair

This is my current straightener and has been for about 3 years now and I LOVE it. When I bought this I had very long thick hair and every straightener I had bought prior tended to have a very short life spam whilst trying to tame my hair. Where to start.. The plates on this are extra wide so makes straightening a lot quicker and I mean come on who enjoys straightening their hair? No one I know, so the quicker I can get it done the better and its a bonus that it lasts through til I wash my hair next. It leaves my hair shiny not dull and doesn't catch on my hair which is great because a lot of cheaper straighteners do and its painful as well as damaging to your hair. The plates are rounded which is nice because I like to flick my bangs away from my face. It heats up really quick and has a safety feature so if it goes untouched for 30mins it turns off and well I'm very good at leaving heated appliances on, and my partner following me around turning them off. They're expensive but worth it as you will for sure get a good few years worth of use out of it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th January, 2015 at 10:35 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
best for thick or long hair.

i have had so many GHD's and this is probably my favourite for my hair. i find that i can straighten my hair so fast with the plates being wider. I also love the curls that you can create with a large ghd. It creates a really pretty wave as opposed to a tight curl. I like to 'flick' my front shaping away from my face and this ghd is the perfect size for creating the flick, without it becoming a curl. Purchasing the wide ghd has sped up my straightening time so much and i highly recommend it for anyone with thick or long hair!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
6th January, 2015 at 9:38 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not the same as original

I used the older version of this product (GHD Salon Styler) for 15 years until it died a year ago. I received the GHD Gold 2 months ago and I'm disappointed.

I have thick wavy hair and with the old GHD I would only need to run it through a section of hair 2-3 times for the pin straight look. However with my new one I'm running it through as many times as 5 which I don't think is good for my hair.

It takes a lot more effort than it used to and even though my hair appears straight it does tend to look 'fluffy' which is frustrating after putting in all that effort. The protective guard is not designed for travel - it will come off in your bag as I found out.

On the plus side the GHD curls wonderfully (just like the old one) and I really like that it beeps when it's ready for use. With the old version you had to watch the light until it remained solid to indicate it was ready.

Out of all the straighteners I've used, GHD still comes out on top it's just a shame this new version doesn't give me the same results. My friend still has the old version and it doesn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd December, 2014 at 9:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Something borrowed

I have truthfully used an GHD once and it was the best experience.

I didn't use any products before hand just the straightener, I used my older sisters GHD on our family reunion day as I saw it on the floor so I had that sneaky moment of using it.

To be very honest I'm going to sound obsessed but I loved it, from the way it made your hair look to the way it made your hair feel. Best straightener out there.

The length of time it lasted was about 8 hours. That's really good in my opinion.

My moment of experience was unforgettable. I can't rate this more than 5 I just think it's amazing. Too good for a 5

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st September, 2014 at 1:01 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A girls best friend

I cannot rate these highly enough. Born with extremely curly hair I believe I have tried almost every hair product or treatment available. They are easy to use, quick and effective and the results last for days. Definitely a girl's best friend. Price may be higher than other options but in this case you definitely get you money's worth. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th December, 2013 at 3:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for long or thick hair

Until recently when I had a lot of the bulk taken out of my hair even with shoulder length hair this GHD works wonders for straightening my hair fast, and it was faster than the regular sized GHD as well! Love all GHDS!

Tips: Make sure you use heat protectant as the plates are very hot and you don't want to damage your hair with the high temperature!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
15th September, 2013 at 12:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
5/5 for my GHD Max Styler

I brought this when I had really long hair, it is perfect! I find it leaves my hair straight and sleek and doesn't cause as much damage as other straighteners because you don't need to go over the same part more than once. I have friends who will only straighten their hair with my GHD Max.

Tips: Always use a heat protectant! I find with a good product and my GHD Max, I only need to straighten my hair once or twice a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How Do You Apply Your Base?

How Do You Apply Your Base?

Nope, I use something else, I'll tell you...

view results

Review of the Day
Astariuss
Better than I was Expecting!
The first thing that grabbed my attention was the packaging it was pretty sleek for a drugstore… more »